Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

ufc/mma gambling

• 14-12-2013 11:51pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,923 ✭✭✭✭

There's a thread for this in the mma forum with very little interest
    with most there probably preferring to watch maybe
    gonna give it a lash back here to see if it catches folks attention

UFC on FOX 9: Johnson vs. Benavidez

main card starts at 1am

couple of bet for me
    singles and a double

benavidez by decision 4/1 (pp)
    mac donald by decison 4/1 (lads, done this on wed)

I think benavidez johnson will be as close as the last time
    they fought with johnson winning a split dec
    I can't see how johnson can be evens by dec and benav 4/1 so
    purely for value im going for benav to win by decision
    neither fighter has ever been stopped so it should go to pts either way

mac donald faber could be equally hard to call and faber is a narrow
    favourite 8/11 v 11/10
    its another fight i see going the distance and think mac pts
    is overpriced at 4s
    I can't see faber finishing mac and think there will be nothing
    between them

good luck and please join in fellow gamblers :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,739 ✭✭✭ASOT

1488040_763930883623812_2013171259_n.jpg

first bet up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,923 ✭✭✭✭mailburner

super picking there
    well done

so who's next for you?

mailburner wrote: »
    super picking there
    well done

so who's next for you?

I done Laflare to beat Court McGee & Danzig to beat Lauzon Double @5/1

And an optimistic bet of Faber, Mendes u2.5 rounds & Benavidez by TKO @15/1

Not really expecting the second one to come off but stranger things have happened!

both look pretty good, that 5s is nice
    cant call mc gee la flare myself
    think la flare will have trouble gettign mc gee down so
    for that reason im liking mc gee dec
    mendes looks good for an early ko

looks like you're going through the card asot :D

i'd be amazed if lauzon let you down

looks like you're going through the card asot :D

i'd be amazed if lauzon let you down

Surprisingly i backed against lauzon ... im not quite sure why considering i really like him as a fighter haha

ASOT wrote: »
    Surprisingly i backed against lauzon ... im not quite sure why considering i really like him as a fighter haha

lol sry,
    totally misread that

if you get that one up ill be asking ladbrokes for my money
    back on the mac donald bet

big event tonite silva v weidman

going close to my max bet on this one
    really think siver is different class to manny and leben
    is just plain slow and past it
    pays a fraction under evens

UFC Matches Uriah Hall v Chris Leben
    29-12-2013 02:30
    Match Betting
    Uriah Hall @ 1/3
    UFC Matches Dennis Siver v Manny Gamburyan
    29-12-2013 01:30
    Match Betting
    Dennis Siver @ 4/9

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,846 ✭✭✭discombobulate

big event tonite silva v weidman

Match Betting
    Uriah Hall @ 1/3
    Match Betting
    Dennis Siver @ 4/9
    Agree with that.

Hall on points at 13/5 looks big to me at 13/5. Waiting on Anderson for a big bet double I put on last month on him and Shogun both at 8/11. His odds have gone in now though. Still can't see him losing again but his wrestling defense will need to be good.

Agree with that.

Hall on points at 13/5 looks big to me at 13/5. Waiting on Anderson for a big bet double I put on last month on him and Shogun both at 8/11. His odds have gone in now though. Still can't see him losing again but his wrestling defense will need to be good.

just want to take a few risks as possible but that does
    look like a great price
    I can't bet on the main event
    the first fight told me nothing and i have no
    idea what to expect this time.
    I never seen a lot in weidman when others were saying
    otherwise so tonite will tell me more
    I still think vitor will blow weidman away if silva doesnt tonite

just want to take a few risks as possible but that does
    look like a great price
    I can't bet on the main event
    the first fight told me nothing and i have no
    idea what to expect this time.
    I never seen a lot in weidman when others were saying
    otherwise so tonite will tell me more
    I still think vitor will blow weidman away if silva doesnt tonite
    Agree there. I can't see Silva not knocking him out but trying not to be greedy. Hoping he got the fright he needed in the last fight. A Barnett submission at 10/3 also looks good value. I'd imagine he'll want to avoid a stand up fight with Browne

having only watched the weigh ins now I think uriah will
    be on his game tonite
    looked very focus, either hasnt much time for leben or just
    knows he has to win this fight
    think its the latter myself

5/4 for the ko is best with lads which I threw in a
    double with something else (webster+3.5set v van g)

having only watched the weigh ins now I think uriah will
    be on his game tonite
    looked very focus, either hasnt much time for leben or just
    knows he has to win this fight
    think its the latter myself

Best of luck with the bets. Struggling to stay awake already so going to watch in the morning and make sure I don't see any spoilers! Need Silva for a nice lump. A few other bets to add interest mainly the ones I mentioned.

same as that

roll on tomorrow afternoon :)

Match Betting
    Uriah Hall @ 1/3
    Match Betting
    Dennis Siver @ 4/9

went well
    the leben fight could have been called half a minute
    into it

first double with darts and ufc
    can do no wrong

no feckin gamblers around these parts
    wrong sport I guess

Good calls. Ended up covering my big bet on Silva with the Weidman KO. Still not convinced of him. Silva's always been easy to get down in that first round and looked to be finding his range. It's going to be an open division now along with welterweight.

I was impressed how well he was reading silva and just being
    out of his range the whole time
    Seems he had the perfect game plan
    He went up in my estimation but I'll be putting money
    on the fighter who's made me most money this year in vitor
    I think weidman could be that good but I want to see how
    he reacts to getting clipped by vitor first

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,391 ✭✭✭Scar Tissue

You do love your Vitor mailburner :D

treble at just shy of 2/1 (lads) for later on

rockhold
    moraga
    romero by ko

all look pretty good to me but not hugely
    confident either

rockhold
    moraga
    romero by ko

confident either
    Sounds solid. Where are you getting odds on Romero by KO?

ladbrokes

few quid i won on footie funding this thanks to the ah double you
    put up
    thanks

• Registered Users Posts: 803 ✭✭✭langer91

rockhold
    moraga
    romero by ko

confident either

Followed with a 10er Mail! No pressure now mate :p

ladbrokes

few quid i won on footie funding this thanks to the ah double you
    put up
    thanks
    No bother. 20/21 looks very good for Romero. Will be on this. Good spot

langer91 wrote: »
    Followed with a 10er Mail! No pressure now mate :p
    lol

been a horrible start to the year but its all footie losses

hoping the ufc doesn't start going the same way
    i'm fcuked if it does

No bother. 20/21 looks very good for Romero. Will be on this. Good spot

fookers ladbrokes
    that's some drift

that was 8/11 only an hour ago

Selection8/11 - Yoel Romero - KO or TKO
    EventDerek Brunson v Yoel Romero UFC
    MarketMethod of Victory

Got odds of 2.3/1 on the treble. Wiped the dust off my old Ladbrokes account. Handy to know that they do the extra markets. Bet365 are awful for the MMA.

1.93/1 same fecking treble same bookie :(

365 have always been useless for mma
    cant resist one more
    lads again
    treble at 5.9/1

Selection5/4 - John Moraga - Decision
    EventDustin Ortiz v John Moraga UFC
    MarketMethod of Victory

Selection20/21 - Yoel Romero - KO or TKO
    MarketMethod of Victory

Selection4/7 - Yes
    EventElias Silverio v Isaac Vallie-Flagg UFC
    MarketFight To Go To Decision

• Registered Users Posts: 803 ✭✭✭langer91

rockhold
    moraga
    romero by ko

confident either

Great stuff Mail cheers mate :D

• Registered Users Posts: 30 Beachballz

rockhold
    moraga
    romero by ko

confident either

Ladbrokes balance looking good thanks to this treble.

rockhold
    moraga
    romero by ko

treble at 5.9/1

Selection5/4 - John Moraga - Decision
    EventDustin Ortiz v John Moraga UFC
    MarketMethod of Victory

Selection20/21 - Yoel Romero - KO or TKO
    MarketMethod of Victory

Selection4/7 - Yes
    EventElias Silverio v Isaac Vallie-Flagg UFC
    MarketFight To Go To Decision

thanks lads
    just finished watching it
    fortunate with moraga and the ko took long enough to
    come with romero

perfect start to my mma year, 2 from 2

thanks lads
    just finished watching it
    fortunate with moraga and the ko took long enough to
    come with romero

perfect start to my mma year, 2 from 2
    Good work again. Didn't spot the second one unfortunatley. Had a nice lump on the first treble and a single on the Remero KO also. Happy days. Great days work between that and the football yesterday!

Have a couple of bets in my head but this is my main one and
    biggest bet by far for me this year
    I am pretty confident though :pac:

I don't rate caceres at all and if pettis is as good as they say
    he is then it should be a very easy win though maybe a pts win
    It looks like a good stepping stone for him and he is unbeaten

wineland to me looks like different class to jabouin
    he's tested the very best out there whilse jabouin has
    been found out every time he's faced a top guy
    I could see wineland finishing this one

Best combined odds ladbrokes at slightly under evens (1.95)

Selection3/10 - Eddie Wineland
    EventYves Jabouin v Eddie Wineland UFC
    MarketFight result

Selection1/2 - Sergio Pettis
    EventAlex Caceres v Sergio Pettis UFC
    MarketFight result

One more I can't resist for value alone
    Majority of the experts are saying bendo pts but I don't
    believe there will be much between the two and I feel
    6/1 pts v 10/11 is an insult to thomson

I did this bet before I realised it was a five rounder though.
    I still think it's too big though and I wouldnt forgive myself
    If thomson got the job done and I wasnt on at this price

betvictor
    Benson Henderson v Josh Thomson
    Josh Thomson To Win By Decision or Technical Decision
    (Method of Victory)
    Odds: 6/1

and the usual silly accum to wrap it up
    pays 9/1 but I didn't look around for better
    either to win by dec in the stephens elkins fight

Walter Harris @ 2/7
    (To Win the Bout)
    Eddie Wineland @ 1/4
    (To Win the Bout)
    Sergio Pettis @ 2/5
    (To Win the Bout)
    Hugo Viana @ 2/7
    (To Win the Bout)
    Daron Cruickshank @ 2/5
    (To Win the Bout)
    Either To Win By Decision or Technical Decision @ 5/6
    (How Will The Fight End)
    Mike Rhodes @ 4/11
    (To Win the Bout)

Following you on the double there and contemplating throwing in Cowboy as well.

Can't see anything other than a decision given Bendo's recent form but don't like the odds available either. 7 decision wins in a row before the Pettis fight is hard to ignore.

All that said i'm going to take a very small bet on Thomson by KO for interest at 7/1.

Can't call the Gonzaga fight either but again a small bet on Napao by KO as I think if he can avoid getting knocked out himself that'd be the most likely seeing as Struve KO'd Miocic and I don't rate Struve.

Will probably throw on a couple of other small interest bets

Wouldnt disagree with anyone lumping on bendo dec at 11/10 given
    his record
    I'd be shouting for thomson bet or not and I hope I won't have
    to listen to bendo praising jesus christ our lord again

cowboy should win but I don't know a lot about his opponent so
    staying away for that reason
    he should be too good you would think and have a big advantage
    should it stay standing
    cerrone has been very good to me from a betting point of view

gonzaga looks big at 2s imo
    miocic looked good beating big country around the place but apart
    from that who has he beat?
    I thought he was a good thing to beat struve and recall having
    5/6 fighters up in a bet with miocic being the last leg
    gonz has fought the best albeit losing to most of them but I'm not
    convinced about miocic yet
    I was very tempted to go with the ko for gonz also at 5s for value or
    even gonzaga in round 2 at 10s but i think if might end in the first
    either way

Best combined odds ladbrokes at slightly under evens (1.95)

Selection3/10 - Eddie Wineland
    EventYves Jabouin v Eddie Wineland UFC
    MarketFight result

Selection1/2 - Sergio Pettis
    EventAlex Caceres v Sergio Pettis UFC
    MarketFight result

think i'm gonna get sick

pettis subbed 20secs from the end
    close fight up till that
    didn't rate caceres and was counting my money
    after round one watching him being outclassed

One more I can't resist for value alone
    Majority of the experts are saying bendo pts but I don't
    believe there will be much between the two and I feel
    6/1 pts v 10/11 is an insult to thomson

I did this bet before I realised it was a five rounder though.
    I still think it's too big though and I wouldnt forgive myself
    If thomson got the job done and I wasnt on at this price

betvictor
    Benson Henderson v Josh Thomson
    Josh Thomson To Win By Decision or Technical Decision
    (Method of Victory)
    Odds: 6/1

thomson loses a split
    didnt help breaking his thumb early

disaster of a weekend, worst in nearly a year

double at slightly bigger than 5/2 boyles

overeem by ko/tko 8/13
    barao by dec 6/5

If the likes of barnett can ko mir I really can't see how overeem
    wont even without the drugs
    mir is so past it I just wish he'd give up

barao is a beast and although I think faber has improved a hell
    of a lot in the past year or so I still think he'll fall short
    whatever happens I really see it going the distance and 8/11 for
    this to happens looks a bit of value considering their first fight went all the way

I do respect him and will be having a saver on
    overeem ko/tko doubled with faber points which
    works out best with paddy at 9.7/1

thomson loses a split
    didnt help breaking his thumb early

disaster of a weekend, worst in nearly a year
    Yeah. My two KO hopes both Gonzaga and Thomson both had first round breakages wrecking that. Went for the treble with Cowboy after so Pettis loss was a shock as I watched the prelims after the mains.

Can't see past Barao or Overeem either. Agree on Faber. He's good but Barao is still too strong I reckon. Aldo should be good for a KO or decision but wouldn't call it either way.

taking this as i dont rate magny at all and always like taking
    on a fighter I don't rate (less said about bruce leroy the better)
    I dont know his opponent but his record is decent
    and half his wins were by sub whilst magny has
    been subbed twice in his last five bouts

Gasan Umalatov To Win By Submission @ 5/2
    (Method of Victory - Match)
    Renan Barao To Win By Unanimous Decision @ 6/4
    (Bout Decisions - Match)

works out a slightly less than 8/1 betvic

one last mugbet at 42/1

Ali Bagautinov To Win By Decision or Technical Decision @ 5/2
    Nick Catone To Win By Decision or Technical Decision @ 5/2

surprised catone is 13/8 to beat watson
    looks very evenly matched to me and catone fighting
    in front of his home crowd

One last go
    put too much faith in umalatov who was useless on
    his octagon debut whereas magny looked better
    than ever before
    catone has been cut all day from 6/4 as have
    bag and patrick

UFC Matches Nick Catone v Tom Watson
    02-02-2014 01:30
    Match Betting
    Nick Catone @ 6/5
    UFC Matches Alan Patrick v John Makdessi
    02-02-2014 02:30
    Match Betting
    Alan Patrick @ 11/10
    UFC Matches Ali Bagautinov v John Lineker
    02-02-2014 03:30
    Match Betting
    Ali Bagautinov @ 8/13

Good luck with bets mate. On a trixie of Cariaso, Makdessi and Barao as well as the overeem / barao double you posted.

Got Catone at 6/4 also. Hopefully be too good a wrestler

double at slightly bigger than 5/2 boyles

overeem by ko/tko 8/13
    barao by dec 6/5

If the likes of barnett can ko mir I really can't see how overeem
    wont even without the drugs
    mir is so past it I just wish he'd give up
    I couldn't have been more wrong about that
    reem couldve finished but decided to conserve his energy
    didnt matter with barao getting the stoppage
    taking this as i dont rate magny at all and always like taking
    on a fighter I don't rate (less said about bruce leroy the better)
    I dont know his opponent but his record is decent
    and half his wins were by sub whilst magny has
    been subbed twice in his last five bouts

Renan Barao To Win By Unanimous Decision @ 6/4
    (Bout Decisions - Match)

works out a slightly less than 8/1 betvic
    Another massive fail
    one last mugbet at 42/1

Ali Bagautinov To Win By Decision or Technical Decision @ 5/2
    Nick Catone To Win By Decision or Technical Decision @ 5/2

surprised catone is 13/8 to beat watson
    looks very evenly matched to me and catone fighting
    in front of his home crowd

I'll learn a lesson from this one not to put in a fighter on his debut
    until he's done the business in the octagon
    that hurt having two nice priced winners

I knew catone was too big a price but didn't do a bloody single
    One last go
    put too much faith in umalatov who was useless on
    his octagon debut whereas magny looked better
    than ever before
    catone has been cut all day from 6/4 as have
    bag and patrick

UFC Matches Nick Catone v Tom Watson
    02-02-2014 01:30
    Match Betting
    Nick Catone @ 6/5
    UFC Matches Alan Patrick v John Makdessi
    02-02-2014 02:30
    Match Betting
    Alan Patrick @ 11/10
    UFC Matches Ali Bagautinov v John Lineker
    02-02-2014 03:30
    Match Betting
    Ali Bagautinov @ 8/13

Thank god I had one last go, all three winning a decision
    really don't rate watson at all and never understood how
    he was as short as 4/6
    just about covered the other disasters

Suppose in hindsight the barao overeem double was worth a big bet
    but I was hesitant after last weeks disaster and the double
    only worked out at 1.78

Not much luck for me either on that card. Never seen Mir / Overeem going to a decision!

Catone single and 2 legs of my trixie coming up were the only bit of luck I had. The takedowns won it for him.

In hindsight putting Makdessi in against a fighter i'd never watched before cost me although it was very close.

Mousasi / Machida up next. I think Mousasi looks value at 2/1 if he could fulfill his potential but don't think i'll touch him

i'm tempted by machida pts at 7/4
    mousasi has lost three fights out of 37, two of
    which were by sub and one decision

I think he's cute enough and definitely tough enough to go five with machida
    machida on the other hand cost me plenty lately having
    him backed v davis on pts and against rampage
    I don't trust machida when he couldnt beat davis given his
    stand up is superior but he's just gone too cautious but the
    fact it's in brazil has me thinking he should up his game

a treble of oliveira silva and souza works out at almost 4/5
    finding it hard to see past these
    oliveira is only 1/5 v ogle and that kind of price isn't much
    good to me but that is the best looking 1/5 shot i've ever seen

lump or take a few smaller ones my only dilemma

a treble of oliveira silva and souza works out at almost 4/5

thats gone out the window
    best for the three a mere 8/13 now

ended up taking a six timer to make a 6/4 shot
    oliveira souza silva
    with three footie juve barca (bayern already won)

cant bring myself to go with machida
    I cant find anything value anywhere on this card and
    am not sure about method of victory but was only a
    little tempted by silva sub at 7/2
    prob is I dont know his opponent

good luck to anyone who can make a few quid on this one

Probably take a rain check on it myself. Hard to find the value out there.

a few guesses at 6.77/1 (betv) and 67/1 on the method treble
    very small stakes on both
    the price of a pint if I'm wrong

Zubair Tuhugov @ 10/11
    (To Win the Bout - Match)
    Albert Tumenov @ 4/7
    Joe Proctor @ 1/2
    Ivan Jorge @ 8/11