€4m Rehab scratch card sales yielded just €9,452 profit in 2010

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

Deny and deflect, deny and deflect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,153 ✭✭✭everdead.ie

golfball37 wrote: »
    We all have the power to change it by never voting for the 3 parties that endorse this behaviour but alas nothing changes.
    I don't think this can be blamed on any political party FG are actively trying to remove this clause and are being sued for it, the only real question is how long has this behaviour been going on for and why was shatter the first to notice?

Was it just small change during the boom so insignificant or did they know what about before then?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Murt10 wrote: »
    Brilliant this from Morning Ireland on RTE 1 on 6 Jan 2014. CEO Angela Kerins of Rehab refused to divulge her salary, bullsh****ing that Rehab was operating in a commercial environment.

Skip the first part, which is what she came on to be interviewed about, to 3.10 mins. She was rightly ambushed and full of bluster. RTE even deferred going over to the 8.30 am news, so that they could question her

http://www.rte.ie/news/player/2014/0106/20499542-rehab-group-signs-contract-to-develop-employment-programmes-for-people-with-disabilities-in-saudi-arabia/

Hats off to RTE for the interview and also to the current edition of the Pheonix for highlighting it again

200 and something odd thousand......... Jaysus.
    When you hear someone utter the words "at the end of the day", you know they are cornered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭EyeSight

Very true! We get what we vote for!
    Having said that I am not aware of any credible Political Party who could be seen as a genuine alternative!

I agree, besides the big 3 who are all the same, the other parties are very socialist. I don't think a government of independents would work well either.

I don't mind if politicians or public figures screw up or make a mistake. I just for once, for once! would like them to say "Yes i screwed up, sorry. Here's how i'll fix it". Even Fianna Fail are still denying they did anything wrong. They just blamed everyone who left the party

Rehab have slammed the comments as being misleading but provided no explanation of how they were mislead... :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭Murt10

mikom wrote: »
    200 and something odd thousand......... Jaysus.
    When you hear someone utter the words "at the end of the day", you know they are cornered.

Ah here, hold on a moment. You wouldn't expect any half self respecting fat cat to survive on a mere E200 + odd thousand.

According to the Pheonix article, in Jan 2012 they reported that in 2009 Kerrins's salary was E260,000 plus bonuses, expenses and entitlements which brought her total package to around E400,000.

In 2011 her salary was reduced to E234,000 although she is still in receipt of unspecified extras.

The article also states that they put questions to Rehab that reports from within Rehab indicated that 6 directors below Kerins were receiving E150,000 pa and that several regional directors were getting E100,000 each.

Rehab refused to reply to the questions, again.

Glad I don't buy Rehab tickets

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭IvaBigWun

In 2011 her salary was reduced to E234,000 although she is still in receipt of unspecified extras.

Whhhhhy?!

She makes them no money!

How much of the 9 grand profit goes on wages?

Had to laugh at Vincent Brown last night, just caught a snippet and there was a one on saying "Sure everyone knew the CRC payments were being made" and he asked her 3 or 4 times if she knew until she admitted she did. He then asked why she didn't report it to Reilly or anyone and she said "Oh well it's above my paygrade." Strong principles.

Who made the paygrade comment, Buttonftw?

The 9 grand "profit" would be after all overheads, wages included

I'll let you know in a bit, 2 minutes of ads to get through on the feckin TV3 Player just to start the show.
    IvaBigWun wrote: »
    The 9 grand "profit" would be after all overheads, wages included
    Sure about that? I would've thought it would include overheads of the scratchcard operation but not of the whole company.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Róisín Shortall. http://www.tv3.ie/3player/show/41/-/1/ 17.30 onwards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

It wouldn't make sense to show a profit. Let's up the expenses a bit. :)

Róisín Shortall. http://www.tv3.ie/3player/show/41/-/1/ 17.30 onwards.

TD paygrade €87,258
    This was the same ass that was going to save Ireland by introducing minimum pricing on alcohol.............. paygrade excluded.

TD paygrade €87,258
    This was the same ass that was going to save Ireland by introducing minimum pricing on alcohol.............. paygrade excluded.

She was a Minister, few quid more. But, hey, not her problem. Now she's not in one of the main parties she can just keep taking potshots while laughing at her own past negligence.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 6,524 Mod ✭✭✭✭Irish Steve

RTE are on the case, not heard it yet in terms of what they are saying, Nuacht is muted.

Maybe at last, some of the people at the top are getting the message that the rest of us despise their lack of action to deal with the cnuts that are ripping us all off and don't care about the consequences.

Shore, if it was easy, everybody would be doin it.😁

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,943 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

Brilliant this from Morning Ireland on RTE 1 on 6 Jan 2014. CEO Angela Kerins of Rehab refused to divulge her salary, bullsh****ing that Rehab was operating in a commercial environment.

Skip the first part, which is what she came on to be interviewed about, to 3.10 mins. She was rightly ambushed and full of bluster. RTE even deferred going over to the 8.30 am news, so that they could question her

http://www.rte.ie/news/player/2014/0106/20499542-rehab-group-signs-contract-to-develop-employment-programmes-for-people-with-disabilities-in-saudi-arabia/

Hats off to RTE for the interview and also to the current edition of the Pheonix for highlighting it again

jaysis, she keeps saying renumeration instead of remuneration! only a small thing but you'd think a high falutin' CEO like herself would know the correct term for getting paid!

Yeah it's not like anything's changed since then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,373 ✭✭✭Phoebas

A bit more information on the background to this on the news this morning.

Apparently charities who run lotteries get a subvention from the state to take into account the unfair advantage that the National Lottery have in the market (for example top prize money in charity lotteries is capped). Rehab gets something around €4m from this p\a.
    So charities are incentivised to sell more lottery tickets, not to make profits, because the real money comes from the subvention.

The subvention is due to end in 2016/2017 when charity lotteries will probably disappear from the market altogether.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,853 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

Phoebas wrote: »
    A bit more information on the background to this on the news this morning.

Apparently charities who run lotteries get a subvention from the state to take into account the unfair advantage that the National Lottery have in the market (for example top prize money in charity lotteries is capped). Rehab gets something around €4m from this p\a.
    So charities are incentivised to sell more lottery tickets, not to make profits, because the real money comes from the subvention.

The subvention is due to end in 2016/2017 when charity lotteries will probably disappear from the market altogether.

and wait until Camelot come in, they will chase down every little GAA club trying to raise money. There is no reason the "national" lottery should be given such power

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,373 ✭✭✭Phoebas

silverharp wrote: »
    and wait until Camelot come in, they will chase down every little GAA club trying to raise money. There is no reason the "national" lottery should be given such power

Yeah, the point was made that when Camelot cones in it'll make even more difficult to compete, not because they'll chase anyone down, but because they'll promote the National Lottery more aggressively.

In fairness, the charity lotteries look like they're not in the lottery business at all - they're in the subvention chasing business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,236 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

golfball37 wrote: »
    They can't blame this one on FF either as the Rehab board is stuffed full of FG cronies.

Great country.
    But wasn't Angela Kerins on the FF national executive?

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

ThisRegard wrote: »
    Now even SF are saying that it's the prior government that have questions to answer on this.
    Well it is kinda obvious Angela Kerins was an ff quango queen for years. They appointed her to numerous state boards; National Disability Authority, Equality Authority amongst others.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

I don't think this can be blamed on any political party FG are actively trying to remove this clause and are being sued for it, the only real question is how long has this behaviour been going on for and why was shatter the first to notice?

Was it just small change during the boom so insignificant or did they know what about before then?

Who bought in the law?

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 847 ✭✭✭Bog Standard User

If an organisation takes 1c of public money, then said organisation must be fully transparent to the public.

so the Benefit Family must be fully transparent then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭EyeSight

You know what's funny about all these high paid charity boards? Is that there are volunteers in the organisations who would do as well a job for way less and in some cases even for free.
    Does a small charity need a high powered CEO on a bank CEOs wage? NO!