Anyone know of a breakers yard that has a lot of Massey Fergusons?

• 06-01-2014 11:35PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭

[MOD]

Right, I made a hames of moving all this out of the Chit Chat thread.
    I hit 'Merge' instead of 'Move', and there's no 'undo' function for this stuff!

Anyhow, here's what was posted:

[/MOD]

darragh_haven asked:
    Anyone know of a breakers yard that has a lot of Massey Fergusons. I'm looking for a manifold and exhaust for a MF 698 (non turbo). A4 3182 engine
    I'm traveling from West Cork to Belfast in the next few days, so anywhere within 50miles of the Cork/Dublin/Belfast roads would be great.

bob charles replied:
    Anyone know of a breakers yard that has a lot of Massey Fergusons. I'm looking for a manifold and exhaust for a MF 698 (non turbo). A4 3182 engine
    I'm traveling from West Cork to Belfast in the next few days, so anywhere within 50miles of the Cork/Dublin/Belfast roads would be great.

conathys in trim, Meath, Dont be put off by the customer service on the phone:D:D, sound to deal with

Reggie. replied:
    wrote: »
    conathys in trim, Meath, Dont be put off by the customer service on the phone:D:D, sound to deal with

Or the counter either

td5man replied:

That should be kells co.meath 046 9241178

bob charles replied:
    Reggie. wrote: »
    Or the counter either

you just dont know how deal with a tangler like him. Always found him sound to deal with

bob charles replied:
    td5man wrote: »
    That should be kells co.meath 046 9241178

if your not too sure what you want, he wont be long putting you straight :D

Nekarsulm replied:
    try beating him down on price, and be sure and report back to us .

bob charles replied:
    Nekarsulm wrote: »
    try beating him down on price, and be sure and report back to us .

oh definitely, I would take his price with a serious pinch of salt, bid him about 60% what he is asking for it, and then tell him you travelled all the way from west cork:)

Nekarsulm replied:
    you wouldn't be the first lad to use that ploy with him, either!

bob charles replied:
    you wouldn't be the first lad to use that ploy with him, either!

in fairness to him, he has some place. he must be minted

Nekarsulm replied:
    I always found him 100% to deal with. I think he has mellowed a bit this last few yeaxrs.

Suckler replied:
    if your not too sure what you want, he wont be long putting you straight :D

If you know what you're after its an easy transaction with him, if not, go find out before you arrive!

freedominacup replied:

Try Tanners in Conna.

darragh_haven replied
    oh definitely, I would take his price with a serious pinch of salt, bid him about 60% what he is asking for it, and then tell him you travelled all the way from west cork:)

I'm taking it'll be an "experience" to savour just to deal with these guys anyway.

bob charles replied:
    I'm taking it'll be an "experience" to savour just to deal with these guys anyway.

Remember that all that you ever get in a breakers yard are broken parts ;)

darragh_haven replied
    Remember that all that you ever get in a breakers yard are broken parts ;)

Well, you should see the state of the the current exhaust/silencer. It's rust surrounding holes. And you can't get new ones.

nashmach replied:
    Well, you should see the state of the the current exhaust/silencer. It's rust surrounding holes. And you can't get new ones.

Well that is a MF 600 for you :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,569 ✭✭✭Rovi

Right, I think that's it!

Thanks be to feck I don't have the access to merge the entire site into one forum!!! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

Just stopped in castlebellingham, crap food and coke, breakfast of champions.
    . All I need now is a mint condition cab with doors and mudguards for the 698. ..... but even I know thats impossible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,292 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

fellow in Cavan claims to be able to build any tractor silencer from stainless steel. never got one myself, but he claims to have made a good few Deere 6000 series ones. Polish mechanic, he has done car work for me, and was grand job.o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 Clutch Pack

Try these lads http://www.donedeal.ie/tractors-for-sale/irelands-largest-massey-ferguson-breaker/5687717.
    They will send it out by courier to you.Pleasant to deal with too:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭nashmach

Just stopped in castlebellingham, crap food and coke, breakfast of champions.
    . All I need now is a mint condition cab with doors and mudguards for the 698. ..... but even I know thats impossible.

There is a few over at the Cheffins sales now and again Darragh but you are talking about 1k GBP.

nashmach wrote: »
    There is a few over at the Cheffins sales now and again Darragh but you are talking about 1k GBP.

If it was 1000 euro and in ireland, I'd nearly go for it. I'm over to Cambridge in the first week of February so I might pop in and have a nose around

If a massey factory produced 500 cabs for that series of tractor at a reasonable price, they'd be sold in a month

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 859 ✭✭✭jomoloney

fellow in Cavan claims to be able to build any tractor silencer from stainless steel. never got one myself, but he claims to have made a good few Deere 6000 series ones. Polish mechanic, he has done car work for me, and was grand job.o

a lad in limerick does them as well,

saw 2 on Masseys...... good job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭nashmach

If it was 1000 euro and in ireland, I'd nearly go for it. I'm over to Cambridge in the first week of February so I might pop in and have a nose around

If a massey factory produced 500 cabs for that series of tractor at a reasonable price, they'd be sold in a month

You must be one of the first I know that loves his 698 that much - now if it was a 698T.

You could try a Landini 80 series one either but they are like hen's teeth.

nashmach wrote: »
    You must be one of the first I know that loves his 698 that much - now if it was a 698T.

You could try a Landini 80 series one either but they are like hen's teeth.

Well its been mechanically bulletproof since she was bought new in 1983. It still spreads all the fertiliser and draws 400 bales a year. Its more of a pet project than anything. We have 2 newer better tractors but its the one I grew up driving.
    Just doing the head gasket at the moment. The exhaust was so rotten that water got down the pipe and my did ran it down the hill to jump start it and did the gasket.