Farming Chit Chat III

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

biddy2013 wrote: »
    the one i had last night was bizzare i went out to dry cow shed and there was 4 cows after calving they all had ch calves :confused::confused: even though theres none due to calve til january

dream means that

your preggers and its not husbands:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,391 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

New fooking bull keeps on walking through electric fences, which is a disaster at the second because the yard just has an electric fence to split up the groups. Any suggestions? Should i try shave his back, he is quite hairy, might feel it more then! Fence has full strength, should be knocking him out but he ain't even feeling it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭biddy2013

Timmaay wrote: »
    New fooking bull keeps on walking through electric fences, which is a disaster at the second because the yard just has an electric fence to split up the groups. Any suggestions? Should i try shave his back, he is quite hairy, might feel it more then! Fence has full strength, should be knocking him out but he ain't even feeling it!
    has he a ring in his nose?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

Check strength of fence again, give him a good wetting even though he should be wet with the weather, and like biddy says a ring on nose with a few feet of light chain will put a stop to his gallop.

But I would check fence strength.

has he a ring in his nose?

No

No

There is your problem. Put in a ring. He will get a shock off fence through ring. We never sell a bull without a ring in him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,408 ✭✭✭bbam

Shiit happens !!

I overfilled her car with oil thismorning and looks like I ****ed the engine :mad:
    Really stupid rookie mistake..

Nothing like facing into January with a huge bill looming :eek:

kids normally go to my sister on christmas eve afternoon so we can sort presents, youngest lad has vomiting bug so my plans are fooked:mad:

There is your problem. Put in a ring. He will get a shock off fence through ring. We never sell a bull without a ring in him

How easy is it to put in a ring? Spend the last 2hrs between chasing him around, putting in a 2nd strand of wire and checking the old one (which defo is full strength) , clipped some of his hair, i even threw a bucket of water over him so he'd feel the shock, ****er walked straight through the fence again :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Brown Podzol

How easy is it to put in a ring? Spend the last 2hrs between chasing him around, putting in a 2nd strand of wire and checking the old one (which defo is full strength) , clipped some of his hair, i even threw a bucket of water over him so he'd feel the shock, ****er walked straight through the fence again :(

Get the lightest chain possible, one for hanging a picture may suit, tie around neck or through the ring, about once and a half or two times the length of the bull. The chain will conduct the shock to him even after he has gone through the fence. Be ready to turn off the fence as he may not be able to move with the shocks. He won't go through it again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,123 ✭✭✭visatorro

the girlfriend locked the keys in her car last night. along with her phone and handbag. just as well im good with a pry bar and a coat hanger!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

bbam wrote: »
    Shiit happens !!

I overfilled her car with oil thismorning and looks like I ****ed the engine :mad:
    Really stupid rookie mistake..

Nothing like facing into January with a huge bill looming :eek:

It's that sort of day esp if things have been going ok. Found a weanling dead upside down in a feed trough this morning, third casualty in a month through some form of accident. Sh1t happens all of the time, you just gotta roll with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Brown Podzol

It's that sort of day esp if things have been going ok. Found a weanling dead upside down in a feed trough this morning, third casualty in a month through some form of accident. Sh1t happens all of the time, you just gotta roll with it.

Misery begets misery, found a third lactation cow caught on the scraper against a gate yesterday, dead as a dodo.

I heard that Zurich farm insurance cover accidental animal deaths, anyone have insurance with them, would cover likes of these accidents. Most deaths by us are old cows around calving, or young calves, haven't lost a weanlings or incalf heifer etc in yrs, touch wood!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Right we better stop this now or everyones buzz will be ruined and we'll end up in a momathon. I was trying to cheer bbam up by pointing out that sh1t wasn't just happening to him, now that I write it down it's a dumb idea.

we have the punchers for putting in the ring ourselves, vet would put it in for you

Right we better stop this now or everyones buzz will be ruined and we'll end up in a momathon. I was trying to cheer bbam up by pointing out that sh1t wasn't just happening to him, now that I write it down it's a dumb idea.
    right only happy posts from now on :D

Feck it.
    As the auld fella used to say; " if you can close the door and leave it outside, everything is ok"

Just opened a bottle of Bordaux we brought back from holidays and had a steak, I'm feeling better already. !!

HOw about a festive scene to cheer us up !!
    Took this about an hour ago..., there's ten wind turbines on that hill over there !

Many others getting snow out there???... its very Christmassey, the girls are up the walls with excitement !!

7o3r.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 859 ✭✭✭jomoloney

don't suppose you have any spare cow mats and some mesh

electrfy the mesh just infront of the electric fence on top of the mats ( a small area will do )

when he has 2 front feet on mesh he will get a fair wollop

we uses this method for training sheep to 2 or 3 strand fence

• Closed Accounts Posts: 615 ✭✭✭Boaty

Ambulance, ambulance car and fire engine just after going over the fields, hopefully everyone is ok

Coastguard helicopter there now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Boaty wrote: »
    Ambulance, ambulance car and fire engine just after going over the fields, hopefully everyone is ok

As in they drove over the fields:confused:

I heard that Zurich farm insurance cover accidental animal deaths, anyone have insurance with them, would cover likes of these accidents. Most deaths by us are old cows around calving, or young calves, haven't lost a weanlings or incalf heifer etc in yrs, touch wood!

Are zurich competitive?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,965 ✭✭✭C0N0R

Happy Christmas guys, hope you and your family are all well and have a great few days. No sign of snow here as I put on the shorts to go milk!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭jersey101

C0N0R wrote: »
    Happy Christmas guys, hope you and your family are all well and have a great few days. No sign of snow here as I put on the shorts to go milk!!

that would be grand, nice warm weather fir christmas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,557 ✭✭✭simx

jersey101 wrote: »
    that would be grand, nice warm weather fir christmas

Aslong as the warm weather comes in mid feb/march when it's wanted don't worry About Christmas :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

Are zurich competitive?

I can't see any company offering all risks on animals without it being stupid money. Animals and humans are made to die, get used of it unfortunately.

Bloody snow has one of our calving pens in sh*te. We have the shed enclosed with a crush between two calving pens and above the crush is open about 16ft x 8 to let airflow in. (I'n not good at eye guesswork so I could be very wrong) Snow has been blowing in all day with a wind off the lake and two calves we were weaning looked like welfare cases when feeding this evening:eek:

So had to do a complete reshuffle in the shed to let them in with the others. On the other hand, first two cows are overdue from today, let the fun begin:D

kovu i got a present of the irish farmers 2014 calrnder, mr november might suit you;) some nice lads in it

Is it quadboy or bob? :D

Just looked them up now, some fair pouts going on with the June lads!!
    Give me the fella on the right in April and I'll be happy:D