Irishman just scored a century for England

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

irishmover wrote: »
    Just because you don't enjoy something doesn't mean everyone else in the world shouldn't.

Gob****e. Wher does it say I or the poster I was talking to not to enjoy it?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 737 ✭✭✭Yellow121

Gyalist wrote: »
    Again? 150 years ago it was the most popular sport.

LINK

If you read books like e.g. The History of Cricket in County Kilkenny you'd be amazed at how popular and ingrained the game was. In fact, an argument could be made that the most successful hurling counties are those with a deep cricketing tradition.

Just over 150 years ago many Irish people were starved to death. I know well of the history of cricket here, it was put back in its place and this kind of story today will keep it there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,566 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Yellow121 wrote: »
    Just over 150 years ago many Irish people were starved to death. I know well of the history of cricket here, it was put back in its place and this kind of story today will keep it there.

GAA fan by any chance?

Cricket is one of the most popular sports on earth. Why shouldn't Ireland play?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,652 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Just over 150 years ago many Irish people were starved to death.
    Irrelevant to this discussion.
    ... it was put back in its place and this kind of story today will keep it there.
    Oh, please do go on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,749 ✭✭✭irishmover

Gob****e. Wher does it say I or the poster I was talking to not to enjoy it?

I guess I took it the wrong way then? Asking why he's watching cricket before 7am, when it's live at that time in Australia to me seems like you're suggesting he's an idiot for watching a **** sport at a **** hour.

I was just thinking of the times I get up at 3am to watch football while in Australia and wondered if you'd be saying the same thing to me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

My main problem with this is how are Ireland going to have any sustained competitiveness at the highest level if any decent player gets poached by England?
    Don't know much about cricket and its politics but on the outside it would seem very difficult to be able to produce a decent team in the long run if our top talent plays elsewhere.
    Wasn't there another lad called Joyce that became English too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Gyalist

GAA fan by any chance?

The reaction that cricket gets from some people in Ireland amuses me. Yet most of the sports invented or codified by Britain (football, rugby, golf, tennis, hockey, squash, badminton, et al) don't attract the same ire.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Dont follow/watch it myself,do see it being played quite regular in the Phoenix park,when I was in India it was followed fanatacly by all around me,they were baffled that I had no interest in it.

iDave wrote: »
    My main problem with this is how are Ireland going to have any sustained competitiveness at the highest level if any decent player gets poached by England?
    Don't know much about cricket and its politics but on the outside it would seem very difficult to be able to produce a decent team in the long run if our top talent plays elsewhere.

If those players had a reason to stay then they would.

There is quite significant support in England for the development of Irish cricket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

irishmover wrote: »
    I guess I took it the wrong way then? Asking why he's watching cricket before 7am, when it's live at that time in Australia to me seems like you're suggesting he's an idiot for watching a **** sport at a **** hour.

I was just thinking of the times I get up at 3am to watch football while in Australia and wondered if you'd be saying the same thing to me!

Well I'm not a mind reader I don't know of he's in Australia or Nigeria or watching it on sky at home. Ive obviously assumed the home one!

No I don't think you are an idiot either. I done it myself for long enough in the Far East. Champions league games were a killer!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,302 ✭✭✭Snickers Man

Cricket is surprisingly not too bad to watch, not test cricket but the 20/20 cricket.

Beats darts or snooker for me anyhow.

Cricket is a sport; darts and snooker are not.

Definiiton: "it's not a sport if you don't have to change your shoes"

GAA fan by any chance?

Irish people can play if they want but it will never be popular.

iDave wrote: »

That's why a structure for the game to be played professionally in Ireland is being put in place. The current Ireland senior squad are almost all centrally-contracted to Cricket Ireland. The provincial competition started last year and much investment is being made into its development. This will take time.

Ed Joyce played for England and is back playing for Ireland.

El Weirdo wrote: »
    Irrelevant to this discussion.

Oh, please do go on.

Why is that irrelevant? Does it not show who might have been playing cricket at the time?

What more do I have to say, cricket isn't popular here and stories like this today will not help it gain popularity.

The reaction that cricket gets from some people in Ireland amuses me. Yet most of the sports invented or codified by Britain (football, rugby, golf, tennis, hockey, squash, badminton, et al) don't attract the same ire.

I was just giving my opinion. I don't believe playing for England is the goal for those other sports you listed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,302 ✭✭✭Snickers Man

Both of which are International corporations, not national sports teams, no comparison.

Cricket doesn't have "national" sports teams. It has test sides. There's no such country as the "West Indies", for example. it is made up of several independent countries all of whom have contributed great players to the test team. Barbados, Antigua, Jamaica, Guyana, Trinidad etc

Also "England" in cricket terms is really the UK (and Ireland) Playes from Scotland and Wales have often appeared in the "England" side.

Tradition, don't ye know.

Why is that irrelevant? Does it not show who might have been playing cricket at the time?

What more do I have to say, cricket isn't popular here and stories like this today will not help it gain popularity.

Who was playing cricket? The same people that now play football and hurling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

I've zero interest in it and find it odd that England are still playing Australia since early December.You can't avoid reports on it on SSN.They lost the Ashes and are still out there playing against the country that beat them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,749 ✭✭✭irishmover

Cricket doesn't have "national" sports teams. It has test sides. There's no such country as the "West Indies", for example. it is made up of several independent countries all of whom have contributed great players to the test team. Barbados, Antigua, Jamaica, Guyana, Trinidad etc

Also "England" in cricket terms is really the UK (and Ireland) Playes from Scotland and Wales have often appeared in the "England" side.

I guess if it was called the British and Irish Lions it might have been getting a little more exposure from the Irish public.

I was just giving my opinion. I don't believe playing for England is the goal for those other sports you listed.

The vast majority of people playing cricket in Ireland haven't a hope of ever playing for Ireland, nevermind England. Their goal is just simply playing for the fun of it.

I think Robert Croft said that for him, representing Glamorgan was akin to representing Wales and England to the UK.

zerks wrote: »
    I've zero interest in it and find it odd that England are still playing Australia since early December.You can't avoid reports on it on SSN.They lost the Ashes and are still out there playing against the country that beat them.

They are now playing a one day series.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Cue rant along the lines of what about 8 centuries.

Tiocfaidh ár lá etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,652 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Who? People like Michael Cusack?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 229 ✭✭danmanw8

Lapin wrote: »
    You make it sound as though the English all have scabies or something.

Whats the problem here?

A professional earning his living abroad - no big deal.

Nobody passes any remarks on an Irishman being head of British Airways.

The CEO of RyanAir is Irish too I think :-) ....but the CEO of AerLingus is German and no Germans are claiming treason

zerks wrote: »

LOL. England are on tour to Australia just like, say, the Britsh and Irish Lions go on extended tour there. The Ashes are played for in 5 five-day Test matches. That's now over and they are now playing the 50 over version of the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,617 ✭✭✭OldRio

danmanw8 wrote: »
    The CEO of RyanAir is Irish too I think :-) ....but the CEO of AerLingus is German and no Germans are claiming treason

And who does the German play cricket for?

Who was playing cricket? The same people that now play football and hurling.

Some of those who could, others didn't have the chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Fair play to him, a century against those Australian bowlers is no mean feat.

Would an Irish test team be a good thing? Possibly. At the moment I'd say the Irish cricket team is quite similar to the Samoan rugby team, the 'best of the rest', capable of pulling off the occasional upset against the bigger teams but incapable of competing on a regular basis.

As for the people who don't like it, a fairly simple solution would be to just ignore it in that case.

The vast majority of people playing cricket in Ireland haven't a hope of ever playing for Ireland, nevermind England. Their goal is just simply playing for the fun of it.

Yeah, play away lads. It wont become popular though.