Dept. of Finance lost Banking Files

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,024 ✭✭✭✭irishgeo

i dont believe they were lost, someone had them out of the place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,486 ✭✭✭jobeenfitz

We are mostly all worn down. The economic new since 2008 has been diabolical. Most of us are zoned out and cant take any more. Maybe this was the plan all along. delay, delay and more fukn delay. By the time this enquiry gets underway(if any meaningful enquiry ever starts) most of us will have moved on, or given up.

As for those poor unfortunate ones who still believe we will get to the truth in the next twenty years, fair play to yis. Fair fcuken paly to yee.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,589 ✭✭✭Fr. Ned

jobeenfitz wrote: »
    We are mostly all worn down. The economic new since 2008 has been diabolical. Most of us are zoned out and cant take any more. Maybe this was the plan all along. delay, delay and more fukn delay. By the time this enquiry gets underway(if any meaningful enquiry ever starts) most of us will have moved on, or given up.

As for those poor unfortunate ones who still believe we will get to the truth in the next twenty years, fair play to yis. Fair fcuken paly to yee.

If we knew the truth about the way this country has been governed since the very formation of the state, the axis of collusion that is FFail/FG would be destroyed forever.
    Paddy doesn't want to know the truth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,797 ✭✭✭KyussBishop

We need more whistleblowers who can shed some light on things like this; without them we are fúcked really - so much that we don't know about the crisis still.

While there's still the "mind your own business" attitude to unethical/corrupt/fraudulent actions in this country, we're not going to get far.

There's plenty to protest about still:
    1: Acts that stink of blatant corruption like in the OP, and which make clear that any 'inquiry' is going to be deliberately crafted to conceal what really happened during the crisis.
    2: In general, the lack of any real investigation thus far, 6+ years on from the beginning of the crisis.
    3: Most importantly: We have alternatives to how the country is currently being run. Alternative methods of funding are available, that can allow us to stop the slowly expanding sale of public assets, and destruction of public services - and which can fund a restoration of full employment.

People might reject the last bit out of hand, without even hearing it out, but there's more than enough worth protesting about here - and we're never going to see a resolution to these problems (problems that all have available alternatives/solutions), unless there are protests.

We know the problems, we know the solutions - just need to actually protest and create political pressure to enact the solutions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

I really think deliberate misplacement of files seems too "early 70s" a tactic (when cover-ups were all the rage); people are well copped on to that now. Why would they do something so obvious, which would bite them on the asses and be spotted from a million miles off, by an already jaded populus?

Utter ridiculous carelessness and incompetency is what I'd put this down to rather than anything sinister.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,797 ✭✭✭KyussBishop

They'd do it simply because they know they can get away with it - they don't care how insulting it is to the public's intelligence, because someone who would do this obviously holds the public in disdain.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

If Sean Fitzpatrick's defence team have two brain cells between them, they'll get him off all and any charges relating to the whole anglo affair. If this "missing file" situation proves to be the a regular thing then we may as well, as a nation just stick our arses in the air.

I hate to appear cynical, and really hope I'm wrong but I very much doubt that this is the last "missing file" scenario that we'll come across

I really think deliberate misplacement of files seems too "early 70s" a tactic (when cover-ups were all the rage); people are well copped on to that now. Why would they do something so obvious, which would bite them on the asses and be spotted from a million miles off, by an already jaded populus?

Utter ridiculous carelessness and incompetency is what I'd put this down to rather than anything sinister.

What difference does it make?

Whether it's down to incompetence or not is irrelevant to my mind. It still has the same effect.

Now there may very well be consequences for the person(s) involved in any potential cover up but that wont convict any bankers

irishgeo wrote: »
    i dont believe they were lost, someone had them out of the place.

That may very well be the case. How is it proven and what are the consequences?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,787 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

If Sean Fitzpatrick's defence team have two brain cells between them, they'll get him off all and any charges relating to the whole anglo affair. If this "missing file" situation proves to be the a regular thing then we may as well, as a nation just stick our arses in the air.

I hate to appear cynical, and really hope I'm wrong but I very much doubt that this is the last "missing file" scenario that we'll come across

How do you think the defence team should exercise their brain cells to get this result? Have you some information on this case which is not available to the rest of the general public?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

Its a good excuse though, up there with "the dog ate it".

How do you think the defence team should exercise their brain cells to get this result? Have you some information on this case which is not available to the rest of the general public?

I have no inside information on the Sean Fitzpatrick case.

However, my first question would be how was the evidence against Mr Fitzpatrick stored and was there any possibility that the evidence could have been tampered with? If there is even the merest hint that evidence against has been Mr Fitzpatrick could have been meddled with then the consequences could be devastating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,787 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

I have no inside information on the Sean Fitzpatrick case.

However, my first question would be how was the evidence against Mr Fitzpatrick stored and was there any possibility that the evidence could have been tampered with? If there is even the merest hint that evidence against has been Mr Fitzpatrick could have been meddled with then the consequences could be devastating.

You better bring your evidence to the Gardai. It could be very important in the case, even crucial.

WHAT?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭Phill Ewinn

Ah shure, incompetence. Poor aul dept of finance. Jayzus owndly aul ejits. Proberly used it as tracing paper or drew pittures of kittens on it.

Just like the two Brians. Shure dey didn't know they were commiting grand fraud and treason. Shure why would dey? Harmless aul ejits.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

And still fianna ****ing fail are on the way up in the polls again!

Wake the **** up people.

Has michael the money was only resting in my wives account martin made any statement about this yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,667 ✭✭✭Frynge

I don't have your files...... they're in daves house.
    Thats right daves got em..

I think I have figured out what happened. A Sinn Fein supporter in the Department took them home with him. And then alerted Pearse Doherty to do a new FOI request. Since the original FOI request only got completely redacted copies released there is no reason to think the new request would be met any differently. But even knowing this it allowed him to pull a political stunt by publicising the fact that they have gone missing since they were released before.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,589 ✭✭✭Fr. Ned

I think I have figured out what happened. A Sinn Fein supporter in the Department took them home with him. And then alerted Pearse Doherty to do a new FOI request. Since the original FOI request only got completely redacted copies released there is no reason to think the new request would be met any differently. But even knowing this it allowed him to pull a political stunt by publicising the fact that they have gone missing since they were released before.

Laughable post.

Fr. Ned wrote: »
    Laughable post.

It's as good a theory as any of the others I have seen. The question remains. What prompted Doherty to do the new FOI request. He must have been aware that the letters were gone, so how did he find out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Post reads like it was put together by a paranoid schizophrenic that went off his meds

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

Post reads like it was put together by a paranoid schizophrenic that went off his meds

Or a fianna fail supporter.

Not sure there's a difference.

Neither of us ever voted for Fianna Fail. Or Fine Gael.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

He'll say anything to deflect questioning and criticisms of whoever is in power at any given time. It's pathetic
    It's as good a theory as any of the others I have seen. The question remains. What prompted Doherty to do the new FOI request. He must have been aware that the letters were gone, so how did he find out.

Well..

Don't forget to check under your bed for the bearded bogeyman tonight either :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 174 ✭✭BlurstMonkey

"The department released eight items.
    Late last year, Sinn Féin finance spokesperson Pearse Doherty requested repeat copies of these documents.
    He was told that two out of the eight could no longer be found.
    When released in 2009, both had been completely redacted."

Absolutely nothing suspicious there then. I only wonder did a handful of individuals break a sweat in spiriting these files away or was it a case of laughing their asses off as they went along. Probably the latter, and then they went for a few pints because why not, great job done.