Annoying things other drivers do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,372 ✭✭✭glynf

Clowns sitting in the middle & outside lanes on the M50, no one in the left lane. No one over taking. All doing 100 Kph. Thanks for the impromptu rolling roadblock and all, but kindly f**K off, keep left and let the rest of us pass. Or... Move, bitch..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,059 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Drivers who get onto a road, and don't bother speeding up because they're turning off the road 'soon.' The problem is that 'soon' could be a couple of miles away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,678 ✭✭✭jjbrien

Parking so close to the door of my car that I can not even open it enough to even fit a small child in

glynf wrote: »
    Clowns sitting in the middle & outside lanes on the M50, no one in the left lane. No one over taking. All doing 100 Kph. Thanks for the impromptu rolling roadblock and all, but kindly f**K off, keep left and let the rest of us pass. Or... Move, bitch..

The speed limit on the M50 is 100kph so they are within their rights going over 100 kph is on the M50 is breaking the law

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,372 ✭✭✭glynf

It's piss poor & inconsiderate driving, with no concept of lane discipline. Keep left unless overtaking ring a bell?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Daqster

Taxi nearly creamed me yesterday. Was so shocked and busy saving my car / life, that I couldn't even get angry, beep, nor even so much as flash my lights or take his reg. I was just perplexed at what he did.

Was driving heading for Swords, just drove past Kealy's(?) pub there and as I was approaching the roundabout, busy enough and I glanced in my rear view as you do and seen this taxi which must have been doing 80km up the bus lane / hard shoulder (road works there so bit of a mess).

Anyway, I was in the inside lane but there was literately ten feet before the bus lane / hard shoulder tapered off into footpath and so this twat had nowhere to go and he was flying and so instinctively I braked as I knew if I hadn't he was gonna keep going and try and cut in at the last second and that is just what he did.

Even with my braking, he missed my car by inches, flew out onto the roundabout right in front of cars coming off the motorway and headed off to Swords. It had passengers in it and so I highly doubt it was stolen. There really are some fcukers on the roads.

Daqster wrote: »
    Taxi nearly creamed me yesterday. Was so shocked and busy saving my car / life, that I couldn't even get angry, beep, nor even so much as flash my lights or take his reg. I was just perplexed at what he did.

Was driving heading for Swords, just drove past Kealy's(?) pub there and as I was approaching the roundabout, busy enough and I glanced in my rear view as you do and seen this taxi which must have been doing 80km up the bus lane / hard shoulder (road works there so bit of a mess).

Anyway, I was in the inside lane but there was literately ten feet before the bus lane / hard shoulder tapered off into footpath and so this twat had nowhere to go and he was flying and so instinctively I braked as I knew if I hadn't he was gonna keep going and try and cut in at the last second and that is just what he did.

Even with my braking, he missed my car by inches, flew out onto the roundabout right in front of cars coming off the motorway and headed off to Swords. It had passengers in it and so I highly doubt it was stolen. There really are some fcukers on the roads.

Had something similar happen to me a few years ago on Collins Ave at Donneycarney. This old man from the UK came flying down the middle of the road i was where he was not supposed to pass it has one of them big areas with white stripes in it where a car isnt supposed to go. I was going to turn left at the junction. He came in and side swiped my car damaging the front drivers side wing and his back bumper just beside his rear passenger door. My car was badly hit didnt make much of a dent on his only a light dent. He refused to give me his insurance details so I made him go down to clontarf station. Where he gave the garda a fake insurance company name and he then told the guard he was heading to catch the ferry back to the UK. My insurance company tried chasing up the his insurance details and they were not legit. He lied to me and the guards providing false info and fled the country. Leaving me having to pay to fix my car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,901 ✭✭✭Mince Pie

jjbrien wrote: »
    Had something similar happen to me a few years ago on Collins Ave at Donneycarney. This old man from the UK came flying down the middle of the road i was where he was not supposed to pass it has one of them big areas with white stripes in it where a car isnt supposed to go. I was going to turn left at the junction. He came in and side swiped my car damaging the front drivers side wing and his back bumper just beside his rear passenger door. My car was badly hit didnt make much of a dent on his only a light dent. He refused to give me his insurance details so I made him go down to clontarf station. Where he gave the garda a fake insurance company name and he then told the guard he was heading to catch the ferry back to the UK. My insurance company tried chasing up the his insurance details and they were not legit. He lied to me and the guards providing false info and fled the country. Leaving me having to pay to fix my car.

Why didn't you take his reg? Insurance can easily trace the other parties details for a claim.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,767 ✭✭✭SterlingArcher

Getting in their cars and not taking the bus instead. No traffic for me. Weeeeeee

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭Pedro K

Boaty wrote: »
    When people flash you to get out of the overtaking lane even tho you can't because there's a car to the left of you..
    Why be in the overtaking lane then? The overtaking manoeuvre shouldn't take very long, so realistically you should probably have been back in the left lane before anyone had the chance to come up behind you and flash their lights.

Were you only doing 5km/h more than the cars in the left lane when overtaking or what was the story there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,409 ✭✭✭old_aussie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,687 ✭✭✭blacklilly

The speed limit on the M50 is 100kph so they are within their rights going over 100 kph is on the M50 is breaking the law

Are you a law enforcer?

Thought not, it is not up to you to or anyone else for that matter to prevent someone from breaking the law on a roadway. If you are doing 100kph in the over taking lane and someone comes up behind you doing 110kph, you need to move to your left, simple as.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,770 ✭✭✭Jen Pigs Fly

Driving behind me with their full headlights on ...

Like what are you suppose to do in that situation except try to focus on the road and not the blinding full headlights right behind you:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,779 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

Check out the thread I started on the motors forum recently - many drivers see people driving at the speed limit as delaying them, indifferent attitudes to people on pedestrian crossings and swan necking as acceptable

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭whirlpool

As is legibility, apparently.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,576 ✭✭✭V.W.L 11

Lack of indication,cutting across lanes,on the phone,failing to obey the rules of the road in general!!!and they are the first to say "what did i do wrong" if they get stopped by cops!!!!!!! RANT OVER

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,687 ✭✭✭blacklilly

Pinch Flat wrote: »
    Check out the thread I started on the motors forum recently - many drivers see people driving at the speed limit as delaying them, indifferent attitudes to people on pedestrian crossings and swan necking as acceptable

Thankfully it hasn't happened me too often, best thing to do is flip the tab on your rear view mirror towards you (this will help to prevent the lights behind you irritating you so much)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Mince Pie wrote: »
    Oh and getting stuck behind (usually a micra) a car at night driving about 25mph and braking everytime there is a car coming the opposite direction like its all of a sudden turned into a one track road.

And then they try and match your speed when you go to overtake.

:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,928 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

People who pull out in front of you so they dont have to drive behind you, only to drive about 10 kph slower than you were going are one of my bigger pet hates..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭geeky

Days 298 wrote: »
    Should have a theory test when your car is being retested. If you fail you cant have the car back. You get 5 goes and if you fail your car goes in the crusher.

I see a gameshow opportunity here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 Shut the front door

Folk who learned how to drive on that magical square roundabout, you know the one, no curved lanes, all straight lines. The one where you can take any lane when entering it, use no indicators, drive straight through (and I do mean straight) and out the exit they want to take. The Walkinstown roundabout is a wonderful example of this truly exceptional driving.

Also those who press their brakes when they see a leaf on the road, the total, total idiots texting on the M50, normally while in the middle lane, tools on their phone when driving, the very nice people who will drive fast sit on your bumper on a 'normal' 50kph road coz their car is big and can go faster than yours and they are very important even though you are doing 50(ish) I would move over but I have no where to go then they pull out past you normally just avoiding another car on the other side and 2 secs down the road they are at the red light revving their engine while trying to inch out. Always good fun when in an epic fail move the lights go green and they i) fail to see it or ii) cut out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,653 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Mince Pie wrote: »
    Oh and getting stuck behind (usually a micra) a car at night driving about 25mph and braking everytime there is a car coming the opposite direction like its all of a sudden turned into a one track road.

A step up from this is morons braking when they pass someone walking on the footpath beside the road! Unbelievable!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 216 ✭✭Tommy Dillon

sirbob wrote: »
    I needed some were to go and rant about other drivers and the stupid things some of them do like for example sitting in the fast lane going under the speed limit and not getting out of my way :mad: Why do they do this

seems to be extremely prevalent around Naas going to or from Dublin.....also M50 but Naas is very annoying as it seems to start there and continues into Dublin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,069 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

1/ Hogging/blocking the overtaking/outside lane on a motorway.
    2/ Stopping way beyond the stop line at traffic light junctions.
    3/ Not indicating when turning left or right.
    4/ Using front Fogs when its not foggy.
    5/ Using rear Fogs when it not foggy.

Thats enough for now :))

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Driving behind me while practically sitting on my back bumper, but still won't overtake.

And I'm not one of these driving miss daisy people who hold everyone up, if the speed limit is 100km/h thats what I'm going at.

And odds are when we come to a set of traffic lights its some young fella in a souped up civic or some other cheap piece of shíte thats driving it.

Another one is tractor drivers on the road who won't pull in to let people off who are driving behind them, when I was younger I used to draw silage during the summer so I know it's not a big ask to pull in and let people off as it's ofton difficult to overtake on secondary roads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,779 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

Driving behind me while practically sitting on my back bumper, but still won't overtake.

And I'm not one of these driving miss daisy people who hold everyone up, if the speed limit is 100km/h thats what I'm going at.

And odds are when we come to a set of traffic lights its some young fella in a souped up civic or some other cheap piece of shíte thats driving it.

Another one is tractor drivers on the road who won't pull in to let people off who are driving behind them, when I was younger I used to draw silage during the summer so I know it's not a big ask to pull in and let people off as it's ofton difficult to overtake on secondary roads.

I posted about this on the motoring forum and got pretty badly roasted - obviously by the (thankfully) minority of moronic motorists that find people driving at the speed limit are 'needlessly delaying' them.

And, no I'm not a hogger of overtaking lane on an motorway nor do I try and impose my speed limit vigilantism on other road users. I'll drive at the speed limit hen road conditions dictate - this may not always be the case, particularly crap weather / ice etc.

If you're late for something, don't bother driving up my ar$e, because I'll drive at the speed limit much as it may inconvenience you - just leave a bit more time to get from A to B.

Like what are you suppose to do in that situation except try to focus on the road and not the blinding full headlights right behind you:(
    Slow down and pull over if necessary

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,079 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

Boaty wrote: »
    When people flash you to get out of the overtaking lane even tho you can't because there's a car to the left of you..
    Are you actually overtaking this car or just matching his speed and flirting with him through the window?

Ban billionaires

I know it's irritating when someone drives behind you with their high beams on, but do you know that there's a lever on your rear view mirror specifically for night time driving so that you don't get blinded by the headlights of the car behind you?

Ban billionaires

For me, the most irritating thing that other drivers do is inadequate speed when merging onto the motorway

The slip road is there specifically to give the driver space to speed up to 120kph to safely merge onto the motorway at the same speed as the other traffic.

Several times a week I am stuck behind some eejit who drives down the slip road at 60kph and merges onto the motorway at half the speed of the other traffic and then tootles along on the motorway at 90kph

It's really dangerous, the biggest hazard on the road is speed differential
    If all the cars are driving at the same speed, the risk of collision is much lower than if some cars are driving at 120kph and others are driving at 70kph

I wish the RSA would do a proper information campaign to educate people to use the slip roads properly

Ban billionaires