Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Begrudged because I'm smart with money

• 07-01-2014 5:26pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 986 ✭✭✭joe stodge

I was talking to one of the girls I work with, she was asking am I planning on going on holiday this year, I told I've booked Florida for myself the wife and our 2kids.
    Her reply was "you must have won the lotto or gotten a claim".
    I haven't had either, I'm just cautious with money and don't drink often or smoke, I have a mortgage and a car and save anything extra I have for the holiday which I'm paying off in installments over the months leading up to it.
    I work in retail and my wife works for the HSE.
    Since ivd told her where I'm planning on going one a few people I work with have told me she's telling people I must have come into a windfall of cash as there is no way I could be affording it otherwise. She herself drinks all weekend and smokes at least 20 a day, I'm sure if she gave up both she'd could save for the same.

Has anyone had similar experiences with people begrudging you for being stupid with money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Happens all the time in Ireland. Usually 'drugs' is cited as the reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,094 ✭✭✭wretcheddomain

She's just a jealous idiot. Tell her to **** off in future.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭MJ23

Bought a car without getting a loan.

"Shur you've a load of money, well for ye"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 899 ✭✭✭djk1000

Draw this out for her

20 cigs a day = €70 a week
    8 (cheap) drinks at the weekend = €40

=€110 x 52 weeks of the year = €5,720

There's your Florida holiday and some other stuff paid for.

Or, 2 cups of coffee a day @ €2.40 each = €1752 a year.

People that are bad with money don't understand how small spends really add up over a year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,513 ✭✭✭Ray Palmer

Very similar points being made in the thread I started yesterday about playing down income and lifestyle over Christmas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

MJ23 wrote: »
    Bought a car without getting a loan.

"Shur you've a load of money, well for ye"

"I hate people like you" was the response I got from a former colleague when I told her I paid for my car without getting a loan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 714 ✭✭✭feelgoodinc27

People just see and want the reward with no appreciation for the sacrifices and discipline required to get it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 346 ✭✭Paddy Fields

They used to say about me, "He has his communion money." I didn't drink or smoke so didn't fit in with the garglers whose favourite topic of conversation was how many pints they had on Sunday... Rivetting! The worst one was nearly 40, lived with his parents and rode a clapped-out Honda 50. I was married with kids, mortgage, car loan but I was the tightwad. My father used to have a quaint old Irish expression... "F**k the begrudgers!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,590 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Did someone die belonging to you op?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

I'm not sure that's begrudgery so much as being a ****in' idiot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 986 ✭✭✭joe stodge

I've also started to pick up dollars in the post office when ever I'm paying the bills, €30 is $40 dollars, every week for 6 months, there's no way I can spend it here this way short of going to bureu de change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭Mr.McLovin

SV wrote: »
    Happens all the time in Ireland. Usually 'drugs' is cited as the reason.

/pm'd op, mines an ounce of your finest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

See, this is what happens when you care about peoples opinions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

joe stodge wrote: »
    I was talking to one of the girls I work with, she was asking am I planning on going on holiday this year, I told I've booked Florida for myself the wife and our 2kids.
    I haven't had either, I'm just cautious with money and don't drink often or smoke, I have a mortgage and a car and save anything extra I have for the holiday which I'm paying off in installments over the months leading up to it.
    Since ivd told her where I'm planning on going one a few people I work with have told me she's telling people I must have come into a windfall of cash as there is no way I could be affording it otherwise. She herself drinks all weekend and smokes at least 20 a day, I'm sure if she gave up both she'd could save for the same.

Has anyone had similar experiences with people begrudging you for being stupid with money.

I'm not sure you know what begrudged means, perhaps invest some money in a dictionary??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,315 ✭✭✭Soft Falling Rain

Ah sure no harm op, sure it's not as if you go to Florida every year. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 213 ✭✭Placebo Effect

That's the reason Joe !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,180 ✭✭✭hfallada

Irish people hate other people doing well in life or having a better lifestyle than them. My parents did quite well for themselves through their own hard work. We moved to a nicer area and I went to private schools. Gradually none of their old friends wanted to have nothing to do to them. And were bitter with their success.

But Irish people love more when peoples business's fail or when they are broke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

I've no experience with begrudgery, but plenty of experience with hypocrisy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Daqster

I told a few people at work I had saved up enough for a holiday and maybe a new kitchen and they tampered with the brakes on my car and the next day I was killed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭diograis

"blanket comment about all irish people hating those better off than themselves"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

maybe "win the lottery" is a euphemism for "work in the HSE" :pac:

That's the reason Joe !
    Ha, I wish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 339 ✭✭maria34

Just wanted to mention the same thing. Your wife works for HSE so now they think you are loaded and they are taxpayers ....

Ah i wish i could save the money like you. I dont drink in the pub or smoke, still broke :-(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭nibtrix

Ah sure no harm op, sure it's not as if you go to Florida every year. ;)

And what if he does? I go abroad every year, often two or three times. I have a fairly low-paid job and a mortgage to pay, but I don't smoke, don't have a car and don't go out pubbing and clubbing every week. I don't spend a lot on clothes and I don't waste money on expensive lunches and coffees. Instead I save so that I can travel. Yet if I mention that I'm heading to such and such a place all I hear is "Off again, sure you must be made of money, tell us where you're working on the side, how much did you win in the lotto, wish I had your life, etc. etc.".

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 120 ✭✭Chefrio

nibtrix wrote: »
    And what if he does? I go abroad every year, often two or three times. I have a fairly low-paid job and a mortgage to pay, but I don't smoke, don't have a car and don't go out pubbing and clubbing every week. I don't spend a lot on clothes and I don't waste money on expensive lunches and coffees. Instead I save so that I can travel. Yet if I mention that I'm heading to such and such a place all I hear is "Off again, sure you must be made of money, tell us where you're working on the side, how much did you win in the lotto, wish I had your life, etc. etc.".

And do you tell them you don't waste money on coffee, pubs etc?

I don't suppose it ever crossed your mind that they might be joking?

Probably not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Daqster wrote: »
    I told a few people at work I had saved up enough for a holiday and maybe a new kitchen and they tampered with the brakes on my car and the next day I was killed.

Killed to death?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭nibtrix

Czarcasm wrote: »
    I don't suppose it ever crossed your mind that they might be joking?

Probably not.

Ah yeah, it's usually the typical "sure I'm only having a laugh" type of thing. It's just the slight undertone of jealousy and bitchiness that's annoying.

I don't normally get my knickers in a twist over it, just agreeing with the OP that it's frustrating to have to restrain your spending and save so you can go somewhere nice and then have people assume that you must have won money or been given a gift or something!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,109 ✭✭✭Electric Sheep

Chefrio wrote: »
    And do you tell them you don't waste money on coffee, pubs etc?

If she did, no doubt someone would be listing her in the "Stingiest Thing" thread. A lot of people in Ireland consider not wasting money to be stingey rather than sensible. No doubt that attitude is part of the reason the country is in the state it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

Ah yeah, it's usually the typical "sure I'm only having a laugh" type of thing. It's just the slight undertone of jealousy and bitchiness that's annoying.

I don't normally get my knickers in a twist over it, just agreeing with the OP that it's frustrating to have to restrain your spending and save so you can go somewhere nice and then have people assume that you must have won money or been given a gift or something!

I'll mess with people in work saying dumb stuff like, "Jaysus you're always off on holidays, well for ya!" Now I'm wondering if they think I'm secretly jealous of them. It's literally a case of saying any words that pop into my head for the sake of making conversation. If you think the entire world is jealous of your amazing life, you're probably thinking about them more than they're thinking about you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,238 ✭✭✭Kaizersoze81

I've also started to pick up dollars in the post office when ever I'm paying the bills, €30 is $40 dollars, every week for 6 months, there's no way I can spend it here this way short of going to bureu de change.

hopefully they dont charge commission or a fee, cos if they do youll end up spending a fortune that way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

I hate begrudgers.
    In fact I am jealous of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭scoobydoobie

You should let on that you did have a win, that would wind her up not knowing how much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭McDook

Spanish trawler catching crabs in the Irish Sea.
    The top fell off one of the boxes and the new guy says to the captain. "Look the crabs are going to get out crawling up the side".
    Captain says "Dont worry. They're all Irish crabs in that box. The rest will pull them back in."

I know what you mean. The neighbours have done nothing but complain ever since I started parking my Lear jet on the front lawn!

I tend to ignore real begrudgers though :D

hopefully they dont charge commission or a fee, cos if they do youll end up spending a fortune that way.

No it's free, great for small ammounts. The rate is usuall $0.01 to $0.005 of what the banks give ya

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,238 ✭✭✭Kaizersoze81

No it's free, great for small ammounts. The rate is usuall $0.01 to $0.005 of what the banks give ya

in that case buy as much as you can now. rate is brilliant at the minute 1.33 usd to 1 euro. When i was buying last year it was 1.24 to 1 euro.

The first time I went in 2007 it was $1.55 to €1.00. Good times

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,347 ✭✭✭LynnGrace

Czarcasm wrote: »
    I know what you mean. The neighbours have done nothing but complain ever since I started parking my Lear jet on the front lawn!

I tend to ignore real begrudgers though :D

Hope it's on their front lawn :D!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭Chazz Michael Michaels

Convert a few hundy into dollar bills, go right up to her face and fling the money in the air, shouting "it ain't no thang!!".

That should placate them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

keith16 wrote: »
    "I hate people like you" was the response I got from a former colleague when I told her I paid for my car without getting a loan.
    Why would you be going around telling people how you paid for your car?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

djk1000 wrote: »
    Draw this out for her

20 cigs a day = €70 a week
    8 (cheap) drinks at the weekend = €40

=€110 x 52 weeks of the year = €5,720

There's your Florida holiday and some other stuff paid for.

Or, 2 cups of coffee a day @ €2.40 each = €1752 a year.

People that are bad with money don't understand how small spends really add up over a year.
    So how would the op know exactly how much she smokes and drinks?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

What's your address so I can send you a medal?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,704 ✭✭✭Mr.David

Sam Kade wrote: »
    Why would you be going around telling people how you paid for your car?

Maybe he was asked??? :confused:
    Sam Kade wrote: »
    So how would the op know exactly how much she smokes and drinks?

Maybe he asked her??? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 613 ✭✭✭Radiosonde

The worst one was nearly 40, lived with his parents and rode a clapped-out Honda 50.

I hope for his sake that's some kind of motor vehicle...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

Mr.David wrote: »
    Maybe he was asked??? :confused:

Maybe he asked her??? :confused:

2 Maybe's = 1 Definitlely.

• leggo wrote: »
    I'll mess with people in work saying dumb stuff like, "Jaysus you're always off on holidays, well for ya!" Now I'm wondering if they think I'm secretly jealous of them. It's literally a case of saying any words that pop into my head for the sake of making conversation. If you think the entire world is jealous of your amazing life, you're probably thinking about them more than they're thinking about you.

Yep. When I say it, I'm just making conversation. Reminds me of today...was at the swimming pool before work and chatting to the leisure club receptionist...she asked what time I was finished work, I said "7, what about you?" She said she was finished at 3 so I said "ahh deadly, lucky you! Wish I was!" and she started a big condescending spiel about how I had to 'put in the graft' first so I can set my hours like she does. Without having any idea what I do, how long I've done it or how senior I am. Instead of telling her to bog off, I kind of agreed with her and then felt annoyed later that I'd put myself down. I work really hard. :mad:

I wasn't even jealous, I finish at 3 myself all the time. Most of the time. And if I'm finished at 7, it's because I didn't start until midday. What was I meant to say? "Who cares?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 sciencebod

Why do you even care what she thinks - stuff her and the others. They're only people who you have to work with. They're not the important people in your life. That's your family and it sounds like you save hard to give them a holiday you can all remember.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

I for one begrudge the begrudgers their begrudgery. Swanning around like they own the sniping just because they have a chip on their shoulders. Mmmm chips, fcuk them and their chips, I'm starving! :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

How do you know there were any undertones?

People say stuff like what she said in a conversation but they don't actually mean anything by it and it's just a reflex in everyday, small talk chit chat. Reported back in text, it's hard to pick up on what she meant by it. I'd just take it up as someone using obvious, everyday humour instead of immediately presuming she begrudges you your holiday or is some kind of bitch on legs!