Are some people just born middle-aged?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭J_E

Hahaha are we friends with the same person?! She sounds like a girl I used to be friends with. We were like chalk and cheese and I think the only reason we became friends was cause I was the new girl and she had no friends so we bonded on my first day!

She's hilarious though, when she came out for a drink the first night with us, she had one and "knew her limits" after that. Me abc my friends wouldn't be a crowd that would recognise limits so I'd imagine she was disgusted.

She travels a lot and has all these pics up on Facebook and I do have to laugh at her in her 3/4 length shorts and her Ecco sandals haha.

She was home a few years ago (she's nursing in England) for Xmas and we all went out, **** ur Honda civic was BIG at the time and me and my best friend were drunkenly singing it to each other and she's all like what is this nonsense.

Knock some Craic out of her all the same though - although it'd be unintentional
    Jesus, hope she gets better friends than that....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

You were 'friends' with a girl you took the piss out of because of how she dressed and actually laughed *at* her for entertainment?

Nice.
    She actually dressed alright on nights out, just her dress sense as a tourist - lets just say, 1988 was banging on the door looking for its shoes

And this is a friend you're on about? Jesus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

I've suddenly developed a fondness for all things beige with a particular penchant for elasticated high-waisted pants and ecco slip-ons (all beige of course). This is what lays ahead for you young bucks, shame I'm only thirty something. Guess I should **** off and tend to me geraniums.

No I'm not friends with her anymore I found her too condescending. If I wanted to get scolded for bad life decisions I'd have been friends with my mother

She travels a lot and has all these pics up on Facebook and I do have to laugh at her in her 3/4 length shorts and her Ecco sandals haha.

Hopefully she'll cop on that one of her so-called friends is laughing at her behind her back and find herself a new one.

Do her a favour and unfriend her. It boils my blood when others act friendly on face value only to use them as the running joke on a daily basis. That's just being a bully, plain and simple.

No I'm not friends with her anymore I found her too condescending. If I wanted to get scolded for bad life decisions I'd have been friends with my mother

And I'm sure she wouldn't want friends who mocked her on nights out and laughed at her dress sense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

Just to give the benefit of doubt, sometimes friends take the piss, or say something that could be mistaken as cruel if you didn't understand the context between friends. Hell, sometimes some friends have said horrid things about shoes I was wearing. That might not be the case, but you can't always tell.

Cydoniac wrote: »
    Do her a favour and unfriend her. It boils my blood when others act friendly on face value only to use them as the running joke on a daily basis. That's just being a bully, plain and simple.

I'm a bully because she has a **** dress sense? Alroysh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

I came to bring some moralising to this thread.... damn

And I'm sure she wouldn't want friends who mocked her on nights out and laughed at her dress sense.

I don't know what you expect me to say... Tell her that her shoes are lovely? Wouldn't that make me a bit two faced?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

...or on second thoughts :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

Guess I should **** off and tend to me geraniums.

Don't forget about the nasturtiums, old people love their nasturtiums.

I'm a bully because she has a **** dress sense? Alroysh.

No, you're a bully for mocking her dress sense and laughing at her behind her back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,363 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

I have found this to be a façade or even a defence mechanism in some. Others just simply lack personality and mimic an older female influence. I've seen a domineering parent figure being at least in part responsible- some parents just want their kids to be clones of themselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 559 ✭✭✭urabell

Yeah she's an oddball and no amount of posts criticising you for pointing that out will change that

I don't know what you expect me to say... Tell her that her shoes are lovely? Wouldn't that make me a bit two faced?

Say nothing?

cantdecide wrote: »
    I have found this to be a façade or even a defence mechanism in some. Others just simply lack personality and mimic an older female influence. I've seen a domineering parent figure being at least in part responsible- some parents just want their kids to be clones of themselves.

I think this is more like it. Maybe not a lack of personality, but some people are really impressionable and absorb their parents mannerisms and values to a greater extent than most people would. They tend to be really traditional.

Raise your hand...

Candie wrote: »
    No, you're a bully for mocking her dress sense and laughing at her behind her back.

But why would it be okay for other girls to mock someone else's dress sense? She would pass comment on some young one with her skirt skimming her ass, she'd comment on my shoes being too hight or the fact my hair was too backcombed. There was no laughing behind her back lol. She would say something grannyish, people would laugh. She wears Ecco shoes my mother wouldn't have even worn, obviously people will be like what.

Same way as if one of my friends started wearing fishnets hoodies and biking boots, I'd probably say something about them being hideous too. Big deal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭Millicent

I laugh at her Facebook pictures because they're hilarious

So she dresses "funny" while travelling the world? God, how awful. She so deserves to be mocked for doing her own thing while enjoying seeing foreign countries and having more imagination than having a skinful in the pub every weekend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 LikeClockwork

Or ya know...she likes different things. Not everyone follows a herd mentality.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭BNMC

If you've nothing nice to say, say nothing at all.

You come across as very shallow and not a very nice person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭SparkySpitfire

Jaysus, how's the weather up there for the moral cavalry here?

As for the OP, I think so. I know a few people like that, very sheltered lives and insular, like they'd eat lunch with a select group of friends (including family of various ages) at school and wouldn't attempt to talk to others. But if you were put in a group with them for whatever reason they'd be lovely to talk to. Others have older parents or as someone else said were raised by an older generation e.g. grandparents. This type of person would be one that never bothered anyone though and they're good to have around. Just as people have the "wild friend" they sometimes have the "middle aged friend".

Nothing wrong with them, they generally have common factors though. Speaking broadly of course. Generally. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

I don't think it's how impressionable the child is rather as said, how domineering and controlling the parent is.

Some children are just reduced to living a life of borderline unconsciousness and downright repression by parents like these.

Say nothing?

Why? When she turns around and tells me not to stand under the heater in the beer garden incase I go up in flames from all the hairspray in my hair, I can laugh at that because its funny. But it's still commenting on my appearance.

You must have weird friends when you can't give your honest opinion on their appearance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭Millicent

Why? When she turns around and tells me not to stand under the heater in the beer garden incase I go up in flames from all the hairspray in my hair, I can laugh at that because its funny. But it's still commenting on my appearance.

You must have weird friends when you can't give your honest opinion on their appearance

But why do you feel the need to comment on your friends' appearances? :confused: Genuine question. I've never felt the need to do so outside of telling a friend that they look well on a night out or something.

BNMC wrote: »
    If you've nothing nice to say, say nothing at all.

You come across as very shallow and not a very nice person.

Oh the irony in that post! :D you give great advice in the first sentence and then come along and crap all over your own advice in the next sentence.

God I love boards!

/There was no laughing behind her back lol. She would say something grannyish, people would laugh. She wears Ecco shoes my mother wouldn't have even worn, obviously people will be like what.

Same way as if one of my friends started wearing fishnets hoodies and biking boots, I'd probably say something about them being hideous too. Big deal.

But you're laughing at her facebook pics so unless she's beside you, you're having a snigger behind her back.

If you can't say something nice, you really don't have to say anything.