Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A Slow Journey to Faster Times

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

yaboya1 wrote: »
    Splits:

Mile 1 - 7:00
    Mile 2 - 7:19
    Mile 3 - 6:51
    Mile 4 - 6:53
    Mile 5 - 6:58
    Mile 6 - 6:55
    Mile 7 - 6:52
    Mile 8 - 6:43
    Mile 9 - 6:46
    Mile 10 - 6:41
    Mile 11 - 6:29
    Mile 12 - 6:16

Wow!! That's amazing especially considering you take the non LT miles pretty hard too (most people would do the warm/up and cool down miles pretty easy).
    Have you got a HM planned any time soon? I'd expect you to run around 1:25 given the above..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

I wanted to run a half marathon next weekend, but there doesn't seem to be any taking place. I'll probably just clock myself for the distance (even though it's obviously not the same as taking part in a race). Anything any later than next weekend is getting a bit too close to the race to be racing flat out I think?

Yeah; unfortunately if you don't get it this weekend or next it would be unadvisable. Still there are plenty of halfs you can run in the spring off the back of Marathon fitness...Maybe try wexford in April; it's a pretty good course...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,672 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

Looking at that session, I think I'll just pace you through 10k :)

Fantastic improvement, well done.

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,643 ✭✭✭ThePiedPiper

You're flying it yaboya, great to see how far you've come since October. A very good marathon beckons.

Saturday 18th January (Day 48/84) - 5m Recovery
    5m @ 9:22p/m average

Dragged myself out of bed on this most miserable morning to volunteer down at the St Annes parkrun. Good turnout of 243 despite the poor conditions (I think Krusty was first over the line?). Jogged a slightly indirect route home to make up the five miles.

Splits:

Mile 1 - 9:55
    Mile 2 - 9:30
    Mile 3 - 9:24
    Mile 4 - 9:02
    Mile 5 - 8:59

Sunday 19th January (Day 49/84) - 20m (Long Run)
    20 miles @ 8:46p/m average

I've really started to enjoy these long runs, lobbing along at such a leisurely pace. A few miles were a bit slower/quicker than I would have liked. This was mainly due to the Garmin being set to average pace rather than lap pace, which can allow you to lose concentration easily. A mile can be a fair bit too slow/quick without adversely affecting the overall pace. I think I'll switch back to lap pace for the next one. I also made a few last gasp sprints to catch pedestrian lights (especially in mile 19) which explains the miles where I was well below the average.

Splits:

Mile 1 - 8:49
    Mile 2 - 8:53
    Mile 3 - 8:54
    Mile 4 - 8:55
    Mile 5 - 9:07
    Mile 6 - 9:11
    Mile 7 - 8:49
    Mile 8 - 8:45
    Mile 9 - 8:48
    Mile 10 - 8:24
    Mile 11 - 8:51
    Mile 12 - 9:04
    Mile 13 - 8:46
    Mile 14 - 8:41
    Mile 15 - 8:45
    Mile 16 - 8:52
    Mile 17 - 8:41
    Mile 18 - 9:02
    Mile 19 - 7:42
    Mile 20 - 8:22

Monday 20th January (Day 50/84) - Rest/Cross Training

Legs felt a bit sore after yesterday's long run. Spent some extra time this evening foam rolling along with the usual stretching and core work.

Tuesday 21st January (Day 51/84) - 8m (with 5 x 600m @ VO2Max)

3m warm-up

5 x 600m splits (with 1:30min recovery)

1 - 1:58
    2 - 2:02
    3 - 2:03
    4 - 2:04
    5 - 2:06

2m cool down

I was slightly surprised that this type of session was on the plan today so close to my 20 miler two days ago, which had me feeling extremely tired and leaden legged. Normally there's a recovery run or an extra rest day in there first. However, I haven't wavered from the plan up to now, so I stuck with it and almost (unintentionally) made a complete hash of it. This was mainly due to ignorance of how my own Garmin works and a complete lack of common sense!

As I was feeling so sluggish, the plan was to give myself a good warm up before launching into the VO2 Max Intervals. I had managed around 3:40min/km average for the 1000m intervals two weeks ago, so I figured around 2:10 would be a good target for each of the 600m. However, apart from the strides (when I never look at the watch until afterwards), I had only ever used the interval function once in the aforementioned 1k VO2 Max session. So, I assumed the lap pace it displayed was the pace for each interval. When I started my first one, I thought I had got going too late as the watch was still displaying a lap pace above 3:00. I put it down to how I was feeling and assumed I'd be fine on the next one. When the same thing happened again despite me almost running flat out, I knew there was a problem. I soon realised my mistake, but feared I would now struggle to complete the five planned intervals, never mind at the right pace! I managed (painfully) to hold the average pace for the whole lot at around 3:25min/km in the end. The 90 second recoveries passed far too quickly, but were entirely responsible for me not collapsing before I had finished the workout. I got through it though, and it didn't kill me. So it can only make me stronger, right?

With the sessions you're doing lately, change your feckin thread title, it's melting my head :)

TbL

Wow, that's seriously fast yaboya :D.
    I would regularly do 600s down the clun and normally hit about 2:15. The lads hitting your kind of splits would be 17 minute 5k runners

menoscemo wrote: »
    Wow, that's seriously fast yaboya :D.
    I would regularly do 600s down the clun and normally hit about 2:15. The lads hitting your kind of splits would be 17 minute 5k runners

Thanks. But I'm pretty sure the 90 second recoveries have something to do with that. I couldn't have put them together without them. I wasn't much above walking pace on the cool down.

Wednesday 22nd January (Day 52/84) - 11m @ M/L Pace
    11 miles @ 8:49p/m average

This was tougher than normal, probably due to the fact that it was less than 12 hours since last night's session. I couldn't have fit it in at any other time though, so just needed to grin and bear it. Looking forward to a couple of easy days now.

Splits:

Mile 1 - 8:49
    Mile 2 - 8:43
    Mile 3 - 9:02
    Mile 5 - 8:53
    Mile 6 - 8:57
    Mile 7 - 8:41
    Mile 8 - 8:47
    Mile 9 - 8:44
    Mile 10 - 8:45
    Mile 11 - 8:42

Thursday 23rd January (Day 53/84) - Rest/Cross Training

A welcome rest day today. Spent the afternoon in Gowran Park for the Thyestes meeting. Had a couple of winners which covered the food & drink expenses :)

Friday 24th January (Day 54/84) - 4m Recovery (with 6 x 100m strides)
    4 miles @ 9:29p/m average. Strides (19:55, 18:32, 17:60, 18:16, 16:38, 17:57)

Grabbed a quick power nap when I got back from Kilkenny, so it was late in the evening when I got out for this one. Took the recovery miles very easily, especially the first one as I was still a little weary from the previous night's antics. Went to bed early when I got back so I was well rested ahead of tomorrow's tough session.

Splits:

Mile 1 - 9:50
    Mile 2 - 9:19
    Mile 3 - 9:18
    Mile 4 - 9:30

Saturday 25th January (Day 55/84) - 9-13m Race
    13.11 miles @ 6:35p/m average (1:26:20)

The plan suggested a 9-13m race today. The only event matching that description was the John Treacy Dungarvan 10 Mile, which had already been sold out when I checked a few weeks ago. That race wouldn't have been ideal for me anyway, as it's a bit of a hike down there and I have a lot of stuff on tomorrow that it would have interfered with. So I decided to just clock myself for the half-marathon distance this morning. The simple plan was to run as fast as I possibly could for the 13.11 miles. I was confident I could go sub 1:30, so set out just below 6:50min/mile. Because of the wind and profile of the course, I knew miles 9,10 & 11 would be the toughest to hold the pace, so made sure to keep a little bit in reserve for those. Managed to execute my plan exactly as intended which I am really happy about. I think I may now target a BQ time in Seville (sub 3:05).

Might reward myself with a nice sports massage on Monday or Tuesday :)

Splits:

Mile 1 - 6:40
    Mile 2 - 6:26
    Mile 3 - 6:31
    Mile 4 - 6:41
    Mile 5 - 6:31
    Mile 6 - 6:38
    Mile 7 - 6:31
    Mile 8 - 6:35
    Mile 9 - 6:41
    Mile 10 - 6:45
    Mile 11 - 6:46
    Mile 12 - 6:36
    Mile 13 - 6:18
    0.11 - 0:44

Yafecker, yaboya, you're on your own in Seville now definitely!

That's absolutely savage improvement.

Have you been drinking pints of Ben Johnson's piss :)

TbL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,802 ✭✭✭statss

Jaysus that's a great run. What's the target gonna be now?!

statss wrote: »
    Jaysus that's a great run. What's the target gonna be now?!

Will probably aim for a Boston Qualifier (sub 3:05). I think that should be achievable.

Yafecker, yaboya, you're on your own in Seville now definitely!

That's absolutely savage improvement.

Have you been drinking pints of Ben Johnson's piss :)

TbL

Not unless he's been urinating into pint bottles of Bulmers :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,934 ✭✭✭career_move

Wow that is some pace to do 13m on your own. Nice work :D

Thanks. I was under pressure to get to work by 12pm, so I had no choice :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 572 ✭✭✭Calvin Johnson

What's going to be the aim in Dublin then?

Sub 2:40?

Sunday 26th January (Day 56/84) - 17m (Long Run)
    17 miles @ 8:54p/m average

Was really stiff after yesterday's run going to bed last night, but felt much better getting up this morning. This session really helped to loosen up the legs, and I thoroughly enjoyed it despite the horrible cold, wind & driving rain. Seems to have cleared up a bit now which is good news for all the boardsies running the Raheny 5 later on today.

Splits:

Mile 1 - 8:51
    Mile 2 - 8:57
    Mile 3 - 9:11
    Mile 5 - 8:57
    Mile 6 - 8:58
    Mile 7 - 8:55
    Mile 8 - 8:53
    Mile 9 - 8:51
    Mile 10 - 8:47
    Mile 11 - 8:55
    Mile 12 - 8:57
    Mile 13 - 8:58
    Mile 14 - 8:56
    Mile 15 - 8:44
    Mile 16 - 8:45
    Mile 17 - 8:52

Monday 27th January (Day 57/84) - Rest/Cross Training

Did the usual cycle of core work before treating myself to a sports massage later in the morning. A bit sore now but I'm sure I'll feel the benefit tomorrow.

Tuesday 28th January (Day 58/84) - 7m Recovery (with 6 x 100m strides)
    7 miles @ 9:00p/m average. Strides (16:57, 16:48, 19:20, 18:86, 16:36, 17:77)

A very easy run, probably just the tonic to freshen the legs up for the tough V02 Max session in the morning. Strides felt very good, but got held up with pedestrian traffic on a couple of the middle ones which probably explains the time variations. I just noticed that my run today takes me past the 500 mile mark since I started my log in November. Nice little milestone I thought :D

Splits:

Mile 1 - 9:00
    Mile 2 - 9:00
    Mile 3 - 9:19
    Mile 4 - 8:48
    Mile 5 - 8:48
    Mile 6 - 9:02
    Mile 7 - 9:03

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,410 ✭✭✭ger664

Some great improvements got since you started. Going to Seville as well and gunning for a BQ too but my will be a tad slower as in sub 3:25

ger664 wrote: »
    Some great improvements got since you started. Going to Seville as well and gunning for a BQ too but my will be a tad slower as in sub 3:25

Thanks. Best of luck for the remaining three and a half weeks. Myself, yourself & TheBitterLemon should arrange to meet up over there for (hopefully) celebratory pints. I'm not familiar with the good drinking holes in Seville as I've never been there, so I'm open to suggestions.

Wednesday 29th January (Day 59/84) - 10m (with 4 x 1200m @ VO2Max)

3m warm-up

4 x 1200m splits (with 3:00min recovery)

1 - 4:07
    2 - 4:12
    3 - 4:16
    4 - 4:14

3m cool down

Going off last week's VO2 Max workout, I was thinking 4 minute intervals would be a good target. Then I remembered how difficult that session was, and that this morning's were double the distance. I also had it in my head that I only had to run three, until I double checked before I went out the door and realised there were four. I had a look back to my 5 x 1000m session two weeks ago where I was running around 3:40min/km average. I decided that they were a better guide to today, so anything averaging around 3:30-3:40min/km would be acceptable. I ended up going: 3:26min/km, 3:30min/km, 3:34min/km, 3:32min/km, so was pretty happy with that especially considering the all too familiar deplorable conditions outside.

Thursday 30th January (Day 60/84) - Rest/Cross Training

Felt really tired and lethargic all day today. Very happy that I didn't have a run planned. Spent some time in the evening foam-rolling and stretching. The physio gave me an additional exercise to perform last Monday to enhance the flexibility in my hips. They're both stiffer than ideal, especially the left side, so I've added this to my stretching cycle.

Friday 31st January (Day 61/84) - 11m @ M/L Pace
    11 miles @ 8:51p/m average

Still not feeling 100% today. Probably still suffering from the after effects of the VO2 Max Session on Wednesday. Not the worst thing to be a little tired on these runs though, as it prevents the urge to run too fast.

Splits:

Mile 1 - 8:55
    Mile 2 - 9:00
    Mile 3 - 8:49
    Mile 4 - 8:56
    Mile 5 - 8:49
    Mile 6 - 8:50
    Mile 7 - 8:42
    Mile 8 - 8:53
    Mile 9 - 8:49
    Mile 10 - 8:50
    Mile 11 - 8:46

Im doing the same plan and feeling the same way. Last weeks race, Long run the night after with the mid week VO2 max have left my legs quite dead/tired as well.

ger664 wrote: »
    Im doing the same plan and feeling the same way. Last weeks race, Long run the night after with the mid week VO2 max have left my legs quite dead/tired as well.

And a 20 miler to come on Sunday! Glad to hear it's not just me.
    What do you think of the last week of the plan? More than one person has commented to me that the mileage seems pretty high for a race week.

And a 20 miler to come on Sunday! Glad to hear it's not just me.
    What do you think of the last week of the plan? More than one person has commented to me that the mileage seems pretty high for a race week.

There is only one session really in that mileage ie the 3 mile MP. If that's to taxing 5 days before a marathon well then your MP pace is too fast. I wouldn't be too caught up on the mileage of the recovery runs, some in the plan where 7 miles and I only did 5 as I felt at the time 7 was going beyond recovery. I would think if you got in 30 to 40 mins running instead of 6 miles or whatever is prescribed it wont make that much of a difference. From experience (third time doing this plan) you will find the last week too easy and trying not to do more will be the main issue.

Thought that myself to be honest, but was just interested in hearing another opinion.