BeebRock - The BBC4/BBC3/BBC2/BBC1 Music Programmes thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,749 ✭✭✭✭grey_so_what

He was on a episode of Criminal Minds....:)

Fine looking fella

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,779 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Friend of mine got this album when it came out.

He insisted it was great, but i think we both knew the truth.

Have to flick channels. Someone please let me know when Coldplay are over, if anyone is still awake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    Have to flick channels. Someone please let me know when Coldplay are over, if anyone is still awake.

It's over ... but so is the show

Apart from Adele.

Booo! Ah, well. Over to youtube for a while. Watched a documentary about GunsN Roses on it last night. One of those funny ones, where they didn't have the rights to the music. Lessend the impact of the story somewhat.

Think I'll watch some blues tonight.

Skid X wrote: »
    It's over ... but so is the show

Apart from Adele.

So it's over then...

Look her schtick isn't aimed at me, that's for sure.

So it's over then...

Look her schtick isn't aimed at me, that's for sure.

I don't mind Adele in small doses.

Odd premise for a programme, songs which were big in the USA

Yeah, and interesting choices...no sign of The Beatles, Led Zeppelin, Bowie, Clapton, The Proclaimers...

Ha, decided to watch Howard Goodall's Story of Music, to see if there's any mention of Grieg...5 mins in, he's talking about La Traviata, as heard in...Grand Theft Auto III!

Last minute heads up for anyone with ITV3+1, Ray (the movie about Ray Charles) started at ten.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Just finishing Alice Cooper, good fun. That hot brunette front and centre only knew the hits! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,695 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

I declare this Friday 'National Mullet Day' :cool:

The final part of 'United States Of Rock'

PLUS

Michael Bolton on the Late Late Show!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

American guitar hair rock in the 80s was as bad as music has ever got so its going to be hard going, hell i may pass - Jon Bon Jovi mugging his way through Living on a Prayer et al will be too much.

Here's some fantastic Queensryche to counter act the above

mike65 wrote: »
    American guitar hair rock in the 80s was as bad as music has ever got so its going to be hard going, hell i may pass - Jon Bon Jovi mugging his way through Living on a Prayer et al will be too much.

Ah, you probably won't like this weeks live concert either...

Hit me with your Rhythm Stick ...
    All programmes on BBC4. Born to be Wild ends this week, and there are a few other bits and bobs. Nice to see some of the Classic Albums programmes again. They are also shown regularly on Sky Arts, if you have it.

Thursday 7.30pm (short) & 1am, and Saturday Midnight (extended)- Top of The Pops 1979
    Peter Powell presents an edition from January 18, 1979, with performances by Olympic Runners, Anne Murray, Racey, Frankie Miller, Olivia Newton-John, the Three Degrees, Ian Dury and the Blockheads, Billy Joel, Chic and Village People. Plus, dance sequences by Legs & Co

Friday 9pm & Midnight - Born To Be Wild Part 3/3
    Welcome to the Jungle The story of US rock music in the 1980s, when the rise of MTV led to the emergence of party-anthem pop-metal which was tailor-made for the medium of television. While bands including Van Halen and Motley Crue sported heavy make-up and big hair, artists such as Tom Petty and Bruce Springsteen tried to tackle the social and political issues of the time. However, by the end of the decade, the narcissistic and sexist music form that American rock had grown into, together with power ballads, gave way to grunge music and bands such as Nirvana. Last in the series

Friday 10pm & Sunday Night 3am - Bon Jovi in Concert
    A 2013 concert from the intimate confines of the BBC Radio Theatre, in which Jon Bon Jovi, Richie Sambora, David Bryan and Tico Torres perform classics from six albums across their band's 30-year reign. Songs include Slippery When Wet, Crush, Have a Nice Day, Lost Highway and The Circle as well as material from their album What About Now, newly released at the time of recording

Friday 11pm & 3am, and Sunday Night 2.05am - Classic Albums: Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers - Damn the Torpedoes
    The making of Damn the Torpedoes by Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers, which was released in 1979 and went on to occupy the number two spot in America for seven weeks. The programme examines how Tom Petty, Mike Campbell, Benmont Tench, Ron Blair and Stan Lynch created their third album alongside co-producer Jimmy Iovine and engineer Shelly Yakus in near secrecy while fighting their record company for creative independence

Friday 2am (early Saturday) - Great American Rock Anthems: Turn It Up to 11
    Huey Morgan presents the story of some of the greatest US rock anthems that emerged during the 1970s, 80s and 90s. A distinct sound evolved from blues and early metal, featuring loud drums, distinct guitar riffs and catchy lyrics, which produced a storm of feel-good tunes. The film focuses on tracks including Alice Cooper's School's Out, Don't Stop Believin' by Journey, Eye of the Tiger by Survivor, Bon Jovi's Livin' on a Prayer and Nirvana's Smells Like Teen Spirit. With contributions by Dave Grohl, Toto, Foreigner and more

Saturday 11pm - Forever Young - How Rock 'n' Roll Grew Up
    Documentary exploring the ways rock 'n' roll stars have coped with growing old after being symbols of rebellion from the genre's roots in the 1950s. The programme uncovers how artists have enjoyed comebacks in the 21st century, and examines what happened to the mantra `live fast, die young'. Featuring contributions by Iggy Pop, Lemmy, Rick Wakeman, Suggs and Alison Moyet. Narrated by Cherie Lunghi

Saturday 12.40am (early Sunday, after TOTP) - Classic Albums:
    Peter Gabriel - So
    The making of Peter Gabriel's 1986 album So, which featured hit singles including Don't Give Up, a duet with Kate Bush, and Sledgehammer - a song that knocked his former band Genesis off the top of the US singles chart, and was accompanied by an innovative video created by Aardman Animations and the Brothers Quay. Gabriel analyses the album's original multi-track recordings to explain how he created a commercially successful pop record from a diverse array of musical styles, and the programme also features contributions by co-producer Daniel Lanois and Laurie Anderson

Forget DLB, this Friday night is all about the DLR!

davidleeroth-e1357400689967.jpeg

''Wazazazat Ze Ze Bop Ze Bop!'' :D

I have a family night out tonight. I won't be here for part three. I'm so, so disappointed. Surely they'll repeat it soon!?

*sob*

I have a family night out tonight. I won't be here for part three. I'm so, so disappointed. Surely they'll repeat it soon!?

*sob*

Ah, that's a pity.

It's on Sunday Night (early Monday) at 1.05am if that's any good to you.

But I'm sure it will be on again before too long. Enjoy the night out.

Thanks, man. Should be a good night, just bad timing.

On the plus side, no Michael Bolton on the LLS for me! Silver linings and all that!

Thanks, man. Should be a good night, just bad timing.

On the plus side, no Michael Bolton on the LLS for me! Silver linings and all that!

Can't you watch it on BBC iplayer, amigo?

I don't believe so. But I'll give it a try. Bet it's gonna be amazing!

Styx :o

Van Halen, if by chance you read boards...tour the UK, dammit!

Jump! I remember being out one night when that was played, my friend convinced to do a Parachute Jumping Course.

What the hell was I thinking? It was good craic and all, but never again.

Looking back, I think I was persuaded under duress. I think the DJ was in the scam.

A bonus Rocky IV Clip!

This programme just went up to Eleven.

Jump! I remember being out one night when that was played, my friend convinced to do a Parachute Jumping Course.

What the hell was I thinking? It was good craic and all, but never again.

Looking back, I think I was persuaded under duress. I think the DJ was in the scam.

Van Halen used to employ four people to parachute into stadium gigs and touch down behind the stage...the band would then run out in parachute gear, fooling the crowd into thinking it was them who jumped out of the plane :D

Sunset Strip circa 1987 was the place to be!

Where's my time machine?

How rock bands should be!

Taxi for Gary Lightbody!

Frankie Benali was to leave A Quiet Riot, and have a successful spell as the lynchpin of Southampton's defence

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Francis_Benali

Frankie Benali was to leave A Quiet Riot, and have a successful spell as the lynchpin of Southampton's defence

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Francis_Benali

To quote Spinal Tap's Nigel Tufnel: *gestures thumb and forefinger* This much talent.

What did David Lee Roth say earlier?

"I'm a big family man ... I started three of them already this year" :D