GRAND THEFT AUTO ONLINE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

Benzino wrote: »
    sparky? :D

That's me! They were nuts, although judging from their accents they could have been dutch! Fecked up in the races on that final jump

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,623 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

SV wrote: »
    True enough! Should remember that for the next time someone is going around in a tank I don't even know how people get a hold of them!

I was online a while ago and Benzino dropped one off for me with his Cargobob! Only the second time I've been in a tank. Went on a bit of a rampage and ended up being killed repeatedly by someone using the invincibility hack.

Thanks Benzino :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,819 ✭✭✭Benzino

Mc Love wrote: »
    That's me! They were nuts, although judging from their accents they could have been dutch! Fecked up in the races on that final jump

Yeah, we really pissed them off somehow in those first few races! Once we entered freeroam it started again, I somehow got the better of them until they gave up accusing me of hacking :rolleyes:

For all the faults in this game, there is nothing better than hearing your victim roar motherf**ker down the mic haha :D

It's after getting very addictive due to the fact I have a good supply of money that I hope rockstar don't take off! Wish I could share some cash legitimately

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,819 ✭✭✭Benzino

Yeah I agree, you tend not to care anymore and just enjoy yourself getting backup heli's, mercs after players and bounties galore.

Got a cool little bug where it seems to load other people's cars into my garage:

0_0.jpg

Woah what a mess

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,604 ✭✭✭dave1982

Weird session there totally modded out cars just started driving up next to me no one in them.I just took um must be some invisible cheat or some thing but no one open door to get or anything

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,557 ✭✭✭madalig12

Played my first game online, 'twas ok, just stayed away from folk who kept shooting me and went to watch some guys carrying on with planes and trucks. Not bad but must join a clan for missions.

Saw this post on reddit, it might come in handy!
    I used to get my ass kicked on GTA:Online in free-mode sessions, but I can now honestly say that I'm a killing machine! Here are some tips that might help you,
    If you're in a gunfight with someone where you are both locked onto each-other and they manage to shoot first, simply do a combat roll and then light 'em up. Rolling breaks the lock-on and since most people don't roll, very few people know how to get you when you pop out of your roll. To roll, aim your gun and then press X or square.
    Let people come to you! Have your trigger poised to hit the lock-on button as soon as they appear in sight so that you have a better chance of taking them out first!
    Trying to get the drop on someone? Hop into a car and then drive slightly outside the radar range of your "target". Call Lester to remove you from the radar and then speed up and smoke the fool. Works almost every time :)
    In a chaotic gun fight with a lot of players? Use the expanded radar! You can toggle the extended radar by pressing down the the d-pad twice. You can also toggle it by going to "Options" under the pause menu. It's almost like having a sixth sense! No more getting blasted by someone while you're trying to open the map and figure out where everyone else is. The only downside is that you can't see your health or armor bars.
    If you're trying to kill someone in a car while locked onto them, pull the right stick upwards a bit to make sure the bullets go through the windows.
    When driving and trying to kill someone with your gun, I've noticed that it helps to aim your crosshair a bit lower than their car's roof. If you're using the SMG, you'll get a lot of headshots this way!
    Do a combat roll if a car's about to run over you! I've noticed that even if you're hit, it slightly increases your chances of surviving!
    When going into a "big battle" with multiple other players, buy Brucie's Bullshark testosterone drink (call him with your cellphone). That ****. Kills. Fools. I honestly don't think I've ran across anyone else who uses it. Too bad for them! Good for me/us!
    Buy food from a grocery store to replenish your health in a quick pinch. To buy food, find a grocery store as indicated by the shopping basket icon on the map then simply walk up to the clerk and hit the right button on the d-pad to buy food. You can consume the food by pulling up your inventory. This is really useful for those long back-to-back firefights or missions. You can also buy sodas from vending machines to replenish your health.
    You can kill players in tanks by shooting at the tanks below the hatches with a sniper rifle. The Heavy Sniper takes less bullets to kill, however.
    You can also enter passive mode, get Lester to remove you off the radar and then try to hijack a tank when the player stops paying attention. It usually helps to wait for them to check their map, which is indicated via the white flag icon.
    Use passive mode to your advantage! If you keep getting killed by someone when you respawn, just enter passive mode and then try to get to somewhere where they can't run over you in a car. If they start "stalking" you with their cars, turn off passive mode and then smoke them. They usually don't expect this. If you can't "escape" them, open your map and then join a random job so that you can teleport away.
    You can also hit triangle/Y during the Wasted screen to respawn in passive mode right away!
    If you're not the only "victim" of another player, try asking other players if they want to team up on him. I've formed some pretty solid coalitions by doing this :)
    I'm pretty awful at throwing sticky bombs in cars, so what I usually do when I'm being chased by another player is that I approach a corner and then throw a sticky bomb ahead of me. As soon as I take the corner, I throttle my speed and then detonate them. It works very well!
    Use LMGs when you are trying to shoot at people who are outside of lock-on range, but not quite far enough to warrant the use of sniper rifles. The extra bullets really help!
    If you don't have any "good" guns unlocked yet, ask someone nice to drop you on of your guns! You do this by holding the left bumper and then hitting "O" or "B" on the gun that you want to drop. You'll keep the weapon for as long as you remain in the session and you won't lose it when you die.
    Encountered someone with God mode on? Buy a tank or steal one from Fort Zancudo (you could also ask someone to let you borrow one). Simply run over the person in your tank and then "sit" on them with the tank. This usually kills them after a few seconds! You can also sometimes kill hackers by pistol whipping them, but you'd obviously have to get close enough to them to do that and they will usually cut you down if you try.
    Hope that helps! It's our time to take Los Santos back from these griefers and modders!
    **Edit: Thanks to everyone who added things that I forgot! I never knew that you could hit down on the d-pad twice for the expanded radar! You learn something new everyday!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 187 ✭✭Lenny5

Tanks flying through the air like fighter jets!!! Haha it's gettin a bit too mental

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,222 ✭✭✭✭Will I Amnt

Lenny5 wrote: »
    Tanks flying through the air like fighter jets!!! Haha it's gettin a bit too mental
    It's gone the way of Modern Warfare 2 when it got hacked. That died a death and never recovered. As much as I enjoyed messing about in GTA V it would serve them right if this went the same way. They had so long to get it right and it was a clusterf**k from day one and it's now a hundred times worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 817 ✭✭✭Chabals Beard

Got the game now, just wondering it is worth using my membership and going online with it? I have had membership for a while but i rarely play, gta is the only game I play now. Also none of my friends are online anymore so I would be lone wolfing it most of the time. Is it worth it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,123 ✭✭✭KwackerJack

Got the game now, just wondering it is worth using my membership and going online with it? I have had membership for a while but i rarely play, gta is the only game I play now. Also none of my friends are online anymore so I would be lone wolfing it most of the time. Is it worth it?

I went on knowing nobody and play most evenings with a few lads.

You Xbox or PS?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 817 ✭✭✭Chabals Beard

I went on knowing nobody and play most evenings with a few lads.

You Xbox or PS?

Xbox.. I don't know how I'd stay on either after New Years between college and sport so I might sell my membership, its a 3 month as far as i know.

I'm officer kwacker if you change your mind :D

Guys I created a deathmatch called Retail Therapy and a race called The Heist if you can try them out and let me know what you think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,527 ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

Guys I created a deathmatch called Retail Therapy and a race called The Heist if you can try them out and let me know what you think?

I'll check out the race tonight, haven't played at all in a few days :D

Xbox i presume? Ill try them later, what's you online name?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,928 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

Ok.... Im getting tired of the invisible invincible ones..... They dont show up on radar, you cant see them when theyre right in front of you, but they can arrive in a car at the bottom of a multistorey car park youve driven to the Top of to protect yourself from them but itll take them only a second to appear beside you, invisible, and stab you to death.. Detonated a stiky bomb at one that wasnt invisible and he just turned around and killed me... Yeah thats a bit much..

Xbox i presume? Ill try them later, what's you online name?

Ps3 unfortunately

Ah not to worry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,522 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

Just got a heavy sniper from a crate earlier and it's so so much easier to kill people in tanks with, and you can blow up a car in a few shots depending on the size of the car. Well worth getting if you're level 90...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,991 ✭✭✭mikeym

Theres a guy called sirorosane that has an rp level of 524 :eek:

Im playing survival mode with him now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 299 ✭✭Hingo

mikeym wrote: »
    Theres a guy called sirorosane that has an rp level of 524 :eek:

Im playing survival mode with him now.

cartman-wow.jpg

This is all that comes to mind whe I see ranks like that in games.. :pac:

I've seen loads higher than that. You can be pretty sure it's not legit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,522 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

524 could be legit by now if you're like Cartman above! But it's probably a modder. What's quite galling is when you're doing a race or a job and everyone gets 400 rp and 1000 dollars but one guy gets 100,000 RP and 1 million dollars!

One thing I'm noticing now is that the high levels aren't online savvy and aren't great at one-on-ones, must be because they've got there by modding so haven't worked up the various skills and map knowledge yet.

Yeah i saw someone at 191 and I had better stats than him

Gordon wrote: »
    524 could be legit by now if you're like Cartman above! But it's probably a modder. What's quite galling is when you're doing a race or a job and everyone gets 400 rp and 1000 dollars but one guy gets 100,000 RP and 1 million dollars!

One thing I'm noticing now is that the high levels aren't online savvy and aren't great at one-on-ones, must be because they've got there by modding so haven't worked up the various skills and map knowledge yet.
    I doubt there is any legit 500+ tbh, if there is they would be few and far between. Since I hit level 70 it's been so slow to level up.
    Can only imagine the amount of xp needed to go up a level when you hit the 200+ mark.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,527 ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

Trying to get into playing freeroam. Taking pictures of eejits in tanks is kinda fun :D

I doubt there is any legit 500+ tbh, if there is they would be few and far between. Since I hit level 70 it's been so slow to level up.
    Can only imagine the amount of xp needed to go up a level when you hit the 200+ mark.

The only realistic players are just above 100 or less than 200, check their stats and you should know