Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What is your career history?

• 16-01-2014 10:21pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭

Just out of interest, what jobs have you worked in the past, and are you where you would like to be?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭Chazz Michael Michaels

Just out of interest, what jobs have you worked in the past, and are you where you would like to be?

You first

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Boxer, mascot, astronaut, baby proofer, imitation Krusty, truck driver, hippie, plow driver, food critic, conceptual artist, grease salesman, carny, mayor, grifter, body guard for the mayor, country western manager, garbage commissioner, mountain climber, farmer, inventor, Smithers, Poochie, celebrity assistant, power plant worker, fortune cookie writer, beer baron, Kwik-E-Mart clerk, homophobe, and missionary, but protecting people, that gives me the best feeling of all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭FudgeBrownie

You first

Warehouse and deliveries, shop, tourism, shop, office job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭keithsfleet

Originally I was a farmers son.
    Went on to report for a small local newspaper.
    Then on to the big schmoke to report for a bigger paper where I made quiet the stir after catching an exclusive, also met the love of my life there.

Saved a few lives before and after.

Now my life is a delicate balance of keeping my secret life of saving lives away from my journalism side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 898 ✭✭✭petrolcan

Fuel injection engineer, visual technician, student, government artist, **** clearer upper, deputy **** clearer upper, chief **** clearer upper, demented granny watcher, facilities manager, government artist, house husband, retail facilitator, personal assistant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Lounge boy, slaughter house, defense forces, bouncer, bar man.

Where would I like to be in the future?... Millionaire lotto winner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭downonthefarm

EFF off copper wouldn't ask me that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Supermarket, Chinese Takeaway, Dept of Foreign Affairs, Recruitment, Bank Call Centre.

I'd like to be anywhere other than call centre in the future.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

First I was a tiger, a snake, a Clod, a goat with a hat, then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

keith16 wrote: »
    First I was a tiger, a snake, a Clod, a goat with a hat, then me.

Hoo, a tapeworm, then assistant to Lorne Michaels! It's going to be a rough couple of lifetimes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,377 ✭✭✭Colash

Carpenter , welder , gym instructor , security guard

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Started working the petrol pumps on a Saturday, then got a job as a school cleaner. During the school holidays I would work on a farm. Then I trained to be an accountant. Eventually I became a CMod on Boards, which I'm happy with;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 970 ✭✭✭yawhat!

In my dream job at 23 so cant complain :)

Beasty wrote: »
    Eventually I became a CMod on Boards, which I'm happy with;)

Aha. So that's the source of your fabulous wealth :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Grasscare operative.
    Soldier.
    Spokesman for Ping Pong Paddles .
    Co-owner of a Shrimp boat.
    Investor.
    Philanthropist.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

I'm 36 and am on my fourth college degree.

I've been a claims handler for 14 years.

I've a degree in Journalism and have worked as a part time and freelance writer. I've also recently qualified as an accountant and hope to get into this line of work soon. I also have a degree in mathematics and hope to start a master in actuarial science later this year. I develop websites part time also and gained a IT based degree. I did a professional insurance qualification also/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,689 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

1996: Club under-8's football team
    1998: Club under-10's football and hurling teams
    1999-2000: Club under-12's football and hurling team and school's Rackard League hurling and football teams
    2000-2002: Club under-14's football and hurling teams
    2002-2004: Club juvenile football and hurling teams
    2003-2006: Club minor football and hurling teams
    2006-2009: Club under 21 football team and junior football team

Retired in 2010 due to injury.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

LinkedIn?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 680 ✭✭✭AllthingsCP

Factory Worker- Shop Worker- Defence Force- Security- Garage Owner- Security Contactor- Daddy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭Frosty McSnowballs

Leaflet slave
    Lounge boy
    Furniture/bedding shop staff
    Soldier

In the future, it want to have my own deli/diner with Man vs Food style grub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

My first ever job, at 11 years old was a ballboy for Drogheda United, I got £2 punt a game, along with a cup of hot soup or bovril. I couldn't even afford to rent a Sega megadrive game on the way home, I'd be 50p short.

Still my favourite job of the whole lot though :)

In the future, it want to have my own deli/diner with Man vs Food style grub.

That would be amazing! Proper man portions every day.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

In no particular order , leaving out specifics - barista, shop assistant, landscape gardener, operations advisor, telesales, door to door sales, ski lift operator, IT analyst, software developer. I think I missed some.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,413 ✭✭✭Archeron

Tinker, tailor, soldier, spy.

LinkedIn?

Mr. Incongnito has been a member of boards.ie for the last 7 years. During this time, he quickly ascended to the rank of "moderator". His impressive posting style has played a key role in maintaining office morale in numerous forums.

More recently, Mr. Incognito gained over 100 "thanks" for one of his more insightful posts, which dispelled the absolute bollox that a junior boards.ie poster was spouting.

I would have no hesitation in recommending Mr. Incognito for moderating, and perhaps even "C" moderating of any forum. He is a terrific team player and I always found him very approachable.

"Keith16" endorses "Mr. Incognito" for the following skills:

- Talking on the internet
    - Moderation
    - Wearing pants
    - Laughter
    - Getting "thanks"
    - Replying to threads
    - Chasing girls

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

My job is so fcuking unbelievable. I’ll try to sum it up by first telling you about the folks I work:

First, there is this supermodel wanna-be chick. Yeah, okay, she is pretty hot, but damn is she completely useless. The girl is constantly fixing her hair or putting on makeup. She is extremely self-centered and has never once considered the needs or wants of anyone but herself. She is as dumb as a box of rocks, and I still find it surprising that she has enough brain power to continue to breathe.

The next chick is completely the opposite. She might even be one of the smartest people on the planet. Her career oppertunities are endless, and yet she is here with us. She is a zero on a scale of 1 to 10. I’m not sure she even showers, much less shaves her “womanly” parts. I think she might be a lesbian, because every time we drive by the hardware store, she moans like a cat in heat.

But the jewel of the crowd has got to be the stoner. And this guy is more than just your average pothead. In fact, he is baked before he comes to work, during work, and I’m sure after work. He probably hasn’t been sober anytime in the last ten years, and he’s only 22. He dresses like a beatnik throwback from the 1960’s, and to make things worse, he brings this massive dog to work. Every fcuking day I have to look at this huge Great Dane walk around half-stoned from the second-hand smoke. Hell, sometimes I even think it’s trying to talk with its constant bellowing. Also, both of them are constantly hungry, requiring multiple stops to McDonalds and Burger King, every single day.

Anyway, I drive these idiots around in my van and we solve mysteries and sh*t. *

* I do not claim credit for this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

Archeron wrote: »
    Tinker, tailor, soldier, spy.

:)?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 882 ✭✭✭JohnFalstaff

A medical student, an oarsman, a tenor, an amateur actor, a shouting politician, a small landlord, a small investor, a drinker, a good fellow, a storyteller, somebody’s secretary, something in a distillery, a taxgatherer, a bankrupt and at present a praiser of his own past.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,903 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Farm labourer

Labourer on building sites

Factory work

Warehouse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,291 ✭✭✭naughtysmurf

The missus is a test pilot in a broom factory :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,341 ✭✭✭El Horseboxo

Retail --> Volunteer --> Humanitarian officer --> Online child protection officer --> Federal law enforcement (in crimes against children capacity)

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 6,522 Mod ✭✭✭✭Irish Steve

In the following, PT = part time. In roughly this order, over about 46 years and in several countries

waste water sampler,
    paper mill skivvy,
    cash & carry warehouse worker,
    computer service engineer,
    computer salesman,
    computer programmer,
    computer consultant,
    PT car mechanic,
    PT welder,
    PT builder,
    PT carpenter,
    PT electrician,
    PT plumber,
    PT church leader,
    Computer systems manager,
    Commercial Pilot,
    Computer technical consultant,
    Flight Simulator builder,
    financial accounts manager,
    airport baggage handler,
    airport ramp operative,
    forklift driver.
    HGV driver.
    delivery driver,
    PT florist's gofer,
    Web developer,
    office manager.

What I'd like to be doing now would be driving and maintaining something like a narrow gauge steam engine, or steam traction engine in something like a theme park or similar.

I loved flying, but Saddam and the Gulf war got in the way of that, so had to do something else.

The other job I have is being dad to my kids, and grandad to theirs, and that's the most important one of all, the rest are just a means to an end.

Shore, if it was easy, everybody would be doin it.😁

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,454 ✭✭✭weemcd

Job list and rating in stars for how the job was overall, not counting wages because they were all usually shite but for how much I enjoyed my time:

Labourer in an orchard PT(age 15) **** - 4 stars
    Waiter/Porter/nite club attendant in a hotel PT *** - 3 stars
    Shop Assistant in a Toymaster PT **** - 4 stars
    Promotions work for soft drinks company PT ***** - 5 stars
    Butcher PT/FT **** - 4 stars
    Call Centre Sales FT *** - 3 stars
    Customer Service Call centre FT (age ~25) * - 1/0 stars

incl. 1 year university course age 18/19, a few odd jobs designing posters, bita this, bit of that.

Probably missed something in there, however a steady decline in the enjoyment, jobs haven't been the greatest but I've almost always had work for 10+ years which is something to be positive about.

Future, anything not involving call centres, the general public. Hopefully something with some variety. Qualifications, direction and goals are needed, but again feeling positive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Foxhound38

Lounge boy, Barman, Student, Political Advisor, Trade Union Organizer, Estate Agent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,035 ✭✭✭goz83

Professional dole claimer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,518 ✭✭✭stefan idiot jones

1987 - 1991 Apprentice Carpenter

1991 - 2013 Carpenter

2013 - Present Maintenance Officer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 556 ✭✭✭jethro081

I'm batman.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Government Artist

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,736 ✭✭✭Gannicus

Loungeboy
    Barman
    Shop assisstant
    Lifeguard
    Gym staff
    Bouncer
    DJ
    Merchandising
    Sales Distribution manager (not as good as it sounds.... not that it sounds all that good)
    Salesman
    Quality Assurance Auditor
    back to Salesman

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,754 ✭✭✭oldyouth

July 80 - Feb 98 - Office Work
    Unemployed
    July 98 - April 2012 - Office Work
    Unemployed
    September 2013 to 17th January 2014 - Office Work
    18th January 2014 - Unemployed :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,345 ✭✭✭The Dagda

Car thief.
    Armed robber.
    Tiger kidnapper.
    Serial rapist.
    Paedophile.
    Central Remedial Clinic CEO.

It's been a steady descent into the abyss...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

Porn Star and part time gigolo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭greenbicycle

jethro081 wrote: »
    I'm batman.

No, I am Batman.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

No, I am Batman.
    Oh stop fighting you two, one of ye will have to be robin :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭Sunglasses Ron

Beasty wrote: »
    Started working the petrol pumps on a Saturday,

Ohhhh yeah!

Whatever happened to the job of young lads pumping petrol? I haven't seen this service offered in about 13 years!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

Junior bookkeeping gimp, au pair, waitress, fruit picker, secretary, graduate IT munky, mid level IT munky, burnt out and disinterested IT munky.

It's been a rollercoaster.

Junior bookkeeping gimp, au pair, waitress, fruit picker, secretary, graduate IT munky, mid level IT munky, burnt out and disinterested IT munky.

It's been a rollercoaster.

So that's a no recommendation for people wanting to work in IT? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 334 ✭✭Mahogany Gaspipe

You've heard of "A general dogs body" right?.

Well I'm his PA.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,339 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

PT lounge boy
    PT off licence
    Roofing/cladding installer
    Engineering technician (civil/structural practice)
    Draughting technician for the government
    Building control for the government

College during those time frames vary from civil to structural engineering and various courses in construction and design.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

Crazy prices
    Dunnes Stores
    Picking out the bad potatoes for Tayto. Sometimes even putting them in the box!
    Pruning trees in Oz/picking baby tomatoes in Oz (lasted 40mins)
    Sales
    Warehouse
    Degree 1
    Web/graphic designer (hate it)
    Teaching
    Now studying law degree 2

Where will I see my self in the future? My script writing is starting to attract a bit of attention so if that takes off it be that, if not in the legal field.

End of the day after been through hell and back a million times over Im happy to wake up smiling.

EDIT: Full time mad bastard :D