The "Today I did something to my bike" thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,392 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

Yea, nobody tells you the price of bike bits after!

300e I'd call the going rate for good tyres+fitting.

C&S - look online for the parts yourself - see if your mech will fit them.

The bearings...man good times doing that on my old bike. Replaced the whole steering stem and yolk on a SV...handy enough to get all the parts off but the bearings...if you have time and preferably some one with with it's very doable.

Check online for guides, I'm sure if you bring it up this direction the lads on here will help!

@corkgsxr - are zuki ireland covering the recall? Wasn't sure if they were following the UK

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,363 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

So, to resurrect this thread....

Didn't do it myself, but got myself some new tyres... BT023's difference noticed already in handling. Previous tyres were FAR too worn. Cost a fair bundle though :/ 290 fitted.... then got told I need new Chain and Sprox badly and steering head bearings :( That'll be another 300+ Most likely given I'm not gonna tackle the steering head myself.

Worn tyres, worn headstock bearing, worn C&S? By the time you get through that list, you'll wonder how you were able to ride the thing before!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,388 ✭✭✭corkgsxr

kaimera wrote: »
    Yea, nobody tells you the price of bike bits after!

300e I'd call the going rate for good tyres+fitting.

C&S - look online for the parts yourself - see if your mech will fit them.

The bearings...man good times doing that on my old bike. Replaced the whole steering stem and yolk on a SV...handy enough to get all the parts off but the bearings...if you have time and preferably some one with with it's very doable.

Check online for guides, I'm sure if you bring it up this direction the lads on here will help!

@corkgsxr - are zuki ireland covering the recall? Wasn't sure if they were following the UK

Yep tyner or priory. I think o neils in kerry too.

In fairness to tyner. Drive in drive out all sorted. No wait for parts etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 39,909 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

corkgsxr wrote: »
    New suzuki master (recall)

Master what?

I'm partial to your abracadabra
    I'm raptured by the joy of it all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,923 ✭✭✭Wossack

cylinder*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,650 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

cantdecide wrote: »
    Worn tyres, worn headstock bearing, worn C&S? By the time you get through that list, you'll wonder how you were able to ride the thing before!!

I'm beginning to think I bought a lemon.... :/ Ah well, I get tax back soon and that'll sort the rest of the things.

And I should have gone to Tyner again, never even headed down that way, fell for the Fazer too fast :/ At least with Tyner I'd have some come back, he's pretty sound about what he does. The cnut I bought it off is some sort of Cowboy I now think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,388 ✭✭✭corkgsxr

I'm beginning to think I bought a lemon.... :/ Ah well, I get tax back soon and that'll sort the rest of the things.

And I should have gone to Tyner again, never even headed down that way, fell for the Fazer too fast :/ At least with Tyner I'd have some come back, he's pretty sound about what he does. The cnut I bought it off is some sort of Cowboy I now think.

Iv bought 3 bikes of tyner and only bother I had was fork seals on a hornet 250 which he done straight way.

corkgsxr wrote: »
    Iv bought 3 bikes of tyner and only bother I had was fork seals on a hornet 250 which he done straight way.

I was stupid and got tunnel vision on what I want :( First bike I got off him was in great shape for the most part, little dirty under the panels, but great runner. Should have gone again. :/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Don't beat yourself up over it dazzler, we all trip up once in awhile and learn from our mistakes.

Ah yeah, over all it's still a grand bike. It's only money.... you'd think my dad, who's been riding longer than I've been breathing would have said it was a lemon though he said nothing to influence one way or the other :pac:

Ah well, once I've these bits and pieces done it'll be mechanically perfect, then it's just a sort the speedo drive, and probably do a paint job on the whole thing. Midnight Blue with sparkly flecks :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Wonda-Boy

Ah yeah, over all it's still a grand bike. It's only money.... you'd think my dad, who's been riding longer than I've been breathing would have said it was a lemon though he said nothing to influence one way or the other :pac:

Ah well, once I've these bits and pieces done it'll be mechanically perfect, then it's just a sort the speedo drive, and probably do a paint job on the whole thing. Midnight Blue with sparkly flecks :pac:

Ahh sure when you do fix it up and put that loving touch to it...you will love it even more knowing you did the work. Its a special bond you get when you service or work on your own bike.

Wonda-Boy wrote: »
    Ahh sure when you do fix it up and put that loving touch to it...you will love it even more knowing you did the work. Its a special bond you get when you service or work on your own bike.

So far the only thing done to the bitch not done by me are the tyres. :) So Quite happy she has taught me a fair bit. Can't wait to find other jobs that I can get done or make up to do once either the good weather runs around or my buddy finally buys a house with a garage :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭sean61

I finally got to fire up the R1 today after doing the valve clearances. My throttle cable was badly frayed at the carbs and I thought I'd give it a go while the bike was out of action. It went well considering it was my first time but the aftermarket cable was causing a sticky throttle so I had to wait a while for an OEM replacement to arrive so I could finish the job. If I was doing it again I'd try get the cam chain off without removing the tensioner completely because that was a right pain in the a*** to get back on! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,266 ✭✭✭Richard tea

Didnt actually do anything today except for planed to fit the new night breaker bulb tomorrow and maybe fit the camera mount to my helmet. I havent been on the bike since the end of november:o Dont think ill be on it for a few weeks yet ( ****ty weather ) so ill pop it back into the shed. Even though the bike has been covered outside the chain still started to show signs of rusting. Ill go for a 30 min spin tomorrow and then pop her into the shed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,783 ✭✭✭Vikings

Finally got round to cleaning the chain with kerosene today, and damn does it do a good job of it too. Grunge brush + kerosene = like new chain!

While I was out in the cold I decided to pull off my calipers and give the pistons a brush down with some soapy water to remove some crap off them. Front ones weren't too bad but the rear was a right pain in the hole. Had new rear brake pads I was going to put on but struggled so much to get the pistons back into place that I gave in. Though I did manage to get the old pads back in and back onto the frame so if there is a dry spell over the next day or two i'll replace them.

Annoyingly though there is still a slight rubbing from the front brakes even after the clean. Was hoping that would have solved it.

Fitted the camera to the helmet. Attempted to fit the new bulb but it didnt work. Fitted the old bulb back but that didnt work either:confused: So my next job is to strip out the wiring out of the headlight and check all connections. It not damp or wet inside the headlight but its fairly rusted so ill wire brush that away and respray it with chrome paint.

Figured out the problem with the bulb thanks to a post on the IBF site. Basically when I hit the starter switch it was not returning to its resting position which causes the headlight to fail. Strangely enough the pass light still worked. Wonda-boy & blu3rorion will remember taping up my pass switch before to keep my headlight on. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Wonda-Boy

Figured out the problem with the bulb thanks to a post on the IBF site. Basically when I hit the starter switch it was not returning to its resting position which causes the headlight to fail. Strangely enough the pass light still worked. Wonda-boy & blu3rorion will remember taping up my pass switch before to keep my headlight on. ;)

Ah jaysus Joe, I must have re-told that story about 50 times....I SWEAR. It will stay with me till the day I die, its what motorbikes are all about the funniest stories when out on spins. Freezing fog, red eyes and riding about 20 miles with the visor up with no lights.

YOU CANT WRITE THIS STUFF.... ;);)

Wonda-Boy wrote: »
    Ah jaysus Joe, I must have re-told that story about 50 times....I SWEAR. It will stay with me till the day I die, its what motorbikes are all about the funniest stories when out on spins. Freezing fog, red eyes and riding about 20 miles with the visor up with no lights.

YOU CANT WRITE THIS STUFF.... ;);)

lol, Frozen snot on my face like the scene from dumb and dumber. I didnt even know the headlight was gone until we pulled in. It started off a clear fresh morning and within 20 mins of leaving the cafe we where covered in major thick fog:eek: Give it a few weeks until the roads are not so slick & ill be out again (with a pair of goggles:cool:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,269 ✭✭✭thecivvie

Take it's a Honda then. Both my old Deauville and now my Pan have done the same

Join Ireland Weather Network

thecivvie wrote: »
    Take it's a Honda then. Both my old Deauville and now my Pan have done the same

It sure is. Although there has been a few electrical faults I have to say the engine is bullet proof so far. I have left it outside for nearly 4 weeks in all sorts of weather and she still starts on the 1st or 2nd attempt. Not bad for a 20 year old bike:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,012 ✭✭✭serious3

fitted new discs and pads to the triumph, cleared space for the new arrival.....:D

Sat in E Motorcycles whilst they fitted new pads and did the seals on the calipers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 815 ✭✭✭rustynutz

Finally changed the fork seals on the R1 over the Christmas break, cleaned the chain with Kerosene and cleaned last summers flies off the fairings :)

It sure is. Although there has been a few electrical faults I have to say the engine is bullet proof so far. I have left it outside for nearly 4 weeks in all sorts of weather and she still starts on the 1st or 2nd attempt. Not bad for a 20 year old bike:)

Yeah both my old Deauville and now my Pan sit outside, I did invest in a decent cover for the Pan. Start first touch of the button, no matter the weather

Today I got pullled over by the Guards because apparently some prick took it upon himself to relieve me of that pesky licence plate that was a drag on my bike.

So, me with no licence, Tax Disc or licence plate looking like I'm the dumbest bike thief in existence. Luckily they believed me so I just have to show all my ****e tomorrow. So fcuking annoyed though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 240 ✭✭dwelby101

Today I had a look to see if my rectifier/regulator was the cause of bulbs blowing and battery dying... Turns out it is indeed banjaxed... next thing to test, the stator
    1521712_10202815567409867_1117049563_n.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭CJhaughey

Today I got pullled over by the Guards because apparently some prick took it upon himself to relieve me of that pesky licence plate that was a drag on my bike.

So, me with no licence, Tax Disc or licence plate looking like I'm the dumbest bike thief in existence. Luckily they believed me so I just have to show all my ****e tomorrow. So fcuking annoyed though
    Next time use hex head bolts and superglue a small ball bearing into the hole, stops casual scum stealing this stuff.
    You could use a proper security bolt but this just makes it difficult for them.

Got Osram Nightbreaker Unlimited and fitted one to my bike, went to fit the other.... it's no H4 :( Need to figure out what it is now and get another

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,012 ✭✭✭serious3

didn't do much realy as it only arrived today, other than fondling it:o