Garda charged for pepper spraying teen..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,438 ✭✭✭j8wk2feszrnpao

coolemon wrote: »
    We can draw many inferences from the survey above.
    It's now 4yrs old, perhaps changes/improvements have been made?
    I've no idea as I'm not in the force and only have one mate who is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭coolemon

There is no reason to believe it has.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 543 ✭✭✭Shady Tady

Are you kidding me?
    You think that those high stats for institutionalised racism is A) normal and B) acceptable in our police force?

Maybe it's a front for the KKK

There is no reason to believe it has.
    Nor to believe that it hasn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭timmy4u2

Just for clarity, it was student Gardai. Interesting all the same.

"It was completed by 186 Student Gardaí at the start of their Phase 2 training. On returning to the Garda College on Phase 3, 174 out of the original 186 students completed the same questionnaire again."
    Sure these were not real Gardai at all at that stage. The were still suffering from their perhaps drunken altercations with the Gardai on the streets or at least 24% of them.
    And where did 79% get the experience and authority to denegrade other Gardai when most of their time was spent in school.
    Talk about the Devil citing Scripture for his purpose

What have the AGS done to deal with racism in the force?

I was recently witness to racism in a city centre station. I was with my wife and the garda behind the counter did not know I was with her and I found his attitude aggressive, abusive and demeaning.
    Funnily enough once I stood up and spoke on behalf of my wife his whole attitude changed and he muttered an apology for his earlier remarks.

timmy4u2 wrote: »
    Sure these were not real Gardai at all at that stage. The were still suffering from their perhaps drunken altercations with the Gardai on the streets or at least 24% of them.
    And where did 79% get the experience and authority to denegrade other Gardai when most of their time was spent in school.
    Calm down dude, I was making a point of clarity in case some didn't check the link. No need to go OTT.

Shady Tady wrote: »
    I didn't realise they were human beings!

When you see statements like that you cease to wonder why Gardai have to take action on the streets

You should meet me with drink on me!

Unfortunately Timmy, the secretive, non-accountable and non-transparent Gardai have not produced a similar survey of serving and experienced Gardai for the publics consumption.

But you must admit, the survey paints a horrible picture of the experiences of student Gardai.

I was recently witness to racism in a city centre station. I was with my wife and the garda behind the counter did not know I was with her and I found his attitude aggressive, abusive and demeaning.
    Funnily enough once I stood up and spoke on behalf of my wife his whole attitude changed and he muttered an apology for his earlier remarks.
    So was it Bank or Cash in Transit?

These guys were found not guilty and justice was served, they should never have been charged and I only hope they can take a civil case against the state but that's unlikely.

Id say probably a machoistic racist Garda who colleagues believe is unsuitable for the job.

Well if the experiences of student Gardai are anything to go by, that is.

What?

What?

Robbie the Robber?

Unfortunately Timmy, the secretive, non-accountable and non-transparent Gardai have not produced a similar survey of serving and experienced Gardai for the publics consumption.

But you must admit, the survey paints a horrible picture of the experiences of student Gardai.
    So in accordance with our Constitution we must respect their right to innocence unless they declare otherwise.
    As for student Gardai I would not place credence on naive answers whereby they have lived a sheltered Garda life to that stage.
    Let them answer again at five years service when they will have seen the real world operating.

So in accordance with our Constitution we must respect their right to innocence unless they declare otherwise.
    As for student Gardai I would not place credence on naive answers whereby they have lived a sheltered Garda life to that stage.
    Let them answer again at five years service when they will have seen the real world operating.

So the operation of the real world makes racist garda acceptable does it?

Noooooooah, they will just have better judgment

In fairness you come across far too bitter to be constructive in your comments, methinks you got a few speeding tickets!

Noooooooah, they will just have better judgment

Sorry I dont understand how a garda can gain a better judegement of how to be racist!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 368 ✭✭Morph the Cat

SV wrote: »
    Do you think it's ok for a Garda to hit lads a few slaps while they're handcuffed?

Definitely.

Shady Tady wrote: »
    In fairness you come across far too bitter to be constructive in your comments, methinks you got a few speeding tickets!

I have never been given a single ticket for speeding or parking or any other motoring offense the garda might be allowed ticket for.

I think if you witnessed your wife be racially abused by a uniformed garda in a city centre station while trying to get said member to perform one of his standard transactional functions, you too might become a little embittered.

Just thinking there . if it was in the u.s the little scummer would be thanking his lucky stars that he got sprayed. The alternative "GET ON THE GROUND NOW" bang bang. Officer given a medal.

Slightly exaggerated but you get the idea.
    I could not agree with that either. I have seen that and its very demeaning for the unfortunate person who may have lost his/her way. Justice was never meant to be administered on the street. Violence begets violence. No need to use more force than is necessary.
    Thankfully the Gardai operate with the consent of the people.

I think if you witnessed your wife be racially abused by a uniformed garda in a city centre station while trying to get said member to perform one of his standard transactional functions, you too might become a little embittered.
    What happened when you reported him?
    Can you give us an idea of what he said?

Sorry to hear that she was abused, there's no defending that type of behavior.

loves_tea wrote: »
    in theory perhaps but all kinds of farcical convictions are handed down , especially in the district courts where mad judges and their decisions don't make the news , ive seen it , unfortunately not everyone can afford to appeal even they would be sure of a turnover in the circuit court
    Gardai have no interest in bring people to court on a whim.

But I do agree with you on some decisions made by District Court Justices and I certainly agree on the unattainability of the higher courts to the ordinary citizen on the issue of costs.
    The state in the guise of the DPP and the CSSO play that game day in day out to the detriment of those who cannot match the states purse.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9 cosy_deal

Gardai have no interest in bring people to court on a whim.

But I do agree with you on some decisions made by District Court Justices and I certainly agree on the unattainability of the higher courts to the ordinary citizen on the issue of costs.
    The state in the guise of the DPP and the CSSO play that game day in day out to the detriment of those who cannot match the states purse.

your joking right ?

attaining a conviction against someone is good for a guards career prospects

rank and file do what their told by top brass , if the message is sent down that some guy is to be given a pass , its done , the guy I know who got a conviction despite being assaulted on his own property , the guy who did it to him drove a northern reg car with no motor tax for five years , all because he had pull , that's a relatively small example of cronyism

No they don't.

Provide actual evidence other than "i know a guy that a thing happened to".

so you think all the people they stitch up eventually are vindicated :rolleyes:

vast majority don't get justice so what evidence could I possibly provide

What happened when you reported him?
    Can you give us an idea of what he said?

Sorry to hear that she was abused, there's no defending that type of behavior.

Wife was mugged in the city centre and lost her wallet.

My wife is a non national and is required to have a GNIB card, which was lost during the mugging.
    We went to make a statement before applying for a new card(as is the process)

My wife approached the counter in the station and I remained seated(she can speak for herself so i didnt need feel the need to speak for her).

The garda instantly became aggressive to her when she told him what she wanted and he made several remarks to her

"how do you people always lose these cards" .......
    "everyday i have your kind losing these cards how do you lose so many"

Im not sure whether the garda was asking my wife on behalf of all foriegn nationals in Ireland or just her particular nations citizens, either way Im not sure why he thought my wife the victim of a robbery was suddenly a spokeperson for any group of people.

If i had been robbed and the garda said similiar things to me I would be offended but the way he said these things to my wife was clearly racist.

After these remarks i stood up and spoke and said the exact same thing my wife has saifd initially (she was mugged wallet was taken) and his attitude changed his tone softened and he now dealt with the matter in a normal manner. (asked where the incident happened etc)

He then mumbled something about having to deal with so many of these cases and it being annoying or some other guff.

What is most annoying is how his atitude changed instantly once i spoke, and left me wondering how my wife would have been treated had i not been present.

Wife was mugged in the city centre and lost her wallet.

My wife is a non national and is required to have a GNIB card, which was lost during the mugging.
    We went to make a statement before applying for a new card(as is the process)

My wife approached the counter in the station and I remained seated(she can speak for herself so i didnt need feel the need to speak for her).

The garda instantly became aggressive to her when she told him what she wanted and he made several remarks to her

"how do you people always lose these cards" .......
    "everyday i have your kind losing these cards how do you lose so many"

Im not sure whether the garda was asking my wife on behalf of all foriegn nationals in Ireland or just her particular nations citizens, either way Im not sure why he thought my wife the victim of a robbery was suddenly a spokeperson for any group of people.

If i had been robbed and the garda said similiar things to me I would be offended but the way he said these things to my wife was clearly racist.

After these remarks i stood up and spoke and said the exact same thing my wife has saifd initially (she was mugged wallet was taken) and his attitude changed his tone softened and he now dealt with the matter in a normal manner. (asked where the incident happened etc)

He then mumbled something about having to deal with so many of these cases and it being annoying or some other guff.

What is most annoying is how his atitude changed instantly once i spoke, and left me wondering how my wife would have been treated had i not been present.

most members of AGS are farmers sons and daughters , why do people act surprised when their not the most nuanced and subtle of people ?