Ever been caught urinating in public?

13»

Op try wearing a nappie next time you are out in public, if you cant control your bladder. They sell them in adult sizes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles

Never got caught because I've never done it. It's rotten. What about the shopworkers etc that have to clean up after you the next day?

Why would they clean it? Surely it would be dry by the morning, or washed away with rain?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Probably an urban myth but a mate of mine swears he went to a wedding years ago in a modern style church with these big strips of glass along the sides that were basically see through from the inside but opaque from the outside.

Apparently these lads got there a bit late and were bursting for a piss after been in the pub and went behind the church and pissed against one of the panes in full view (on the other side) a few yards away from most of the family of the wedding couple

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,830 ✭✭✭Ferris_Bueller

Jesus I didn't even know you could get in so much trouble for this! Agree it isn't exactly a nice thing to do but if you have to go and you find somewhere relatively private and it's not p*ssing on anyones property I don't see much of a problem. Got caught myself )twice actually) when I was about 18 late at night p*ssing into a hedge on the side of a road, Gardaí just told me to put it away and move on, got off lightly compared to some people on here!

There have been multiple occasions however where I have gone into a pub when passing by and been refused entrance to their toilet because they are for customers only, if you aren't allowed use a toilet and there are no public ones around I really don't see what other option you have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

So is there any woman brave enough to admit they have been caught out with a full bladder and had to take a pee in the great outdoors I wonder?

Or is it just us men that it happens to?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,244 ✭✭✭ironictoaster

spockety wrote: »
    I remember being in Amsterdam a few years ago and they have discreet urinals on the street as well as portable ones that are wheeled out on weekends.

The solution to someone's need to do a piss when in a public place shouldn't be to criminalise it, it should be to provide for it.

They usually do put portable toilets on Westmoreland street in Dublin on a Saturday night. They really do need to be placed everywhere on the weekends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 private89

Seems most people who have been caught just got a talking too and that was it.
    Got caught short myself one time, which resulted in.
    Court case.
    80 euro fine.
    Name in the local newspaper.
    Article cut from the local newspaper and hung up on the notice board of the canteen in work. :(

Must have been bad. Bet you got some slagging over it at work. Did it say in the paper what you had been doing? It seriously wouldn't go down well at work if I ended up in court for it and made the paper.
    Most Gardaí wouldn't be arsed writing you up on it unless you start being an ars**ole about it. Would be furious if I ever got done for it as I've seen much worse being let off without a name even being taken. Sometimes ya just gotta go.

That being said, there's doing it discreetly and there's doing it on a main street etc.

Yeah I'd agree with all that. I probably go into the arsehole category for giving him a false name. He was not impressed.
    Trim in the summer of 2010, having a slash down a lane, the blue lights came on and i got an earful off 2 guards.

Had to go back down to trim on the 23rd of December to court, the judge threw the book at me! 550 euro fine, 2 days before christmas. :(

And all i was doing was doin me toileh

FFS €550 - most expensive night out ever. Was it just for pissing or more besides or did you have previous. People get fined alot less for alot worse. And you had to go back to Trim as well;)
    grumula wrote: »
    caught once in dublin, living there at the time at about 20 years of age. on the way home from a staff night out, at absolute bursting point, (frustratingly only about 6 or 7 minutes from my gaff). ducked down an alley out of harms way and relieved myself behind a large skip. a gard approached as i walked out and asked what i was doing, i fessed up straight away and appologised, telling him that if i hadn't i would have genuinely been walking home saturated in piss. he asked for my name age and address, i gave him all three, expecting that he was going to send me a fine in the post (i was in the wrong, no complaints outa me). he asked where i was originally from, i told him. he asked for my mother's name and address, i asked him what that info had to do with anything. he accused me of getting smart, i told him my appartment was 5 minutes away, and that he could go with me to verify my address, but my parents were none of his concern seing as i hadn't lived with them in four years. he clapped the irons on me and made me sit in the drunk tank for about 5 hours after processing me. I eventually gave him the oul' wans address and a week later he had a gard in my home city deliver my court summons to her!
    i eventually went for my hearing and the judge after hearing that i had no prior convictions just advised me to put a donation in the charity box and stop wasting everyone's time.
    OP- if you eventually get in, i implore you, don't be that guy!

Thought I was going to be arrested too when he 'clapped the irons' on me like you. Laughed when I read that - thought you were going to end up on a slave ship or something.

When I was giving my right details he checked it over the radio and nothing came back and then asked me for my family home address too so it was similar to you. I just didn't say anything more and gave it to him. So if I get a summons Mammy will probably get it at the door - not good. That was unfair on you - you gave him a right address and still got arrested.

It was probably only a few minutes while he checked it out but it felt like a long time and thinking I was going to be spending the night in a cell. But the number of people passing by who were staring and even shouting over at me as I was standing there with the cuffs on and 2 Gardai made it a bit embarassing.

I probably won't get in anytime soon but it is a job I think I'd love so I am still going to try for it.
    errlloyd wrote: »
    Obviously we can't give you legal advice on boards.

But court summons are notoriously inconsistent. If you track down and sincerely retrospectively apologise the the Garda when you receive the summons they often withdraw it for petty crimes.

Even if you do go to the district court, if you are sincere and sound to the judge they will often give you a charity donation instead of an actual conviction, which won't show on your record - you'd be better off being summoned to a suburban court than a City Centre one though.

Do you think it would do any good going to the Garda. I can remember the number on his shoulder but don't know his name or what station?

It happened in the city so I am thinking it would be a city court. Why are the city ones worse?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,309 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

I've taken the odd slash in town (or Dublin City centre I should say) Most blokes I drank with have as well.

Your drunk, pubs are closed and you arent near a McDonalds or whatever so you will just take a piss somewhere. Thing is you do it off side down an alleyway and not in the open! Some guards would give you a warning and tell you to feck off down the road, others would be quick enough to do you.

• Administrators Posts: 56,569 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Never got caught because I've never done it. It's rotten. What about the shopworkers etc that have to clean up after you the next day?

It is disgusting for sure, but you think it's cleaned up when someone pisses on the street?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,056 ✭✭✭_Redzer_

I got caught before and me and the guards just had a good laugh about it haha. I suppose it just depends on the guard that stops you!

Wouldn't have minded but it was on Thomas Lane. Didn't think there'd be much chance of me getting caught there!
    That's grand if you've a small dick I suppose, and ye can both just laugh about it, but what about the rest of us? :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,002 ✭✭✭Seedy Arling

gerrybbadd wrote: »
    I did get caught once, pissing in the gate of the local tennis club, which is right beside the Garda Station. Luckily, it was a Ban Garda that pulled up in the squad. Got let off with a warning

Did she take down your particulars?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,746 ✭✭✭AgileMyth

I saw a cat pissing in town yesterday. Didn't seem like he even cared about the potential fine. Mad bastard that cat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

mauzo! wrote: »
    Why would they clean it? Surely it would be dry by the morning, or washed away with rain?!
    awec wrote: »
    It is disgusting for sure, but you think it's cleaned up when someone pisses on the street?

An alley used as a place to have a piss often begins to stink, regardless of if it is 'dry'. Many shops have delivery entrances and access in the back alley so yes, a bucket of bleach water is often required.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

I saw the state of a fellow where he was having it off with a man one night and one of them backfired. Not pretty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 private89

private89 wrote: »
    Ok I know it's disgusting but over Christmas I was out in town and got caught taking a p*** after getting out of a taxi. As I was doing it 2 guards came up behind me and told me to put it away.

I had a good bit to drink and tried to laugh it off but they asked for my details. Stupidly I gave them a false name but got caught out with the date of birth. He wasn't happy and I got handcuffed and said he was arresting me for not giving him the right details and public order.

He asked me again for my details and I gave them to him and said sorry for messing him around. He checked ID that I had in my pocket and gave me a bollocking for messing around. He then took off the cuffs and told me to leave the area and I did. He said I would get a fine in the post in the next few weeks or I could have to go to court.

So if you got caught - what happened? Did you get a fine or have to go to court or did you hear anything back?

Like alot of others I am applying for the Guards at the moment so don't know if this will ruin my chances

Eventually got my summons for this and have to go to court next month. Had hoped he had forgotten about it but not that lucky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 795 ✭✭✭kingchess

over15 years ago myself and two mates went to new york for a week around st patricks day.one day we were wandering around manhatten and we all badly needed to pee,we ducked behind a big dumpster and as I was nearly finished we saw a cop car come around the corner who"copped "what we were doing. we starting walking casually along as if nothing was amiss-the siren gave a beep(just like in a movie)-we kept walking and the car pulls half up on the pavement and two cops jump out and first gave out for not stopping for the siren and then for peeing,they relaxed when they heard our accents .one police-man asked us how we would like it if he came to our country and started peeing in public.we were quiet for around 10 seconds but then I could not resist saying "jasus...dont do that-you get arrested" well the two cops looked at me and then each other and started laughing,waved us away and wished us happy st paddies day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

private89 wrote: »
    Eventually got my summons for this and have to go to court next month. Had hoped he had forgotten about it but not that lucky.

Ask your solicitor to try and get you an adult caution. I saw this thread on Boards recently.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=74044037

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,992 ✭✭✭Mongfinder General

Santa Cruz wrote: »
    I saw the state of a fellow where he was having it off with a man one night and one of them backfired. Not pretty

Wtf?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,252 ✭✭✭chrissb8

Please. All you high and mighty people who never do it tell me have you never done it? I find that very very hard to believe. If you haven't then don't blame others. I have no issue with it if it's in an away place. It rains alot in Ireland and I personally wouldn't go unless desperate. I would rather not wet myself and I think that goes for alot of other people in the same situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

The most common public offence in Ireland, everyone from your solicitor to local drug dealer has been caught pissing in the street.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 473 ✭✭DildoFaggins

Pissing in the street is a very serious matter how dare you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,321 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

One shop owner in Ennis got so pissed about all the urinating outside his shop door during the night that he electrified the pavement outside the shop, there must have been a few with a burnt willy who got a nice pay out. :pac:

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-1222539/Slash-burn-Shopkeeper-electrifies-pavement-stop-revellers-urinating-outside.html

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

I don't think I've ever urinated outdoors. At school, I was always too shy to put my hand up and ask if I could go 'dul go dtí an leithreas', so I seem to have developed a very impressive capacity for water storage. Yes, shyness can stop you from doing all the things in life you'd like to, but it can also result in you not needing to piss as often as most people.