Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda Recruitment- The Waiting to Apply Room

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 508 ✭✭✭thestar

stevie05 wrote: »
    has everyone got an email?? i haven't and slightly worried??

You will receive an e-mail to your publicjobs Messageboard from us by 4pm on Wednesday 15th January 2014. You until that date to get one so dont panic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,377 ✭✭✭Colash

Set up the text alert on public jobs , very handy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭Rothmans

Got the text myself
    Any idea when they will release the actual familiarisation tests themselves?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭want2b

Rothmans wrote: »
    Got the text myself

If you got the text you obviously have the familiarisation tests received.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,377 ✭✭✭Colash

Got the text myself

There's a link in the document to the tests

want2b wrote: »
    If you got the text you obviously have the familiarisation tests received.

As far as I can see they do not provide a link to them in the message

Colash wrote: »
    There's a link in the document to the tests

Thanks, will have another look

How do people feel about 5 and 12 mins per test?
    Is thst not a very skimpy assessment?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 167 ✭✭Faith and Justice

How do people feel about 5 and 12 mins per test?
    Is thst not a very skimpy assessment?

It's just to start weeding people out. Guaranteed to get rid of a few thousand

I understand thst alright. I'm just bricking it thst I'll gave a bad run :-(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 883 ✭✭✭Scouser

Got the text myself

does nobody read any of the material given out?

jesus wept

Scouser wrote: »
    does nobody read any of the material given out?

jesus wept

Did he?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,778 ✭✭✭WilcoOut

Did he?

He easily would if he frequented this forum!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 Galway1987

I got three right, but I didn't have a clue what I was doing. Only realised towards the end

I'm not applying this time but just wondering are people doing their verbal
    reasoning tests already??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,659 ✭✭✭Devil08

Galway1987 wrote: »
    I'm not applying this time but just wondering are people doing their verbal
    reasoning tests already??

Practice tests

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭AaronMul1

Lads have ye seen the Physical requirements? better get to the gym!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,073 ✭✭✭thekopend

Anyone with a reasonable level of fitness that exercises regularly should be ok, the gardai isn't for couch potatoes after all.

oh i know that much, but i've never done a bleep test in my life, i swim 1 mile about 3 times a week

AaronMul1 wrote: »
    oh i know that much, but i've never done a bleep test in my life, i swim 1 mile about 3 times a week

Toughest will be the sit ups and press ups. Anyone who hasn't done a sit up or press up in over a year, then good luck doing 35 of them!
    I go to the gym everyday, it took me a while to get from 10 press ups to doing 50! Get training now is my advice!

Yeah im gonna start tomorrow with the sit ups. Im fairly good with press ups, 25 with no limit shouldnt be a problem but il be doing plenty regardless

Also if you don't do any aerobic exercise it would be advisable to start and download the bleeps test. It's not that fast but it's all about endurance.

thekopend wrote: »
    Also if you don't do any aerobic exercise it would be advisable to start and download the bleeps test. It's not that fast but it's all about endurance.

How does the bleep test work?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 883 ✭✭✭Scouser

How does the bleep test work?

let me google that for ya.......

Is there anybody that can be helpful

thekopend wrote: »

Thanks for your reply, I have watched videos like this before and googled info and its keeps saying about the levels. I just can't understand if you have to run at different speeds for the different levels or how it works. Is it just every length you run it goes up in level points?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭Canyon86

With all respect lads and ladies,

Trying to get fit etc shouldn't be a priority at this stage,

The aptitude is the most important part for now,

Get practicing these if you want to give yourself the best chance!!

Fitness came come later,

My two cents :)

Canyon86 wrote: »

Fitness came come later,

True story!! But sure you can kill two birds with one stone and read your aptitude test book on the treadmill!

Thanks for your reply, I have watched videos like this before and googled info and its keeps saying about the levels. I just can't understand if you have to run at different speeds for the different levels or how it works. Is it just every length you run it goes up in level points?

Each level the time between the beeps gets shorter so you have to run quicker but it's very gradual you wouldn't even notice it, you have to be on the line by the time the beep sounds or else you miss the beep and your out. So it goes from a slow slow jog to about 3/4 pace and there is a slight break between the full levels( 2.0. 3.0 ect)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭Sound of Silence

Canyon86 wrote: »

Fitness came come later,

Well, it's always good to get in shape, regardless of the campaign.