Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dept. of Finance lost Banking Files

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,029 ✭✭✭shedweller

I could do with losing a few files. I wonder if i'll get off as easy?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 906 ✭✭✭Eight Ball

But yet when people try and organise protests or marches against this kind of outright corruption to protect the golden circle the vast majority couldn't be arsed getting off their backside and trying to make a difference. We only have ourselves to blame as a people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,968 ✭✭✭Cork Lass

Just another excuse for another tribunal costing millions and no responsibility laid down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

Probably pure carelessness. They are probably misfiled in some other file.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Sure most of them wouldn't know what banking files are, they probably don't have bank accounts. Won it on a horsey mister.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

Sure they spent years losing money, it's a step up really.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,382 CMod ✭✭✭✭Ten of Swords

If these documents were ever emailed maybe they could ask the NSA for a copy :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,833 ✭✭✭Gloomtastic!

Doesn't correspondence go from one to another? Ask the recipients for their copy.

And still we let them away with it.........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

I for one am shocked by this development:rolleyes:

*sarcasm may not come across in text

Wonder will anyone be held to account for more than likely destroying these files by ''accident''

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,029 ✭✭✭shedweller

If these documents were ever emailed maybe they could ask the NSA for a copy :pac:
    I reckon you are hitting the nail there. They certainly were emailed and there are records but they'd be shooting themselves in the foot.
    They being all of those non plebs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 904 ✭✭✭Drakares

In the private sector, the equivalent of something this serious would result in the job losses of everyone responsible. But the lads will all get bonuses at the end of the year, I'm sure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,589 ✭✭✭Fr. Ned

Eight Ball wrote: »
    But yet when people try and organise protests or marches against this kind of outright corruption to protect the golden circle the vast majority couldn't be arsed getting off their backside and trying to make a difference. We only have ourselves to blame as a people.

We live in a country controlled by a 'gang of 4' TD's.
    They don't care what we think.

We can only hit them at the ballot box and hope the next lot are different.

Unfortunately in this country we either vote FFail or FG as the main party in government.

It'll never change, the banana republic is forever.

Look after yourself and your family above all else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

What's even more suspicious is that they were available when the could be redacted but have disappeared since. Between this and the Water Board finances the government are handling their FOI problems very successfully.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 361 ✭✭Filibuster

Its BS, the sender saves a copy, the bank probably scanned it onto their network. Besides there should be a soft copy saved somewhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 953 ✭✭✭donegal__road

Liars and thieves.. thats all, plain and simple..

but one thing is for sure, it will come back on them like a tonne of bricks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 702 ✭✭✭Pulsating Star

Drakares wrote: »
    In the private sector, the equivalent of something this serious would result in the job losses of everyone responsible. But the lads will all get bonuses at the end of the year, I'm sure.

Well they are going to have a think about putting some new practices/protocols in place, so all is good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,878 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Liars and thieves.. thats all, plain and simple..

but one thing is for sure, it will come back on them like a tonne of bricks.

There can be no comeback for the man who got the two letters. He's dead.

The department has conceded that some correspondence forwarded from Bank of Ireland to former minister for finance Brian Lenihan can no longer be located.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,731 ✭✭✭Bullseye1

Shredded no doubt.

Bullseye1 wrote: »
    Shredded no doubt.

Where did you see that?

In a statement to RTÉ News this evening, the Department of Finance said it had carried out a widespread search for the documents and it was not clear why the original versions could not be located.

Where did you see that?

In a statement to RTÉ News this evening, the Department of Finance said it had carried out a widespread search for the documents and it was not clear why the original versions could not be located.

in that case it must be true... sorry for ever having doubted you RTE... or maybe are the missing documents under the leg of a rickety table in the canteen?

People keep writing about missing files, documents, records. It's two letters, two pages of correspondence. The easiest thing would be to go back to the sender to see if he has copies.

In 2009, the department was asked under Freedom of Information to release copies of all correspondence between the late Mr Lenihan and the chief executives of the banks during the period August 2008 to March 2009.

The department released eight items.

Late last year, Sinn Féin finance spokesperson Pearse Doherty requested repeat copies of these documents.

He was told that two out of the eight could no longer be found.

When released in 2009, both had been completely redacted.

They concerned correspondence between the governor of Bank of Ireland Richard Burrows and an advisor to the Jupiter group, Noel Corcoran.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

the people who call protesters lefties or some other crap are to blame as well. I posted a thread on corruption recently and people were more concerned about grammar than corruption. When you're dealing with people that dumb you have you expect little in terms of real change in this country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,273 ✭✭✭EuskalHerria

Tenner says a jobsbridge intern lost them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭hju6

Oh well,
    Back to sleep,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

They used ROCKs company - Shread Focking Everything.

People keep writing about missing files, documents, records. It's two letters, two pages of correspondence. The easiest thing would be to go back to the sender to see if he has copies.

I agree

Tenner says a jobsbridge intern lost them.

Unlikely. There were only ever 3 of them in Finance and as we all know they were only there to make the tea. Send me on the tenner.

http://www.thejournal.ie/jobbridge-government-departments-946399-Jun2013/

Only Defence and Finance currently have no JobBridge interns but every department has had at least three since the scheme began.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Unlikely. There were only ever 3 of them in Finance and as we all know they were only there to make the tea. Send me on the tenner.

http://www.thejournal.ie/jobbridge-government-departments-946399-Jun2013/

Only Defence and Finance currently have no JobBridge interns but every department has had at least three since the scheme began.

Finance I can understand, but defence :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

But yet when people try and organise protests or marches......

..The same thing happens as what happens in the Dail. No-one can agree exactly what they are marching against, what cause they are for, and what they want done about it and it often gets hijacked by those who shout the loudest.

Aidric wrote: »
    Finance I can understand, but defence :confused:

Soldiers have to have their tea as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,604 ✭✭✭irishgeo

i dont believe they were lost, someone had them out of the place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,443 ✭✭✭jobeenfitz

We are mostly all worn down. The economic new since 2008 has been diabolical. Most of us are zoned out and cant take any more. Maybe this was the plan all along. delay, delay and more fukn delay. By the time this enquiry gets underway(if any meaningful enquiry ever starts) most of us will have moved on, or given up.

As for those poor unfortunate ones who still believe we will get to the truth in the next twenty years, fair play to yis. Fair fcuken paly to yee.

jobeenfitz wrote: »
    We are mostly all worn down. The economic new since 2008 has been diabolical. Most of us are zoned out and cant take any more. Maybe this was the plan all along. delay, delay and more fukn delay. By the time this enquiry gets underway(if any meaningful enquiry ever starts) most of us will have moved on, or given up.

As for those poor unfortunate ones who still believe we will get to the truth in the next twenty years, fair play to yis. Fair fcuken paly to yee.

If we knew the truth about the way this country has been governed since the very formation of the state, the axis of collusion that is FFail/FG would be destroyed forever.
    Paddy doesn't want to know the truth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,797 ✭✭✭KyussBishop

We need more whistleblowers who can shed some light on things like this; without them we are fúcked really - so much that we don't know about the crisis still.

While there's still the "mind your own business" attitude to unethical/corrupt/fraudulent actions in this country, we're not going to get far.

There's plenty to protest about still:
    1: Acts that stink of blatant corruption like in the OP, and which make clear that any 'inquiry' is going to be deliberately crafted to conceal what really happened during the crisis.
    2: In general, the lack of any real investigation thus far, 6+ years on from the beginning of the crisis.
    3: Most importantly: We have alternatives to how the country is currently being run. Alternative methods of funding are available, that can allow us to stop the slowly expanding sale of public assets, and destruction of public services - and which can fund a restoration of full employment.

People might reject the last bit out of hand, without even hearing it out, but there's more than enough worth protesting about here - and we're never going to see a resolution to these problems (problems that all have available alternatives/solutions), unless there are protests.

We know the problems, we know the solutions - just need to actually protest and create political pressure to enact the solutions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

I really think deliberate misplacement of files seems too "early 70s" a tactic (when cover-ups were all the rage); people are well copped on to that now. Why would they do something so obvious, which would bite them on the asses and be spotted from a million miles off, by an already jaded populus?

Utter ridiculous carelessness and incompetency is what I'd put this down to rather than anything sinister.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,797 ✭✭✭KyussBishop

They'd do it simply because they know they can get away with it - they don't care how insulting it is to the public's intelligence, because someone who would do this obviously holds the public in disdain.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

If Sean Fitzpatrick's defence team have two brain cells between them, they'll get him off all and any charges relating to the whole anglo affair. If this "missing file" situation proves to be the a regular thing then we may as well, as a nation just stick our arses in the air.

I hate to appear cynical, and really hope I'm wrong but I very much doubt that this is the last "missing file" scenario that we'll come across

I really think deliberate misplacement of files seems too "early 70s" a tactic (when cover-ups were all the rage); people are well copped on to that now. Why would they do something so obvious, which would bite them on the asses and be spotted from a million miles off, by an already jaded populus?

Utter ridiculous carelessness and incompetency is what I'd put this down to rather than anything sinister.

What difference does it make?

Whether it's down to incompetence or not is irrelevant to my mind. It still has the same effect.

Now there may very well be consequences for the person(s) involved in any potential cover up but that wont convict any bankers

irishgeo wrote: »
    i dont believe they were lost, someone had them out of the place.

That may very well be the case. How is it proven and what are the consequences?

If Sean Fitzpatrick's defence team have two brain cells between them, they'll get him off all and any charges relating to the whole anglo affair. If this "missing file" situation proves to be the a regular thing then we may as well, as a nation just stick our arses in the air.

I hate to appear cynical, and really hope I'm wrong but I very much doubt that this is the last "missing file" scenario that we'll come across

How do you think the defence team should exercise their brain cells to get this result? Have you some information on this case which is not available to the rest of the general public?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

Its a good excuse though, up there with "the dog ate it".

How do you think the defence team should exercise their brain cells to get this result? Have you some information on this case which is not available to the rest of the general public?

I have no inside information on the Sean Fitzpatrick case.

However, my first question would be how was the evidence against Mr Fitzpatrick stored and was there any possibility that the evidence could have been tampered with? If there is even the merest hint that evidence against has been Mr Fitzpatrick could have been meddled with then the consequences could be devastating.

I have no inside information on the Sean Fitzpatrick case.

However, my first question would be how was the evidence against Mr Fitzpatrick stored and was there any possibility that the evidence could have been tampered with? If there is even the merest hint that evidence against has been Mr Fitzpatrick could have been meddled with then the consequences could be devastating.

You better bring your evidence to the Gardai. It could be very important in the case, even crucial.

WHAT?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭Phill Ewinn

Ah shure, incompetence. Poor aul dept of finance. Jayzus owndly aul ejits. Proberly used it as tracing paper or drew pittures of kittens on it.

Just like the two Brians. Shure dey didn't know they were commiting grand fraud and treason. Shure why would dey? Harmless aul ejits.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

And still fianna ****ing fail are on the way up in the polls again!

Wake the **** up people.

Has michael the money was only resting in my wives account martin made any statement about this yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,667 ✭✭✭Frynge

I don't have your files...... they're in daves house.
    Thats right daves got em..

I think I have figured out what happened. A Sinn Fein supporter in the Department took them home with him. And then alerted Pearse Doherty to do a new FOI request. Since the original FOI request only got completely redacted copies released there is no reason to think the new request would be met any differently. But even knowing this it allowed him to pull a political stunt by publicising the fact that they have gone missing since they were released before.

Laughable post.

Fr. Ned wrote: »
    Laughable post.

It's as good a theory as any of the others I have seen. The question remains. What prompted Doherty to do the new FOI request. He must have been aware that the letters were gone, so how did he find out.