What is your career history?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

Unless everyone else in the class has the same idea

How much would a lecturer get paid these days?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Work in IT (software) for years.

Many part time jobs before that: waiter, shop assistant, TEFL teacher, labourer, barman, factory work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

Local Arcade
    Local Shop
    Fun Fair
    Dunnes
    Internet Cafe
    Fun Fair
    Building Site
    Pub
    Senior Research Analyst for one of the largest insurance companies in the world.

That is a hell of a jump from Pub to senior research analyst!
    What did you do? Get the interviewer drunk on free beer from your pub?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 218 ✭✭burnhardlanger

Reservation Sales Associate
    Transfers Agent
    Office Administrator
    IT Technical Support
    QA Engineer

But what I really want to do is direct.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 218 ✭✭burnhardlanger

Full time Mommy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 787 ✭✭✭Deadlie

Care Attendant
    Nurse
    Sales Assistant
    Medical Photographer
    News Photographer
    Desktop Publisher
    Unemployed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

That is a hell of a jump from Pub to senior research analyst!
    What did you do? Get the interviewer drunk on free beer from your pub?

hah nah I didn't have much in terms of papers with degrees on them or anything like that (college dropout after failing 5 outta 7 exams in first year, and a fairly crappy LC) but what i did do was mess around on computers and teach myself as much as I could.

I then did a FAS course and during it we were given the chance to do a microsoft masters course for a reduced price. I jumped at the chance and nailed it scoring best in the group and coming within 5 points on databases with the lecturer we had (woulda beaten here but i hit skip on on of the questions instead of try later or something).

Anywho with that behind me i tried for a job with the company and got through all the stuff but that fizzled out and the group that was meant to start was indefinetly postponed.

few weeks later the company called me, they were looking for someone with knowledge in Access and they had me on record and asked me in for an interview.

4 years later still here.

Just shows that even if you think you screwed everything up there are second chances if you keep plugging away!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 47 EdwardCastle

Have you considered being Batman? It seems like a popular career choice these days.

He can't be Batman. I'm Batman!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,031 ✭✭✭Feisar

Maintenance Man's Assistant
    Glass Collector
    Barman
    Bar Manager
    Quantity Surveyor

First they came for the socialists...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭MonstaMash

Hydraulic fitter / Military / Chef / Security

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

In no particular order; barman, warehouse assistant, kitchen porter, supermarket shelf stacker, Santa Claus, gardener, casual labourer, newsagent manager, radio producer, radio presenter, newsreader, writer, journalist, petrol pump attendent, dole claimant and plenty more that I can't immediately recall. I am currently working in television. I want to get a few scripts out of the way and then retire to an island in the Pacific.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,223 ✭✭✭Michael D Not Higgins

Customer service, painter, tree trimmer, night work in a bus depot, graduate engineer, project engineer, consultant engineer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,234 ✭✭✭Dr. Kenneth Noisewater

Turf-turner/footer extraordinaire, Baker, Sales assistant, Stock room worker, Waiter, General operative with Interlink Express, Barman, Brickie's labourer, General maintenance in an apartment block, Stock room worker again, Supervisor in a convenience store, Barman again. That was all in the space of about 7 years. I work in office admin for the past 7 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 25,000 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Strawberry Picking
    Fairground
    Penneys Store 1
    Fairground & Penneys Store 2
    Back to Penneys Store 1
    Bank Porter
    Back to Penneys Store 1
    Fairground
    Lounge Staff
    Bank Cashier
    Local Supermarket
    Music Showcase Producer
    Contract UnderGrad Systems Analyst
    Night Porter in a Hotel
    Dunnes Stores
    Cloakroom staff in a niteclub
    Photocopy Services
    Freelance Web Dev
    ERP Support Consultant
    ERP Technical Consultant
    Implementation Consultant
    Contract BI Developer
    Technical Pre-Sales / Account Management / BI Developer

I think that's the lot to date... many of those overlapped and it wasn't unusual for me to have 2/3 jobs at a time in college...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭missierex

Worked in a coffee/sandwich place, worked in a garden centre, and in a bar (all weekend work during college and school). Then worked in a healthcare factory and as a gardener with the Mayo County Council (summer jobs during college). Then I went to Uni in Brighton for a year to do a MSc in Environmental Assessment and Management, then ended up in the blooming Civil Service ever since. I hate my life

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

Pretty abysmal tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭FudgeBrownie

It's pretty nice to see how so many people seemed to have a sudden change in career direction. So if you hate your job there's always the future... Hopefully!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 47 EdwardCastle

It's pretty nice to see how so many people seemed to have a sudden change in career direction.

It is out of necessity for many people, the world is changing technologically an awful lot faster in every industry than a few decades ago. Many traditional type jobs that an older generation would have worked for 50 years of their lives are gone.

Today's world, it is expected that the majority of people will change career at least 5 times in their life.....out of necessity!

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 6,524 Mod ✭✭✭✭Irish Steve

It is out of necessity for many people, the world is changing technologically an awful lot faster in every industry than a few decades ago. Many traditional type jobs that an older generation would have worked for 50 years of their lives are gone.

Today's world, it is expected that the majority of people will change career at least 5 times in their life.....out of necessity!

And IT is one of the worst in that respect. A good few years ago, Microsoft discontinued support for Windows 98, and the entire team that had worked on that product, and knew their way around fixing it and tweaking it was let go, a completely new team was formed for the next operating system. Nothing like cleaning house, and making sure that there's no continuity going forward, and then people wonder why there are changes that break things that have worked for years.

XP is about to go the same way, and one of the reasons to upgrade being given is that patches released for later versions will allow hackers to reverse engineer ways of getting into XP that will make it even more vulnerable. In some cases, the same patch for XP is also applied to Win8, so the concept of getting rid of good people is flawed.

The other issue is the race to the bottom. Skilled people are valuable, but how many employers are prepared to recognise and pay for that value. Not many these days, it's all about minimum wage and zero hours contracts, skills are a "luxury" that are not worth paying for, and that's one of the reasons why we see things like banking systems that crash and are unusable for a number of days or longer, the understanding and skills have been removed from the loop, because they are too expensive.

When things go bad, that's where paper qualifications start looking very transparent, and real experience and hands on are worth a lot more, but they don't come with a piece of paper to prove they exist, they are developed and nurtured by employers that understand the value of experience. Once it's gone, it can be extremely expensive to replace.

Shore, if it was easy, everybody would be doin it.😁

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭John Doe1

Carpenter, Messiah, scratching my arse for about 2000 years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,103 ✭✭✭Tiddlypeeps

A bunch of different take away places/restaurants/supermarkets through out my school and college years. Tried the whole entrepreneur thing for a few years after college, tried to get a computer games company off the ground. That failed miserably so I moved on to a real computer games company, that folded after about a year and now I'm now I'm working for a company doing generic software development on crappy boring stuff.

Not particularly loving where I am at the moment, I'd love to be back working on games stuff, but I am learning loads of new things that I've been meaning to pick up for a while so at least that's a plus. I can't see myself sticking around here long term tho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 354 ✭✭srfc19

I've been a puppet, a pauper, a pirate, a poet, a pawn and a king.

That's life eh??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,073 ✭✭✭pauliebdub

Summers 93 to 98 worked in an abbatoir, packaging beef in a processing plant.

2000 leave college work in finance for a car dealership - hated it.
    2001 work in finance for a broadband company that went bust.
    2002 work for software company in finance
    2007 to present work for car rental company in finance and also part time IT student.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭olly_mac

General operative in a warehouse, proof-reader for a publishers, journalist, archaeologist, security guard, forestry worker, book seller, tour guide... not all in that order. I'd love to get into publishing again, in any capacity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,096 ✭✭✭Reiketsu

A cook, a shop attendant, administration for the Civil Service. That's it. Currently unemployed and going mad doing nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,944 ✭✭✭Sgt Hartman

First Job was security guard in Boots Limerick when I was on hols from college - Horrible

Atlas Aluminium Limerick on weekends -Dirty grubby work but it was ok

QC Technician - Demanding job, worked with complete bitches. At 21 I don't think I was anywhere near mature enough for that job, I acted the gob****e a lot.

Dell Limerick - Was ok, lads I worked with were good craic

Warehouse Operative - Horrible, worked with aggressive brain-dead bullies

Med Lab Assistant in Biochemistry - Busy but really good. Worked with lovely people.

Process Technician - Not nice working in a lab for a big American company, you're stifled by rules and procedures.

Med Lab Assistant in Hospital - My current job. Can be grand at times, can also be infuriating at times:p

”If I offended you, you needed it!!” - Corey Taylor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,924 ✭✭✭Joeface

Hmmm employment

Leather Factory (yeah I can stitch a sliotar)
    Banta in limerick ..box paper cuts
    AST line worker
    AST Test and Repair tech (college between my 2 different times with AST)
    Electronics Company doing test and Repair
    Same place moved in to Cad layout and design
    Other stuff added to be one bloated job , Desktop support and other IT crap + still doing the layout and Design ...Interest most days never the same problem

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,209 ✭✭✭nelly17

Bakery
    Cleaner in a Pharma plant
    Pizza Delivery guy
    Worked in the States for my Uncle who trained Horses = Mucking out that type of thing
    Fas Course run for IOL & AOL
    Tech Support
    Team Leader
    Noc Engineer
    Telecoms SDH/DWDM Transmission Engineer
    NOC Manager - it sucked so went back as ..
    Telecoms SDH/DWDM Network Optimisation engineer

Everything from below the Fas course would not have been possible without that Fas course. I had a crappy Leaving Cert and did not go to college.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

olly_mac wrote: »
    General operative in a warehouse, proof-reader for a publishers, journalist, archaeologist, security guard, forestry worker, book seller, tour guide... not all in that order. I'd love to get into publishing again, in any capacity.

How does the archaeologist fit in? Find anything worth while?

Nice to meet you Mr Jones.

Glass collector
    Barworker
    Admin in HSE
    Doorman in NY
    Admin in HSE
    Landscaper in Cape Cod
    Sales Advisor in o2
    Hospital Pharmacist