Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ever been caught urinating in public?

• 04-01-2014 1:53pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34

Ok I know it's disgusting but over Christmas I was out in town and got caught taking a p*** after getting out of a taxi. As I was doing it 2 guards came up behind me and told me to put it away.

I had a good bit to drink and tried to laugh it off but they asked for my details. Stupidly I gave them a false name but got caught out with the date of birth. He wasn't happy and I got handcuffed and said he was arresting me for not giving him the right details and public order.

He asked me again for my details and I gave them to him and said sorry for messing him around. He checked ID that I had in my pocket and gave me a bollocking for messing around. He then took off the cuffs and told me to leave the area and I did. He said I would get a fine in the post in the next few weeks or I could have to go to court.

So if you got caught - what happened? Did you get a fine or have to go to court or did you hear anything back?

Like alot of others I am applying for the Guards at the moment so don't know if this will ruin my chances

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,301 ✭✭✭Daveysil15

private89 wrote: »
    Ok I know it's disgusting but over Christmas I was out in town and got caught taking a p*** after getting out of a taxi. As I was doing it 2 guards came up behind me and told me to put it away.

I had a good bit to drink and tried to laugh it off but they asked for my details. Stupidly I gave them a false name but got caught out with the date of birth. He wasn't happy and I got handcuffed and said he was arresting me for not giving him the right details and public order.

He asked me again for my details and I gave them to him and said sorry for messing him around. He checked ID that I had in my pocket and gave me a bollocking for messing around. He then took off the cuffs and told me to leave the area and I did. He said I would get a fine in the post in the next few weeks or I could have to go to court.

So if you got caught - what happened? Did you get a fine or have to go to court or did you hear anything back?

Like alot of others I am applying for the Guards at the moment so don't know if this will ruin my chances

So if you do get into the guards will you be more lenient if you caught someone urinating in public?

No I've never been caught urinating. I have been caught shaking hands with the one eyed milkman though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,992 ✭✭✭Mongfinder General

Start praying for a fine.

A friend of mine got caught doing it in the city centre. Court appearance, fine and a six week course on alcohol abuse.

As for applying for the Gardai, you're bolloxd if you end up with that on your record.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

Were the guards taking the piss?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Daqster

Could you not have just urinated on Supermac customers like everyone else.

Daqster wrote: »
    Could you not have just urinated on Supermac customers like everyone else.

Hey, that's my friend's party piece. Thanks for ruining it. He's coming around to your house to p1ss in your teapot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

Never got caught because I've never done it. It's rotten. What about the shopworkers etc that have to clean up after you the next day?

Never got caught. Would never do it against a house or a building - you're much better off finding a tree or bush or something else. OP, next time just give your correct details. Chances are they might have just let you off with a warning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Never got caught because I've never done it. It's rotten. What about the shopworkers etc that have to clean up after you the next day?

Why do you assume it was against a shop?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

SV wrote: »
    Why do you assume it was against a shop?
    It was in town, so I'm presuming its on a footpath. Outside a shop, business or someone's home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,667 ✭✭✭Frynge

I was with a friend once walking home and he was about to go into the bushes at the end of an estate when a squad car pulled up and reminded him there was a beach across the road. The drove off.

One of my cousins got arrested for pissing on a statue of bill clinton in ballybunion. Any one who knows ballybunion will know that the statue is pissing distance from the front door of the garda station.
    My cousin is an idiot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,301 ✭✭✭✭gerrybbadd

I did get caught once, pissing in the gate of the local tennis club, which is right beside the Garda Station. Luckily, it was a Ban Garda that pulled up in the squad. Got let off with a warning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

No, because I am not a knacker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,128 ✭✭✭✭aaronjumper

I got caught going against an abandoned building, luckily they were lazy.
    Refused to get out of their car and had to go around the building because it was on a one way street.

They shouted at me to stay where I was, as soon as they were out of sight I ran.
    Never heard any more about it. Ah memories. . .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

gerrybbadd wrote: »
    Luckily, it was a Ban Garda

When was this? 1987?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,007 ✭✭✭KH25

No, but this thread reminds me of something that happened in school. When I was in 6th year a group of lads from my class went out drinking. On the way home, one of them decided to relieve himself against a nearby wall. All of a sudden he saw 2 gardai walking down the street towards him. He ran and they gave chase and threw the cuffs on him.

Here's the funny part though, they never saw him going against the wall. They just saw some drunk lad sprinting down the road with his lad hanging out. In his moment of terror he forgot to zip up :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 261 ✭✭heffoo

No, because I am not a knacker.

A knacker is a person in the trade of renderinganimals that have died on farms or are unfit for human consumption, such as horses that can no longer work.[1] This leads to the slang expression "knackered" meaning very tired, or "ready for the knacker's yard", where old horses are slaughtered and the by-products are sent for rendering. A knacker's yard or knackery is different from aslaughterhouse, where animals are slaughtered for human consumption. In most countries Knackery premises are regulated by law. What has your occupation got to do with this thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

I'd say most women are better at not getting caught when caught short - we find a very secluded place as we can't get away so quickly. I injured my back and wrist in a fall once and the A&E nurse showed me to the toilet with a cup for a urine sample. I had to arrange my clothing and try not to hurt my back sitting down, then aim into the cup while holding the door closed with a sprained wrist as the lock was broken. I didn't spill a drop, but the door yawned open on to the corridor where about a dozen people were waiting. :o:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

heffoo wrote: »
    A knacker is a person in the trade of renderinganimals that have died on farms or are unfit for human consumption, such as horses that can no longer work.[1] This leads to the slang expression "knackered" meaning very tired, or "ready for the knacker's yard", where old horses are slaughtered and the by-products are sent for rendering. A knacker's yard or knackery is different from aslaughterhouse, where animals are slaughtered for human consumption. In most countries Knackery premises are regulated by law.

You forgot to copy and paste the citation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,271 ✭✭✭TireeTerror

A knacker is a person in the trade of renderinganimals that have died on farms or are unfit for human consumption, such as horses that can no longer work.[1] This leads to the slang expression "knackered" meaning very tired, or "ready for the knacker's yard", where old horses are slaughtered and the by-products are sent for rendering. A knacker's yard or knackery is different from aslaughterhouse, where animals are slaughtered for human consumption. In most countries Knackery premises are regulated by law. What has your occupation got to do with this thread

As you well know, its also a term used frequently in Ireland to describe undesirables and undesirable behaviour. Language is changing all the time, embrace it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 private89

Start praying for a fine.

A friend of mine got caught doing it in the city centre. Court appearance, fine and a six week course on alcohol abuse.

As for applying for the Gardai, you're bolloxd if you end up with that on your record.

I really hope I don't end up going to court for this. Was your mate in trouble before for this type of thing or did he just get a hard judge?
    Never got caught. Would never do it against a house or a building - you're much better off finding a tree or bush or something else. OP, next time just give your correct details. Chances are they might have just let you off with a warning.

I hope so. Not much chance of a tree or a bush in Dublin city centre. It was against the side of a building - others had gone there before me but I was the one who got caught.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,526 ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Knacker

Let's read on, shall we?
    However, in modern usage, especially in Ireland, the word has come to describe both those from lower-class backgrounds who tend to engage in anti-social behaviour, as well as those of an Irish Traveller background. In this sense, the usage of the word "knacker" is akin to the usage of the term "chav" in England and ned in Scotland. Members of the travelling community in Ireland live in what would ordinarily be considered temporary accommodation, such as roadside trailers or caravans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Yes but it was in my own pants so the guards had nothing on me and just walked away in disgust.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

A knacker is a person in the trade of renderinganimals that have died on farms or are unfit for human consumption, such as horses that can no longer work.[1] This leads to the slang expression "knackered" meaning very tired, or "ready for the knacker's yard", where old horses are slaughtered and the by-products are sent for rendering. A knacker's yard or knackery is different from aslaughterhouse, where animals are slaughtered for human consumption. In most countries Knackery premises are regulated by law. What has your occupation got to do with this thread

Where I come from it also means 'scumbag'.

I've never been caught, no (although I've only ever done it once, down a country lane, out of complete necessity).

Once I was walking home after a night out, passed by the Garda Station and about 20 meters down the road, there was some lad with his dick out pissing on the footpath. At the side of the footpath was a wall, after which there were bushes, after which there was a very secluded laneway, but no, he was standing there, with the wall at his 9 o' clock, just pissing onto the path infront of him.

I thought it was funny, but I didn't care about it, so I just went to walk around him, stepping onto the street to avoid any splashes while passing him. As I went by him, he realised I was there, got a fright, SCREAMED at the top of his lungs, I turn around and say "are you alright?", and he just kept shouting "Jesus, ****, jesus" etc. while I walked away. He was mortified.

That'll teach him to be too lazy to even turn towards the wall.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

I got caught before and me and the guards just had a good laugh about it haha. I suppose it just depends on the guard that stops you!

Wouldn't have minded but it was on Thomas Lane. Didn't think there'd be much chance of me getting caught there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 Fatsam

RUBBISH

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

You're applying to be a Garda? Haha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 767 ✭✭✭SimonQuinlank

Yeah few years ago in the laneway beside the DIT culinary college behind O'Connell Street.Was finished pissing,turned around and there was a squad car parked in front of me.Just gave the guards my whole ''I'm very very sorry'' spiel and they drove off.

Kill them with kindness is my motto for dealing with the Gardai,and it hasn't failed me yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭whats the point

I really hope I don't end up going to court for this. Was your mate in trouble before for this type of thing or did he just get a hard judge?

Got caught short myself one time, which resulted in.
    Court case.
    80 euro fine.
    Name in the local newspaper.
    Article cut from the local newspaper and hung up on the notice board of the canteen in work. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Daqster

Dublin itself must get foot traffic of around half a million people on busy days and yet I can't think of one public toilet.

I'm purpose that men start using the slots in the railings of the ha'penny bridge as urinals and women the baskets on the Dublin Bikes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,498 ✭✭✭ArnoldJRimmer

My cousin got caught years ago in Temple Bar. Wasn't particularly drunk, was just bursting to go while waiting for his friends to exit a club. He was very apologetic, and the guard just gave him a talking to and sent him on his way.

A month later, a summons came in the post. He ended up in court, where the guard claimed she caught him in Rathmines. He explained that it didn't even happen there, the judge went ballistic at the guard for wasting his time, but recommended that my cousin pay 300 euro to the charity of his choice as a gesture of goodwill.

Given the amount of time it rains in Ireland, don't think its a huge deal, depending on where you do it. That said, I remember walking to work on the bank holiday after race week in Galway about 10 years ago. The stench in the lanes around Quay St had me wretching

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

There is only one solution if getting caught urinating is to drop the trousers and take a dump.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,904 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Yeah, when I was 20 after the affects of too many pints hit my kidneys all of a sudden, it was behind the wall of a church, just my bad luck that the Guard happened to be strolling along at the same time.

It was christmas time and he let me off with a "don't let me catch you doing that again sonny".

WikiHow wrote: »
    There is only one solution if getting caught urinating is to drop the trousers and take a dump.

I believe that is indeed legal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Put what away?..............The magnifying glass?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,972 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

I don't think you could have public toilets in Dublin city centre with the heroin problem.

Could the heroin problem be solved to improve toilet infrastructure in Dublin city centre?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,972 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

WikiHow wrote: »
    Could the heroin problem be solved to improve toilet infrastructure in Dublin city centre?

Certainly the best incentive for it.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,531 Mod ✭✭✭✭spockety

I remember being in Amsterdam a few years ago and they have discreet urinals on the street as well as portable ones that are wheeled out on weekends.

The solution to someone's need to do a piss when in a public place shouldn't be to criminalise it, it should be to provide for it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,571 ✭✭✭newmug

Got caught short myself one time, which resulted in.
    Court case.
    80 euro fine.
    Name in the local newspaper.
    Article cut from the local newspaper and hung up on the notice board of the canteen in work. :(

Criminal conviction?

Improvement on infrastructure is the key here to solve this problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭SHOVELLER

spockety wrote: »
    I remember being in Amsterdam a few years ago and they have discreet urinals on the street as well as portable ones that are wheeled out on weekends.

The solution to someone's need to do a piss when in a public place shouldn't be to criminalise it, it should be to provide for it.

Exactly. There are also a fair few of them near the ArenA too.

Would be a great addition here.

If I have to urinate outside I make sure its somewhere discreet.

I did get caught last year near home though. Was at a party and didnt realise the sun was coming up as the squad car pulled in as I was zipping up. They asked for my details which I provided.

I was in the wrong and they were sound about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

Caught but never recognized as I blast 'em between the eyes

A few of those portaloos in a location where they wouldn't be an eyesore would be handy.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 17 kegsmcsorley

Awful carry on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

A few of those portaloos in a location where they wouldn't be an eyesore would be handy.

With a few discreetly fitted cameras :)

They would only lead to anti social behaviour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,377 ✭✭✭Smithwicks Man

Most Gardaí wouldn't be arsed writing you up on it unless you start being an ars**ole about it. Would be furious if I ever got done for it as I've seen much worse being let off without a name even being taken. Sometimes ya just gotta go.

That being said, there's doing it discreetly and there's doing it on a main street etc.

I'd imagine most people would try and find some place out of the way and not piss against someones doorway or on the street, I think everyone would agree that doing that is knackerish behaviour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭MarkY91

if you need to go then you need to go, its as simple as that :S youre not allowed use restrooms of places unless youre a customer. its the goverments fault for not having many or any at all public restrooms.