Do you find people interesting?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

I find odd people fascinating. They usually have amazing stories.
    Also well travelled people are cool to talk to.

If I meet someone who asks me what I do for a living or if I saw the match, I kinda switch off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭poundapunnet

biko wrote: »

If I meet someone who asks me what I do for a living or if I saw the match, I kinda switch off.

That's why I hate going to the pub in the village where I'm from. You're limited to the script really. Weather, match, local gossip. Same conversations again and again and it goes down like a lead brick if you wander off the path. Until you get eight pints in and everyone's philosophising.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭Butterfly25

After working in retail for most of my adult life I have come to realise that the vast majority of people are ignorant, disgusting and annoying. Obviously there are some exceptions but for the most part I have no interest in what people think or say. Thank god I don't work in retail anymore! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

Love talking to new people although I'm fairly introverted (with moments of extravertedness). The bulk of my job involves talking to people and it's, without a doubt, my favourite part of it. People are fascinating to me.

Same as!

I deal with, on average, an older population. I love hearing their stories.

I've met some interesting people through work, college and boards. It opens you up to so many things in life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭Miss Lockhart

No. Generally I have little interest in other people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭MJ23

Empty vessels make most sound.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

After working in retail for most of my adult life I have come to realise that the vast majority of people are ignorant, disgusting and annoying. Obviously there are some exceptions but for the most part I have no interest in what people think or say. Thank god I don't work in retail anymore! :D

I would love it if Fergal Quinn came out with this in an unguarded moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Generally speaking, no. Anytime Im in a big group of people chatting, i.e. work canteen, family gatherings, then I find the conversation to fairly tedious. I always thought other people were very stimulated by the most mundane prattle. Football and XFactor for the under 30s, marriage and kids for the 30s to 50s and who is dieing, whos dead and who might die for the 50 and overs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

I do love the sound of my own voice, says the OP. :p

I'm as introverted and as boring as it gets, but I'm in contact with incredibly interesting and educated people every day. I could listen to someone with genuine knowledge and wisdom talk all day about their subject.

Small talk makes me want to sleep though.

Op, meet more interesting people, then you'll be interested in what they have to say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭FizzleSticks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

Candie wrote: »
    I'm as introverted and as boring as it gets, but I'm in contact with incredibly interesting and educated people every day. I could listen to someone with genuine knowledge and wisdom talk all day about their subject.

Small talk makes me want to sleep though.

Op, meet more interesting people, then you'll be interested in what they have to say.

Jaysus I really, really doubt that.

Did I ever tell you you're fascinating Legs? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Generally like meeting people and am friendly and interested in what makes them tick but probably guilty of being a bit judgmental and unforgiving/dismissive of people I don't take to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

People aren't too bad. Some of my most enjoyable nights out have been spent talking to people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,615 ✭✭✭Fox_In_Socks

I find Napoleon fascinating.

Not you lot, though.:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

I'm a people person

• Closed Accounts Posts: 519 ✭✭✭thecatspjs

Some people mention that they find others boring, especially if it's just typical chit chat. I'd be curious to know what you would find interesting to talk about?

I think that talk of the match/weather/whatever is just used as an ice breaker before finding some common ground (if it exists). Obviously it's not good if that's all they can talk about, but if some one started going on about their round the world adventures straight away I would lose interest tbh. It's not that I wouldn't be interested ever, but if you open a conversation with a relative stranger by talking about yourself it comes across as rude.

I reckon that I find as many people interesting as there are people who find me interesting. Win some, lose some but on the whole there's usually a connection to be made somewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Semele

In my experience, the people I've known who have said that they find most people boring/uninteresting are either very narcissistic and get bored with a situation where others aren't entirely focused on them, or have some degree of borderline traits where there is a lack of understanding of the internal worlds of others, therefore there is little curiosity about people's feelings or motives...so I'd agree with Wibbs really. That's referring to the extremes, where people genuinely don't find others interesting at all and can't understand why anyone else would, not the more context-specific misanthropy that I am often victim to!

I have lots of uncharitable thoughts about the people I meet on a daily basis, and yet fundamentally I am fascinated by people. My career is based on it, and doing my job has only made me more aware of what hidden depths there are in everyone.

On a related note, I've always assumed my obsession with literature stemmed from the same root as my interest in other people and their experiences. Interestingly, the people I know who are least interested in other real life people are also the ones who don't read fiction, or who only enjoy plot driven novels as opposed to more character driven ones.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

Yes, I find people very interesting - not to the point of being a gossip though... well, most of the time. :pac:

When I'm reading a book, it's the descriptions of people that I love; I tend to skim over the descriptions of things/places.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,753 ✭✭✭Vito Corleone

I find that generally people are all the same. Once you have experienced one person you have experienced them all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭Fiery biscuits

I think people are fascinating. I don't know how people can think that people are generally all the same. What about gender, age, background, life experience, work, traveling experiences, humour, culture, nationality, how people react in certain situations etc etc etc. I love meeting new people and experiences these aspects of their character.

I also think a lot depends on the questions you ask people and the way you want a conversation to go. In a way I find boring people interesting. That's a complete contradiction I know but even if a person is boring the arse of me, I tend to think about why they are so boring, does everyone else think they are boring too or are they even boring at all or are they just not interested in talking to me. It's a yes from me..people are interesting!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

Yes, I find people very interesting - not to the point of being a gossip though... well, most of the time. :pac:

When I'm reading a book, it's the descriptions of people that I love; I tend to skim over the descriptions of things/places.

Same. In fact I almost only read fiction books that involve insight into the thoughts of people and their lives (reading Alice Munro "Too Much Happiness" now. That book should wet your whistle nicely ;)). I only realised this now looking at my book shelf...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭Wattle

It's people's expectations that I find hard to deal with. Society's expectations. They want to put you in a box. They have to label you and define you. If they can't put you in a category then they tend to reject you. Why can't you be like so and so? They feel like they have to fix you. I don't hate people on an individual level it's just the collective that I find hard to stomach. I do spend a lot of time on my own but it doesn't feel like isolation. I don't feel deprived of anything. Most of the time I feel completely calm and centered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,598 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

lol @ whirlpool having a nervous breakdown within the first page of the thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 96 ✭✭RahenyD5

biko wrote:

That's why I hate going to the pub in the village where I'm from. You're limited to the script really. Weather, match, local gossip. Same conversations again and again and it goes down like a lead brick if you wander off the path. Until you get eight pints in and everyone's philosophising.

Agree with the above.

Outside my social circle, generally I find it hard to "read" people, it can be like trying to solve a puzzle only to give up in the end.

I find some people less interesting when they talk about predictable things such as the weather, soaps and X Factor also sports & girls from lads. The problem is if you talk about something different, anything that the common person is not chatting about in the street, they can look at you as if you are strange or label you as a nerd or weirdo.

The funny thing is you can talk just about anything in the pub when people have drinks down them and are relaxed - craic that Ireland is famous for! It is like there is a fear out there that talking about anything untypical makes people guarded believing they would be judged as abnormal etc. which is a real shame.

To me this looks like we only get interesting when we have alcohol in us or communicate behind keyboards without being ridiculed face to face.

I would be delighted if someone strikes up a conversation about random untypical stuff - talking crap - therefore different and interesting. After Hours on Boards, plenty random topics there, is deadly for this! If this makes me a weirdo then so be it.

The small talk we have to endure can be pretty annoying however I agree is useful to break the ice between strangers but as normal conversation is a no-no.

The people I work with always make repetitive small talk even I've worked there for 8 years! This can be irritating that sometimes I don't want to go in work because I would know exactly what they are going to say before they open their mouths, so depressing.

They are too reserved to talk about random stuff also I think this may be down to myself being the only young one at work. I admire the German work culture which workers would go in and do their bit then go home again without talking too much predictable bollix.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 445 ✭✭rwg

Waiting on the bus home from work last week, guy at the bus stop was arguing with the bus, which wasn't actually there. I got on the bus and 3 stops down another guy gets on, with 2 guys in chase, accusing him of stealing something, and threatening to stab him to death if he didn't give it back. A woman beside me, of about 5 feet high jumps up and starts fighting the three of them.

After the commotion has ended, the bus driver refuses to drive off until the guards arrive, making me wait until another bus came behind.

I don't mind people, but they're very difficult to find.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

I'm interested in oddballs to be honest.my closest friends are all kinda weird.they're successful,outgoing and well rounded but the stuff they come out with is odd a lot of the time and that's what I like. A lot of the people I deal with in work have what I regard as run of the mill lives and they don't interest me one bit. For example a girl came in today after getting engaged last night to her boyfriend and I honestly couldn't care less.she's nice to everyone and never rocks the boat and I do not find her interesting in anyway and there's a lot more like her in there. I just find her type boring.maby it's more a problem with me than people like her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 165 ✭✭Evelyn Cusack

People are fascinating, love hot days when you can find a comfortable perch and people watch

• Closed Accounts Posts: 445 ✭✭rwg

People are fascinating, love hot days when you can find a comfortable perch and people watch

Reminds me of a parrot I once had