What's your all time favourite prank?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Daqster wrote: »
    Yeah, classic for sure.

One of my Dad's was when he was working in the airport as a baggage handler, he and other wearing loading a flight for LA and.. (this is terrible) .. they locked one of the lads in the baggage hole. It wasn't a young lad either, proper lead loader and they let the flight taxi out and all before stopping it. Was the late 80s and so no mobile phone on him or anything. Have to say I would not find it one bit funny if it was done to me, but we laughed at the time and the guy it happened to always brings it up now and pisses himself laughing. Says all he could think about was how he was gonna survive a 14 hour plus flight in there.

Did the poor fella have a lot of baggage after that experience?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Daqster

anncoates wrote: »
    Did the poor fella have a lot of baggage after that experience?

Over 20 years of the Michael O'Leary being taking out of you? I'd call that excess baggage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,324 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

While out playing at a traditional music session in Galway, one of the lads went into my computer and changed my default browser (Google) into Youporn, so every time I hit home Youporn would pop up, I thought I had a feckin virus :eek:

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,554 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

the food pyramid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,122 ✭✭✭killanena

I get some of these fun snaps you can get in the 5 boxes in the €2 shop for €2, sellotape 3 or 4 under neat toilet seats and wait :p Makes a big enough bang in a small bathroom / cubical and is pretty harmless :p

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,554 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

killanena wrote: »
    I get some of these fun snaps you can get in the 5 boxes in the €2 shop for €2, sellotape 3 or 4 under neat toilet seats and wait :p Makes a big enough bang in a small bathroom / cubical and is pretty harmless :p

unless you have a heart condition or an anxiety problem

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,122 ✭✭✭killanena

Harmless compared to rubbing butter all over the floors or making people think they are being kidnapped :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭Daroxtar

Inspired by an old ad for water safety when I was about 6 I threw my younger brothers wellies into a rainwater barrel and told my mother he had fallen in. She nearly lost her mind trying to reach the bottom of the barrel. He was hiding just beside it in a big cardboard box and jumped out laughing as she started screaming.
    We got clattered.
    We still laugh about it though (well, mam maybe not so much)

Anyway, some of these are brilliant. Can't beat the Japanese for pushing the limits

Speaking of which, I don't know how the show Sacre Tactics never killed someone, or at least given them a nervous breakdown, as they have pulled the most frightening pranks I have ever seen. The following guy is young, so handles it, but he is absolutely petrified.

He's sent to some ranch in the states thinking he is there to inspect animals that the owner has put in an insurance claim for as they were mysteriously killed. Good part starts around 3min07sec:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,103 ✭✭✭Tiddlypeeps

aziz wrote: »
    He will get a condom and roll it onto a pencil, then get into the stags room and insert pencil and condom up stags bottom,withdraw pencil carefully leaving the condom lodged there.

Isn't that a little bit rapey :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 401 ✭✭irishbuzz

Before selling a home I like to get load of worthless dirty crap and put it in an industrial strength safe and then bury it in floor of my shed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,035 ✭✭✭uch

Used to work near a Bakery, owner would send in loads of various cakes at end of the day, we used to take the chocalate off the eclairs and rub it on the Jax seat and watch peoples reactions when they seen it.

22/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 526 ✭✭✭downwesht

Lads I worked with were staying in a homely B@B when one of them (a hypacondriac at the best of times)got a severe stomach bug.
    They dosed him up with brandy and port and paracetemols etc and he went into a deep stupor sleep.

While he was sleeping the lads got a statue of the virgin Mary and some candles and set them up at his bedside and proceeded to say the rosary around the bed.

The patient woke up and thought he was on his deathbed....priceless

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

May have told this story before - in college in the place we lived myself and a buddy discovered his key worked in a different fellas room. We decided to put our discovery to good use by stealing biscuits and tea bags. The usual student petty theft.

This got boring, so we decided to make a small but significant change to his room every day. We have to play the long game for this to work. So we did it for a good 2 weeks. Told no one at all. It was from around day 8 or 9 that we realised he was slightly spooked. If his bed was made, we would unmake it. If the radio was off, turn it on. If there was clothes on the bed, we would put then back into the wardrobe and vice versa.

It was going so well, until one day, he came home from college early, and we had done nothing yet. So we rushed it and turned a poster upside down. he walked in, left a "JESUS CHRIST" out of him. We were across in my room, and Paul stormed in, fell to his knees and started rocking forward and back "I'm losing it, I'm going mad". Myself and the other guy were inconsolable from trying to hold the laughter in. Paul looked up, saw us, and the penny dropped.

He didn't speak to either of us for a while after that.

Our end game was we wanted to hang a cheap blow up doll off his ceiling as the silhouette from the street lamp outside would have made it look semi realistic. The fact he would have been on the edge of sanity at the time would have made it look perfect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 490 ✭✭Munstermad

I love this thread!!! PMSL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 590 ✭✭✭stpaddy99

few silly pranks

1) replacing a mates golf ball with a comedy golf ball.....so when taking an important putt he hits the ball and it wiggled its way in the opposite direction. he took it awfully seriously which made it funnier
    2) betting a man to carry too full pints of beer on the back of his hands from across the bar to the other side without any spillage. he smugly said easy heres a tenner.....so he carries it all the way not a drop is spilt, hes cocky and confident.....then finally he reaches the other side and suddenly it dawns on him , he cant put them down without spilling it....the bar was in hysterics as he said Fff it and flung the beer all over himself lol
    3) this was a very elaborate gag a mate of mine played on me in cardiff.....it wasnt planned but it just worked out this way.....hes listening to talk radio and a bloke is algging off Christianity and the catholic church. i said thats disprespectful....he says why dont you ring up? Ok I say...so he gives me the phone, I ring and I wait....eventually I get on live to argue religion....ok we get to the ten commandments and I can only remember about half...I ask my mate in desperation to grab a Bible.....Im getting hammered now live to the nation...my mate comes in and hands me A WELSH BIBLE.........he leaves the room crying laughing. I was duly ruined by some cockney dj..lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 197 ✭✭bodhi085

Couple of years back when flights were cancelled due to the volcanic ash cloud, myself and my wife went round to my mother in law and we put on builders dust masks and told her that it was just on the news that everyone had been advised to wear them because the ash cloud is over ireland and the toxins in the dust can clog up your insides and kill you and that cars were getting destroyed also. She ran out the house to bring in the washing. How typical. She did believe it for at least half an hour though.

stpaddy99 wrote: »
    3)...he says why dont you ring up? Ok I say...so he gives me the phone, I ring and I wait....eventually I get on live to argue religion....

Reminds me of being on the bounce with my mate back in '89 or '90. We were in my house and for some reason, decided to ring Gerry Ryan. Think they were taking about parents mentally abusing their kids and my mate got through and told them his mother had cut up his black jeans as they were too tight and kicked him out of the house and that he was now homeless, staying with mates when he could. Gerry went for it bigtime, but I was doing my best to make him laugh, pulling moonies and the like and eventually he couldn't hold it it, shouted something like:'Ah Gerry ya bollox, I'm only winding you up' ad hung up. Most likely was a ten second delay or something, so maybe wasn't heard over the air. Wish I had a recording of it.

Like this new one which seems to be part of the promotion for the film Devil's Due:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,533 ✭✭✭ArnoldJRimmer

This is genius

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="//www.youtube.com/embed/VlOxlSOr3_M" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>