Begrudged because I'm smart with money

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

McDook wrote: »
    I do know a lot of them. About 90% of Irish people I meet. A hell of a lot more than of any other nationality i meet.
    I especially love how those people have this mock concern, but really gloating voice. "Oh you bought a house in 2005. ah sure how were you to know. Such a pity you lost your shirt".

or "oh you only have 1 car. sure some day you might get a second one."

Do you know the meaning of begrudging?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,334 ✭✭✭earlyevening

joe stodge wrote: »
    No it's free, great for small ammounts. The rate is usuall $0.01 to $0.005 of what the banks give ya

lol. Nothing is ever free.

You'll find that the offered rate is 3 or 4% off the official exchange rate.

e.g. right now the dollar is at 1.3606. BOI will sell at 1.3216. An post sell at 1.3208. That 4 cent difference is their profit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 71 ✭✭systemicrisk

I do know a lot of them. About 90% of Irish people I meet. A hell of a lot more than of any other nationality i meet.
    I especially love how those people have this mock concern, but really gloating voice. "Oh you bought a house in 2005. ah sure how were you to know. Such a pity you lost your shirt".

or "oh you only have 1 car. sure some day you might get a second one."

Seriously who the fcuck do ye meet in your little imaginary worlds. 90%? It you said 10% id say sounds like a lot but possibly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭McDook

Do you know the meaning of begrudging?

Do you say that in every thread.
    I answered your post, i didnt give you any definition of any words.
    Did I even type "begrudging" anywhere?

So for what reason do you ask me if I know the meaning of a word?
    You might as well have asked me do I know the meaning of "pointless" or any other random word that wasnt even in my post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,743 ✭✭✭An Riabhach

joe stodge wrote: »
    I was talking to one of the girls I work with, she was asking am I planning on going on holiday this year, I told I've booked Florida for myself the wife and our 2kids.
    Her reply was "you must have won the lotto or gotten a claim".
    I haven't had either, I'm just cautious with money and don't drink often or smoke, I have a mortgage and a car and save anything extra I have for the holiday which I'm paying off in installments over the months leading up to it.
    I work in retail and my wife works for the HSE.
    Since ivd told her where I'm planning on going one a few people I work with have told me she's telling people I must have come into a windfall of cash as there is no way I could be affording it otherwise. She herself drinks all weekend and smokes at least 20 a day, I'm sure if she gave up both she'd could save for the same.

Has anyone had similar experiences with people begrudging you for being stupid with money.

Tell her to fúck off and mind her own business.

People who I work with go to NY every year and tis because they save their money and have it well planned,and fair play to them.

Myself,I do spend a lot on the fags-but I put away €2 every day into a little money box for my own little break away here in Ireland(thats good enough for me coz I couldn't be arsed going abroad) and once I can do that I'm happy.

Why give a sheit what she thinks-when obviously your lifestyle and ideas are way better than hers??

Siúl leat, siúl leat, le dóchas i do chroí, is ní shiúlfaidh tú i d'aonar go deo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

If people have no interest in talking to you , it may be for more prosaic personality-deficient reasons on your side rather than your income?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

Seasan wrote: »
    Tell her to fúck off and mind her own business.

People who I work with go to NY every year and tis because they save their money and have it well planned,and fair play to them.

Myself,I do spend a lot on the fags-but I put away €2 every day into a little money box for my own little break away here in Ireland(thats good enough for me coz I couldn't be arsed going abroad) and once I can do that I'm happy.

Why give a sheit what she thinks-when obviously your lifestyle and ideas are way better than hers??

Clearly you don't give a shìt anyway, not half :pac:

Do you say that in every thread.

First time. You must be confusing me with someone else.

I answered your post, i didnt give you any definition of any words.
    Did I even type "begrudging" anywhere?

So for what reason do you ask me if I know the meaning of a word?
    You might as well have asked me do I know the meaning of "pointless" or any other random word that wasnt even in my post.

Eh...because we were discussing the alleged begrudging attitude among the Irish.

I questioned the hfallon's assertion that the Irish were begrudging and you quoted my post where I said we weren't with "90% of people I know are".

90% of people you know are what then?

First time. You must be confusing me with someone else.

Eh...because we were discussing the alleged begrudging attitude among the Irish.

I questioned the hfallon's assertion that the Irish were begrudging and you quoted my post where I said we weren't with "90% of people I know are".

90% of people you know are what then?

Read what you posted. Read what I answered. Stop asking people do they know what words mean. And get off your high horse.

And if you really want to know what a word means go to dictionary.com or some similar website.
    Here, i'll even give you a link to help you look up any word you please. http://dictionary.reference.com/

Read what you posted. Read what I answered. Stop asking people do they know what words mean. And get off your high horse.

As I said, first time I asked it. Must be confusing me with someone else. :)

90% of people you know are what?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭FizzleSticks

As I said, first time I asked it. Must be confusing me with someone else. :)

90% of people you know are what?

Can you read or are you going to go on all night like a child. Asking people what words mean?

Read your post, the post you were replying to and my reply was to your post.
    Its all there. Leave it at that and stop being childish.

Can you read or are you going to go on all night like a child. Asking people what words mean?

Read your post, the post you were replying to and my reply was to your post.
    Its all there. Leave it at that and stop being childish.

Okay.

Calm down. It's AH. It's where people come to be childish.

You're agreeing that 90% of people you know love to see people fail or them seeing people broke (as jfallon said in the post I replied to). Genuine question: are you exaggerating with your 90% slightly?

Okay.

Calm down. It's AH. It's where people come to be childish.

You're agreeing that 90% of people you know love to see people fail or them seeing people broke (as jfallon said in the post I replied to). Genuine question: are you exaggerating with your 90% slightly?

Enough.

Enough.

:P

Enough.

Well another genuine question...do yo believe even the majority ( greater tjan 50%) of people like to see other people fail and be broke?

I do indeed. Of Irish people. They love it.

Ridiculous. Irish people love seeing other people in a state of poverty. Jesus wept! I also presume you're not Irish as you're using the 3rd person plural instead of the 1st.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

What a grim view you have of the irish race.

Ridiculous. Irish people love seeing other people in a state of poverty. Jesus wept! I also presume you're not Irish as you're using the 3rd person plural instead of the 1st.

Im Irish. Just able to look from outside and I hear a lot of foreigners opinions on Irish people too.
    Its not they they love seeing people in a state poverty, its that they hate seeing others do better than them, with a passion.
    Have a read of some of the numerous dole threads, civil servant threads, landlord threads. Scary stuff said, but typical, im sorry and ashamed to say.
    Have a chat with a Taxi driver too. Or talk to joe. Or any phone in radio show

Im Irish. Just able to look from outside.
    Its not they they love seeing people in a state poverty, its that they hate seeing others do better than them, with a passion.
    Have a read of some of the numerous dole threads, civil servant threads, landlord threads. Scary stuff said, but typical, im sorry and ashamed to say.

You do know that people who complain on an internet forum, taxi drivers and callers to Joe do not represent the majority of irish people.
    Most people I know are generous in their praise on one of our own who excell...indeed we take pride in it.

Im Irish. Just able to look from outside and I hear a lot of foreigners opinions on Irish people too.

Well I disagree. If I went by whats written on after hours or most of boards id have a horrible opinion of people too. I go by the people I meet every day when I go about my business and the vadt majority are very nice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

You do know that people who complain on an internet forum, taxi drivers and callers to Joe do not represent the majority of irish people.
    Most people I know are generous in their praise on one of our own who excell...indeed we take pride in it.

Tbh Trigger sometimes there's no point in pointing out the obvious to someone who is blinded by their own arrogance.

Boards, the Joe Duffy show and Taxi drivers are your barometer of the mood of the whole country? Ehhh.... The people who ring Joe Duffy are the chronic moaners of the country and hardly a litmus test for the majority of people in Ireland.

Stop listening to the moany holes and concentrate on the majority of decent people in the country. It's not the majority no matter how many times you type it. Most, if not all, people I know are sympathetic of other people struggling in this crisis and any charity drive will have loads of support throughout the country.

Not just those people. They are just examples where it is public and you can verify easily just by reading and listening.

Look deeper yourself among your friends. Ask non Irish people who you know wont hide their true feelings from you.

Not just those people. They are just examples where it is public and you can verify easily just by reading and listening.

Look deeper yourself among your friends. Ask non Irish people who you know wont hide their true feelings from you.

I don't need to look deeper among my friends; they're sound. I don't live in Ireland so know plenty of foreigners and although I've heard criticism, I've never heard this opinion of us (although the Spanish say it about themselves).

What she said plus one. Tuning out of this thread for now as my head is sore from wall banging.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,587 ✭✭✭sgthighway

Where can I pay for a holiday in Installments?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭Electric Sheep

I don't think non-Irish people who have not lived in Ireland would know much about it. It lurks behind the pseudo-friendly facade that Irish people wear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,568 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

sgthighway wrote: »
    Where can I pay for a holiday in Installments?

Piggy bank