Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off-Topic Thread

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 10,093 Mod ✭✭✭✭marco_polo

By the way lads. I forgot to mention about Asus O play yoke. Its damn great and works like it should. So far it plays every single file in my library. Having a remote just to pop that sucker on and watch something is great. It is a bit pricy, but it is functional and does video playback perfect.

Glad you like it ;), mine has an annoying tendancy to lock up occasional at the ASUS splash screen from a cold boot (its always fine if you turn it on/off from standby), but apart from that it is a decent piece of kit. I replaced it with a HTPC in the living room but I am definitely hanging onto it for traveling etc as it is super handy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,698 ✭✭✭Gumbi

Think I'm gonna treat myself to a Samsung EVO 250GB... Fantastic performance and great pricing. I paid 190 euro for a 128gig M4 over 2 years ago, so for just over 140 euro I get double the storage and much better performance... yes please :)

Not looking for the headache of reinstalling Windows etc and all my programmes, what would ye recommend? I've not used cloning software before, any recommendations? That kind of software will let Windows work on the new SSD, correct?

In addition, Windows 8 seems to perform quite well with SSDs and some new games, it might be worth the upgrade if I can get it cheaply... Would I then be able to upgrade to 8 from 7 and keep all my data on my new SSD?

Thanks :) 'Twas my bday recently and seeing as it's Christmas, I'm happy to splurge a bit ;)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 10,093 Mod ✭✭✭✭marco_polo

Loads of cloning options but one I use most is the the free version of a program called EaseUS Todo Backup

http://www.easeus.com/backup-software/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,182 ✭✭✭Genghiz Cohen

Is it ok to just clone an OS like that?

Would it be ok to install Windows on one machine, let it update then move the HDD to a completely different machine?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,689 Mod ✭✭✭✭stevenmu

Is it ok to just clone an OS like that?
    I'm not 100% sure, but I believe newer versions of Windows will detect that it's now running from a different HD and deactivate. I believe you can activate it again easily by ringing MS, explaining that you swapped out the hard disk, and they'll give you an activation code.

stevenmu wrote: »
    I'm not 100% sure, but I believe newer versions of Windows will detect that it's now running from a different HD and deactivate. I believe you can activate it again easily by ringing MS, explaining that you swapped out the hard disk, and they'll give you an activation code.

Supposedly they have a weighted points system for each component type, and if a certain points threshold is exceeded based on the parts changed then windows gets deactivated. I'd say its unlikely that just a disk replacement by itself would trip this.

Anyone know where I could get a cheap copy of Rome 2: Total War? Downloadable copy and sub 30 euro preferably. Thanks! There seem to be cd key sites selling them for just over 20 quid, but having not bought from them before or anything I'm not sure if they're trustworthy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,132 ✭✭✭game4it70

Gumbi wrote: »
    Anyone know where I could get a cheap copy of Rome 2: Total War? Downloadable copy and sub 30 euro preferably. Thanks! There seem to be cd key sites selling them for just over 20 quid, but having not bought from them before or anything I'm not sure if they're trustworthy.

http://www.cjs-cdkeys.com/products/Total-War-Rome-2-Steam-CD-Key.html

http://www.simplycdkeys.com/steam/total-war-rome-ii

I've used both of them before and there fine to use.CJS seem to be faster to deliver the key.

game4it70 wrote: »
    http://www.cjs-cdkeys.com/products/Total-War-Rome-2-Steam-CD-Key.html

http://www.simplycdkeys.com/steam/total-war-rome-ii

I've used both of them before and there fine to use.CJS seem to be faster to deliver the key.

Thanks, 23 euro seems good to me :) Peasants spending up to 70 quid on games this Christmas :pac:

CJS-cdkeys, it seems like I'm shipping the key to myself? Do they not just email it to me? I am filling out a form and I am adding a billing address (understandable, it's PayPal), but then I must add a shipping address (to which they add there is no shipping fee), but is this just for the signup? Will they be emailing me they key?

It's weird, it states a shipping adrees on the order page (am just about to pay), but under the game it says "ships instantly via the Autokey system". Does this mean it will be via email?

Thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,132 ✭✭✭game4it70

Yeah you will be mailed the key.I'd imagine the shipping address is just for your cjs account details.I had to give all those details and phone number.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Anyone have any suggestions on the best s1150 board for around 80-100 euro mark? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 638 ✭✭✭MRTULES

Cheapest place to buy windows 8?
    I know win 7 is €35 from pcfritz.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭Danger781

I get relatively frequent screen tearing. Is this due to my overclock, or could it be something else?

It seems to have subsided a lot in the past two days as MSI Afterburner has expired (I don't know why, but haven't re-downloaded it yet)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 465 ✭✭raymix

Danger781 wrote: »
    I get relatively frequent screen tearing. Is this due to my overclock, or could it be something else?

It seems to have subsided a lot in the past two days as MSI Afterburner has expired (I don't know why, but haven't re-downloaded it yet)

are you using Qnix?
    I am also getting annoying screen tear, doesn't matter if using vsync or not (mostly in Skyrim). So impression was that it's to do with the S**te monitor I got.
    Time for some research...

raymix wrote: »
    are you using Qnix?
    I am also getting annoying screen tear, doesn't matter if using vsync or not (mostly in Skyrim). So impression was that it's to do with the S**te monitor I got.
    Time for some research...

Yes, it is a QNIX. I don't know what Vsync is so I assume I don't have it.

Mine occurs even outside of a game. Just casual browsing and it happens.

However, as I mentioned, since afterburner expired (i.e. My cards are not overclocked) it seems to have subsided. Haven't tried gaming yet without afterburner, so we'll see how that fairs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 465 ✭✭raymix

Danger, Vsync reduces framerate coming from GPU to monitor to run synchronously with monitor's refresh rate, effectively eliminating the screen tearing that happens when frame rates are running asynchronously. It is best used when accompanied with tripple buffering setting (increases requirement for VRAM)
    Also because frame rate is lowered to 60fps (60Hz monitor), your GPU runs cooler, since no extra job is required.
    Adaptive v-sync from nVidia eliminates need for tripple buffering, but doesn't always work unfortunately.

Vsync can be turned on/off in your graphics card control panel or within pretty much any game as a part of video setting under options. Play around with this, see if it fixes your problem.

Although screen tearing outside game is a weird one, I have no answer to that

Pretty sure I don't have vysnc, considering I have an AMD card :o

Danger781 wrote: »
    Pretty sure I don't have vysnc, considering I have an AMD card :o

VSync doesn't care what card you have, you're probably thinking of GSync?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

I was a Santy few days ago. I decided to make myself an Xmas present too, **** that, I deserve it! Justp laced an order for this:

10237-the-tower-of-orthanc.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 whos_dan

Also thought I would treat myself :) just waiting for Amazon to get their act together and deliver the CPU and my 350D...

whos_dan wrote: »
    Also thought I would treat myself :) just waiting for Amazon to get their act together and deliver the CPU and my 350D...

Nice :) I have an evo on the way myself from Amazon :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 whos_dan

Gumbi wrote: »
    Nice :) I have an evo on the way myself from Amazon :)

Amazon are very slow during the Holiday season. Took them a week to dispatch my order, when everything was in stock! Hardwareversand had already delivered my components before Amazon dispatched my case and CPU -_-

I ordered on Friday night, but my card kept being rejected (I need to swap to my current one, which turned out not to work) so it took me 'til today to cop on and my bro's card, I do hope I have it by this Friday/next Monday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,922 ✭✭✭Wossack

You should get a pretty nifty cloning program with the EVO Gumbi - Ive not used it, but reportedly quite good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 231 ✭✭alex1997123

^Samsung have there own cloning software?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

^Samsung have there own cloning software?

ye the destination drive has to be a recognised samsung drive though or it won't work

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 81,134 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

Have to send my graphics card back to pcs in the uk, how should I wrap it? Bubble wrap be ok ?

Wossack wrote: »
    You should get a pretty nifty cloning program with the EVO Gumbi - Ive not used it, but reportedly quite good

Awesome, they accepted my card yesterday and dispatched this morning which is good. I expect it by Friday despite it saying 24th as estimated delivery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,644 ✭✭✭✭nesf

Have to send my graphics card back to pcs in the uk, how should I wrap it? Bubble wrap be ok ?

I'd go with, original anti-static sleeve wrapped in bubble wrap, in the original box in a larger box. No I don't trust couriers. :P