Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Annoying things other drivers do

• 04-01-2014 9:06pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 sirbob

I needed some were to go and rant about other drivers and the stupid things some of them do like for example sitting in the fast lane going under the speed limit and not getting out of my way :mad: Why do they do this

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Too busy talking on their phones to notice either you or their speed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,973 ✭✭✭Sh1tbag OToole

sirbob wrote: »
    I needed some were to go and rant about other drivers and the stupid things some of them do like for example sitting in the fast lane going under the speed limit and not getting out of my way :mad: Why do they do this

What about things you do yourself that you feel might annoy other drivers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

If all these other w***ers just took the bus I'd be home by now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

They always do things that is all their fault as they are rubbish drivers and I am the greatest driver bar none and never do anything wrong and have absolutely nothing to learn as I am perfect.

Sitting in the overtaking lane when they're not overtaking and the road is clear is a gobsh!te thing to do though
    So is blocking off the driving lane by sitting in the middle lane when the driving lane is empty and clear
    Or hey let's merge onto a motorway where traffic is doing 120 kph ... by hitting the brakes at the end of the merge lane and tootling along at 50 kph

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Whats this fast lane you talk about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

I hate when they get out and smash my windscreen with their wheel brace when they don't like my assessment of their driving skills. Some people are just fundamentally bad :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Probably the same reason anyone else sits in what they see as the 'fast lane'

...because they're idiots

Mint Sauce wrote: »

It's what all our road tax goes on :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,358 ✭✭✭Aineoil

Well that's simple......

All other drivers annoy me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,687 ✭✭✭blacklilly

Their inability to indicate correctly at roundabouts and also not knowing what lane to be in when using a roundabout.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 950 ✭✭✭Dupont

Drive

Aineoil wrote: »
    Well that's simple......

All other drivers annoy me.

You know we're supposed to drive on the left hand side?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 509 ✭✭✭DanWall

when I park my car away from others in a car park because some idiots cannot get out of their car without banging my car, and when I come back another idiot has parked right next to me even though there are plenty of spare spaces.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭geeky

Not indicating.

I often drive around the walkinstown roundabout and the inability of certain people to use the little button/stick by the steering wheel fills me with murderous rage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 sirbob

blacklilly wrote: »
    Their inability to indicate correctly at roundabouts and also not knowing what lane to be in when using a roundabout.

that and the one who come to a stop a a roundabout and take ages to take off again even do their's no body else on or near the it

Mint Sauce wrote: »

Sorry mint the "over taking lane" :P

that and the one who come to a stop a a roundabout and take ages to take off again even do their's no body else on or near the it

That really gets me as well, I can feel the rage build up in me just thinking about it, I need a cup of tea!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭Crea

I do not understand why so many drivers in this country do not know how to indicate properly on a roundabout. It. drives. me. mental!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,500 ✭✭✭✭cson

For all of you saying indicators; you do know that they're an optional extra on every car that's imported into this country, right?

Sheesh, couldn't be paying for those like! :pac:

bluewolf wrote: »
    Sitting in the overtaking lane when they're not overtaking and the road is clear is a gobsh!te thing to do though
    So is blocking off the driving lane by sitting in the middle lane when the driving lane is empty and clear
    Or hey let's merge onto a motorway where traffic is doing 120 kph ... by hitting the brakes at the end of the merge lane and tootling along at 50 kph

Or leaving the motor way and slowing down to 50 before they even in the slip lane

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

Not indicating, driving way too slow, talking on phone, taking ages to take off at a red light, parking across two spots, driving slow in the overtaking lane.........

Jaysus I really do need to improve my driving :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭DoozerT6

The AMOUNT of times I've been behind someone approaching a roundabout who indicate right or left, and then proceeds to drive straight ahead...also, I've been the driver at the next exit, watching people drive onto the roundabout indicating left...and just knowing somehow that they're driving straight ahead, ie in front of me. You get a sixth sense about it sometimes, and if my spidey senses start tingling, I don't move until I can see exactly what way they're going.

In fairness, I very rarely see someone in the wrong lane on a roundabout, and when I do, they're clearly lost and realise too late that (for instance) they should be turning right and not going straight on, so they do the whole 'indicate right, on the outside lane, while driving slowly and giving themselves whiplash looking over their shoulder at me' thing.

But the whole fcuking indicating thing....jesus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 559 ✭✭✭urabell

Fat drivers eating bags of chips and other fat driver food, also skinny drivers eating kale and other skinny driver food and by extension fat drivers eating skinny driver food and skinny drivers eating fat driver food, not a big fan of eating at the wheel, it's just as dangerous as being on your phone, whether the conversation you're having on you're phone is amicable or angry is irrelevant in my view, talking on the phone while eating whether you are fat, skinny, angry or amicable is a particular pet peeve of mine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,311 ✭✭✭Days 298

Tailgate
    Block a junction.
    Slam their brakes when the lights go amber. FFS drive on. No need to risk an accident.
    When the lights go green and they take greater than 2 seconds to take off.
    Text when not stopped at traffic. Using the phone in traffic doesnt annoy me but in flowing traffic seeing the driver behind you with their head down is infuriating.
    Blocking yellow box junctions in rush hour :mad: Yes hold up my whole lane so you can jump lighst!!
    When they are driving too slow is annoying.

This thread should come with a health warning

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,221 ✭✭✭NuckingFacker

Post car stuff in AH when there's a whole forum for motors stuff? Bugs me anyway. Dublin forum?

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,051 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

It's amazing the amount of drivers who can't complete the simple task of parking their car between two lines, sometimes I have to do a few more laps of a car park or park a lot further away thanks to some lazy/selfish c*nt who decides to take up two spaces, it's not that f*cking hard.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 6,522 Mod ✭✭✭✭Irish Steve

Ye do realise that some of it is the "I'm doin 120, Feck off" mentality. Trouble is, most of them are probably only doing 105, maybe 110, as the modern speedo is designed to over read by up to 10%, supposedly to keep people out of trouble in speed limit zones.

Put it this way, if I have a choice of believing a GPS, or the speedo, I know which one I take as being more accurate, given the way that the GPS has to operate to work in the first place. My wife's car, a FIAT, is doing about 108 on an indicated 120, and getting it to actually do a true 120 is a challenge, but that's another story.

The Isuzu I have is remarkably accurate, at 120 indicated, the GPS is usually 117, so that one can be relied on, and I know from experience that I end up passing a lot of people that probably think they're doing 120, but are in reality not.

Most other cars I travel in, with GPS active, are usually somewhere between 8 and 10 Kph over reading at the motorway limit.

There is another solution, do away with speed limits on the rural motorways, like Germany, so there is no competition to "keep the others at the limit", and if there are people wanting to overtake, then it's a requirement to get the fcuk out of the way and let them get on with it, and who knows, maybe over time, people might even remember to look in the mirror occasionally to see if there's someone coming up behind them. No harm in hoping.

That won't work on the M50, that needs variable limits on overhead gantries, like the M25 in the UK, with average speed cameras to sort out the ar*eholes that insist on doing 130 in the exit lane until 50 metres before the slip, regardless of what's happening in the other 3 lanes. 2 Points for speeding, 2 more for incorrect lane use, and 2 more for passing on the wrong side, 2 offences and they'd be taking a break from the M50 for a while. wouldn't take long for the message to spread, some drivers would collect their quota of 12 in one trip on the M50 in one day.

The American concept of a barrier to positively block off the outer 2 lanes for half a mile before and after a junction has a lot to recommend it as well, the number of near misses I see where someone jumps from Lane 4 to Lane 1 at high speed just before the exit, or crawls in lane 2 so that they can jump into the queue when there's half a gap, the barrier would prevent those aggravations, and also stop people jumping from the slip to lane 3 at 60 Kph.

And yes, I DO know a bit about what I'm talking about, over 40 years driving in a number of countries, some RHS, some LHS, and on occasions driving a RHD in a LHS country, or even more challenging, driving a left hand drive manual, in deep snow, on untreated roads in temperatures of -20, (C or F, take your pick, it's effectively pretty much the same, DAMN cold). In those 40 plus years, I've had one mishap for which I will accept responsibility, after that, all the other (3) incidents, 2 in this country, I've been rear ended, which is not down to me if I'm at a standstill.

Shore, if it was easy, everybody would be doin it.😁

Ahh. I forgot the one that drives me over the edge. Makes me shout my lungs out.

People who indicate right at a roundabout. Then indicate left at the second exit :mad: Thats not how you use them. Id rather they didnt.

Annoying when you are behind them or when trying to enter a roundabout.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

blacklilly wrote: »
    What about drivers that indicate on roundabouts and gob****es drive onto the roundabout in front of them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Cheap feckers driving in the dark (in city) with only parking lights on. I am convinced they do it to save the headlight bulbs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 484 ✭✭guppy

When long vehicle drivers decide to enter a roundabout when I'm turning right, and am indicating so, and force me to stop dead on the roundabout to avoid a crash. This should be a rare event, but happens so effing much at a roundabout locally. And yes, my indicators do work, when I beep them they give me an eff you look.

Sam Kade wrote: »
    What about drivers that indicate on roundabouts and gob****es drive onto the roundabout in front of them?

That's equally as annoying

Sam Kade wrote: »

Blow the horn at the buggers if they badly cut you off! You can just tell that some drivers will cut you off if you slow down by 0.0001km/h. You can see them edging out and staring at you. I always give them a wag of the indict finger as I drive past.

Those people who nudge out the nose of their car. Had to swerve to the middle of the road today as an a**hole drove (rapidly) the front half of his car from a petrol station out onto the road expecting me to slam my brakes and wave him out. Middle finger and a mouthing of pr*ck does the job for the blood pressure :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 155 ✭✭b_mac

biko wrote: »
    Cheap feckers driving in the dark (in city) with only parking lights on. I am convinced they do it to save the headlight bulbs.

No no, they do it so they don't drain their battery :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 615 ✭✭✭Boaty

When people flash you to get out of the overtaking lane even tho you can't because there's a car to the left of you..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,183 ✭✭✭jobless

Days 298 wrote: »
    Ahh. I forgot the one that drives me over the edge. Makes me shout my lungs out.

People who indicate right at a roundabout. Then indicate left at the second exit :mad: Thats not how you use them. Id rather they didnt.

Annoying when you are behind them or when trying to enter a roundabout.

This.... Every morning I see this, it annoys the hell out of me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭Mena

Ya'll need to go over to Ranting & Raving forum, there be a thread there just for this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,565 ✭✭✭K.Flyer

When you are driving along a road and there are no cars behind you and the idiot guns it out of a side road just to get in front of you instead of waiting for you to pass. (.. and then stays well below the speed limit)

The moron who cuts across two or three lanes for their exit and nearly causes carnage.

FOG LIGHTS !! When there is No F&@king Fog..

Irish spec cars may as well have mirrors, indicators, lights and some of the windows as optional extras. Why should people have to pay for things they cant or dont know how to use!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭Guest0000

No indicators, even though your turning...
    Fogs on, even though no fog..why not put the rear ones on too,
    German plates, ...on a Subaru :rolleyes: or anything else for ffs....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,607 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Or leaving the motor way and slowing down to 50 before they even in the slip lane

Seen someone doing this once before, truck behind them, car got absolutely obliterated, how someone can justify slowing down to 50kms on a 120km road is beyond me

Also how dare everyone be on my roads :P

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 90 ✭✭nikinova

Slow drivers, in a 100km road driving at 40km
    Full headlights on regardless if it is dark or not
    No indication going left or right
    Wrong lane coming up to a roundabout
    Feckers who won't let you out on to another lane in rush hour.
    Feckers feckers who beep when you haven't taken off in less than 1 second after the trafffic lights have turned green.
    Certain drivers (you know who you are...!!) who feel that they own the road and tailgate the hell out of the car in front.
    A______s who deck the brakes over bumps...

Oh feck...I feel a panic attack coming on ...drivers in Ireland - we need to have a yearly NCT on our driving ...who agrees???

nikinova wrote: »

Oh feck...I feel a panic attack coming on ...drivers in Ireland - we need to have a yearly NCT on our driving ...who agrees???
    Should have a theory test when your car is being retested. If you fail you cant have the car back. You get 5 goes and if you fail your car goes in the crusher.

Seen someone doing this once before, truck behind them, car got absolutely obliterated, how someone can justify slowing down to 50kms on a 120km road is beyond me

Also how dare everyone be on my roads :P

Once, thankfully only once, a car was in the exit lane ahead of me, big truck behind me, and at the last minute the driver ahead realised they were at the wrong exit and braked to a halt. I slammed on, as did the truck driver behind me but obviously he driving a big ass vehicle, couldn't stop momentum as fast as me. I was so focused on my 4 month old child being in the back I couldn't even think of beeping (my little puegot sounded silly anyway) but by god did that truck driver blow the other guy out of it. Thankfully the ass ahead could rejoin traffic so I could move on before tragedy struck.

I'll never forget the face on that poor truck driver, I'm sure he thought he was about to end someone's life at that moment and it would not have been his fault in any way if the worst had happened. Thank god/whomever it didn't.

Mena wrote: »
    Ya'll need to go over to Ranting & Raving forum, there be a thread there just for this.

were's that it wont come up when i search for it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,501 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

Slow down to a crawel for apparently no reason and then indicate after they have already started to turn.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

were's that it wont come up when i search for it
    You have to PM one of the Mods to access it, someone will come along and tell you who they are, I can't remember.

Keefg, overheal are two anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,080 ✭✭✭lmaopml

I drive a one litre, yes it's a Micra - and it's a pretty cool car imo :cool:, needs nothing but a yearly service and it goes on air - low cost mileage.

Anyway, it really pisses me off when on a roundabout - take Walkinstown for instance - just because it's a one litre they decide to take the wrong lane because they think my car doesn't move quick enough and cut me up - clearly small d*ck syndrome, meh. There's a lot of that about.

Totally dangerous too - I wish more people knew how to use roundabouts properly!!!