Farming Chit Chat III

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭jersey101

moy83 wrote: »
    Would you need a reciever chamber if you could use the agitator to pump it through a few pipes straight into the pouch ?

How would ye collect up all the ****?
    The plans for the future are to put a channel across the yard so it wouldn't go to waste if I put in a receiving chamber.

I'm a bit sceptical about the bag yoke tbh. I wonder could it handle slurry, and what if some ****er came along with a knife? Your in right ****e then

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

jersey101 wrote: »
    The plans for the future are to put a channel across the yard so it wouldn't go to waste if I put in a receiving chamber.

I'm a bit sceptical about the bag yoke tbh. I wonder could it handle slurry, and what if some ****er came along with a knife? Your in right ****e then

They are used here by a neighbour where he has 40 acres 8 miles from the home yard. The artic fills the bag in one go and the tanker in the field has it emptied by the time the lorry returns with the next load. It's handy when the lorry is being paid buy the hour. No standing around time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

I thought you were already scraping into a tank but maybe you arent .
    I dont know how tough the bag is but sure if a bad lad wants to do a bit of damage he would do it anyhow :mad:

moy83 wrote: »
    I thought you were already scraping into a tank but maybe you arent .
    I dont know how tough the bag is but sure if a bad lad wants to do a bit of damage he would do it anyhow :mad:

Nope only parlour tank here. Less than ideal I know ha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,391 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Your in right ****e then

Literally :P. But yeh did you watch the video, they are using it just for washings/watery slurry. You'd have some fun if you pumped thick slurry into it and couldnt get it out!

Timmaay wrote: »
    Literally :P. But yeh did you watch the video, they are using it just for washings/watery slurry. You'd have some fun if you pumped thick slurry into it and couldnt get it out!

Well your man said it would work. But I'm not too sure. He said lads use it for extra storage when there other tanks are full

• Closed Accounts Posts: 412 ✭✭Rho b

http://www.donedeal.ie/tractors-for-sale/geo-lined-slurry-storage/6194470
    Anyone ever see one of these in use?

Rang your man there. 20k gallons is 5,000e they go up to something like 100k gallons.
    He said they will store slurry out of tanks on can be used as a stand alone slurry store. He said, for what i was talking about doing ehich was take slurry off a scraped passage way i need a receiving chamber and a pump that agitates the slurry before it goes into the tank. Once its in the tank you can spread straight out of it, no need to agitate it because no air can get in do there is no crust. The pump ranges in price from 1,500 to 6000. And it last for 30yr main and can be rolled up and moved if you ever want too.

He's sending me on more info about them.
    It might be an option for me and get me out of a hole for a year or two
    Seems very expensive per gallon of slurry stored. Would you not consider lagoon storage?

Rho b wrote: »
    Seems very expensive per gallon of slurry stored. Would you not consider lagoon storage?

Have but don't really fancy one. Thinking if an concrete underground

Can I ask why?

Anyone else watching the summit on rte1 now? Fairly surreal!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭sea12

Yep wouldn't fancy it myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,082 ✭✭✭td5man

Anyone know how much per gallon a lagoon is costing to line atm?

Can I ask why?

Take up extra ground and I'll be collecting even more water with it if I go with the cow kennel idea im thinking of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,701 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

yeah

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

I'm trying to figure out if I have some of his old climbing equipment :eek:
    When I was pres of the club I had a mother come in and say that her son had died in an accident a couple of years before and that she'd like to see the stuff be put to use as that's what he would have wanted:eek:

Take up extra ground and I'll be collecting even more water with it if I go with the cow kennel idea im thinking of.
    We put one in a few years ago when the grant was going. Personally I hate it because I am afraid of someone or something falling into it although it is extremely well fenced and unlikely for that to happen. Having said that I hate slats too - always think they are going to collapse someday. I hate crossing bridges as well :mad:
    I should have added that we have no concerns about storage and the Dept/Enviro breathing down our necks. Great peace of mind to have it in place and if the slatted unit gets full we can pump it into the lagoon.

Kovu Murr wrote: »
    I'm trying to figure out if I have some of his old climbing equipment :eek:
    When I was pres of the club I had a mother come in and say that her son had died in an accident a couple of years before and that she'd like to see the stuff be put to use as that's what he would have wanted:eek:
    oh freaky

We put one in a few years ago when the grant was going. Personally I hate it because I am afraid of someone or something falling into it although it is extremely well fenced and unlikely for that to happen. Having said that I hate slats too - always think they are going to collapse someday. I hate crossing bridges as well :mad:

Hate driving on slats alright but they don't really bother me that much tbh

i never drive on them

Reggie. wrote: »
    i never drive on them

I hate walking on them :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

He was a surreal person to begin with. He died doing what he loved and what he believed in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,471 ✭✭✭naughto

Some gang of scubags on TV 3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 859 ✭✭✭jomoloney

herd test in half an hour

at least it's calm and dry outside

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,569 ✭✭✭Rovi

[MOD]

Balls!

I'll try to sort that out as quick as I can!

[/MOD]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

Your slipping big time Rovi. Xmas is well over by now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,569 ✭✭✭Rovi

Right, it's (kinda) sorted out here:
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057118938

I don't have the access to 'undo' the merge, so it's all in one single post.

Not QUITE as catastrophic a 'whoops, butterfingers' moment as what happened the whole site on Sunday, but still, my apologies for the foul up. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

Rovi wrote: »
    Right, it's (kinda) sorted out here:
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057118938

I don't have the access to 'undo' the merge, so it's all in one single post.

Not QUITE as catastrophic a 'whoops, butterfingers' moment as what happened the whole site on Sunday, but still, my apologies for the foul up. :o

No bother Rovi. Darragh's on the road at this stage anyway by the sounds of things!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭onyerbikepat

Great programme. Hard to follow the different accounts of what happened. Must watch it again on RTE player. I climbed the 35th highest mountain once, nearly 4,000m.:D I found it tough going at that. Every few feet you had to stop to catch your breath.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Great programme. Hard to follow the different accounts of what happened. Must watch it again on RTE player. I climbed the 35th highest mountain once, nearly 4,000m.:D I found it tough going at that. Every few feet you had to stop to catch your breath.

Mont Blanc was my highest. That was celebrated with crashing the end of a yacht race from Cork to France (fastnet?) and copious amount of red wine in a marquee in a coastal town in France.
    Met some strange folks there, incl one guy from NZ who sold everything and just travelled in his wee boat from place to place, one of those one person fast sailing race yachts. He didn't even own shoes:eek:

How high is Mont Blanc? Crough Patrick is my highest ha, all 750m! Mind you that was in a singlet and shorts, up in about 40mins and down in about 15!