"Can you say that in English"Laurens niece.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,472 ✭✭✭brooke 2

tipptom wrote: »
    Ralph Laurens drunken neice asks Irish policewoman to speak in English to her as recounted to the judge in Clare court case held in a PUB!.

This should go down well in the Hamptons.

Thought I was hearing things when that was reported on the news this morning!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭TheMza

You deffo would!

She has had her problems and has written a book about them,had some sympathy for her until the remark to the Garda.

Perhaps she genuinely could not understand the Garda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Did Neil Prendeville cover this in his show this morning?
    Should have used the Nurofen excuse.

seamus wrote: »
    To be fair, if the arresting Garda was from Donegal, she may very well have been incomprehensible to a lot of people. Lots of Irish people will struggle with a strong Donegal accent.

Many strong regional accents can be difficult to understand. I
    once had the bizarre experience of hearing two elderly Kerry guys speak what I knew had to be English but I could not understand one word of the conversation!! :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭[-0-]

On trial in a pub, because that's not embarrassing at all. Cringe. Why not use the town hall in Shannon?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

To be honest, it'll be a great story for her to tell the other rich people as they sip their Crystal in some VIP bar in Paris or New York.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Ralph Laurens

Ralph Lif****z you mean...never held with that Lauren thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,194 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

brooke 2 wrote: »
    Perhaps she genuinely could not understand the Garda.

Maybe, but if you don't understand what someone has said first time round, would you say "can you say that in english"?

It's bad manners no matter how rich or important she thinks she is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,111 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

To be fair if the Garda was from the Healy-Rae enclave of Kerry, or the environs of Nenagh Co. Tipp, or many other places with strong local accents even I would have a difficulty understanding her speaking in English.

Mind you Ms Lauren should have asked her to 'please repeat that, Im having a difficulty understanding your accent' rather than being a drunken, stuck up, superior coconut as she allegedly was.

I think an award of the full consequent costs of the airline, airport, Gardaí, Courts, Embassy, and any costs incurred by any fellow passenger as a result of the delay should be fair punishment, maybe a few quid for the poor box as well. That'll probably relieve her of $20,000 or so and soften her cough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

seamus wrote: »
    To be fair, if the arresting Garda was from Donegal, she may very well have been incomprehensible to a lot of people. Lots of Irish people will struggle with a strong Donegal accent.

Damned Apt. Way spake fine rightly, shure shay'd havinae a bother unnerstanning us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭I Heart Internet

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2535118/Designer-Ralph-Laurens-niece-arrested-air-rage-bust-New-York-bound-plane-forced-make-emergency-landing-Ireland.html

The Daily Mail have already (naturally) picked up on the courtpub thing.

Maybe they should have facilities for a court sitting at Shannon Airport to deal with such cases (and a Garda Station).

There's something about a proper court setting that, I think, would encourage people to take these matters seriously (not that I think anyone in this case isn't). Just that some messers might think it all the more hilarious if they were put before a court sitting in their local.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Bloody hell, how cringe is that. Drunk woman on a flight has her court case in some rural Irish pub.

I always groaned when I see the Americans taking the piss out of the drunk Irish on TV shows like the Simpsons, Family Guy, etc... it's no wonder :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

jester77 wrote: »
    Bloody hell, how cringe is that. Drunk woman on a flight has her court case in some rural Irish pub.

I always groaned when I see the Americans taking the piss out of the drunk Irish on TV shows like the Simpsons, Family Guy, etc... it's no wonder :(

It's not like the judge is standing in behind the bar, in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,111 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

jester77 wrote: »

Happens all the time, rurul dwellers are lucky they arent receiving medical procedures in the butchers. When it comes to services quite a big area of the country is just about being held together with spit and tape.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭tipptom

[-0-] wrote: »
    On trial in a pub, because that's not embarrassing at all. Cringe. Why not use the town hall in Shannon?
    I find that amazing to,i would expect 50% of the cases that are up are drink related but apparently a lot of hotels and pubs are used since a lot of courthouses have been closed down.

Something for herself and Tommy Hilfinger to have a laugh about while yachting,might even get a spike in a wealthier form of tourist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭caustic 1

Aggghhh, sometimes just want to hang my head in shame at this country. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

This will surely be on Reeling in the Years 2014.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,967 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

It seems inevitable that the slimy Jon Stewart will feature this in a segment.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 277 ✭✭BBJBIG

U hav drink haken ...

Mbrace yer innr Chulchie

Looooose d hattitute

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jPISMWa0SMU

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,819 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

This line from the Mail article made me laugh:
    "Ms Lauren sat only feet away from Guinness and Heineken taps and under switched off disco lights as her name was called out in the licenced premises which was not in operation today."

Dear God, the humanity! Should they have put out Bollinger and Kristal in her honour? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭tipptom

Sees two reps from the American consul appeared on a bar stool with her for the hearing and nipped out to the ATM for the balance of the bail money for her,now that's what I call representation(kinda like Saving Private Ryan),hope the same applys for Ireland for when I make my massive faux pas in Greece and insult their accent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,903 ✭✭✭✭Riskymove

Maybe, but if you don't understand what someone has said first time round, would you say "can you say that in english"?

It's bad manners no matter how rich or important she thinks she is.

er...she was drunk though!

so drunk it caused a problem that they decided to land and have her arrested

I'd imagine most people that hammered probably wouldn't always have the best manners on show

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,767 ✭✭✭flutered

Sees two reps from the American consul appeared on a bar stool with her for the hearing and nipped out to the ATM for the balance of the bail money for her,now that's what I call representation(kinda like Saving Private Ryan),hope the same applys for Ireland for when I make my massive faux pas in Greece and insult their accent.

it looks like the €200 withdrawl in one day does not apply to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

Give the village a few tshirts and it be grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,706 ✭✭✭120_Minutes

"she was escorted into court by two women garda"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

Big deal that the hearing was held in a pub.

We have something called compassion in this country. This woman was obviously dying from the day before and the authorities felt that it was right that she got the cure while her stressful case was heard. What was the alternative? Have her hungover in an uptight environment? Some people need to learn how to empathise with other human beings, especially those hungover worse than themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭Bits_n_Bobs

Could of been worse. The international press might of interviewed Pat Cox about the 'City of Culture'...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,194 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Riskymove wrote: »
    er...she was drunk though!

so drunk it caused a problem that they decided to land and have her arrested

I'd imagine most people that hammered probably wouldn't always have the best manners on show

Well it isn't a 2am drunk outside a nightclub we are talking about here but someone who was on an airplane, if she couldn't handle the plane journey without getting pissed and being rude to people it says more about her than anyone else TBH.

I wonder if it was an Irish person who was rude to a US cop at one of the airports over there what would have happened?

Although having the court in a pub was a bit cringeworthy in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

[-0-] wrote: »

I understand the court rotates in Clare. It should have been Killaloe's turn for the county session this week but the courthouse is closed there for some time. I believe they moved it to the local hotel (across the water in Tipp in the twin town of Ballina, if your'e still with me?) but now it is in a function room of a pub. It works so I've no issue. If the 'Laurens' do, donations for a new courthouse in Killaloe are welcome.

BTW - cringe at all the insecure people on here worrying at what they'll think of us in the Hamptons. We are very happy with who we are here in Clare.