Limerick City of Culture

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭Bipolar Joe

jonnny68 wrote: »
    It's not even a proper city ffs, full of gangsters and travellers driving around in Mercedes and BMWs and still collecting their dole every week.

A toilet

Oh, well, if it's not even a proper city, fuck it, then. We should spend the money on printing fliers for the regular folk in Limerick saying "Sorry, lads, but you don't even live in a proper fucking city. Wish we could help. P.S, hope you all like your Mercedes and BMWs. Keep it real, boggers."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭J_E

jonnny68 wrote: »
    It's not even a proper city ffs, full of gangsters and travellers driving around in Mercedes and BMWs and still collecting their dole every week.

A toilet
    See, while I won't paint an idealistic view of Limerick, I think that's a terribly damaging thing to say and it only proves you've probably never stepped foot in the place more than once/twice. There are a lot of people in the city who try hard to transform it and it's not fair to discredit them because of some fools on the City of Culture project and rough areas (of which Dublin, Cork, and Galway have also)

http://www.limerickleader.ie/what-s-on/arts-entertainment/visual-arts/limerick-urban-art-project-a-gift-to-the-city-that-aims-to-inspire-1-5761218

More of this stuff please. I really like most (everything except those two bloody arms on the big green building) of the Grafitti that's been sanctioned around the place over the last 6 months or so, it makes some of the ****e look a lot more appealing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭J_E

http://www.limerickleader.ie/what-s-on/arts-entertainment/visual-arts/limerick-urban-art-project-a-gift-to-the-city-that-aims-to-inspire-1-5761218

More of this stuff please. I really like most (everything except those two bloody arms on the big green building) of the Grafitti that's been sanctioned around the place over the last 6 months or so, it makes some of the ****e look a lot more appealing.
    I adore Maser's work. Everything he touches is beautiful and profound.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,522 ✭✭✭chicorytip

Cox should be appointed executive chairman,in charge of day to day running.He has the necessary intellect and insight.Karl Wallace's so called "vision" hardly extends beyond the tip of his own nose!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

chicorytip wrote: »
    Cox should be appointed executive chairman,in charge of day to day running.He has the necessary intellect and insight.Karl Wallace's so called "vision" hardly extends beyond the tip of his own nose!

....yet Mr Wallace quit instead of keeping quiet and taking the money, while Cox was happy with the status quo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,549 ✭✭✭✭Judgement Day

chicorytip wrote: »

Cox should put himself forward for the Mars One mission http://www.mars-one.com/ but since that isn't until 2023, he need to be put into cryogenic storage now as he'll be kicking on a bit by then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,448 ✭✭✭crockholm

Cox should put himself forward for the Mars One mission http://www.mars-one.com/ but since that isn't until 2023, he need to be put into cryogenic storage now as he'll be kicking on a bit by then.

Wait till you see the travel expenses receipt coming back from that junket;)

crockholm wrote: »
    Wait till you see the travel expenses receipt coming back from that junket;)

But do we have the right to pollute another planet with P. Cox and his coat of many colours?

Nodin wrote: »
    But do we have the right to pollute another planet with P. Cox and his coat of many colours?

We can compromise by re-interring Jim Kemmy there on the same trip,a nice red planet-this one here is a bit too blue-don't you know.

And as for Pcox,well,hopefully there are still some Little green men still interested in anal probing

crockholm wrote: »
    We can compromise by re-interring Jim Kemmy there on the same trip,a nice red planet-this one here is a bit too blue-don't you know.

And as for Pcox,well,hopefully there are still some Little green men still interested in anal probing

Any probe would encounter the formidable barrier of his smug head.

I've an alternative
    destination in mind.

Nodin wrote: »
    Any probe would encounter the formidable barrier of his smug head.

I've an alternative
    destination in mind.

be sure to send him there at night so he won't get burned

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 162 ✭✭Trouwe Ier

I heard from an acquaintance in the City Council that a lot of senior people's noses have been put out of joint during the merger / shotgun marriage process and that the City of Culture shenanigans were a whole flock of chickens coming home to roost.

My friend thinks that at least one and possibly more of them went, with great pleasure, to the media from November.

Apparently, some in there are taking great pleasure from Con Murray's discomfort. Perhaps he was always going break a few eggs making his corporate omlette but if you'll pardon the poor mixing of metaphors, he didn't expect egg on his own face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Trouwe Ier wrote: »
    I heard from an acquaintance in the City Council that a lot of senior people's noses have been put out of joint during the merger / shotgun marriage process and that the City of Culture shenanigans were a whole flock of chickens coming home to roost.

My friend thinks that at least one and possibly more of them went, with great pleasure, to the media from November.

Apparently, some in there are taking great pleasure from Con Murray's discomfort. Perhaps he was always going break a few eggs making his corporate omlette but if you'll pardon the poor mixing of metaphors, he didn't expect egg on his own face.
    Eggsactly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭marienbad

Eggsactly

he is a bit of a yoke allright