Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Woman crushed at Copper face Jacks

• 28-01-2014 8:37am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭

http://www.rte.ie/news/2014/0128/500594-copper-face-jacks/

Woman critical after crush outside Dublin nightclu
    Tuesday 28 January 2014 08.28

The incident happened outside Copper Face Jacks
    An 18-year-old woman, who was one of seven people injured in a crush outside Copper Face Jacks nightclub on Harcourt Street in Dublin, is in a critical condition.

She is being treated in St James' Hospital in Dublin.

The incident happened outside Copper Face Jacks on Harcourt St at about midnight.

Gardaí say around 1,500 people were queuing outside the nightclub at the time.

Seven people were injured, four of those were taken to hospital Emergency Departments for treatment.

Harcourt Street was closed off for a time after the incident but has since reopened.

I hope all get well soon.

Having never been in there,what's the big deal with CFJ, 1500 people queuing to get in wtf that's some crowd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Surprised it didn't happen sooner tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,620 ✭✭✭Heroditas

Must have been a student event? Seems strange that there would be that many people queuing at midnight on a Monday night to get into any nightclub in Dublin.
    I know Coppers is popular, but 1500 people seems a lot!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,505 ✭✭✭wicklowwonder

How many people fit in Coppers? 1500 people seems massive, would that amount fill the spot?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Heroditas wrote: »
    Must have been a student event? Seems strange that there would be that many people queuing at midnight on a Monday night to get into any nightclub in Dublin.
    I know Coppers is popular, but 1500 people seems a lot!

That's what I was thinking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Gyalist

It always amazes me how busy CFJ and Harcourt Street in general are on Monday nights.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭fro9etb8j5qsl2

According to the journal.ie, they were running a 'Messy Monday' event with all drinks €3.50. Also, they had advertised the event as 18+ as opposed to their usual 21+ age limit. Hopefully everyone recovers ok :( I've never seen the big deal about the place myself TBH.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭Dicky Pride

Well it was a messy Monday anyway. Well played marketeers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,151 ✭✭✭Daith

Gyalist wrote: »
    It always amazes me how busy CFJ and Harcourt Street in general are on Monday nights.

Not everyone works Monday-Fri. Especially not nurses and guards :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,620 ✭✭✭Heroditas

According to the journal.ie, they were running a 'Messy Monday' event with all drinks €3.50. Also, they had advertised the event as 18+ as opposed to their usual 21+ age limit. Hopefully everyone recovers ok :( I've never seen the big deal about the place myself TBH.

Ouch, there's going to be serious repercussions arising from this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

The anti booze brigade will have a field day with that. If they.charged.€9 a drink this would never have happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 929 ✭✭✭TheCardHolder

Heroditas wrote: »
    Ouch, there's going to be serious repercussions arising from this.

I'd wager money that the same event will be running in Coppers next Monday.

I worked in nightclub promotions for years, it's entirely unregulated.

Promoters have been, and will continue to get away with doing whatever they want; they completely control the market at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Gyalist

Daith wrote: »
    Not everyone works Monday-Fri. Especially not nurses and guards :P

From the age profile I've seen they must all be student nurses and guards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

'Messy Mondays', how apt. Cheap drinks and let in all the trainee drinkers other places won't touch with a barge pole.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

All of this just to gain entry into an overcrowded nightclub, to spend your (or Daddy's) hard earned money for drink that costs much more than the local off licence that you will end up pissing down the drain a few hours later.

It is an amazing mentality when you think about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 952 ✭✭✭Prezatch

cournioni wrote: »
    All of this just to gain entry into an overcrowded nightclub, to spend your (or Daddy's) hard earned money for drink that costs much more than the local off licence that you will end up pissing down the drain a few hours later.

Yea but you might get the ride :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 847 ✭✭✭Gambas

But in the meantime you'll have a great time, and may even score?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,180 ✭✭✭hfallada

Last night it was free in with a student card until midnight. Most clubs it's free in until 11:30 Max. And most students won't bother going to coppers because they are usually 19+ midweek but last night it was 18+.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,026 ✭✭✭0ph0rce0

I wonder how many boggers were like

Ooooohhhhh look at her on the ground, shes good for a ride..

*Hope she gets well soon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,780 ✭✭✭Frank Lee Midere

0ph0rce0 wrote: »

The only sick c*nt thinking like that is you.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 495 ✭✭bootybouncer

The only sick c*nt thinking like that is you.

I dont think so he makes a valid point. The place is a hole, a dive, you could fall over in that place on a normal night and end up with your head up some sows kebab

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Why all the snide remarks about drinks and messy Mondays. It sounds like a crowd management issue outside.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Ooooohhhhh look at her on the ground, shes good for a ride..I

Wise the fcuk up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Sexist. It's well know tis Mammy that doles the cash out, she has access to the wallet when laddo is in the shower.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

I can see this issue disappearing very quickly without any repercussions, just remember who runs Coppers and what country they run it in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 802 ✭✭✭Roose

*Hope she gets well soon

Creep.

Its a good spot in fairness and I don't understand peoples dislike for it, always end up there when we head to Dublin and always have a great night.

Mod

I'm shocked that I have remind you that this thread is about a young woman who is in critical condition in hospital having just gone out to have some fun - as most 18 year olds do.

Keep the disgusting low life dickish comments out of this thread or you will find yourself banned from After Hours much like 0ph0rce0 has just found himself.

Name calling will not be tolerated, report posts that cross the line and move on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,687 ✭✭✭blacklilly

Mod Snip: Move on.

I Hope the young woman recovers.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

JoeyD wrote: »
    You don't have to go to a nightclub to score.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭whirlpool

You don't have to go to a nightclub to score.

Aw would ye just stop. Ye know what he's saying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

The poor child. What a stupid waste. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Scary when the herd mentality sets in.
    I used to work at a place where there'd be 200-300 people queuing to get in and what we did was to make sure there where gaps between every bunch of 50 or so. Then again we had many bouncers that could help maintain the gaps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,734 ✭✭✭✭noodler

The anti booze brigade will have a field day with that. If they.charged.€9 a drink this would never have happened.

I hate to be glib at a time like this but yes, I doubt there would have been 1,500 students outside Coppers on a Monday night if the drinks were 9 euro instead of 3.50.

In fact it seems like a practical certainty to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,876 ✭✭✭The J Stands for Jay

JoeyD wrote: »

Amateur. Just drink at home on the cheap listening to decent.music, then rock up outside when people start leaving and you'll get the ride.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 14 Gustavo Kuerten

noodler wrote: »
    I hate to be glib at a time like this but yes, I doubt there would have been 1,500 students outside Coppers on a Monday night if the drinks were 9 euro instead of 3.50.

In fact it seems like a practical certainty to me.

Or maybe if more pubs had drinks for 3.50 it wouldn't have happened.

Thats some outside the box thinking!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

any other club would be closed down after this happening

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,540 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

nothing wrong with selling drinks for €3.50 , it's not even particularly cheap.

It's clear they could not control the crowds outside, and had not expected the crowd that was there last night. Yet this will be turned into an anti booze campaign. A wet dream for Joe Duffy. I had a few pints of carling last night, at my local at €3.50 per pint, there was no apocalypse.

Most important thing, hope the girl will be ok

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

So instead of a minimum price for booze, we should have a maximum price.

Gustavo for president!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,257 ✭✭✭Squiggle

Messy Mondays just moved from Diceys to Coppers, hence the crowd of students last night. I'm not sure that €3.50 drinks was the main attraction. You can buy a 70 cl bottle of Polish vodka at Lidl or Aldi for €12.99, that's 65c per standard pub measure ( 20 standard measures in 70 cl ). To many students on a budget that's a massive saving and they'd be doing most of their boozing before they go out the door !

Coppers is always overcrowded imo - seems like too many people are let in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭MaroonAndGreen

You can be sure that most of them students wouldnt have bought a drink in Coppers ever probably, pre drinking is the student budget way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,604 ✭✭✭irishgeo

it appears to have happened in the laneway beside coppers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

When I heard this I wondered about so many nurses and cops being on the razz on a weekday night, crazy stuff that Sh1tfaced in the jacks allowed such a build up of numbers outside must be looked at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 613 ✭✭✭SeaDaily

mike65 wrote: »
    When I heard this I wondered about so many nurses and cops being on the razz on a weekday night, crazy stuff that Sh1tfaced allowed such a build up of numbers outside must be looked at.

What are you talking about nurses and cops? Where do they come in to it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

SeaDaily wrote: »
    What are you talking about nurses and cops? Where do they come in to it?

Everyone knows that CFJ is where the public servants from the country go to when they start a family. So naturally my thoughts turned to them rather than student bodies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

I remember crowd-management stuff like this used to always happen on student nights when I was a doorman. Rag Week was the absolute worst. Normally we opened the club at 11pm. By 10.45pm we were packed to capacity and there were still around a hundred people outside trying to get in. Every time we opened the door to let someone out they would try and surge in the door. I had one girl almost break her arm when she tried to stick it in as the door was closing.

Absolute pandemonium and unfortunately all too common when when you have hundreds of p*ssed up kids in a herd mentality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,585 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

I think I am going to blame the bouncers for the crowd management issues in this case. Mainly because the bouncers at Coppers have always been complete pricks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,116 ✭✭✭RDM_83 again

Its a fairly safe bet considering who owns Coppers even if there was serious flaws in crowd management and so on there will be no risk of the Guards doing anything

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

irishgeo wrote: »
    it appears to have happened in the laneway beside coppers.

You'd have to really ask questions about the sanity of having people q up there. But because I'm a cynic I doubt that will happen.