Ever been caught urinating in public?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,533 ✭✭✭ArnoldJRimmer

My cousin got caught years ago in Temple Bar. Wasn't particularly drunk, was just bursting to go while waiting for his friends to exit a club. He was very apologetic, and the guard just gave him a talking to and sent him on his way.

A month later, a summons came in the post. He ended up in court, where the guard claimed she caught him in Rathmines. He explained that it didn't even happen there, the judge went ballistic at the guard for wasting his time, but recommended that my cousin pay 300 euro to the charity of his choice as a gesture of goodwill.

Given the amount of time it rains in Ireland, don't think its a huge deal, depending on where you do it. That said, I remember walking to work on the bank holiday after race week in Galway about 10 years ago. The stench in the lanes around Quay St had me wretching

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

There is only one solution if getting caught urinating is to drop the trousers and take a dump.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,185 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Yeah, when I was 20 after the affects of too many pints hit my kidneys all of a sudden, it was behind the wall of a church, just my bad luck that the Guard happened to be strolling along at the same time.

It was christmas time and he let me off with a "don't let me catch you doing that again sonny".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,992 ✭✭✭Mongfinder General

WikiHow wrote: »
    There is only one solution if getting caught urinating is to drop the trousers and take a dump.

I believe that is indeed legal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

private89 wrote: »
    Ok I know it's disgusting but over Christmas I was out in town and got caught taking a p*** after getting out of a taxi. As I was doing it 2 guards came up behind me and told me to put it away.

Put what away?..............The magnifying glass?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 12,673 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

I don't think you could have public toilets in Dublin city centre with the heroin problem.

Could the heroin problem be solved to improve toilet infrastructure in Dublin city centre?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 12,673 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

WikiHow wrote: »
    Could the heroin problem be solved to improve toilet infrastructure in Dublin city centre?

Certainly the best incentive for it.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,628 Mod ✭✭✭✭spockety

I remember being in Amsterdam a few years ago and they have discreet urinals on the street as well as portable ones that are wheeled out on weekends.

The solution to someone's need to do a piss when in a public place shouldn't be to criminalise it, it should be to provide for it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,571 ✭✭✭newmug

Got caught short myself one time, which resulted in.
    Court case.
    80 euro fine.
    Name in the local newspaper.
    Article cut from the local newspaper and hung up on the notice board of the canteen in work. :(

Criminal conviction?

Improvement on infrastructure is the key here to solve this problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭SHOVELLER

spockety wrote: »
    I remember being in Amsterdam a few years ago and they have discreet urinals on the street as well as portable ones that are wheeled out on weekends.

The solution to someone's need to do a piss when in a public place shouldn't be to criminalise it, it should be to provide for it.

Exactly. There are also a fair few of them near the ArenA too.

Would be a great addition here.

If I have to urinate outside I make sure its somewhere discreet.

I did get caught last year near home though. Was at a party and didnt realise the sun was coming up as the squad car pulled in as I was zipping up. They asked for my details which I provided.

I was in the wrong and they were sound about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

Caught but never recognized as I blast 'em between the eyes

A few of those portaloos in a location where they wouldn't be an eyesore would be handy.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 17 kegsmcsorley

Awful carry on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

A few of those portaloos in a location where they wouldn't be an eyesore would be handy.

With a few discreetly fitted cameras :)

They would only lead to anti social behaviour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,377 ✭✭✭Smithwicks Man

Most Gardaí wouldn't be arsed writing you up on it unless you start being an ars**ole about it. Would be furious if I ever got done for it as I've seen much worse being let off without a name even being taken. Sometimes ya just gotta go.

That being said, there's doing it discreetly and there's doing it on a main street etc.

I'd imagine most people would try and find some place out of the way and not piss against someones doorway or on the street, I think everyone would agree that doing that is knackerish behaviour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,075 ✭✭✭MarkY91

if you need to go then you need to go, its as simple as that :S youre not allowed use restrooms of places unless youre a customer. its the goverments fault for not having many or any at all public restrooms.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

Daqster wrote: »
    Dublin itself must get foot traffic of around half a million people on busy days and yet I can't think of one public toilet.

I'm purpose that men start using the slots in the railings of the ha'penny bridge as urinals and women the baskets on the Dublin Bikes.
    The few public toilets that were there became hang outs for rent boys and others looking for a bit of action

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,056 ✭✭✭✭SeanW

heffoo wrote: »
    A knacker is a person in the trade of renderinganimals that have died on farms or are unfit for human consumption, such as horses that can no longer work.[1] This leads to the slang expression "knackered" meaning very tired, or "ready for the knacker's yard", where old horses are slaughtered and the by-products are sent for rendering. A knacker's yard or knackery is different from aslaughterhouse, where animals are slaughtered for human consumption. In most countries Knackery premises are regulated by law. What has your occupation got to do with this thread
    I wonder, when you're feeling good do you say "I'm feeling quite gay ..." :pac:

Didn't think so.

https://u24.gov.ua/
    Join NAFO today:

Help us in helping Ukraine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,891 ✭✭✭allthedoyles

Got caught once and the Gardai said '' go find somewhere else '' and then they drove off .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,750 ✭✭✭john the one

Trim in the summer of 2010, having a slash down a lane, the blue lights came on and i got an earful off 2 guards.

Had to go back down to trim on the 23rd of December to court, the judge threw the book at me! 550 euro fine, 2 days before christmas. :(

And all i was doing was doin me toileh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 177 ✭✭grumula

caught once in dublin, living there at the time at about 20 years of age. on the way home from a staff night out, at absolute bursting point, (frustratingly only about 6 or 7 minutes from my gaff). ducked down an alley out of harms way and relieved myself behind a large skip. a gard approached as i walked out and asked what i was doing, i fessed up straight away and appologised, telling him that if i hadn't i would have genuinely been walking home saturated in piss. he asked for my name age and address, i gave him all three, expecting that he was going to send me a fine in the post (i was in the wrong, no complaints outa me). he asked where i was originally from, i told him. he asked for my mother's name and address, i asked him what that info had to do with anything. he accused me of getting smart, i told him my appartment was 5 minutes away, and that he could go with me to verify my address, but my parents were none of his concern seing as i hadn't lived with them in four years. he clapped the irons on me and made me sit in the drunk tank for about 5 hours after processing me. I eventually gave him the oul' wans address and a week later he had a gard in my home city deliver my court summons to her!
    i eventually went for my hearing and the judge after hearing that i had no prior convictions just advised me to put a donation in the charity box and stop wasting everyone's time.
    OP- if you eventually get in, i implore you, don't be that guy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 385 ✭✭Mully_2011

Got caught pissing up the side of a nunnery before by two gards got off with a warning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,527 ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

grumula wrote: »
    caught once in dublin, living there at the time at about 20 years of age. on the way home from a staff night out, at absolute bursting point, (frustratingly only about 6 or 7 minutes from my gaff). ducked down an alley out of harms way and relieved myself behind a large skip. a gard approached as i walked out and asked what i was doing, i fessed up straight away and appologised, telling him that if i hadn't i would have genuinely been walking home saturated in piss. he asked for my name age and address, i gave him all three, expecting that he was going to send me a fine in the post (i was in the wrong, no complaints outa me). he asked where i was originally from, i told him. he asked for my mother's name and address, i asked him what that info had to do with anything. he accused me of getting smart, i told him my appartment was 5 minutes away, and that he could go with me to verify my address, but my parents were none of his concern seing as i hadn't lived with them in four years. he clapped the irons on me and made me sit in the drunk tank for about 5 hours after processing me. I eventually gave him the oul' wans address and a week later he had a gard in my home city deliver my court summons to her!
    i eventually went for my hearing and the judge after hearing that i had no prior convictions just advised me to put a donation in the charity box and stop wasting everyone's time.
    OP- if you eventually get in, i implore you, don't be that guy!

Something seriously pathetic about the Garda getting your mother involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 279 ✭✭Angry_Mammarys

[QUOTE=And all i was doing was doin me toileh[/QUOTE]

Most vile phrase ever. you're lucky a bee didnt land on your willy.

can't remember how to quote properly :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 177 ✭✭grumula

Something seriously pathetic about the Garda getting your mother involved.

pure bully boy intimidation tactics.
    i wasn't exactly scuttered either, but i initially refused him the info and he saw red. having it hand delivered to her was his own private fcuk you for my "lack of total cooperation".
    worst thing was, when he made his statement, he said i was completely complient and came along peacefully. twas an eye opener at that age, thankfully my only court appearance, but it'll stay with me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,642 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

Obviously we can't give you legal advice on boards.

But court summons are notoriously inconsistent. If you track down and sincerely retrospectively apologise the the Garda when you receive the summons they often withdraw it for petty crimes.

Even if you do go to the district court, if you are sincere and sound to the judge they will often give you a charity donation instead of an actual conviction, which won't show on your record - you'd be better off being summoned to a suburban court than a City Centre one though.