Dublin Bus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,908 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

Dublin Bus should work with the Gardaí and have plain clothes or unfiormed Gardaí board routes that are notorious for this kind of behaviour.

They barely have the resources to do what they're supposed to be doing as it is without adding that to the To Do list as well.

I do agree but it isn't going to happen.

That said, I would disagree about having them undercover/plain-clothes – it’s a deterrent that’sneeded, not a means of catching any wrongdoers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,888 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Candie wrote: »
    Best idea yet. Like the US Air Marshalls. Ride incognito and make the anti-social behaviour too risky.

Hardly, there has been a British Transport Police for years who do nothing else accept monitor stations and vehicles. Im not suggesting we have the resources for that, but perhaps 20 Guards in Dublin as a whole at any one time riding the Bus Train and Luas routes and available to respond to ASB anywhere on the system would make a big difference and save more resources in the long run, so long as the commitment was 24/7

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

wexie wrote: »
    The problem with that is, that if someone's a danger to the other passengers, they're also a danger to the busdriver.

If YOU saw this happening on a bus, would you be happy to confront said 'scrote' and make them get off the bus?
    No but I'm not sitting behind glass

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,424 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Yes but for the safety of the driver or other passengers if they're under the influence or look under the influence they should not be allowed onto the public transport. See some zombie shuffling towards a bus with dead eyes and track marks up and down his arm he should be told to **** off with himself

You can't just exclude people from public transport on a judgement call. If you don't want to mix with the masses, sort out your own transport.

If this wasn't staged there's a few things that stand out to me about it.

1) Drivers are meant to check the bus out between services. If this had been like this for a while the bus should have been taken off. I'd be concerned about the driver...

2) The article makes no reference of direct contact to Dublin Bus. Why? Tagging them on twitter is as useful as pissing against the wind. They must get tagged in hundreds of posts a day. If people are truly shocked and horrified about something, the people you want or need to sort it out won't if you don't tell'em directly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 551 ✭✭✭Polka_Dot

The driver wouldn't be either if they were to properly deal with the situation.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,287 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

The driver should approach someone who is armed with a syringe who is probably out of their mind on gear or just doesn't care about what they do to someone else?

It's long past time that we set up transport police in the capital at least to give these parasites the old wood-shampoo when they do this kind of thing.

"Not letting them on the bus" isn't the answer. How do you judge it, there would be discrimination cases going in within the first hour from scobes looking for a quick buck from a claim.

Does the driver physically stop them from getting on the vehicle? More claims again either from the "yoore hurr-hin me!!!!" brigade or the drivers who get assaulted trying to do their jobs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

Drivers aren't skilled enough to deal with troublemakers, in fairness some try and get dogs abuse for their trouble. I've been on buses where drivers have been racially abused, threatened, had punches and kicks thrown their way...its not fair on the drivers to expect them to step in. Often you have more than one person causing hassle, what do they do then?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 954 ✭✭✭Highflyer13

Only a couple of weeks ago a 7 yr old was pricked by a needle on the dart. Where the problem really lies is the rampant heroin epidemic in Dublin City. There's no denying it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭EyeSight

No surprise. Didn't a kid sit on a syringe last month on the DART?
    Junkies and scumbags live under an amnesty as far as the law in Dublin is concerned. I rarely see the guards do anything with them, and when they do, the courts leave them go with a warning.

I don't take "lack of resources" as an excuse. Every bank holiday weekend there is a large crackdown on drivers, why can't we do the same every few weeks or months with junkies and scumbags?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,103 ✭✭✭Tiddlypeeps

They should have at least a small presence of security on the buses. Even just one or two people who hop on and off a different route or two everyday. This coupled with removing free travel passes from anyone not respecting the system should see it cleaned up fairly quickly. If you cannot respect the system then you certainly shouldn't be given free access to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Sometimes I think you're not actually a real poster, less a 24 hour bot designed to perpetuate screechy, entitled threads on subjects of interest to middle-class Dubliners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,814 ✭✭✭Gone Drinking

A guy I know posted a picture of a needle on a bus there a few weeks ago, so I'm sure this is genuine.

As for the blood, I know of a landlord who had to pay for a room to be specially cleaned/disinfected after a tenant who disappeared. They went into his room to find bloody spray/spatter and needles all over the place.

This coupled with removing free travel passes from anyone not respecting the system should see it cleaned up fairly quickly.

As in delinquent pensioners and disabled people?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,201 ✭✭✭jamesbondings

anncoates wrote: »

If they cant conduct themselves correctly (ie smoking doing drugs etc) then i dont see the problem.....however i think he was more talking about junkies and ruffians

• Closed Accounts Posts: 767 ✭✭✭SimonQuinlank

Dublin Bus should work with the Gardaí and have plain clothes or unfiormed Gardaí board routes that are notorious for this kind of behaviour.

Dublin Bus do do this,as do the Luas.Garda friend of mine spent a week doing it (plainclothes) in December on various routes.

That pic looks staged to me also.No pins in the needle and no used swabs,cotton balls or bloody tissue that usually goes hand in hand with discarded syringes.

In the last 10 years I've spent commuting from Clondalkin,Neilstown and Ballyfermot to the City Centre I've never witnessed anything like that,or any hassle besides teenagers playing crap music out loud or someone smoking the odd joint.Do remember seeing some lad shoot up on the 79 back in the 90's though.

If they cant conduct themselves correctly (ie smoking doing drugs etc) then i dont see the problem.....however i think he was more talking about junkies and ruffians

Damn ruffians with their Ruffian Travel Pass.

I work in public transport.

A lot of people with free travel are alcoholics/addicts (it's a disability!) or the unemployable. This section of the million or so people entitled to All-Ireland free travel are the cause of 100% of the trouble we have.

Highly doubt that now lets be honest....

A lot of junkies and alcoholics are classed as disabled because they are unfit for work, so get free travel passes. I see no reason to exempt old and other disabled people from that, although I can't imagine many of them would be effected.

It's not feasible to implement a system where people can be banned, but we can absolutely stop them from using the service for free, making it less likely they will use it as a place to hang out and do drugs.

Highly doubt that now lets be honest....

That's nice dear.

I see it every single day.

They're bankers as well?

:eek::eek::eek::confused::mad::mad::mad::mad:

Really? I had no idea that chronic addiction qualified as a disability. Or I guess it is in a way, but not for free travel.

On the subject of shooting up, I've only seen it once on a bus years ago. It's generally more alcoholics I've seen.

Really? I had no idea that chronic addiction qualified as a disability. Or I guess it is in a way, but not for free travel.

On the subject of shooting up, I've only seen it once on a bus years ago. It's generally more alcoholics I've seen.

You seem to be awful quick to be condescending to various people in this thread given your obvious ignorance on the subject.

That's nice dear.

I see it every single day.

Im not doubting that,what i do doubt though, is that all trouble created on public transport is 100% the fault of those with free travel passes.

Fair enough. I should have been more clear that by saying we i meant the station i work in although i have heard the same thing from the few other people i've encountered who work in other parts of the network.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,478 ✭✭✭wexie

there's bound to be some drunken shenanigans on the nitelinks and other buses.
    Let's just assume MickeyD meant : the majority, or a very high percentage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

Why do people shoot up or take drugs on public buses? I've no doubt that it goes on but I just don't get why buses or the dart or luas are the places of choice.

gramar wrote: »
    Why do people shoot up or take drugs on public buses? I've no doubt that it goes on but I just don't get why buses or the dart or luas are the places of choice.

The Need waits for no man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,478 ✭✭✭wexie

gramar wrote: »

cause there's no gards on them? :(

You seem to be awful quick to be condescending to various people in this thread given your obvious ignorance on the subject.

Condescension is the theme de jour of all these threads. Mine doesn't exactly stand out.