Woman crushed at Copper face Jacks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,237 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

The poor child. What a stupid waste. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

Scary when the herd mentality sets in.
    I used to work at a place where there'd be 200-300 people queuing to get in and what we did was to make sure there where gaps between every bunch of 50 or so. Then again we had many bouncers that could help maintain the gaps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,070 ✭✭✭✭noodler

The anti booze brigade will have a field day with that. If they.charged.€9 a drink this would never have happened.

I hate to be glib at a time like this but yes, I doubt there would have been 1,500 students outside Coppers on a Monday night if the drinks were 9 euro instead of 3.50.

In fact it seems like a practical certainty to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,932 ✭✭✭The J Stands for Jay

JoeyD wrote: »
    Yea but you might get the ride :eek:

Amateur. Just drink at home on the cheap listening to decent.music, then rock up outside when people start leaving and you'll get the ride.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 14 Gustavo Kuerten

noodler wrote: »
    I hate to be glib at a time like this but yes, I doubt there would have been 1,500 students outside Coppers on a Monday night if the drinks were 9 euro instead of 3.50.

In fact it seems like a practical certainty to me.

Or maybe if more pubs had drinks for 3.50 it wouldn't have happened.

Thats some outside the box thinking!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

any other club would be closed down after this happening

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,254 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

nothing wrong with selling drinks for €3.50 , it's not even particularly cheap.

It's clear they could not control the crowds outside, and had not expected the crowd that was there last night. Yet this will be turned into an anti booze campaign. A wet dream for Joe Duffy. I had a few pints of carling last night, at my local at €3.50 per pint, there was no apocalypse.

Most important thing, hope the girl will be ok

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,566 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

So instead of a minimum price for booze, we should have a maximum price.

Gustavo for president!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭Squiggle

Messy Mondays just moved from Diceys to Coppers, hence the crowd of students last night. I'm not sure that €3.50 drinks was the main attraction. You can buy a 70 cl bottle of Polish vodka at Lidl or Aldi for €12.99, that's 65c per standard pub measure ( 20 standard measures in 70 cl ). To many students on a budget that's a massive saving and they'd be doing most of their boozing before they go out the door !

Coppers is always overcrowded imo - seems like too many people are let in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭MaroonAndGreen

You can be sure that most of them students wouldnt have bought a drink in Coppers ever probably, pre drinking is the student budget way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,024 ✭✭✭✭irishgeo

it appears to have happened in the laneway beside coppers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

When I heard this I wondered about so many nurses and cops being on the razz on a weekday night, crazy stuff that Sh1tfaced in the jacks allowed such a build up of numbers outside must be looked at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 613 ✭✭✭SeaDaily

mike65 wrote: »
    When I heard this I wondered about so many nurses and cops being on the razz on a weekday night, crazy stuff that Sh1tfaced allowed such a build up of numbers outside must be looked at.

What are you talking about nurses and cops? Where do they come in to it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

SeaDaily wrote: »
    What are you talking about nurses and cops? Where do they come in to it?

Everyone knows that CFJ is where the public servants from the country go to when they start a family. So naturally my thoughts turned to them rather than student bodies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

I remember crowd-management stuff like this used to always happen on student nights when I was a doorman. Rag Week was the absolute worst. Normally we opened the club at 11pm. By 10.45pm we were packed to capacity and there were still around a hundred people outside trying to get in. Every time we opened the door to let someone out they would try and surge in the door. I had one girl almost break her arm when she tried to stick it in as the door was closing.

Absolute pandemonium and unfortunately all too common when when you have hundreds of p*ssed up kids in a herd mentality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,704 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

I think I am going to blame the bouncers for the crowd management issues in this case. Mainly because the bouncers at Coppers have always been complete pricks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,116 ✭✭✭RDM_83 again

Its a fairly safe bet considering who owns Coppers even if there was serious flaws in crowd management and so on there will be no risk of the Guards doing anything

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

irishgeo wrote: »
    it appears to have happened in the laneway beside coppers.

You'd have to really ask questions about the sanity of having people q up there. But because I'm a cynic I doubt that will happen.

Drinks were 2.50 next door in Dicey's. So you can't blame it all on 3.50 drinks..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,115 ✭✭✭OhHiMark

I've walked past Copper's at 2 in the morning and there has been a queue of about 300 people outside. I don't know where the people at the back of that queue think they're going that night but it's not into Copper's.

OhHiMark wrote: »
    I've walked past Copper's at 2 in the morning and there has been a queue of about 300 people outside. I don't know where the people at the back of that queue think they're going that night but it's not into Copper's.

You would be surprised how far back in the queue people get in, 300 might be extreme but if you queue long enough you often get in eventually. This is due to a combination of people getting turned away but more so because its open so long that people are leaving from early enough and so more people can be let in.

They also keep letting people in until very late.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,397 ✭✭✭Brendan Flowers

cournioni wrote: »
    All of this just to gain entry into an overcrowded nightclub, to spend your (or Daddy's) hard earned money for drink that costs much more than the local off licence that you will end up pissing down the drain a few hours later.

It is an amazing mentality when you think about it.

You do realise loads of students have part time jobs and pay for their own nights out? They don't all rely on their parents for money. Im not sure if its that you begrudge these people going out and having fun or the fact that they have money to spend, but if convincing yourself that they all live of handouts makes you feel better about yourself than go ahead and do that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Yeah, I hate this attitude of 'spending daddys money', personally I think it's just people who never got to go to college for whatever reason, and just bitterly pick on those that do....they seem to hate that students have a social life, and the concept of students actually having a part time job, as most do, is always conveniently ignored....it's always the taxpayer. You'd think it'd have eased off with the recession but it's only gotten worse it seems :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭EyeSight

any other club would be closed down after this happening

it happened less than 12 hours ago. lets just wait and see...

Also i hope this leads to a crackdown on overcrowding in pubs/clubs(even though it happened outside) sometimes it's ridiculous how crowded they can be. If there was a fire people would be trampled to death!

BTW. If there were so many outside and the place was full, the bouncers should tell everyone they're not getting in. Then people would disperse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,422 ✭✭✭sjb25

EyeSight wrote: »
    it happened less than 12 hours ago. lets just wait and see...

Also i hope this leads to a crackdown on overcrowding in pubs/clubs(even though it happened outside) sometimes it's ridiculous how crowded they can be. If there was a fire people would be trampled to death!

BTW. If there were so many outside and the place was full, the bouncers should tell everyone they're not getting in. Then people would disperse
    Ha more like tell the bouncer to F off and try push in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

eyewitness on newstalk now

they were crushed into a wall:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Yeah, I hate this attitude of 'spending daddys money', personally I think it's just people who never got to go to college for whatever reason, and just bitterly pick on those that do....they seem to hate that students have a social life, and the concept of students actually having a part time job, as most do, is always conveniently ignored....it's always the taxpayer. You'd think it'd have eased off with the recession but it's only gotten worse it seems :rolleyes:

What in the name of thundering fucking Jaysus has any of this claptrap got to do with some poor kid being crushed nearly to death outside a nightclub?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

anncoates wrote: »
    What in the name of thundering fucking Jaysus has any of this claptrap got to do with some poor kid being crushed nearly to death outside a nightclub?

I was responding to another posters comments.

I didn't realize there were new rules established that off topics posts - in after hours - are ruled with an iron fist.