Farming Chit Chat III

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Mac Taylor

jersey101 wrote: »
    Cutting branches off trees all day here. Grand day for it. And a new chainsaw helps as well. No comparison to the old one
    Jersey, what kind of saw did you buy? In the market for one myself

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭jersey101

Mac Taylor wrote: »
    Jersey, what kind of saw did you buy? In the market for one myself

Husqvarna, 16inch bar I think. Don't know what model. I havent the slitest interest in wood ha. But the saw is a pure beast to go. Ye would cut up a decent size tree in 40 minutes not a bother

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

Scraping outdoor cubicles

delaval wrote: »
    Scraping outdoor cubicles

Jebus, first you're getting DAS and now you have the Dept doing your work for you :p

Are you thinking of expanding Con? Big step up from your usual weapons of choice!!!

Need to move a mountain, it's interfering with the wind causing herself satellite dish to malfunction, won't get any peace until I remedy the situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,292 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

they probably brought it over to the north after the last foot&mouth outbreak. For dozing the bodies into pits or pyres .. I would keep well away.

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    they probably brought it over to the north after the last foot&mouth outbreak. For dozing the bodies into pits or pyres .. I would keep well away.

The thought did enter my head, but that's a fair while ago now.

I was only being sarcastic. would be a grand tool for a sand pit, stubbing wins, etc. I suppose the tracks are too smooth for it to be any use to pull a mole plough?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭biddy2013

its hard to believe its 13 years since the foot and mouth outbreak, time flies

My maiden heifers are still coughing in the shed. They've been in for the past 8 weeks and were dosed over 3 weeks ago now with albex. There getting ibr vaccine next week. Would that make any difference?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,701 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

biddy2013 wrote: »
    its hard to believe its 13 years since the foot and mouth outbreak, time flies

Remember being on the border. Doing checkpoints

Reggie. wrote: »
    Remember being on the border. Doing checkpoints

There used to be a fella on here before - Sharpshooter82. He had a similar occupation to you, your paths might have crossed?:rolleyes:

Pure b******d of a fella. Your better off not knowing him :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Have 2 dry cows out on a dry field about a 350m away from the house as the crow flies. But by road we have to go down a long lane to get to it.
    A house is very slowly being renovated on it and yesterday evening round 5ish a neighbour noticed that a petrol cement mixer had been brought from the house up to the road. Rang us to see if we had noticed it when feeding the cows at 4.
    Nope, we'd seen nothing or nobody.
    So he rang the owner of the house, thinking it had been a rented one and was going back. Definitely not, says he, so away went the mixer to the neighbours shed.

Keep an eye on anything that looks a bit out of place folks...:pac:

Kovu Murr wrote: »
    Have 2 dry cows out on a dry field about a 350m away from the house as the crow flies. But by road we have to go down a long lane to get to it.
    A house is very slowly being renovated on it and yesterday evening round 5ish a neighbour noticed that a petrol cement mixer had been brought from the house up to the road. Rang us to see if we had noticed it when feeding the cows at 4.
    Nope, we'd seen nothing or nobody.
    So he rang the owner of the house, thinking it had been a rented one and was going back. Definitely not, says he, so away went the mixer to the neighbours shed.

Keep an eye on anything that looks a bit out of place folks...:pac:

Ya want eyes in the back of your head this weather

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,557 ✭✭✭simx

Sleep was limited last night due to a mother losing her calf, she has a bigger surprise coming in the next couple of weeks as she'll be gone to the factory in the sky

Moving dry cows tonight and the last one out of the shed knocked a gate that was resting on the wall onto my baby toe. Can't bleeding walk now with it

Hop along :P

Reggie. wrote: »
    Hop along :P

Not great when your milking. Shuffling around the parlour

fill your welly with icy water, Will keep the swelling down.

And get a cold? No thanks I'll suffer on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

And get a cold? No thanks I'll suffer on

Nothing worse than getting hurt this time of year. You never get a chance to rest it. There's a days work that has to get done every day.

there is a hole community of us out here, worried about your toe! If it swells up, you might have to cut off the welly :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,575 ✭✭✭epfff

Any damage to gate
    You should have put that gate hanging instead of chasing youngones over the Xmas

epfff wrote: »
    Any damage to gate
    You should have put that gate hanging instead of chasing youngones over the Xmas

That's what ye get for bringing gates home from rented land so the native Irish don't rob them

epfff wrote: »
    Any damage to gate
    ah hes taken......so he claims :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

Strap the toe to the next one,
    that's what happens when you wear boating shoes

hugo29 wrote: »
    Strap the toe to the next one,
    that's what happens when you wear boating shoes

Do boating shoes come with steel toecaps, or would they fall under the jurisdiction of divers shoes, like the lads with the brass helmets :cool: