If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

***** Motors Chat - Round 5*****

coolisin wrote: »
    Your mps had xenons surely? A stronger bulb makes all the difference, but the standard setup sucks!!

It did and so did the RX8 but I didn't think the standard ones would be as bad as himself is making out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 30,127 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

ba_barabus wrote: »
    A mechanically propelled device for transporting people. But that's not important right now.

It's mechanically propelled?

Already sounds better than some of your previous efforts.

:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,585 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

Quazzie wrote: »
    It's mechanically propelled?

Already sounds better than some of your previous efforts.

Well it was when I left it :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,792 ✭✭✭coolisin

It did and so did the RX8 but I didn't think the standard ones would be as bad as himself is making out.

Yeah they are!

coolisin wrote: »
    Yeah they are!

Yeah, I can see that, no need for you to be telling me....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,234 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

Way to drag things away from my question anyway MM :pac: Im just gonna get a canbus set i reckon to be safe

Ah don't be whingin' ya littla babby!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

I'm gonna butt in here, whats the reason for the spot lights on certain newer makes of cars (mainly VAG from what I notice) turning on/off themselves. For example: both could be on, then the right one turns off, leaving the left on, then the left turns off and the right turns on? Hope I don't confuse ye :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

I'm gonna butt in here, whats the reason for the spot lights on certain newer makes of cars (mainly VAG from what I notice) turning on/off themselves. For example: both could be on, then the right one turns off, leaving the left on, then the left turns off and the right turns on? Hope I don't confuse ye :P

The car is winking at you

Go for it :)

Simple really, they come on to light up the direction in which the car is turning a bit better. I think it's for speed below 25km/h or so. It's not a patch on active headlamps which the likes of Citroen have had for years which turn with the steering wheel and really light it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,234 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

Cornering fog lights?
    Left fog light comes on when turning left for more light to see better, same for right side. Never driven a car with the system but seems a bit of a gimmick to me, fog lights should be pointed lower than dipped beams and I cant imagine they provide much more light.
    Nowhere near as good as Active headlight systems where the projector lens will move with the steering wheel to point the light into the corner

Go for it :)

Simple really, they come on to light up the direction in which the car is turning a bit better. I think it's for speed below 25km/h or so. It's not a patch on active headlamps which the likes of Citroen have had for years which turn with the steering wheel and really light it up.

Ya that's what I was thinking it could be, either that or dodgy electrics! :P Seems a bit stupid to me!

They work great in the right car.........

Seems a bit stupid to me!

They are. Citroen adaptive headlights are great however.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Scortho

Slán lads. Have far too much to be doing, than hanging around here procrastinating when I'm meant to be studying for finals and what nots. Ive enjoyed most of my time on here and became good friends with a few of yee.
    If you see a grey 156 v6 for sale around the summer time, its most likely mine...there can't be too many of them knocking around the dublin/kildare border and she's well minded. No more Maf issues either!:p

Best of luck to all of yee and I may be back in the future.

Cheers
    Scortho

Have fun and leave the account open for a future return :)

Best of luck Scortho with exams and everything! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,102 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

2005_ford_ka-pic-18432.jpeg

I'd forgotten about the SportKa. I knew they made the StreeKa but had forgotten about this and love the look of it. Hmmn is it a realistic first car though?!

1.6 IIRC. Great handling car and loads of fun but I'm certain irish insurers will class it as high performance and simply too much for an under 25 to even sit in....

Cough I'm an embarrassing 36.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

My aunt is 60 and is only doing her theory so shush :P

Go for it! If you like the look of it and what not then go check em out

Your insurance will always be high no matter what age you start at. TBH I don't think we got those Ka's new here in Ireland due to the massive* engines that were fitted. So you'll be looking at an import of some sort. I'd imagine insurance will be high but you'll have to call.

There's very little to choose from on DoneDeal from what I can see.

Your insurance will always be high no matter what age you start at. TBH I don't think we got those Ka's new here in Ireland due to the massive* engines that were fitted. So you'll be looking at an import of some sort. I'd imagine insurance will be high but you'll have to call.

I'd say if he went to fbd he'd get a decent quote, they've been very generous with me in the past and im only 22!

My aunt is 60 and is only doing her theory so shush :P

Go for it! If you like the look of it and what not then go check em out

Ah I have a few months to wait. I just took my second lesson today so realistically it'll be a few months before I start looking. I'm getting excited though, there's so much choice out there. It'll only be a run around as I can't go and plop myself into something meaty, I'll have to do my time in something small first but it'll be mine and I'll no longer be soaking wet sitting on the train on a winters morning!

I'd say if he went to fbd he'd get a decent quote, they've been very generous with me in the past and im only 22!
    From what I can see most first policies are the same regardless of age. They drop accordingly in year two if you get a full licence

Ah I have a few months to wait. I just took my second lesson today so realistically it'll be a few months before I start looking. I'm getting excited though, there's so much choice out there. It'll only be a run around as I can't go and plop myself into something meaty, I'll have to do my time in something small first but it'll be mine and I'll no longer be soaking wet sitting on the train on a winters morning!

I found half the fun of it was learning to drive :D the other half, blaring past people standing at a bus stop in lashing rain and me there with the heater on nice and warm and dry :pac: but yeah no harm in looking like, it keeps your motivation up i guess you could say, did with me anyways!

Honestly a late 01/02 Fiesta Ghia 1.25 would be a good all rounder for you :)

I had thought they were limited to the UK alright but yep, I am getting ahead of myself a little. Realistically I'll have to limit myself to a 1 litre or there abouts. I know it's probably not a wise idea but I find myself strangely drawn to the Modus or a 2004 Clio for some strange reason and against all logic.

From what I can see most first policies are the same regardless of age. They drop accordingly in year two if you get a full licence

I seeee, well I'm sure we'l find out :)