Garda charged for pepper spraying teen..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 959 ✭✭✭MonsterCookie

pah wrote: »

Justice has been served. The Gardai in question must be relieved...would hate to have sh1t like that hanging over me for a few months.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

22 previous convictions! If justice were to be served then this little puke would be hanged.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 959 ✭✭✭MonsterCookie

catallus wrote: »
    22 previous convictions! If justice were to be served then this little puke would be hanged.

He sounds like a right little scrote.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,706 ✭✭✭Blackjack

returnNull wrote: »
    maybe start a thread when they've been convicted otherwise you'll just come across as numpties

Seems this post was quite prophetic!.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭MonaPizza

bumper234 wrote: »
    Why? Even if he was handcuffed he could still kick or bite.

FFS, are you serious bump?

Try this. Cuff someone and challenge them to kick or bite someone. Have everyone stand clear until the kicker/biter is bollocksed after about 20 seconds of bite/kick attempts.

"could still kick or bite" :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,519 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

I feel so sorry for the model teen who had sore itchy eyes.

Funny when the likes of him spit's, punches, kicks, bites, stabs and you never know shoots somebody and he will get away with a tiny suspended sentence or he will bring up police brutality.

I hate the way so many Irish are do gooders and so soft we need to stop letting others walk all over us.

Courts need to be overhauled asap.
    Judges need to be held to account not be above the law.
    It would be nice to think the decent hard working person had something to back them up.

Happy to see the lies came out and two officers can continue in their career.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,647 ✭✭✭lazybones32

And some asshole, "free legal aid" barrister is out having a drink tonight, having done his/her civic duty in the interest of Irish Society and been rewarded handsomely in the process.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,100 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Apology from SV in 3...2...1....

And trust me, even when someone is handcuffed they can be a major threat. As the article states the youth was violent before and during the arrest. He was handcuffed, continued to be violent and subsequently sprayed. Absolutely nothing wrong with that. If someone needs to be sprayed, they'll get sprayed. Why wasn't he sprayed before the arrest? Could be a number of reasons, proximity, location, number of people around, etc. I'd imagine it was a proximity related reason.

And for anyone that has been sprayed with the Garda issued spray, you'll be incapable of doing anything within a minute, other than bending over and trying not to vomit. Unless you're off your face on drugs, that can't negate the effects somewhat.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 11,249 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

SV wrote: »

Do you think it's ok for a Garda to hit lads a few slaps while they're handcuffed?

Honestly? Never did us any harm to get an odd slap off a garda-not while handcuffed mind you.I actually grew up with a bit if respect for them. Little bollixes like this fooker might have stopped after the first slap he got and not went on to get 21 more convictions.

The "let's be nice to the scum" approach isn't working.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,712 ✭✭✭Joeseph Balls

Do you think it's ok for a Garda to hit lads a few slaps while they're handcuffed?

Sometimes that's exactly what's deserved....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭timmy4u2

Another controversial failure on the part of the Ombudsman. Amazing that the DPP gave the go ahead initially.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,299 ✭✭✭sdanseo

Patent nonsense and a complete waste of everyone's time. Whoever made the call that this should go to court needs to find a new job.

There's no time or place for that sort of hyper political correctness.

pah wrote: »
    It's a full blown disgrace that this ever ended up in court, never mind that it was as a Section 3 Assault! The same level as a stab wound or a broken nose/jaw.

Use of pepper spray is around the same level of force as handcuffs and arm locks ffs.
    Exactly.A case that could not get halfway through the prosecutions case asks serious questions of the Ombudsman's and the DPP's asssessment of the evidence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,443 ✭✭✭✭endacl

As an ex-teen I'm firmly with the guard on this one. Every teen should be pepper sprayed. Regularly and as a matter of course. Young happy little feckers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,533 ✭✭✭SV

Apology from SV in 3...2...1....

Apologise for what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 PopRocks

I know the female guard. One of the nicest and fairest people I've ever come across. People should wait for the facts before hurling insults I was disgusted reading some of the things written about her online. There are bad guards but not all guards are bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,273 ✭✭✭twowheelsonly

MonaPizza wrote: »
    FFS, are you serious bump?

Try this. Cuff someone and challenge them to kick or bite someone. Have everyone stand clear until the kicker/biter is bollocksed after about 20 seconds of bite/kick attempts.

"could still kick or bite" :pac:

Except that in the real world that's not how it works.
    If you have reason to handcuff me during a violent confrontation and you stand clear of me then I'm either doing a runner away from you or straight at you with the intention of hitting you in any way I can.
    Pepper spray is one of the tools of control and restraint and is used the world over. Generally speaking not too many innocent people end up getting sprayed ergo those that do generally deserve it.

Strumms wrote: »
    So we have a thread where people are calling the Gardai in question scumbags or on the other hand saying the fella deserved it. This before anyone has a shread of evidence as to what actually went down. Marvellous.

???? Case is settled and details are up.. http://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/dpp-withdraws-assault-charges-against-garda%C3%AD-1.1646198

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,100 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Apologise for what?
    Pepper sprayed while he was incapacitated? They deserve to have the book thrown at them.

You're wrong
    Does not matter in the slightest, if he was handcuffed then they could have restrained him more quite easily that he couldn't do either of these things.

btw, pepper spraying him doesn't mean he could no longer kick or bite either?
    all it served was to put him in pain. Scummy behaviour.

Wrong again
    Pepper spraying is the wrong solution.

Wrong
    Lets say he's trying to bite me? Seriously there's no proof of this. Also, if he was, what of it? hes handcuffed, he's hardly a major threat or anything, CERTAINLY nothing that pepper spraying would fix.

And again.

Thought maybe you'd want to apologise for being wrong. But no skin off my back, just a thought.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,533 ✭✭✭SV

You're wrong

Wrong again

Wrong

And again.

Thought maybe you'd want to apologise for being wrong. But no skin off my back, just a thought.

I was commenting when it was the original and they were the facts that were on hand..so no, I wasn't wrong.

Captain hindsight where he is.

Also the case was thrown out based on his character, it's still being maintained that this happened.
    That's like throwing a rape case out because the victim sleeps around.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,933 Mod ✭✭✭✭Turner

It really was lovely of An Garda Siochana to suspend the two Gardai on the day of the trial so that they could stand trial as civillians...

Bearing in mind that An Garda Siochana had exactly the same evidence as the GSOC and the Dpp in relation to this case and new it was bullsh1t.

They should have stood behind their members along with the GRA and marched into court with them, everybody in uniform, with both their superiors and senior council for the Garda Commissioner present.

God knows why the Gardai bother putting themselves out on the street, chasing cars, tackling armed criminals unarmed, jumping into drunken drug fuelled fights with only a baton and oc spray....when even their own management wont back them...

I was commenting when it was the original and they were the facts that were on hand..so no, I wasn't wrong.

Captain hindsight where he is.

Also the case was thrown out based on his character, it's still being maintained that this happened.
    That's like throwing a rape case out because the victim sleeps around.

The case was thrown out not just based on his character but primarily because of his behaviour and demeanour on the night in question. It's a fact that this happened, not just 'being maintained' that it happened, but the circumstances warranted it.

IMO if the DPP didn't withdraw the case then the Judge would have thrown it out anyway, and rightly so.
    Judge Kelleher said that on the evidence that he had heard to date that there was nothing to suggest that either officer had used their pepperspray in any manner other than in accordance with the law and no one should underestimate the difficult job facing gardaí in patrolling the streets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭ardle1

carzony wrote: »
    http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/gardai-charged-with-assault-after-allegedly-pepperspraying-a-teenager-29587823.html

The amount of garda going before the courts is unreal lately. Here is the latest court case :o:o

Ok if he was incapacitated, 'maybe' he shouldn't have been pepper sprayed! who knows, I wont and cant pass judgement.... But I do know one thing,, judges haven't got a clue about how it feels to be in situations that create fear and make the recipient off this fear do things that in hindsight may seem over the top and somewhat shocking!! and unless you are in that situation and feel that immense shock and terror to your system, you cant and should not pass judgement... Anyway enough of my rant..

Except that in the real world that's not how it works.
    If you have reason to handcuff me during a violent confrontation and you stand clear of me then I'm either doing a runner away from you or straight at you with the intention of hitting you in any way I can.
    Pepper spray is one of the tools of control and restraint and is used the world over. Generally speaking not too many innocent people end up getting sprayed ergo those that do generally deserve it.

???? Case is settled and details are up.. http://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/dpp-withdraws-assault-charges-against-garda%C3%AD-1.1646198
    That is not a settlement, that is a withdrawing of the charges and an exoneration of the two Gardai that was copperfastened by the remarks of the Justice

timmy4u2 wrote: »
    That is not a settlement, that is a withdrawing of the charges and an exoneration of the two Gardai that was copperfastened by the remarks of the Justice

Settled, done, dusted, wiped out, closed, FINISHED!! :)

Turner wrote: »
    It really was lovely of An Garda Siochana to suspend the two Gardai on the day of the trial so that they could stand trial as civillians...

Bearing in mind that An Garda Siochana had exactly the same evidence as the GSOC and the Dpp in relation to this case and new it was bullsh1t.

They should have stood behind their members along with the GRA and marched into court with them, everybody in uniform, with both their superiors and senior council for the Garda Commissioner present.

God knows why the Gardai bother putting themselves out on the street, chasing cars, tackling armed criminals unarmed, jumping into drunken drug fuelled fights with only a baton and oc spray....when even their own management wont back them...
    The Gardai are the worst organisation to stand up for each other.

The GRA are toothless and when they did attempt to stand up to their authorities not too long ago they were forced to meet the Commissioner and back down.
    As for career officers going against the Commissioner and the Ombudsman and the DPP....

Settled, done, dusted, wiped out, closed, FINISHED!! :)

Finished, yes. Closed, yes, done, yes, dusted, yes but not settled. Settled has a totally different legal meaning, but I know what you are saying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 578 ✭✭✭wotswattage

Right then, incapacitated. It's the same bloody difference when it comes to pepper spraying someone in the face.

How. do. you. know. he. was. resisting?

How did you know he wasn't?
    Hope you got your keyboard fixed.

Bit unfair to go attacking other posters for making up information when your own argument was based on a situation you dreamt up after reading an article from the independent of all papers...

Just because the journalist implies something doen't make it true. Look for the fact in the article, not the implication.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,868 ✭✭✭djflawless

Guards have too many rights in front of a judge anyway.if a guard can make a statement in court, he might as well leave after he speaks. He knows he has it in the bag. Everything else said is "hear say"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 PopRocks

But apparently they have no rights in front of the public? People seemed to have decided the guards in question were scumbags before they even spoke at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

djflawless wrote: »
    Guards have too many rights in front of a judge anyway.if a guard can make a statement in court, he might as well leave after he speaks. He knows he has it in the bag. Everything else said is "hear say"

You have to be prove guilty. You can't prove anyone guilty on hear say.