Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Words that tell a lot about people

• 10-01-2014 3:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,094 ✭✭✭wretcheddomain

This thread is a derivation from Katie Hopkins thesis that she can judge the parents of a child based on the name they choose. Her favourite example is Tyler and so she assumes that parents of a Tyler must be lower down in the social class than say a Florence and so she wouldn't want her child to play with said Tyler.

I think we can safely say that Hopkins is a professional troll but does she have a point?

It's true to say that it's very probable that socially superior classes (I exempt so-called celebrities) will choose different names that the lower classes will never choose and vice versa.

I think the same is true of the words people use. For instance, when I hear the word 'mortifying' I always think of some menopausal or emotionally charged woman who's exaggerating whatever she's talking about. I wouldn't really want to be around someone who uses that word a lot to be honest.
    Tagged:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

This thread is a derivation from Katie Hopkins thesis that she can judge the parents of a child based on the name they choose. Her favourite example is Tyler and so she assumes that parents of a Tyler must be lower down in the social class than say a Florence and so she wouldn't want her child to play with said Tyler.

I think we can safely say that Hopkins is a professional troll but does she have a point?

It's true to say that it's very probable that socially superior classes (I exempt so-called celebrities) will choose different names that the lower classes will never choose and vice versa.

I think the same is true of the words people use. For instance, when I hear the word 'mortifying' I always think of some menopausal or emotionally charged woman who's exaggerating whatever she's talking about. I wouldn't really want to be around someone who uses that word a lot to be honest.

Bit early in the day to be suckin on the auld bong is it not :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,097 ✭✭✭kiffer

Can you really tell?
    Usually I think you can.
    Never the less I try to avoid jumping to conclusions.
    The sorts of people who use rude words are clearly a bit boorish but what can you do...
    ^

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,094 ✭✭✭wretcheddomain

kiffer wrote: »
    Can your really tell?
    Usually I think you can.
    Never the less I try to avoid jumping to conclusions.
    The sorts of people who use rude words are clearly a bit boorish but what can you do...
    ^

I think, as with many things, there are exceptions to the rule but I think the rule stands.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Mortifying thread tbh

• Moderators Posts: 51,922 ✭✭✭✭Delirium

who names their kid Mortifying?:eek::eek::P

If you can read this, you're too close!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 183 ✭✭Dfmnoc

Any one that says amaze-balls is a f*cking ejit.

anncoates wrote: »
    Mortifying thread tbh

Looks like we've found our post-menopausal/emotionally charged woman! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

If someone says 'hang sangwich', they're probably a culchie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Mortifying Morto thread tbh

Better.

Perhaps.
    Errors in judgment abound.
    Not that I care, mind you.
    I think words have a power of their own.
    Soon others will post and we'll know more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

shaniqua means your parents are upper class

kiffer wrote: »
    Perhaps.
    Errors in judgment abound.
    I think words have a power of their own.
    Soon others will post and we'll know more.

I agree.
    I also write poems in my posts.
    But it's a good way to explain.
    I think you'll agree.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

Naming your child Adolf.

Something dodgy about that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭poundapunnet

Yeah you could make a reasonable guess on the comparative class backgrounds of Sorcha and Fintan vs Nicole and Joe, how you choose to interpret that information is another matter.

As for words people overuse or that'd be red flags, I dunno. I dislike the overuse of "literally" and "basically" but those babies know no class barriers.

Swearing doesn't put me off if it's not done aggressively, but I've a mouth on me like a sailor so that's a lot to do with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,002 ✭✭✭Seedy Arling

That's the swahili for doggy style.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭nibtrix

"Going for some vinos with the girlos"

You can tell exactly what this person is going to be like.

Looks like we've found our post-menopausal/emotionally charged woman! :pac:

If u cant handel a strng matur woman I just show u d hand xxoxx

nibtrix wrote: »

Jackie Healy-Rae?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 218 ✭✭burnhardlanger

Katie.

Parents are trolling, pathetic sh1t stirrers.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

Anyone who uses 'hipster' isn't with it......man...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭uch

I think Bollocks says a lot about a person

21/25

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

"Sheeple"

People who use this are bleating retards with no self-awareness who once read a pamphlet or blog that told them that they were so deep and special they were excused of all responsibility.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Daqster

This thread is a derivation from Katie Hopkins thesis

She's as mad as box of animal crackers that one.

Even Peaches Geldof had no bother showing her to be the illogical dizzy bint she undoubtedly is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭poundapunnet

uch wrote: »
    I think Bollocks says a lot about a person

Like a kind of sexy version of palmistry? but it's kind of easier and less molesty to judge going by what they say surely...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,431 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

i actually hate girls that say "vinos" especially if they have them with the "gals"

Deliberately obtuse polysyllabic Irish name.

Able to calculate exact grade in Dublin middle class down to single decimal place.

Anyone who says 'for all intensive purposes' is a dumb idiot worthy of excoriating critique...

And for the idiots amongst us, it's "for all intents and purposes"...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,400 ✭✭✭lukesmom

Me n my girls
    D girlies

Fk off! I ain't got time for that pretentious sh!t

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,824 ✭✭✭vitani

I have a friend who says 'drinkies'.

She's a great friend, but that's almost a dealbreaker for me.

Hashtags

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

Scarlet for yer ma for havin ya OP.

vitani wrote: »

That crime is worthy of banishment to the four winds I say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Ending every sentence with "So I do" or "So he/she does".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,002 ✭✭✭Seedy Arling

Hashtags
    #cnuts

Hashtags

Haven't heard a child called Hashtags before.

"If ya don't get the f*** over here Hashtags, I'll break the legs of ya! #hittingchildren"

Hmmm...possible I guess.

Deliberately obtuse polysyllabic Irish name.

Able to calculate exact grade in Dublin middle class down to single decimal place.

the amount of redundant letters is more important than the amount of syllables. If it's not a séimhiú-fest, it's only nationalist.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

Hey OP, which one of the Sex in the City women do you identify with?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭Arrow.

Didn't she make a fool of herself on 'This Morning' trying to argue her claims?

It's bol!ocks. File under 'Astrology'.

Haven't heard a child called Hashtags before.

"If ya don't get the f*** over here Hashtags, I'll break the legs of ya! #hittingchildren"

Hmmm...possible I guess.

To be fair the title is Words not names.

Plus we should always seek to widen our bile horizons wherever possible.

Muise... wrote: »
    the amount of redundant letters is more important than the amount of syllables. If it's not a séimhiú-fest, it's only nationalist.

Agree.

That's why I call Caoimhghín Ó Caoláin his real name - Kevin Keelan.

I agree.
    I also write poems in my posts.
    But it's a good way to explain.
    I think you'll agree.

Iinbi? What the hell is an Iinbi?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭RedMickeyMouse

Pleb. Cue KPMG girl echoing in my mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,914 ✭✭✭✭Eeden

I reckon "word rage" is often a form of class snobbery or even xenophobia. At least Katie whatsername was pretty honest about that, I suppose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭MonstaMash

Bit early in the day to be suckin on the auld bong is it not :confused:
    Tis never to early to partake of the bong :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭MonstaMash

Or from South Central/Compton :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭Butterface

vitani wrote: »

I too have a good friend who asks if I want to come over for a few 'drinkies' or a 'couple of glasses of vino'. It annoys me but I don't think she can help it. It comes from the crowd of girls she hung around with at college.

I find words can become embedded in your vocabulary based on the different social groups you belong to. My English friend uses the word "grand" a lot now, which she had never done before she met me.

The word c**t is used flippantly among a few of my friends, and whilst I dislike using the word myself, it often slips out, especially when I'm in their company.

I'm also mortified that I use the word 'mortifying'.. I'm only in my twenties.

Butterface wrote: »

There's no hope for you so! :pac:

Butterface wrote: »
    I too have a good friend who asks if I want to come over for a few 'drinkies' or a 'couple of glasses of vino'. It annoys me but I don't think she can help it. It comes from the crowd of girls she hung around with at college.

I find words can become embedded in your vocabulary based on the different social groups you belong to. My English friend uses the word "grand" a lot now, which she had never done before she met me.

The word c**t is used flippantly among a few of my friends, and whilst I dislike using the word myself, it often slips out, especially when I'm in their company.

Mortifying is a very good word for occasions of embarrassment too big for any hole in the ground to swallow you with.

I can't imagine the friends that say 'drinkies' are the same as the ones who say 'c**t' - if anyone invited me for 'drinkies' I would serve up breastmilk and say 'sup up, c**t'. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭Butterface

Muise... wrote: »
    Mortifying is a very good word for occasions of embarrassment too big for any hole in the ground to swallow you with.

I can't imagine the friends that say 'drinkies' are the same as the ones who say 'c**t' - if anyone invited me for 'drinkies' I would serve up breastmilk and say 'sup up, c**t'. :D

True, different friends. Although the girl who says 'drinkies' has used the word c**t on a few occasions when describing her ex-boyfriend. The way she used it differed from my other friends' more flippant use of it. It involved the baring of teeth and a resounding 't' sound. Quite powerful! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,491 ✭✭✭looking_around

"au contraire" instead of "on the contrary"= someone who want to seem better/more intelligent/more culturally influenced than they are, often followed by a few other random additions of French words.