Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you find people interesting?

• 13-01-2014 5:32pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭

Do you have any desire to get to know people?

Do you want to get to know the new people in work?

Do you enjoy chatting to people at parties or on nights out?

Do you give a f*** what anyone actually has to say?

For me it's up and down. 90% of the time I have zero interest in hearing anyone even talk. About anything. I'm curious how common it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,345 ✭✭✭landsleaving

People are absolutely fascinating as long as they're not anywhere near me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Depends on the person to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,294 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

Some people are interesting and others not so much. Avoid the boring ones, engage with the interesting ones, you can't generalise all people like that.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Yep, because I'm neither anthropophobic nor suffer social anxiety or borderline personality disorder. It doesn't mean you have to find everyone interesting, but if you no one or the vast majority uninteresting then I would say the fault if it is such lies within. Humans are social animals, it's what we do. It's not an introvert/extravert thing either. Some extraverts can actively dislike people and how that comes out is trying to be the most important thing in the room. Many introverts I know find people fascinating, they just don't go on about it.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭whirlpool

Wibbs wrote: »
    Yep, because I'm neither anthropophobic nor suffer social anxiety or borderline personality disorder. It doesn't mean you have to find everyone interesting, but if you no one or the vast majority uninteresting then I would say the fault if it is such lies within. Humans are social animals, it's what we do. It's not an introvert/extravert thing either. Some extraverts can actively dislike people and how that comes out is trying to be the most important thing in the room. Many introverts I know find people fascinating, they just don't go on about it.

Phobic? Suffer? Disorder? Fault?

It's nonsense like this which makes me less and less interested in what random people sh*te on about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

I find people very intresting, love meeting new people.

whirlpool wrote: »

It's nonsense like this which makes me less and less interested in what random people sh*te on about.

If you're not interested in people, why did you post a question on a message board... seeking answers... from people?

Or did you just want everyone to agree with you?

Oh yeah, people, I hate those guys... right... right? Anyone?

And then the tumbleweed rolls by.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭Phill Ewinn

People. Great bunch of lads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 504 ✭✭✭Zed Bank

Schizoid personality disorder.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

An active dislike of people is unusual. Whether it ends up being a disorder, or labeled as one is for others to decide, but it is outside the norm and hardly in a good way for society or the individual concerned.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭whirlpool

If you're not interested in people, why did you post a question on a message board... seeking answers... from people?

Or did you just want everyone to agree with you?

Oh yeah, people, I hate those guys... right... right? Anyone?

And then the tumbleweed rolls by.

Eh, that wasn't a disagreement. It was diagnosing the topic as a mental problem and a personal "fault." Big difference, I hope you find.

No, my feelings on the matter are not a personal fault. To say I am at fault for not wanting to get to know people is pretty arrogant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

Kind of makes posting on Boards a bit pointless for you really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭Chazz Michael Michaels

I'm always drawn to people who are a bit "cracked"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

*High Five* :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

Shower of fascinating bastards.

Eh, that wasn't a disagreement. It was diagnosing the topic as a mental problem. Big difference, I hope you find.

Not really, I've found most people who say they don't like people want people to like them and either have been rejected one too many times, or are afraid of it. It's not particularly healthy - although we're all a bit like that at times, probably in teenage years for most.

Or maybe you've discovered the truth, that people are really dull. Does everyone you know like things you don't by any chance? Then they're boring. Science Fax.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭Chazz Michael Michaels

Chucken wrote: »
    *High Five* :D

Yeah! :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,294 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

If you find everyone you talk to boring, then the problem is with you, not with them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭nc19

Do you have any desire to get to know people?

Do you want to get to know the new people in work?

Do you enjoy chatting to people at parties or on nights out?

Do you give a f*** what anyone actually has to say?

For me it's up and down. 90% of the time I have zero interest in hearing anyone even talk. About anything. I'm curious how common it is.

I hate people in general.

But a place in hell is reserved for customers who come in for an hours worth of work 15mins before you close

I hope these f**kers die a horrible death.

I barely have an interest in what my family have to say never mind anyone else

To close - i hate everyone

nc19 wrote: »
    To close - i hate everyone

I like you.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭nc19

MadYaker wrote: »
    If you find everyone you talk to boring, then the problem is with you, not with them.

Please expand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭poundapunnet

They're always drawn to me, it's like I have a big invisible sign on my head saying "nutters, talk to me about things!". Makes for some interesting conversations.

I do find a lot of people a bit..not boring but predictable. I have a fair idea of what they're going to do or say in most situations. But that's an ability I've gained from finding people on the whole and as a group interesting and trying to figure them out. I'm pretty introverted so for most of life I'm only here in an observational capacity really.

But yeah, I like people, I like exchanging ideas and bodily fluids and stuff. I probably am most interested in my own company though tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,564 ✭✭✭notnumber

Mates are a waste of fcuking time. They are always ready to drag you down tae their level of social, sexual and intellectual mediocrity.

Irvine Welsh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,903 ✭✭✭Napper Hawkins

I find people with no strong opinions on anything (fence-sitters etc.) to be the most dull. So that would be most people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

I think almost every isolated person began their path that way through fear. They may have learned and accepted and feel happy now in their isolation but they know it is not right. Social validation is a big seratonin-releaser (I'm not sure comparitively but it is substantial I'd imagine).

The big stumbling block for me is early stages of relationships and getting past the necessary 'socialising' to get to where both people know each other well enough to know what makes them really laugh. I find it hard to make people laugh when I don't know a bit about them and they me. I am uncomfortable with the, not fake laugh, but social lubrication in the beginning. In my case, trust plays a huge role, trusting that someone might enjoy my company, that they are not always waiting for me to fall down.

I'd imagine that early point is where a lot of people can give up and think they just don't like people, and are genuinely happier on their own. They never really connect with people and are just a dancing shadow of themselves in social exchanges. I see it in some business people, careerists, who have worked the Good Job in Business their whole adult life. From that they learned to be a person in the context of business relations, a very shallow, hollow, right-choice-making version of themselves that they are ultimately no part of, their brain can switch off all day and still 'get on great' with people, but it's illusory and delusional. It rightly leaves them feeling pretty empty and negative towards people on a deeper level I'd say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭force eleven

In a professional capacity I have met three interesting people in 20 years. That's not to say I dismiss other people, but genuine interest rather than inane small talk is a rare thing for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

Im not particularly interested in people and their extended lives- kids, new house, hobbies etc. Now I am getting better at pretending to care by forcing some small talk about what you did for the weekend and other such insignificant chat. I think it stems from the fact that I was very badly bullied in school by one gang who took an instant dislike to me- I kind of stopped trusting and started fearing people for many years after that, seeing my bullies in the faces of everyone I met. This led to a lot of social isolation and depression but in my lowest moments I knew I had to put myself out there to break the cycle so I went to college, got a job etc but my distrust of people remained and to this stay its still there.

Funnily enough, if someone were to say something nasty about me I would get very upset so although I project an air of "dont care about anyone but myself" i actually are very thin skinned to criticism or gossip. Funny thing, us humans. Wow, didnt mean for this to be so long..

TL;DR: I could have been a normal and trusting person who is interested in others but people hurt me and em Im still kind of scared of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,797 ✭✭✭KyussBishop

I can be pretty interested in people, but usually have trouble forming a connection more often than not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,255 ✭✭✭tommy2bad

I like people as a thing, find them very interesting. It's when you have to deal with a single specimen that I loose interest, takes too damn long for anything interesting to happen, unless they are nutjobs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

Love talking to new people although I'm fairly introverted (with moments of extravertedness). The bulk of my job involves talking to people and it's, without a doubt, my favourite part of it. People are fascinating to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

I find odd people fascinating. They usually have amazing stories.
    Also well travelled people are cool to talk to.

If I meet someone who asks me what I do for a living or if I saw the match, I kinda switch off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭poundapunnet

biko wrote: »
    I find odd people fascinating. They usually have amazing stories.
    Also well travelled people are cool to talk to.

If I meet someone who asks me what I do for a living or if I saw the match, I kinda switch off.

That's why I hate going to the pub in the village where I'm from. You're limited to the script really. Weather, match, local gossip. Same conversations again and again and it goes down like a lead brick if you wander off the path. Until you get eight pints in and everyone's philosophising.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭Butterfly25

After working in retail for most of my adult life I have come to realise that the vast majority of people are ignorant, disgusting and annoying. Obviously there are some exceptions but for the most part I have no interest in what people think or say. Thank god I don't work in retail anymore! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

Love talking to new people although I'm fairly introverted (with moments of extravertedness). The bulk of my job involves talking to people and it's, without a doubt, my favourite part of it. People are fascinating to me.

Same as!

I deal with, on average, an older population. I love hearing their stories.

I've met some interesting people through work, college and boards. It opens you up to so many things in life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭Miss Lockhart

No. Generally I have little interest in other people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭MJ23

Empty vessels make most sound.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

After working in retail for most of my adult life I have come to realise that the vast majority of people are ignorant, disgusting and annoying. Obviously there are some exceptions but for the most part I have no interest in what people think or say. Thank god I don't work in retail anymore! :D

I would love it if Fergal Quinn came out with this in an unguarded moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Generally speaking, no. Anytime Im in a big group of people chatting, i.e. work canteen, family gatherings, then I find the conversation to fairly tedious. I always thought other people were very stimulated by the most mundane prattle. Football and XFactor for the under 30s, marriage and kids for the 30s to 50s and who is dieing, whos dead and who might die for the 50 and overs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

I do love the sound of my own voice, says the OP. :p

I'm as introverted and as boring as it gets, but I'm in contact with incredibly interesting and educated people every day. I could listen to someone with genuine knowledge and wisdom talk all day about their subject.

Small talk makes me want to sleep though.

Op, meet more interesting people, then you'll be interested in what they have to say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭FizzleSticks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

Candie wrote: »
    I'm as introverted and as boring as it gets, but I'm in contact with incredibly interesting and educated people every day. I could listen to someone with genuine knowledge and wisdom talk all day about their subject.

Small talk makes me want to sleep though.

Op, meet more interesting people, then you'll be interested in what they have to say.

Jaysus I really, really doubt that.

Did I ever tell you you're fascinating Legs? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Generally like meeting people and am friendly and interested in what makes them tick but probably guilty of being a bit judgmental and unforgiving/dismissive of people I don't take to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

People aren't too bad. Some of my most enjoyable nights out have been spent talking to people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭Fox_In_Socks

I find Napoleon fascinating.

Not you lot, though.:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

I'm a people person

• Closed Accounts Posts: 519 ✭✭✭thecatspjs

Some people mention that they find others boring, especially if it's just typical chit chat. I'd be curious to know what you would find interesting to talk about?

I think that talk of the match/weather/whatever is just used as an ice breaker before finding some common ground (if it exists). Obviously it's not good if that's all they can talk about, but if some one started going on about their round the world adventures straight away I would lose interest tbh. It's not that I wouldn't be interested ever, but if you open a conversation with a relative stranger by talking about yourself it comes across as rude.

I reckon that I find as many people interesting as there are people who find me interesting. Win some, lose some but on the whole there's usually a connection to be made somewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Semele

In my experience, the people I've known who have said that they find most people boring/uninteresting are either very narcissistic and get bored with a situation where others aren't entirely focused on them, or have some degree of borderline traits where there is a lack of understanding of the internal worlds of others, therefore there is little curiosity about people's feelings or motives...so I'd agree with Wibbs really. That's referring to the extremes, where people genuinely don't find others interesting at all and can't understand why anyone else would, not the more context-specific misanthropy that I am often victim to!

I have lots of uncharitable thoughts about the people I meet on a daily basis, and yet fundamentally I am fascinated by people. My career is based on it, and doing my job has only made me more aware of what hidden depths there are in everyone.

On a related note, I've always assumed my obsession with literature stemmed from the same root as my interest in other people and their experiences. Interestingly, the people I know who are least interested in other real life people are also the ones who don't read fiction, or who only enjoy plot driven novels as opposed to more character driven ones.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

Yes, I find people very interesting - not to the point of being a gossip though... well, most of the time. :pac:

When I'm reading a book, it's the descriptions of people that I love; I tend to skim over the descriptions of things/places.