If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

***** Motors Chat - Round 5*****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,855 ✭✭✭nd

The sisters, husbands, brother's 5 day old hyundai.

1016738_636494613081461_1360650351_n.jpg

He was driving down the motorway and noticed smoke coming from the engine. He pulled over, got out and 10 seconds later it was in flames!

Luckily no one was hurt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,830 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

If I was him I'd be posting that to their facebook, I'm sure it would work in his favour!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Uh oh..... Door lock on the 520 has broke. Refusing to keep the passenger door shut :(

Any ideas before I change it?

dgt wrote: »
    Uh oh..... Door lock on the 520 has broke. Refusing to keep the passenger door shut :(

Hardly the frost this morning playing silly bugger?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Scortho

Weld it shut and while at it, the diff as well!:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,140 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

Put on a different color door for the lolz

Hardly the frost this morning playing silly bugger?

I hope it is, where I keep the car it's exposed on that side. Drivers door is fine. I'll give it a little while, hope the rain holds off....!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,792 ✭✭✭coolisin

nd wrote: »

He was driving down the motorway and noticed smoke coming from the engine. He pulled over, got out and 10 seconds later it was in flames!

Luckily no one was hurt.

That is unreal, at least it appears they are not falsely advertising the cars as being made of junk.

How the f*ck!!

I'd have to agree with muppetcheck social media is his friend here!

Just got some fire at the door, it's worked!

Thanks MuppetCheck :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

It done the honourable thing that every Hyundai should do :)
    Thank god nobody was hurt though, lucky escape!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,146 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

So, I found a picture of my odometer from this day last year...I have covered 3,000 miles in my motor in the last year. It makes it so much more painful having a 1080 motor tax bill to pay by the end of the month :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭pajor

nd wrote: »

Luckily no one was hurt.

Luckily no one was hurt indeed! :eek:

Just got some fire at the door, it's worked!

Thanks MuppetCheck :cool:

An old car of mine used to do it every frosty morning. Kettle of boiling water was always needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

An old car of mine used to do it every frosty morning. Kettle of boiling water was always needed.

Or if you get caught out blast it with p1ss. ;)

Big Nasty wrote: »
    Or if you get caught out blast it with p1ss. ;)

You'd really want to touch the door handle after that...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

You'd really want to touch the door handle after that...

I guess sometimes needs must! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,871 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

Why do they put washers onto the bonnet?

It just leads to sh1tty windscreen the whole way down the road.

Why not stick them under the bonnet lip instead so the blower can defrost them ?
    This was me this morning
    ventura1.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,911 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

When in doubt:

ducttape.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,855 ✭✭✭nd

If I was him I'd be posting that to their facebook, I'm sure it would work in his favour!

Yeah he has it up on facebook. It was a company car so he's not too worried about the car itself. His laptop was in the car so he's annoyed about that. And of course it could have been alot worse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,815 ✭✭✭✭Dord

So, I found a picture of my odometer from this day last year...I have covered 3,000 miles in my motor in the last year. It makes it so much more painful having a 1080 motor tax bill to pay by the end of the month :o

I did around 5000 miles in the last year but my tax bill is only 385 for the year. I only passed my test in April also. :pac: :)

Ah well, on to bigger engines and bigger tax bills in 2014 hopefully! :cool: :(

Jesus lads ye do no mileage! I do 5000 miles in about 6 weeks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,730 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

I did about 6k I'm the Almera before I killed it, there was only two months lefts on the insurance at that save, I'd guess close to 7 would have been the year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,871 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

I am actually well down on mine this year too.

Only managed to do 25k Miles as opposed to my usual 40. Quite happy with that !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,140 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

I reckon between the three cars I'm at 20-22k miles.
    In the month I had the carina as a daily driver I did 2k miles in just that one car alone.

The last two years I was coming very close to 50k.
    Got The car last March with 133k on it, as of now there's 166k with a little over two months to go before the year is out.
    So I'm going to be down to about 40k this year.

I really can't imagine how you guys manage so little milage. Even in college I was doing 400 miles a week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,146 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

It does beg the question...am I barking mad evening running the yoke! And my mileage will decrease now that I'm starting a new job in Feb!

I was doing about 60k km a year but managed to get it down to between 40-50k km now. If I keep going the way I am I should get it just under 40k km when the cars a year old.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,294 ✭✭✭LiamoSail

It does beg the question...am I barking mad evening running the yoke! And my mileage will decrease now that I'm starting a new job in Feb!

I'm in a similar situation. Dividing my annual mileage by annual cost of tax means I'm paying about 22c in tax per mile. Obviously that's not including the tax I pay on petrol. Looks like its costing you about 36c/mile. Can't be many paying much more then that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,773 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

I did a quick calculation there. Based on your milage and assuming 20MPG your cost for fuel and tax is almost the same as mine (doing 38MPG, 1.6 tax and 14000km a year). Not sure if that will make you feel better or worse though! :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,872 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

I'll have only covered 8k in a year and that's with me driving the car pretty much everyday.