muslim staff can refuse to serve pork or alcohol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭StinkyMunkey

rarnes1 wrote: »
    Daily Mail keeps on giving

Religion keeps on giving O.o

True!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,787 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

The workers have probably been threatened by extremists who are also trying to get Muslim owned shops to stop selling alcohol. Or are doing it out of fear after seeing what the extremists have threatened to do to the shopkeepers recently. Otherwise why was this not an issue for the workers last year or ten years ago?

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2523658/Muslim-campaigners-protest-sale-alcohol-popular-East-London-area.html

My link is from the Daily Mail but there was coverage in other papers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭StinkyMunkey

The workers have probably been threatened by extremists who are also trying to get Muslim owned shops to stop selling alcohol. Or are doing it out of fear after seeing what the extremists have threatened to do to the shopkeepers recently. Otherwise why was this not an issue for the workers last year or ten years ago?

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2523658/Muslim-campaigners-protest-sale-alcohol-popular-East-London-area.html

My link is from the Daily Mail but there was coverage in other papers.

A guy I work with family own an off licence in the states, they are practicing Muslims and work rather die than drink alcohol - go figure 0.o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,749 ✭✭✭Smiles35

Lol at the uproar of yous, cant buy your gargle or cheapo meat. Oh, but it's me culture!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

For those of you were born within the last 20-25 years and don't know. That happened here in backward little Ireland for long enough. I once went into a sports shop to buy a groin guard/groin protection for a martial arts tournament. The wagon behind the counter didn't know what I was talking about and assumed it was condoms. So she then went into a hysterical frenzy about the Pope, morals blah, blah, blah. It was a whole new level of crazy I had never seen before or since.

Today has been a great AH day for me. I have now got two cool names for things. From now on Brussel Sprouts are "little cabbage b@stards" and condoms are "groin guards". I love Christmas!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,886 ✭✭✭JuliusCaesar

What if I were uncomfortable serving people with their faces obscured by scaves? What's that? Fired you say?

It's not a scarf, it's an atheist balaclava. Now just GIVE me the bloddy wine and condoms! :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,056 ✭✭✭_Redzer_

And this kids, is why religion is retarded

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I'm so outraged by this I may never sleep again.

Many shops have signs above which tills take alcohol.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭zenno

But what about selling pork signs ?, do they have signs for this ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,787 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

What about ham?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,310 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Jaysus, that's severe. I can see the BNP etc getting a lot of followers over this. I'm surprised there hasn't been something along the lines of gang warfare over this?

=-=

I'd be tempted to troll. Go in whilst it's busy, fill the trolley, and have a 6 pack and some pork in the middle. And when they can't serve me due to cloud-fairy reason, walk out of the shop.

Heck, I'd wonder how many people have done this for the craic?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭scotchy

What about ham?

Is wafer thin ham okay?

💙 💛 💙 💛 💙 💛

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭marketty

For those of you were born within the last 20-25 years and don't know. That happened here in backward little Ireland for long enough. I once went into a sports shop to buy a groin guard/groin protection for a martial arts tournament. The wagon behind the counter didn't know what I was talking about and assumed it was condoms. So she then went into a hysterical frenzy about the Pope, morals blah, blah, blah. It was a whole new level of crazy I had never seen before or since.

C-U-P, I wanna C-U...O MY LORD!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

What about ham?

What about it? Nobody is holding a gun to your head, you can go to another till, or another shop.

I was in Tesco the other day and picked up 11 funsize packets of Kitkats. When I saw the ten items or less sign at the checkout I left them back in disgust and I haven't left the house since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

What about it? Nobody is holding a gun to your head, you can go to another till, or another shop.

I was in Tesco the other day and picked up 11 funsize packets of Kitkats. When I saw the ten items or less sign at the checkout I left them back in disgust and I haven't left the house since.

The trick there is to open then them all and then take the individual chocolate bars through the till...

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭Knasher

I was under the impression that the ban on alcohol and pork products only related to drinking and eating them. Does this mean that muslim doctors in hospitals will be looking for an exception to using the alcohol based hand sanitizers? For people in a supermarket, there is a layer of glass or something so they never actually touch the stuff, doctors are expected to use it on their hands, and I'd imagine at least a little will get absorbed through their skin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

. When I saw the ten items or less sign at the checkout I left them back in disgust and I haven't left the house since.

Those signs disgust me as well.

It should of course be "ten items or fewer".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

Those are there as a faster option for those who are only picking up a few things to get through quicker. The signs are for alcohol as the law doesnt allow alcohol to be sold to or by minors. This is about someone just deciding they dont want to scan a few items of shopping.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭jam_mac_jam

If they object to serving people pork or alcohol then they should work somewhere else. This is fairly pathetic. It's normal Muslims I feel sorry for when I hear about this nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,394 ✭✭✭Sheldons Brain

I'm a vegan and I just got this handy job in a butchers.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,373 ✭✭✭Phoebas

My local Tesco isn't allowed to sell me alcohol on Good Friday for religious reasons.
    I'm not outraged.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,056 ✭✭✭_Redzer_

Phoebas wrote: »
    My local Tesco isn't allowed to sell me alcohol on Good Friday for religious reasons.
    I'm not outraged.

Neither am I, but I'm not religious. Based on principle alone I should be allowed to buy as much drink as I want, whenever I want.

The problem with this country is religious people don't seem to understand that you have a choice to not do things that conflict with your beliefs, but instead they see it as nobody should be allowed it because of my beliefs. It's like they can't practise self control or something so the government has to make sure they do.

No drink on Good Friday is a load of 1950s bollocks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭Wattle

There should be a little wriggle room in this situation. Ok they are selling the pork and alcohol but their not consuming it themselves. Surely that's the most important thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,373 ✭✭✭Phoebas

_Redzer_ wrote: »
    Neither am I, but I'm not religious. Based on principle alone I should be allowed to buy as much drink as I want, whenever I want.

The problem with this country is religious people don't seem to understand that you have a choice to not do things that conflict with your beliefs, but instead they see it as nobody should be allowed it because of my beliefs. It's like they can't practise self control or something so the government has to make sure they do.

No drink on Good Friday is a load of 1950s bollocks.

Of course it is. Its a silly little rule, but not something I'd be getting my knickers in a twist over. Just like this silly thing in M&S.
    Just go to the next till where you can buy your sausages and beer. No big deal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,142 ✭✭✭Hitchens

What's wrong here? only one member of the PC Brigade 'anti-racist' crew popped the little head up so far :confused:

hold the popcorn for awhile :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,687 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

Pastafarians should refuse to handle pasta.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,114 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

Hitchens wrote: »
    What's wrong here? only one member of the PC Brigade 'anti-racist' crew popped the little head up so far :confused:

Iv been accused of being "pc brigady" on here..
    I find this decision ridiculous

Can Catholic staff refuse to sell condoms? Is ridiculous

My friend works in a muslim run restraunt in Galway, they don't sell alcohol but will allow you bring your own - which is sound

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,592 ✭✭✭cerastes

I'm not outraged.

That is ridiculous too though
    Of course it is. Its a silly little rule, but not something I'd be getting my knickers in a twist over. Just like this silly thing in M&S.
    Just go to the next till where you can buy your sausages and beer. No big deal.

So what does a customer have to do, bad enough hedging your bets on which Q is gonna get slowed down, now people have to check for religion, its just too much stupid in one go, how will they be identified? do they wear a head scarf in work?
    Pastafarians should refuse to handle pasta.

or maybe refuse to deal with the anti paste.

Im rightly righteously indignant, fortunately Im poor and cant afford to shop in M&S.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 369 ✭✭Friend Computer

Hitchens wrote: »

I'd say they're enjoying the show from the "right on" types getting bent out of shape so far!