Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

"Can you say that in English"Laurens niece.

• 07-01-2014 12:41pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭

Ralph Laurens drunken neice asks Irish policewoman to speak in English to her as recounted to the judge in Clare court case held in a PUB!.

This should go down well in the Hamptons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

OK, I give up. What am I missing here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,950 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

Is she attractive?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,153 ✭✭✭everdead.ie

tipptom wrote: »
    Ralph Laurens drunken neice asks Irish policewoman to speak in English to her as recounted to the judge in Clare court case held in a PUB!.

Due to storm damage?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,528 ✭✭✭✭Alun

Can you say that in English?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,787 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

She seems like an awful wagon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭tipptom

Is she attractive?
    Meh.

Doesn't see to be when drunk anyway.

What's James Nesbitt done to justify advertising Thomas Cook?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,287 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

"He consented to bail on a bond of €2,5000. "

Quality reporting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,797 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Go home OP, you're clearly drunk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,002 ✭✭✭Seedy Arling

What's James Nesbitt done to justify advertising Thomas Cook?
    He has promoted the cause for people with funny eye brows the world over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,797 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Unshelved wrote: »
    Sharon Curely, defence solicitor for the jewellery designer indicated that her client would enter a plea to all charges.

A1 Sharon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,499 ✭✭✭porsche959

She was probably combining alcohol with medications.

The scions of these wealthy Manhattan families can end up pretty messed-up.

Google Luke Weil for example - though I understand he has cleaned up his act in recent years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,002 ✭✭✭Seedy Arling

A1 Sharon
    I was going to show them... to the lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,037 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Did she make an offer on the field?

Alun wrote: »
    Can you say that in English?
    Oh Roysh,i guess you are from Wicklow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭I Heart Internet

Is she attractive?

In the right light - probably.

porsche959 wrote: »
    She was probably combining alcohol with medications.

The scions of these wealthy Manhattan families can end up pretty messed-up.

Google Luke Weil for example - though I understand he has cleaned up his act in recent years.
    She has had her problems and has written a book about them,had some sympathy for her until the remark to the Garda.

I wonder was she being bitchy though (as in - suggesting that the Garda had a poor speaking voice/grasp of english) or was she genuinely just out of her tree and didn't know where she was and/or who might be talking to her.

The Garda could only tell for sure I suppose in what way it was aimed,maybe she only understands American English.

Kind of ironic that her hearing is held in a pub after her alchohol issues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭joi99

Kind of ironic that her hearing is held in a pub after her alchohol issues.

Only in Ireland. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

To be fair, if the arresting Garda was from Donegal, she may very well have been incomprehensible to a lot of people. Lots of Irish people will struggle with a strong Donegal accent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,528 ✭✭✭✭Alun

Oh Roysh,i guess you are from Wicklow.
    No I'm not, and my name's not Roysh either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

seamus wrote: »
    To be fair, if the arresting Garda was from Donegal, she may very well have been incomprehensible to a lot of people. Lots of Irish people will struggle with a strong Donegal accent.
    +1. It was rude and stupid but I can certainly imagine her difficulty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,847 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

The late night US talk shows are going to have a field day with this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 480 ✭✭saltyjack silverblade

I thought the Catherine Tate character Lauren had a niece. This thread now disappoints me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Ralph Laurens drunken neice asks Irish policewoman Garda to speak in English to her as recounted to the judge in Clare court case held in a PUB!.

FYP !

Why was the court held in a Pub in Ballina, Co Tipp??? They'll have some laugh about that in the Hamptons

• Closed Accounts Posts: 954 ✭✭✭Highflyer13

Some of the yanks find it very difficult to understand our accents. Ive played poker in Vegas and more than once I have been told 'English only at the table' by the dealers while clearly speaking English :confused:

Also holding the court in a pub doesn't do much for the Irish stereotypes abroad:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,787 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

vicwatson wrote: »
    FYP !

Why was the court held in a Pub in Ballina, Co Tipp??? They'll have some laugh about that in the Hamptons

It's been that way for 20 years since the courthouse closed in Killaloe AFAIK. :D

vicwatson wrote: »
    FYP !

Nice one,i had changed it from Ban garda,didnt know the pub was in Tipp or how much pubs are used as courthouses now,suppose its a good thing I have not been to one in a long time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,472 ✭✭✭brooke 2

Thought I was hearing things when that was reported on the news this morning!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭TheMza

You deffo would!

Perhaps she genuinely could not understand the Garda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Did Neil Prendeville cover this in his show this morning?
    Should have used the Nurofen excuse.

Many strong regional accents can be difficult to understand. I
    once had the bizarre experience of hearing two elderly Kerry guys speak what I knew had to be English but I could not understand one word of the conversation!! :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭[-0-]

On trial in a pub, because that's not embarrassing at all. Cringe. Why not use the town hall in Shannon?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

To be honest, it'll be a great story for her to tell the other rich people as they sip their Crystal in some VIP bar in Paris or New York.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Ralph Laurens

Ralph Lif****z you mean...never held with that Lauren thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,083 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

brooke 2 wrote: »
    Perhaps she genuinely could not understand the Garda.

Maybe, but if you don't understand what someone has said first time round, would you say "can you say that in english"?

It's bad manners no matter how rich or important she thinks she is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,220 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

To be fair if the Garda was from the Healy-Rae enclave of Kerry, or the environs of Nenagh Co. Tipp, or many other places with strong local accents even I would have a difficulty understanding her speaking in English.

Mind you Ms Lauren should have asked her to 'please repeat that, Im having a difficulty understanding your accent' rather than being a drunken, stuck up, superior coconut as she allegedly was.

I think an award of the full consequent costs of the airline, airport, Gardaí, Courts, Embassy, and any costs incurred by any fellow passenger as a result of the delay should be fair punishment, maybe a few quid for the poor box as well. That'll probably relieve her of $20,000 or so and soften her cough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Damned Apt. Way spake fine rightly, shure shay'd havinae a bother unnerstanning us.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2535118/Designer-Ralph-Laurens-niece-arrested-air-rage-bust-New-York-bound-plane-forced-make-emergency-landing-Ireland.html

The Daily Mail have already (naturally) picked up on the courtpub thing.

Maybe they should have facilities for a court sitting at Shannon Airport to deal with such cases (and a Garda Station).

There's something about a proper court setting that, I think, would encourage people to take these matters seriously (not that I think anyone in this case isn't). Just that some messers might think it all the more hilarious if they were put before a court sitting in their local.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Bloody hell, how cringe is that. Drunk woman on a flight has her court case in some rural Irish pub.

I always groaned when I see the Americans taking the piss out of the drunk Irish on TV shows like the Simpsons, Family Guy, etc... it's no wonder :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

jester77 wrote: »
    Bloody hell, how cringe is that. Drunk woman on a flight has her court case in some rural Irish pub.

I always groaned when I see the Americans taking the piss out of the drunk Irish on TV shows like the Simpsons, Family Guy, etc... it's no wonder :(

It's not like the judge is standing in behind the bar, in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,220 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

jester77 wrote: »

Happens all the time, rurul dwellers are lucky they arent receiving medical procedures in the butchers. When it comes to services quite a big area of the country is just about being held together with spit and tape.

[-0-] wrote: »
    On trial in a pub, because that's not embarrassing at all. Cringe. Why not use the town hall in Shannon?
    I find that amazing to,i would expect 50% of the cases that are up are drink related but apparently a lot of hotels and pubs are used since a lot of courthouses have been closed down.

Something for herself and Tommy Hilfinger to have a laugh about while yachting,might even get a spike in a wealthier form of tourist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭caustic 1

Aggghhh, sometimes just want to hang my head in shame at this country. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

This will surely be on Reeling in the Years 2014.

It seems inevitable that the slimy Jon Stewart will feature this in a segment.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 277 ✭✭BBJBIG

U hav drink haken ...

Mbrace yer innr Chulchie

Looooose d hattitute

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jPISMWa0SMU