Drivers like this

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭lostdisk

Proof if ever there was that we should all reduce our speed and drive around in time machines.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,174 ✭✭✭RhubarbCrumble

My neighbour has one of those signs in her people carrier. Not joking here, hers actually says "Ickle pwincess on board" :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,332 ✭✭✭lau1247

Baby on board just remind me of the simpsons

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,871 ✭✭✭rolliepoley

100gSoma wrote: »
    Made me smile. :)

Regarding the baby on board sign, I shouldn't have mentioned it. It's irrelevant and obviously doesn't affect someone's decision to drive up your ar#e. Point taken y'all. Having a baby on board or the sign to indicate such does NOT lessen your chance of being rear ended. (Someone made millions off those little yellow triangles though. Genius. lol).

I'd drive just as close behind a car with that sign as I would behind a glanza with two fast and furious junkies on board. Fact. Not really. I wouldn't personally, but then again being a parent changes your perspective too. As does losing someone in a road accident or any other life experience you care to mention. It's all subjective, therefore the sign is totally pointless most of the time. Omit it from the original post and just take the story as me being sour someone almost ran me off road. Maybe they were on their way to the hospital though. And therefore it's justifiable taking risks like this with others.
    Nothing justifies a knobhead speeding down the wrong side of the road.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,533 ✭✭✭SV

Nothing justifies a knobhead speeding down the wrong side of the road.

rushing someone to hospital does.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭100gSoma

SV wrote: »

I'd disagree. But then again, its subjective when it's your family that almost got hit or run off the road. I should take one for the team because the car was in a hurry to get to the hospital? No thanks.

Nearly being hit is not taking one for the team.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

So the other driver was driving dangerously and all people can focus on is the "Baby on board" sign and how it must mean the owner is smug about being a parent (even if he's not). How bad-ass.
    The other driver was being an inconsiderate dick and shouldn't have driven as they did (no need to pretend it was nothing of concern - driving the wrong way around a roundabout, ffs) much less when there was a small child in the other car - sometimes the "Baby on board" sign actually does mean there's a baby on board, nothing more.

So the other driver was driving dangerously and all people can focus on is the "Baby on board" sign and how it must mean the owner is smug about being a parent (even if he's not). How bad-ass.
    The other driver was being an inconsiderate dick and shouldn't have driven as they did (no need to pretend it was nothing of concern - driving the wrong way around a roundabout, ffs) much less when there was a small child in the other car - sometimes the "Baby on board" sign actually does mean there's a baby on board, nothing more.

Thank you. You get it.

Other posters (SV) seem to think dangerous inconsiderate and endangering driving is ok and legit once nobody dies. It's only 'nearly fatal' etc and probably justified. So that's OK. . .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,892 ✭✭✭✭Spook_ie

Mint Aero wrote: »
    The baby on board signs are only for emergency crews so they'll know there's a baby in the car if it was mangled up in a crash. It's not there to make other drivers fall over themselves in awe of your baby and go gooooo goooo who da lil baby in the car :P ur sooooo cute yes you are! yes you are! :P So yeah, it's not that.

Actually I always thought they were to warn other drivers that the driver with the baby might be distracted by vomit/****e smells/baby's first words etc.

Thank you. You get it.

Other posters (SV) seem to think dangerous inconsiderate and endangering driving is ok and legit once nobody dies. It's only 'nearly fatal' etc and probably justified. So that's OK. . .

No, I think it's ok if there's a justifiable reason behind it, like rushing someone to the hospital, as long as noone gets hurt.

but try and twist that whatever way you want, like you already have.

No, I think it's ok if there's a justifiable reason behind it, like rushing someone to the hospital, as long as noone gets hurt.

but try and twist that whatever way you want, like you already have.

OK. Fair enough.

I don't think it's justifiable to break the law, take risks, and endanger others 'as long as no one gets hurt' and there is a justifiable reason (who decides what type of emergency this is justifiable?) You do. Grand job. Case closed.

(Unless of course it's a member of the emergency services who must use lights and sirens and are trained to drive outside the bounds of the road laws)

Next time it happens to you, it's great that you'll be so accepting once nobody in your car actually gets hurt. Fair play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,208 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Firemen are trained to look for baby on board signs and not check the rest of the reckage in bad crashes. An average of one child a week in ireland is saved by baby on board signs. Before them, firemen used to just glance into the back of a car from a distance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,606 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Can I get a Granny on Board sticker for when I have my granny on board?
    Would the emergency services search for a granny ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭ljpg

OK. Fair enough.

I don't think it's justifiable to break the law, take risks, and endanger others 'as long as no one gets hurt' and there is a justifiable reason (who decides what type of emergency this is justifiable?) You do. Grand job. Case closed.

(Unless of course it's a member of the emergency services who must use lights and sirens and are trained to drive outside the bounds of the road laws)

Next time it happens to you, it's great that you'll be so accepting once nobody in your car actually gets hurt. Fair play.

did you report the incident to the garda?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,002 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

"Baby on Board" = Human being on board.

No basis for any expectation of distinction,or different behaviour from any other motorist ?

Mind you hi,that all being said,there may be a clue here in the registration of the offending car hi....full marks hi to 100gSoma for correctly decoding the NC registration in the mirro as being :eek:CN :eek:...

Those who spend any wheel-turning time out beyant Ashbourne may just have a better handle on this form of behaviour....Personally,I too tend to note the Registrations of vehicles around me,as far too often the behavioural patterns can be notably different hi,depending on the county/country of origin.

OR....it could just be that the other fella hi, forgot to stick the U and T on the plate that mornin hi..???

Stay safe out there and be observant ;)

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

The constant obsession over the Baby on board sign - to the point of pretending that the other driver wasn't doing much wrong - is really dickish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 959 ✭✭✭MonsterCookie

The constant obsession over the Baby on board sign - to the point of pretending that the other driver wasn't doing much wrong - is really dickish.

Too right. Only thing the OP did wrong was to mention it in the first place!

I had a similar encounter with a car undertaking on the hard shoulder on the N11 years ago. Battered old fiat punto full of young fellas, whooring along past dozens of cards that were observing the speed limit. Cops up ahead were reading them the riot act as I drove past them.

Thankfully, on that occasion there was a happy ending.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,871 ✭✭✭rolliepoley

No it dose'nt.
    Suppose you are rushing someone to Hospital and you go around a roundabout on the wrong side of the road
    and you plough into to another road user and you kill them,
    so that justifies you taking someone to Hospital in an emergency,? i'd like to see you explain that one in court.
    If anything you are more of danger to everybody else on the road.
    Emergency services have big blue flashing lights and wailing sirens as warning signs to let people
    know they are approaching and to take heed, what have you got,?
    Flashing lights and a beeping horn wont help you.
    You can still get someone to hospatil in a hurry, in a proper manor by taking precautions,
    not by breaking the law and driving like a lunatic.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

Mint Aero wrote: »
    It's not that, it's if they don't find the baby straight away they might think there isn't one. The sign is a help is all.
    I prefer the "Babe on Board" sticker myself.

Anyway shouldn't you take the sticker down if the baby isn't on board so that the ambulance/fire brigade don't spend valuable time searching the ashtrays and glove compartments for the invisible baby.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,208 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Santa Cruz wrote: »
    I prefer the "Babe on Board" sticker myself.

Anyway shouldn't you take the sticker down if the baby isn't on board so that the ambulance/fire brigade don't spend valuable time searching the ashtrays and glove compartments for the invisible baby.

Babe on Board always means minging fat scumbag on board. Same with any playboy stickers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

On a kinda tangential note, anyone know when the Boards.ie car sticker will be available?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 99,624 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

The OP didn't mention flashing lights or blowing horns.