Farming Chit Chat III

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭Sharpshooter82

biddy2013 wrote: »
    nope.... oh was driving, last time i drank any type of whiskey i dont remember alot about it:o about 20 years ago
    good night so, how old is your first born again

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭biddy2013

good night so
    think so

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

only thing is, that the fitness you gain can be lost quickly as its a different type of training plus you plateau easily

Well the plan is to combine it with cardio to keep the mix.

reilig wrote: »
    Well the plan is to combine it with cardio to keep the mix.
    yeah you have to, keep it mixed up and remember running less distance is the same as adding distance to confusing the body and avoiding plateauing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Met Mícheál Ó Muircheartaigh today. He looks so young for his age:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,408 ✭✭✭bbam

just had my first hot whiskey ever.....feeling old:o

You should try a hot port... nice and warming too..

Or just Brandy and Port, Double of Port and a measure of Brandy - drink of kings !!

bbam wrote: »
    You should try a hot port... nice and warming too..

Or just Brandy and Port, Double of Port and a measure of Brandy - drink of kings !!
    drank brandy and baileys one night, i nearly died,wasn't pub measures, never ever ever ever again, i was still drunk a day later:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

Anyone doing 30 plus Men's fitness or any other type of HIT training?

I've been lacking on the training front a bit since I retired from football. Have been cycling but the weather and the family at this time of year don't help with getting out on the road.

I'm signed up for a 30 day programme from January 6th but I have to do some training to get myself up to speed for then.

The whole idea of the programme is that you can do it in 15 or 20 minutes every evening in the garage or back yard and it fits in with family and work life. The high intensity really gives a burn. I'm just in from 100 pushups and 200 squats in 12 minutes and I'm fecked. Need the bed now. But it's interesting and enjoyable - there's a different workout for every night of the week.

Sounds good

Get rid of that fancy bale machine and go back to grapeing the silage:D

hugo29 wrote: »
    Sounds good

Get rid of that fancy bale machine and go back to grapeing the silage:D

Ha good luck with that one :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 412 ✭✭Rho b

Anyone doing 30 plus Men's fitness or any other type of HIT training?

I've been lacking on the training front a bit since I retired from football. Have been cycling but the weather and the family at this time of year don't help with getting out on the road.

I'm signed up for a 30 day programme from January 6th but I have to do some training to get myself up to speed for then.

The whole idea of the programme is that you can do it in 15 or 20 minutes every evening in the garage or back yard and it fits in with family and work life. The high intensity really gives a burn. I'm just in from 100 pushups and 200 squats in 12 minutes and I'm fecked. Need the bed now. But it's interesting and enjoyable - there's a different workout for every night of the week.
    Is there a female equivalent of the 30's plus Men's fitness?
    I do TKD although I have got lazy in the last couple of years and do not attend regular classes, auld age setting in ;) However I have my kick/boxing bag hanging in the house and most days I try to do a least 20 mins bag work along with patterns etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

Don't forget now the free drainage workout is still available.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

Don't forget now the free drainage workout is still available.

how much does the DVD cost?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

If you've to ask....... Ya can't afford it :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

Rho b wrote: »
    Is there a female equivalent of the 30's plus Men's fitness?
    I do TKD although I have got lazy in the last couple of years and do not attend regular classes, auld age setting in ;) However I have my kick/boxing bag hanging in the house and most days I try to do a least 20 mins bag work along with patterns etc.

Knitting as well?:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

Ah now, this is the real McCoy, no faffing around with DVD's. It's like a culchie version of fat boot camp We can't all make our fortune watching paint dry on the internet ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

I must join ye in yer fitness buzz. I was too busy up till now.
    Doing snags with the plumber and electrician on my house in the morning and moving in in the afternoon. :-) :-) :-)
    Nearly 3 years building. ...... time to get my life back now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Doing snags with the plumber and electrician on my house in the morning and moving in in the afternoon. :-) :-) :-)

3 years I thought I was bad:rolleyes:.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 859 ✭✭✭jomoloney

happy days

3 years I thought I was bad:rolleyes:.

Between doing 80% of the work myself and baby in the middle of the build, full time job, farming (and 6 or 8 months where I totally lost interest)..... its not too bad, not great either.
    Ps. Planning took 4 years

Between doing 80% of the work myself and baby in the middle of the build, full time job, farming (and 6 or 8 months where I totally lost interest)..... its not too bad, not great either.

Planning dont talk to me about it

There is a huge thread devoted to it in the "construction & planning" forum. Glad its all behind me tbh

if you block someone do they know you have them blocked and can they still send you pms?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

if you block someone do they know you have them blocked and can they still send you pms?

Talk to reilig or rovi by pm

They don't know that you have them blocked. Not sure about the PMs

They don't know you have them blocked. Yes they can still send pm's (I think)

Will banks still allow you to lodge an endorsed third party cheque? Specifically Ulster Bank?

I was something similar not quite as long but if I was doing it again I don't think I'd put a hand to it myself other than making sure trades arrived on schedule and had what they needed. I don't think the savings are that great TBH and I don't have the hands for getting work as right as a tradesman would. Planning was a bitch here too because my name was being used by someone else to get a planning elsewhere while I was applying for my own:eek:. I couldn't figure out why the planners were so hostile.

Will banks still allow you to lodge an endorsed third party cheque? Specifically Ulster Bank?

In my recent experience with UB no, certainly in Waterford. The cheque in question was from a major food company but they still woulddn't lodge it for me. Like it wasn't a bob charles one or a delaval one:P.

We moved into ours this day 4 years ago. The stairs were on the ground in the sitting room, only one bedroom painted, kitchen half finished, no footpath etc. We were 3 years building it and just wanted to move in.

Myself and my brother in law did an awful lot of the work - 8pm to 3 am was the most productive time of the day back then. Recon we saved €60 to €80k over subbing it out. We didn't skimp either - got a good high spec finish.

In my recent experience with UB no, certainly in Waterford. The cheque in question was from a major food company but they still woulddn't lodge it for me. Like it wasn't a bob charles one or a delaval one:P.

Did they say why? Was it crossed or anything?