Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda charged for pepper spraying teen..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,430 ✭✭✭Ilik Urgee

Two things I'd hate to be in this country- sick or a Garda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭TommiesTank

What did the toerag do to deserve that? Spit on the arresting officer or something?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,250 ✭✭✭✭bumper234

Should have got a medal imo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Pepper sprayed while he was incapacitated? They deserve to have the book thrown at them.

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

Just he said she said crap right now really. No evidence yet, so some criminal says he was a victim of police brutality.

If it was vindictive, I would be disappointed in the gardai. Would like to hear their side of the story.

SV wrote: »
    Pepper sprayed while he was incapacitated? They deserve to have the book thrown at them.

Why? Even if he was handcuffed he could still kick or bite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

It was only pepper spray. If the little bollocks had behaving himself they wouldn't have needed to go near him in the first place.

bumper234 wrote: »

Does not matter in the slightest, if he was handcuffed then they could have restrained him more quite easily that he couldn't do either of these things.

btw, pepper spraying him doesn't mean he could no longer kick or bite either?
    all it served was to put him in pain. Scummy behaviour.

Does not matter in the slightest, if he was handcuffed then they could have restrained him more quite easily that he couldn't do either of these things.

So they should have used the softly softly approach? Offered him sweets and a round table discussion about his issues? He was being arrested and he resisted ergo he deserved to be sprayed. The only thing wrong here is it's not done enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,907 ✭✭✭✭28064212

Not sure if people understand what alleged or charged means...

Boardsie Enhancement Suite - a browser extension to make using Boards on desktop a better experience (includes full-width display, keyboard shortcuts, dark mode, and more). Now available through your browser's extension store.

Firefox: https://addons.mozilla.org/addon/boardsie-enhancement-suite/

Chrome/Edge/Opera: https://chromewebstore.google.com/detail/boardsie-enhancement-suit/bbgnmnfagihoohjkofdnofcfmkpdmmce

So they should have used the softly softly approach? Offered him sweets and a round table discussion about his issues? He was being arrested and he resisted ergo he deserved to be sprayed. The only thing wrong here is it's not done enough.

He was handcuffed. They should have put restrained him with other methods, leg straps and the likes if he was actually being agressive.

Pepper spraying is the wrong solution.

Do you think it's ok for a Garda to hit lads a few slaps while they're handcuffed?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,235 ✭✭✭returnNull

maybe start a thread when they've been convicted otherwise you'll just come across as numpties

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

...wheres all this info coming from....?

He was handcuffed. They should have put restrained him with other methods, leg straps and the likes if he was actually being agressive.

Do you think it's ok for a Garda to hit lads a few slaps while they're handcuffed?

There is a difference to using a pepper spray and hitting someone a slap. Put yourself in the Guards position and lets say the guy is trying to bite you, would you risk putting your hands in there risking not only injury but also hepatitis?

Or do you warn him that if he does not stop you will use pepper spray and then follow through on that? Have you ever been bitten by a scumbag? I have and it hurts a lot more than pepper spray!

There is a difference to using a pepper spray and hitting someone a slap. Put yourself in the Guards position and lets say the guy is trying to bite you, would you risk putting your hands in there risking not only injury but also hepatitis?

Or do you warn him that if he does not stop you will use pepper spray and then follow through on that? Have you ever been bitten by a scumbag? I have and it hurts a lot more than pepper spray!

There is absolutely no difference other than one needs physical contact in this instance.

Lets say he's trying to bite me? Seriously there's no proof of this. Also, if he was, what of it? hes handcuffed, he's hardly a major threat or anything, CERTAINLY nothing that pepper spraying would fix.

Have you ever been pepper sprayed? :confused:

...wild speculation at this point, as there is scant information in the OP as regards to what was going on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,901 ✭✭✭Howard Juneau

Pepper spray means you can't see what you're doing & makes it easier to hold someone down as you should know

There is absolutely no difference other than one needs physical contact in this instance.

Lets say he's trying to bite me? Seriously there's no proof of this. Also, if he was, what of it? hes handcuffed, he's hardly a major threat or anything, CERTAINLY nothing that pepper spraying would fix.

Have you ever been pepper sprayed? :confused:

Yes i have when i served in the military so i know EXACTLY what it's like. At the end of the day he resisted arrest and got pepper sprayed, if he had not resisted arrest he wouldn't have. Lesson learned/ Don't resist arrest!

....there is no mention in the OP of him being arrested....

Nodin wrote: »
    ....there is no mention in the OP of him being arrested....

Always with the same picky posts:rolleyes:

Pepper spray means you can't see what you're doing & makes it easier to hold someone down as you should know
    He was already in handcuffs.

How do you know he resisted arrest? He was also already handcuffed?
    Really? that's the lesson to be learnt here? There's a reason police brutality exists in the world, and it's because of attitudes like this.

Always with the same picky posts:rolleyes:

Probably because you're making stuff up to suit your argument.

He was already in handcuffs.

How do you know he resisted arrest? He was also already handcuffed?
    Really? that's the lesson to be learnt here? There's a reason police brutality exists in the world, and it's because of attitudes like this.

Does not say he was handcuffed says he was restrained/incapacitated. Pepper spraying someone who is resisting is not police brutality:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭Owen_S

Because pepper spraying him would prevent him for kicking and biting? :rolleyes:

Does not say he was handcuffed says he was restrained/incapacitated. Pepper spraying someone who is resisting is not police brutality:rolleyes:

Right then, incapacitated. It's the same bloody difference when it comes to pepper spraying someone in the face.

How. do. you. know. he. was. resisting?

Owen_S wrote: »
    Because pepper spraying him would prevent him for kicking and biting? :rolleyes:

If you have ever been pepper sprayed you would know that you are too busy crying and snotting up all sorts to be worrying about anything else.

Right then, incapacitated. It's the same bloody difference when it comes to pepper spraying someone in the face.

How. do. you. know. he. was. resisting?

the. same. way. you. seem. to. know. he. wasn't!

....doesn't say he was restrained. It says feck all, in fact, save that he was "incapacitated" and points out the lack of details concerning that.

the. same. way. you. seem. to. know. he. wasn't!

I'm going by the details that are actually there, you're making stuff up to suit the argument.

It's like you have a hard time believing they wouldn't pepper spray him unless he was resisting so he MUST have been. I mean it's the only logical reason, right? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

Sorry, but this case is before the courts now, so we can't have discussion on it until it's over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,663 ✭✭✭pah

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 957 ✭✭✭MonsterCookie

pah wrote: »

Justice has been served. The Gardai in question must be relieved...would hate to have sh1t like that hanging over me for a few months.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

22 previous convictions! If justice were to be served then this little puke would be hanged.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 957 ✭✭✭MonsterCookie

catallus wrote: »
    22 previous convictions! If justice were to be served then this little puke would be hanged.

He sounds like a right little scrote.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭Blackjack

returnNull wrote: »
    maybe start a thread when they've been convicted otherwise you'll just come across as numpties

Seems this post was quite prophetic!.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭MonaPizza

FFS, are you serious bump?

Try this. Cuff someone and challenge them to kick or bite someone. Have everyone stand clear until the kicker/biter is bollocksed after about 20 seconds of bite/kick attempts.

"could still kick or bite" :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

I feel so sorry for the model teen who had sore itchy eyes.

Funny when the likes of him spit's, punches, kicks, bites, stabs and you never know shoots somebody and he will get away with a tiny suspended sentence or he will bring up police brutality.

I hate the way so many Irish are do gooders and so soft we need to stop letting others walk all over us.

Courts need to be overhauled asap.
    Judges need to be held to account not be above the law.
    It would be nice to think the decent hard working person had something to back them up.

Happy to see the lies came out and two officers can continue in their career.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,647 ✭✭✭lazybones32

And some asshole, "free legal aid" barrister is out having a drink tonight, having done his/her civic duty in the interest of Irish Society and been rewarded handsomely in the process.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,381 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Apology from SV in 3...2...1....

And trust me, even when someone is handcuffed they can be a major threat. As the article states the youth was violent before and during the arrest. He was handcuffed, continued to be violent and subsequently sprayed. Absolutely nothing wrong with that. If someone needs to be sprayed, they'll get sprayed. Why wasn't he sprayed before the arrest? Could be a number of reasons, proximity, location, number of people around, etc. I'd imagine it was a proximity related reason.

And for anyone that has been sprayed with the Garda issued spray, you'll be incapable of doing anything within a minute, other than bending over and trying not to vomit. Unless you're off your face on drugs, that can't negate the effects somewhat.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,885 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

Honestly? Never did us any harm to get an odd slap off a garda-not while handcuffed mind you.I actually grew up with a bit if respect for them. Little bollixes like this fooker might have stopped after the first slap he got and not went on to get 21 more convictions.

The "let's be nice to the scum" approach isn't working.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭Joeseph Balls

Sometimes that's exactly what's deserved....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭timmy4u2

Another controversial failure on the part of the Ombudsman. Amazing that the DPP gave the go ahead initially.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,663 ✭✭✭pah

timmy4u2 wrote: »
    Another controversial failure on the part of the Ombudsman. Amazing that the DPP gave the go ahead initially.

It's a full blown disgrace that this ever ended up in court, never mind that it was as a Section 3 Assault! The same level as a stab wound or a broken nose/jaw.

Use of pepper spray is around the same level of force as handcuffs and arm locks ffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭sdanseo

Patent nonsense and a complete waste of everyone's time. Whoever made the call that this should go to court needs to find a new job.

There's no time or place for that sort of hyper political correctness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭timmy4u2

pah wrote: »
    It's a full blown disgrace that this ever ended up in court, never mind that it was as a Section 3 Assault! The same level as a stab wound or a broken nose/jaw.

Use of pepper spray is around the same level of force as handcuffs and arm locks ffs.
    Exactly.A case that could not get halfway through the prosecutions case asks serious questions of the Ombudsman's and the DPP's asssessment of the evidence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

As an ex-teen I'm firmly with the guard on this one. Every teen should be pepper sprayed. Regularly and as a matter of course. Young happy little feckers.

Apology from SV in 3...2...1....

Apologise for what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 PopRocks

I know the female guard. One of the nicest and fairest people I've ever come across. People should wait for the facts before hurling insults I was disgusted reading some of the things written about her online. There are bad guards but not all guards are bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,273 ✭✭✭twowheelsonly

MonaPizza wrote: »
    FFS, are you serious bump?

Try this. Cuff someone and challenge them to kick or bite someone. Have everyone stand clear until the kicker/biter is bollocksed after about 20 seconds of bite/kick attempts.

"could still kick or bite" :pac:

Except that in the real world that's not how it works.
    If you have reason to handcuff me during a violent confrontation and you stand clear of me then I'm either doing a runner away from you or straight at you with the intention of hitting you in any way I can.
    Pepper spray is one of the tools of control and restraint and is used the world over. Generally speaking not too many innocent people end up getting sprayed ergo those that do generally deserve it.

Strumms wrote: »
    So we have a thread where people are calling the Gardai in question scumbags or on the other hand saying the fella deserved it. This before anyone has a shread of evidence as to what actually went down. Marvellous.

???? Case is settled and details are up.. http://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/dpp-withdraws-assault-charges-against-garda%C3%AD-1.1646198

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,381 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Apologise for what?

You're wrong

Wrong again

Wrong

And again.

Thought maybe you'd want to apologise for being wrong. But no skin off my back, just a thought.