Words that tell a lot about people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

Scarlet for yer ma for havin ya OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,094 ✭✭✭wretcheddomain

vitani wrote: »
    I have a friend who says 'drinkies'.

She's a great friend, but that's almost a dealbreaker for me.

That crime is worthy of banishment to the four winds I say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Ending every sentence with "So I do" or "So he/she does".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,002 ✭✭✭Seedy Arling

anncoates wrote: »
    Hashtags
    #cnuts

Hashtags

Haven't heard a child called Hashtags before.

"If ya don't get the f*** over here Hashtags, I'll break the legs of ya! #hittingchildren"

Hmmm...possible I guess.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

Deliberately obtuse polysyllabic Irish name.

Able to calculate exact grade in Dublin middle class down to single decimal place.

the amount of redundant letters is more important than the amount of syllables. If it's not a séimhiú-fest, it's only nationalist.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,687 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

Hey OP, which one of the Sex in the City women do you identify with?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭Arrow.

Didn't she make a fool of herself on 'This Morning' trying to argue her claims?

It's bol!ocks. File under 'Astrology'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

"If ya don't get the f*** over here Hashtags, I'll break the legs of ya! #hittingchildren"

Hmmm...possible I guess.

To be fair the title is Words not names.

Plus we should always seek to widen our bile horizons wherever possible.

Muise... wrote: »
    the amount of redundant letters is more important than the amount of syllables. If it's not a séimhiú-fest, it's only nationalist.

Agree.

That's why I call Caoimhghín Ó Caoláin his real name - Kevin Keelan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,098 ✭✭✭kiffer

I agree.
    I also write poems in my posts.
    Not that I care, mind you.
    But it's a good way to explain.
    I think you'll agree.

Iinbi? What the hell is an Iinbi?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭RedMickeyMouse

Pleb. Cue KPMG girl echoing in my mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,915 ✭✭✭✭Eeden

I reckon "word rage" is often a form of class snobbery or even xenophobia. At least Katie whatsername was pretty honest about that, I suppose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭MonstaMash

Bit early in the day to be suckin on the auld bong is it not :confused:
    Tis never to early to partake of the bong :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭MonstaMash

shaniqua means your parents are upper class
    Or from South Central/Compton :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭Butterface

vitani wrote: »
    I have a friend who says 'drinkies'.

She's a great friend, but that's almost a dealbreaker for me.

I too have a good friend who asks if I want to come over for a few 'drinkies' or a 'couple of glasses of vino'. It annoys me but I don't think she can help it. It comes from the crowd of girls she hung around with at college.

I find words can become embedded in your vocabulary based on the different social groups you belong to. My English friend uses the word "grand" a lot now, which she had never done before she met me.

The word c**t is used flippantly among a few of my friends, and whilst I dislike using the word myself, it often slips out, especially when I'm in their company.

I'm also mortified that I use the word 'mortifying'.. I'm only in my twenties.

Butterface wrote: »

There's no hope for you so! :pac:

Butterface wrote: »
    I too have a good friend who asks if I want to come over for a few 'drinkies' or a 'couple of glasses of vino'. It annoys me but I don't think she can help it. It comes from the crowd of girls she hung around with at college.

I find words can become embedded in your vocabulary based on the different social groups you belong to. My English friend uses the word "grand" a lot now, which she had never done before she met me.

The word c**t is used flippantly among a few of my friends, and whilst I dislike using the word myself, it often slips out, especially when I'm in their company.

Mortifying is a very good word for occasions of embarrassment too big for any hole in the ground to swallow you with.

I can't imagine the friends that say 'drinkies' are the same as the ones who say 'c**t' - if anyone invited me for 'drinkies' I would serve up breastmilk and say 'sup up, c**t'. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭Butterface

Muise... wrote: »
    Mortifying is a very good word for occasions of embarrassment too big for any hole in the ground to swallow you with.

I can't imagine the friends that say 'drinkies' are the same as the ones who say 'c**t' - if anyone invited me for 'drinkies' I would serve up breastmilk and say 'sup up, c**t'. :D

True, different friends. Although the girl who says 'drinkies' has used the word c**t on a few occasions when describing her ex-boyfriend. The way she used it differed from my other friends' more flippant use of it. It involved the baring of teeth and a resounding 't' sound. Quite powerful! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,491 ✭✭✭looking_around

"au contraire" instead of "on the contrary"= someone who want to seem better/more intelligent/more culturally influenced than they are, often followed by a few other random additions of French words.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭spiralism

"au contraire" instead of "on the contrary"= someone who want to seem better/more intelligent/more culturally influenced than they are, often followed by a few other random additions of French words.

Instantly comes to mind :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 976 ✭✭✭Kev_2012

I was watching Spain v Italy in the Euro 2012 final, while in Spain and myself and a friend suggested we get a few cans and watch the match on the big screen in the town square, and although he was sound, one of the D4 lads that was with us said "You're not actually suggesting we go bushing are you? I tell you what, we'll get a few glaaases and bottle of prosecco and watch in the bar loike."

PS - I don't care whether you find this relevant to the thread or not

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,251 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

"Roysh Fintan let's go watch the goys put boot to ball over a few scoops of Heino" is a phrase I've never heard muttered in the environs of a GAA match.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

Ah now, please tell me that they might be being post-Fawlty Towers "pretentious? Moi?" ironic?

You need a bit more joy de vivre, amigo, or you'll lose your raisin detre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,491 ✭✭✭looking_around

Ah now, please tell me that they might be being post-Fawlty Towers "pretentious? Moi?" ironic?

You need a bit more joy de vivre, amigo, or you'll lose your raisin detre.

No, I've heard people using it to sound "posh". They just think "on the contrary" is somehow below them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,363 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

I'm still having difficulty with 'random'. Still jars every time. Unless it's in context, in which case it's grand.

cantdecide wrote: »
    I'm still having difficulty with 'random'. Still jars every time. Unless it's in context, in which case it's grand.

I let Inigo sort that out for me. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,363 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

Love it!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 559 ✭✭✭Maura74

Hmmm...possible I guess.

By the time the baby Hashtag Jameson grows up Hashtag will be as common as muck....

http://metro.co.uk/2012/11/29/mother-names-newborn-daughter-after-twitter-symbol-hashtag-3078043/

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 11,245 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

Racialism and racialist.