Garda charged for pepper spraying teen..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,438 ✭✭✭j8wk2feszrnpao

TheMza wrote: »
    Typical Garda abuse of power....
    Please elaborate .....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭Valetta

Typical Garda abuse of power....

Some day a number of years from now, when you're old enough to vote, you will look back and think "what an idiot I was".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭TheMza

Valetta wrote: »
    Some day a number of years from now, when you're old enough to vote, you will look back and think "what an idiot I was".

I voted for Sinn Fein, I'm sure you wont agree with that either :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 PopRocks

Gway out of it lad. You wouldn't know an abuse of power if it wrongly pepper sprayed you in the face ;)

PopRocks wrote: »
    Gway out of it lad. You wouldn't know an abuse of power if it wrongly pepper sprayed you in the face ;)

Ah man, they abuse their power every night in my local chipper!

Free chips?

Free chips?

Usually bacon........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭timmy4u2

Usually bacon........
    I think that you will have to reach old age before you cop on.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=87951877&postcount=719

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,849 ✭✭✭professore

carzony wrote: »
    http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/gardai-charged-with-assault-after-allegedly-pepperspraying-a-teenager-29587823.html

The amount of garda going before the courts is unreal lately. Here is the latest court case :o:o

People writing or saying Garda when they mean Gardaí should be pepper sprayed. Especially phrases like "the Garda plan an all out strike" which Garda do you mean - Tommy up in Donegal? And probably pronounced "Gorda" FFS.

Carry on.

timmy4u2 wrote: »

Why, cos I disagree with you?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

I voted for Sinn Fein, I'm sure you wont agree with that either :)

Another public house patriot strolling around with his Easter Lily showing how hard a man he is. The nearest he gets to a firearm is a water pistol.
    It's easy be a soldier 200 miles from the war. Does a good Nordie accent though to frighten people

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

Probably does it every day when he looks in the mirror. Population of Loserville. 1

Why, cos I disagree with you?
    You gave no logical reason why you think this was an abuse of power.

None of us were there at the time, so we can only base it off the witness statements;
    • the two Gardaí; granted we don't know much about them, but we've nothing against their character.
    • the teen; with 22 previous convictions and number 23 on the way after admitting to been involved in a violent incident, hence his arrest.

professore wrote: »
    People writing or saying Garda when they mean Gardaí should be pepper sprayed. Especially phrases like "the Garda plan an all out strike" which Garda do you mean - Tommy up in Donegal? And probably pronounced "Gorda" FFS.

Carry on.
    Garda is a collective noun also as in An Garda Siochana. You do not see An Gardai Siochana.
    One Garda, two Gardai but The Garda collectively.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,287 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

Garda is a collective noun also as in An Garda Siochana. You do not see An Gardai Siochana.
    One Garda, two Gardai but The Garda collectively.

A bushel of Gardai.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

What happens to people in other forums is of no consequence to what they post here. Don't make things personal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭Hitchroun

Hitchroun wrote: »
    Crazy. Sums up so much that is wrong with the state.

Naturally you expect a clear and transparent process when these accusations are made. But when it's thrown out after an hour by the judge, it clearly had no chance of prosecution.

Shame on the commission and the DPP; we the taxpayer have to pick up the bill for the commission, the DPP, and the Judges hour in court (along with other costs). No wonder the number of patients on trolleys continues to rise when you have public money wasted with no repercussions for those that waste it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 PopRocks

Disgraceful.

Let's hope that none of us or any of our loved ones are put in danger because a guard now had to decided whether pepper spraying a scumbag will cost them 10000+.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭Valetta

That's shocking.

I wonder do the GRA have any contingency fund for this sort of thing. It's about €1 per member.

A very expensive experience just to hold on to your career and clear your name.

Hitchroun wrote: »
    My sentiments totally
    “The fact that the judge and state solicitor could see, after only one hour of evidence from the first witness the lack of merit in the case, raises serious questions as to why this prosecution was brought by the commission at all and why it passed muster with the office of the DPP,” Mr Corcoran said. He said the GRA was also concerned that a prosecution could be taken against gardaí for using pepper spray, which was sanctioned for use by the State as “a non-injurious alternative to the baton”. 

Did we hear much from the GRA prior to the case? Ok they were handicapped when the case became sub judice but there is a process whereby the office of the DPP can be approached about a decision to prosecute.
    It is a disgrace that the state is now refusing to pay the costs, if that is a fact.

They would have been better off had the hearing gone ahead to a conclusion.the state would be obliged then to pay their costs on a dismiss of the charges.
    If they are taking that attitude it is possible that the state also issued documents to the Gardai denying vicarious liability.
    The famous judges statement "young man, this is a Court of Law not a Court of Justice" rings very true here.

The GRA pay out of a few hundred euro to their members will not go very far.

That's shocking.

I wonder do the GRA have any contingency fund for this sort of thing. It's about €1 per member.

A very expensive experience just to hold on to your career and clear your name.
    When you consider the amount of money spent by the GRA on conferences and the likes the few euro given to members striving to defend themselves is hardly enough for a first consultation, though that is free if a GRA approved solicitor is consulted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,427 ✭✭✭RustyNut

Regardless of the merrets of the case it's shocking thet two employees would be left hanging for a legal bill that came as part of the job, surely their union will pick up the bill ?

RustyNut wrote: »
    Regardless of the merrets of the case it's shocking thet two employees would be left hanging for a legal bill that came as part of the job, surely their union will pick up the bill ?
    Terrible that that is allowed to happen and I would be very suspicious of the manner in which the case terminated in that the DPP capitulated thus denying the Gardai an exoneration by dismissal. That may or may not impact on the necessity of the state to pay their legal costs.
    As for the GRA, I would say perish the thought, though I would be delighted to be proven wrong.
    I look forward to a statement from their solicitor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,897 ✭✭✭Means Of Escape

Should have held up a fillet steak for seasoning

That escapes me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,848 ✭✭✭knucklehead6

That escapes me

Pepper spray

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,354 ✭✭✭✭Heroditas

That escapes me

Use the pepper spray to season a steak.
    Took me a little bit to figure it out myself!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,287 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

Unbeliveable.

Some little scrote tries to get you in bother for doing your job, you get exonerated and end up with a 14k legal bill.

I'm sure Mr 20 Odd Convictions will be paying his own legal bill and won't be getting free legal aid that the taxpayer will foot the bill for.

This country is a joke. Reward the utterly ****ing useless and punish people doing their job even if they are in the right. Was the court case held in a pub as well?

Normal people need to start pushing back against this victim-state we've created.

Unbeliveable.

Some little scrote tries to get you in bother for doing your job, you get exonerated and end up with a 14k legal bill.

I'm sure Mr 20 Odd Convictions will be paying his own legal bill and won't be getting free legal aid that the taxpayer will foot the bill for.

This country is a joke. Reward the utterly ****ing useless and punish people doing their job even if they are in the right. Was the court case held in a pub as well?

Normal people need to start pushing back against this victim-state we've created.

He will be getting his expenses for the day and he will have received a cheque for a sum of money as a viaticum when he was served with a witness summons.

Don't forget that he also has the right to take a civil action against the Gardai and depending on his financial state he may hobbling along to the Law office to put in his application for free legal aid.
    This is another reason to be fearful of the outcome of the case compounded by the statement by the commission. If the CSSO. Did not represent them in the criminal case they will not represent them in a Civil Action.
    Of course the Garda Commissioner will never find himself in that situation as he will be represented by the CCSO and will never be regarded as an individual
    It is important to note, however, that there was no verdict as the prosecution was withdrawn,” the spokesman said.
    © Irish Examiner Ltd. All rights reserved