Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

People who constantly talk about football

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,606 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

syklops wrote: »
    And another thing. Whats the story with people and films? A load of men(and women) sitting around watching films. What a shower of ba$tards!

And rollarcoasters! A load of men going up and down in a rollercoaster

And shouting!

Nimrod 7 wrote: »
    Did you see that ludicrous display last night?

The thing about Arsenal is they always try and walk it in..

What were they thinking putting Walcott on that early? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭MonaPizza

Seriously, a conversation about football is fine, I catch the highlights when I can and am a football fan to the extent that I used to play and I like to watch a "big game" e.g. World Cup, important qualifiers, Champions League final etc. But when I go out with a group of friends (male and female) and the conversation keeps coming back to football and what the manager said, transfer rumours blah blah, I realise that these people having noting else to talk about.

I have one friend who has a sky sports subscription and without fail watches the football every week! If there is a game in the morning and one in the afternoon then he watches both and will watch the highlights on in the evening! These are married guys whose wives have zero interest in football, so when the conversation keeps turning back to football they just sit there and have zero input (understandably). Imagine a man had a wife who watched four hours of soap opera every Saturday, and then watched the omnibus at in the evening?

How do these people become such avid fans to a football team which they have no affiliation too?

You're a porn addict aren't you? You watch the same clips of your favourite shag scenes over and over and OVER....don't you?

antodeco wrote: »
    I put on a pony on liverpool

I hope no one is going to say anything about myyyyy Ars-en-al......because i love em....i love them hammers! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

Not sure what gender the OP is but this book helped Mrs Doyle for sure

http://img708.imageshack.us/img708/1903/footballforwomen.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭Henlars67

hoodwinked wrote: »
    because of the pure enjoyment of watching sport in general. in my experience most people fall in love with one type of sport or another and its a matter of picking a team or following who your influences support.

Whilst I agree with everything else you said, fans don't pick a team to support, not real fans anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,110 ✭✭✭RikkFlair

Phoenix wrote: »
    Who are ya who are ya.........

YOU'RE NOT SINGING ANYMORE!!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,342 ✭✭✭gstack166

My missus HATES football & my obsession with Football Manager. In my defence though, I have Lahm, Kompany, Silva & Pique. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭DB83

Football is bloody brilliant... anyone who says otherwise is a dick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,885 ✭✭✭DeanAustin

There is nothing in the history of the world that is more important than football.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭lostdisk

Soccer. It's called soccer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭MJ23

"Did you see the match?"

Fcuk off and get a life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,528 ✭✭✭✭gammygils

FYI - In Ireland it's called SOCCER! Football for us true Irish is Gaelic Football!

And people who constantly talk about soccer is fine.

Rather than people who constantly bore the tits off everyone harpin on about
    Golf or Rugby in a false accent :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,072 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

gammygils wrote: »
    FYI - In Ireland it's called SOCCER! Football for us true Irish is Gaelic Football!

Golf or Rugby in a false accent

yeaah!!!! how dare they decide to like a different sport :mad::mad::mad: posers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,128 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

<3 football

I know that the obscene amount of money involved can make it hard for some people to follow it but when you really understand the game and understand how phenomenal it is for a player to reach the top level and play it with such intelligent, it can make it bearable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,590 ✭✭✭ahnowbrowncow

MJ23 wrote: »
    "Did you see the match?"

Fcuk off and get a life.

Why the anger?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,454 ✭✭✭jobeenfitz

Would it be fair to say we all either love football or love whinging about cnuts who love football. See we all have football in common.

Why did they get rid of the cheerleaders at prem league games?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,687 ✭✭✭enfant terrible

"we" beat "ye", ye are **** this year, we are gonna win the league

Lads, ye are both from the arsehole of Laois and the only reason "ye" are winning is because some sugar daddy came in and spent a load of oil money.

How normal lads can have any affinity to the overpriced millionaires who only go to the highest bidder is beyond me

So your only interested in local things?

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

I don't like the same sport as you..is that not okay?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭grindle

Mars Bar wrote: »
    such intelligent

very soccer
    wow

____________________much play

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,128 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

grindle wrote: »
    very soccer
    wow

____________________much play

Lol, ****ing hate that meme!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭whatdoicare

So!Um....dig that local sports team! Go team!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 226 ✭✭Frank Garrett

Mars Bar wrote: »
    Lol, ****ing hate that meme!

What meme?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

It's Football.

The Irish one is Gaelic, or Gaah

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭grindle

What meme?

Doge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 737 ✭✭✭murphthesmurf

I have a friend who watches a match whilst constantly flicking to other matches and looking at teletext for all the scores for every other match being played that day. He invited me down once to watch a match, never again.
    I wouldn't be a football fan myself, but its ok to watch a big game every now and then. But have to agree with the op when it comes to talking about it. Many people seem obsessed.
    I much prefer to watch motorbike racing, but hardly anybody else does. I used to watch more football yrs ago, in the days of Eric Cantana and Zidane. No players like these anymore, too much money and sponsorship involved.
    What always gets me with football is when people say 'we' did well the weekend. 'We' ???? I don't remember seeing you on the pitch. Was it a Mars bar moment? I asked a friend about this once and he said its 'we' because he buys the ticket to go and watch and so pays the players wages etc. So the next time I buy a can of beans from Dunnes I'll be watching the stock exchange to see how 'we' are doing.
    Football is taken way too seriously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Witchie

.....are sexy and kinda guys I want to foooook.

Do I win the competition to finish the sentence?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,175 ✭✭✭hoodwinked

Henlars67 wrote: »
    Whilst I agree with everything else you said, fans don't pick a team to support, not real fans anyway

i said that because i was on about multiple sports, in things like cycling, golf tennis, its pick your favourate person/team,for example by saying "i am supporting Murray to win" you kind of are picking him.

So!Um....dig that local sports team! Go team!

who is your local sports team? eh? eh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,798 ✭✭✭BonsaiKitten

A "false" accent? :pac:
    And it's football, that 'true Irish' ****e is Gaah. Or Gaelic. Or just bogball. :p