If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

***** Motors Chat - Round 5*****

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

i've decided to take the astra off the road for the time being, after a rather near miss incident earlier tonight, bend in the road, black ice, missed a tree by a few inches plus my front tires smell of burnt rubber whenever i go somewhere and it's very off putting :o And a light that seems to come on whenever it feels like it :rolleyes:

Anyways, there you have it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,585 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

SCRAP IT

ba_barabus wrote: »
    SCRAP IT

Ah now that's a bit extreme now!

Quick question for all you VAG HEADS.

Does a 2007 Audi A3 1.6 AMBITION come with aircon or any pleasure in ownership?

Ah now that's a bit extreme now!
    You're right..........BURN IT WITH FIRE :pac:

I'll stop now.........

You're right..........BURN IT WITH FIRE :pac:

I'll stop now.........

:pac: down with that sort of thing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,327 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Ah Jaysus, don't do that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Ba you are now presented with an opportunity

Buy something decent ! :p

Ba you are now presented with an opportunity

1.3 diesel corsa :pac:

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Ah Jaysus, don't do that.
    Well I have 6 months of tooling around and then I'll be back to higher miles again. I'm getting tired of changing all the time too. And I'm getting old.......old and boring.

Everytime I do that I break it :o

Get an alfa so, it'l be the only one that doesn't break that way :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,830 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

It was part of an option pack on them back then.

That engine will bleed you dry - extremely thirsty for what it is. Have you an overwhelming attraction to the most undesirable model of every car you mention on here?

That engine will bleed you dry - extremely thirsty for what it is.
    Interesting to note.
    Have you an overwhelming attraction to the most undesirable model of every car you mention on here?
    I love the unloved cars

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,499 ✭✭✭Interslice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,306 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Interslice wrote: »

A fixed GATSO camera would sort that. Or a 50km/h limit with ramps would sort it also.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Scortho

Mycroft H wrote: »
    A fixed GATSO camera would sort that. Or a 50km/h limit with ramps would sort it also.

We need dual carriageways everywhere joe.
    There's blind junctions everywhere, wait until it's clear and then when it is, put the foot down.

100kph is ridiculous on that road when you think the n4 is 60 in parts, and it has light controlled junctions. Sometimes I wonder about the gombeens in this country who decide the speed limit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,773 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

Scortho wrote: »
    We need dual carriageways everywhere joe.
    There's blind junctions everywhere, wait until it's clear and then when it is, put the foot down.

100kph is ridiculous on that road when you think the n4 is 60 in parts, and it has light controlled junctions. Sometimes I wonder about the gombeens in this country who decide the speed limit

I was going to say this but thought I would get hounded. The about of people who dawdle in dangerous junctions (or any junction for that matter) is just ridiculous. Set off as quickly as you can, If joining the road actually use full throttle and rev the thing out a bit! I would say the majority of drivers in this country very seldom accelerate at WOT or rev their cars over 4.5-5K.

Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    I was going to say this but thought I would get hounded. The about of people who dawdle in dangerous junctions (or any junction for that matter) is just ridiculous. Set off as quickly as you can, If joining the road actually use full throttle and rev the thing out a bit! I would say the majority of drivers in this country very seldom accelerate at WOT or rev their cars over 4.5-5K.

I'd have to agree with you there, there's a few blind junctions around my place and what i usually do, even if it is a bit much is put down the windows to hear if anythings coming and then hoor it across the road, no point in dawdling across and bam you're getting a nice view of a daf logo or something get over to the other side as quick as you can

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Scortho

It happens all the time as well.
    I was merging onto the m50 this evening, was at 100 ready to merge in about 100 metres, next thing a van in the other lane, pulls out in front of me, no indicators and at 60. For Christ sake, will people look before pulling out and when they do get on with it. I've no problem with anyone pulling out in front of me, provided I don't have to slow down. If I've to slow down, it obviously wasn't safe for them to pull out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,773 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

I'd have to agree with you there, there's a few blind junctions around my place and what i usually do, even if it is a bit much is put down the windows to hear if anythings coming and then hoor it across the road, no point in dawdling across and bam you're getting a nice view of a daf logo or something get over to the other side as quick as you can

That's a top tip :) I use it at a junction near me, however I normally only go that way at night because you can see the lights coming but during the day window down it is.
    Scortho wrote: »
    It happens all the time as well.
    I was merging onto the m50 this evening, was at 100 ready to merge in about 100 metres, next thing a van in the other lane, pulls out in front of me, no indicators and at 60. For Christ sake, will people look before pulling out and when they do get on with it. I've no problem with anyone pulling out in front of me, provided I don't have to slow down. If I've to slow down, it obviously wasn't safe for them to pull out.

I had a really bad one of these too last week. I was merging onto the M50 southbound at Dundrum. I was behind a Laguna estate at the top of the slip (both of us in the left hand, long merging lane). I changed to the right lane so I could merge on quicker and not be behind them. I pulled out and waited for a second just to make sure they weren't going to pull out in front of me. They looked like they weren't going to but just as I planted it they pulled out :rolleyes:.
    So I moved back to the inside lane (still on the slip at 40km/h( and passed them and pulled back out to the shorter merging lane. Probably not the most correct thing to do but it was about 9PM, I had been in college all day doing an exam and studying and wanted to get home for the dinner :P When I got passed them they flashed me (gave them plenty of room but fair enough) I then noticed that they only had parking lights on merging onto a motorway in full dark :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

That's a top tip :) I use it at a junction near me, however I normally only go that way at night because you can see the lights coming but during the day window down it is.

I had a really bad one of these too last week. I was merging onto the M50 southbound at Dundrum. I was behind a Laguna estate at the top of the slip (both of us in the left hand, long merging lane). I changed to the right lane so I could merge on quicker and not be behind them. I pulled out and waited for a second just to make sure they weren't going to pull out in front of me. They looked like they weren't going to but just as I planted it they pulled out :rolleyes:.
    So I moved back to the inside lane (still on the slip at 40km/h( and passed them and pulled back out to the shorter merging lane. Probably not the most correct thing to do but it was about 9PM, I had been in college all day doing an exam and studying and wanted to get home for the dinner :P When I got passed them they flashed me (gave them plenty of room but fair enough) I then noticed that they only had parking lights on merging onto a motorway in full dark :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

Tis very useful, it may take a few seconds more buuuuuut, it could be the difference between you and a funeral

Ah the irish motorist, I seen one lad going around tonight with his hazards on, at about 9 at night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,925 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

or rev their cars over 4.5-5K.

Impossible with most diesels :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Impossible with most diesels :pac:

6k in the 406 with 3mm gov shim :cool:

Not part of most diesels! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,306 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

z5cKgYU.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,911 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

1983 was looooooooooooooooooooooooong time ago! :pac:

31 years ago!!! :eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,234 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

mazda 6 likes to rev up and down when i press the clutch sometimes coming to a halt, i cleaned out the throttle body in situe last week, will i take it off and give it a proper clean or reckon its a new one?

Plug her in and see if any sensor fires up a fault. Could be a bit more than that though

One Bravo we had years ago had a self revving problem, new engine loom was the cure. Feckin gobsh*tes who worked on that car before us :rolleyes: