Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chit Chat III

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭jersey101

Kovu Murr wrote: »
    They won't have much left of the book to go on! Actually, think I'll dig that out again for tonight.

take you more than one night to read that book :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Hmmm I loved the book, and all the LOTRs books/films but I fell asleep in the cinema while watching the 1st hobbit film ha.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

jersey101 wrote: »
    take you more than one night to read that book :D

You have noooooooooo idea how fast I read! :p

how many pages a minute?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Think they were money laundering.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

The Hobbit's a handy read. It's hard to see how they're gonna get 3 big films out of it.
    I'm looking forward to seeing it.

how many pages a minute?

Never counted it as it depends hugely on page and print size. It's technically speed reading, it was a major help in college!

I see the boss is on the tele box...

Never counted it as it depends hugely on page and print size. It's technically speed reading, it was a major help in college!

like speed debating? That's a crazy yoke. I used to read alot but not too bothered any more,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

CJ H?

Bizzum wrote: »
    CJ H?

Edna kenny, so ron burgendy calls him any way

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

To be fair to him things are improving a little bit , if I was him I would be shouting about it too .

like speed debating? That's a crazy yoke. I used to read alot but not too bothered any more,

Just did an online speed-read test, 626wpm with comprehension of 91%.
    So...eh...fast:p Debating is something I am cr*p at though.

Sorry that means nothing to me :P

As my father would say , why did you not get the other 9% !!

moy83 wrote: »
    As my father would say , why did you not get the other 9% !!

I was wondering if it was going to rain sir. I need to move the cattle out of the bottom field before it floods sir!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,436 ✭✭✭naughto

To be fair to him things are improving a little bit , if I was him I would be shouting about it too .
    might be where ye are but there not where iam.
    robbed this of another thread

Enda Kenny...

- the man who reneged on virtually every pre-election promise the minute he got into power

- who has been more concerned with being a "good European" than representing the people who put him there

- who refuses point blank to debate outside the Dail and even there can't do it without resorting to petty name-calling or deflection tactics about whose party did what (as if ANY of the current parties have a spotless history)

- who's had several members of his party turn against him

- who 2.5 years on is STILL blaming FF on almost a daily basis

- who just had his pet-project referendum on abolishing the Seanad defeated, quite possibly due to the above arrogance and sending Bruton out to do the job for him

- who has a health minister (and party colleague) with apparently less maths ability than Cowen and Bertie having his competence openly questioned by TD's and the media

.. has suddenly decided he's going to be the one to sort out the welfare system?? A guy who has been in "public service" since 1975 and was "double-jobbing" himself for 30 years.

And you people believe it? It didn't occur to you that this might just be another populist attempt to win back his core voters after the 2 latest fiascos? An attempt to distract from these rather embarrassing issues, especially with the local/Euro elections coming up?

Oh and let's not forget Enda's idea of "incentivising" is to push young people back into their parents home (assuming the parents can afford to keep them that is!) or onto a plane. Or extending the massively-abused "Job Bridge" scheme to 18 months - but hey, if it reduces (hides!) the true extent of the problem then sure why not!

I give up. Yes of course Welfare needs to be reformed, but if anyone believes this cardboard cut-out of a "leader" who can't do anything without a prepared speech in front of him, is going to enact any meaningful change then I think you're in for a big disappointment!

safe_image.php?d=AQAO361YZJijKchs&w=210&h=210&url=https%3A%2F%2Fscontent-a-lhr.xx.fbcdn.net%2Fhphotos-ash3%2Fq71%2F1470117_331028250372328_1658404288_n.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

I wonder is he doing any shouting about co funding?

Long day today. Had to count all of the sheep for the census, kept falling asleep.

windy wednesday

QcN4csi.png
    credit goes to the lads on the weather thread

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=88019520#post88019520

naughto wrote: »
    might be where ye are but there not where iam.
    robbed this of another thread

Enda Kenny...

- the man who reneged on virtually every pre-election promise the minute he got into power

- who has been more concerned with being a "good European" than representing the people who put him there

- who refuses point blank to debate outside the Dail and even there can't do it without resorting to petty name-calling or deflection tactics about whose party did what (as if ANY of the current parties have a spotless history)

- who's had several members of his party turn against him

- who 2.5 years on is STILL blaming FF on almost a daily basis

- who just had his pet-project referendum on abolishing the Seanad defeated, quite possibly due to the above arrogance and sending Bruton out to do the job for him

- who has a health minister (and party colleague) with apparently less maths ability than Cowen and Bertie having his competence openly questioned by TD's and the media

.. has suddenly decided he's going to be the one to sort out the welfare system?? A guy who has been in "public service" since 1975 and was "double-jobbing" himself for 30 years.

And you people believe it? It didn't occur to you that this might just be another populist attempt to win back his core voters after the 2 latest fiascos? An attempt to distract from these rather embarrassing issues, especially with the local/Euro elections coming up?

Oh and let's enot forget Enda's idea of "incentivising" is to push young people back into their parents home (assuming the parents can afford to keep them that is!) or onto a plane. Or extending the massively-abused "Job Bridge" scheme to 18 months - but hey, if it reduces (hides!) the true extent of the problem then sure why not!

I give up. Yes of course Welfare needs to be reformed, but if anyone believes this cardboard cut-out of a "leader" who can't do anything without a prepared speech in front of him, is going to enact any meaningful change then I think you're in for a big disappointment!

safe_image.php?d=AQAO361YZJijKchs&w=210&h=210&url=https%3A%2F%2Fscontent-a-lhr.xx.fbcdn.net%2Fhphotos-ash3%2Fq71%2F1470117_331028250372328_1658404288_n.jpg
    Who would you like as leader ? Im not a huge fan of his or anything but I didnt think we would get out of the bailout for another couple of years yet .

I wonder is he doing any shouting about co funding?

Havent heard him beaking about cap at all . Is it between Howlin and Coveney ?

Who would you like as leader ? Im not a huge fan of his or anything but I didnt think we would get out of the bailout for another couple of years yet .
    where not out of the bailout thats the problem.
    not the place to be taling about it,as it has nothing to do with farming

Havent heard him beaking about cap at all . Is it between Howlin and Coveney ?

He want to start, locals coming up soon, GE not all that far away either considering the term of CAP.

From what I hear it'll be between Kenny, Gilmore, Noonan, and Howlin. Coveney won't push for small farmers.

He want to start, locals coming up soon, GE not all that far away either considering the term of CAP.

From what I hear it'll be between Kenny, Gilmore, Noonan, and Howlin. Coveney won't push for small farmers.

I hope our local lad will have enough to say to them . Were you onto him about it ?

He's well informed about it, we had a meeting with him not so long ago. I was on to him about it a couple of times before that.

I can see it being a mickey mouse affair where they will claim they have left no money behind in Europe but won't fund it properly from the Irish side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

naughto wrote: »
    where not out of the bailout thats the problem.
    not the place to be taling about it,as it has nothing to do with farming

Start a thread and put us all right so. TBH though he's right on one thing and you pointed it out in your post. IT'S ALL FIANNA FAILS FAULT, ALL OF IT, COMPLETELY AND UTTERLY, ABSOLUTELY NO DOUBT AS TO WHOSE TO BLAME. MOST OF THE FF MINISTERS FROM THE 3 PREVIOUS GOVERNMENTS WOULD BE IN JAIL FOR CRIMINAL NEGLIGENCE/INCOMPETENCE IF THE COUNTRY WAS BEING RUN PROPERLY.

You question Kenny relationship with Teddy(James Rielly) when Cowen put Sweary Mary in charge of our industry and she immeadiately proceeded to shutdown Irish sugar as her main achievement in office:rolleyes:.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,431 ✭✭✭awaywithyou

Start a thread and put us all right so. TBH though he's right on one thing and you pointed it out in your post. IT'S ALL FIANNA FAILS FAULT, ALL OF IT, COMPLETELY AND UTTERLY, ABSOLUTELY NO DOUBT AS TO WHOSE TO BLAME. MOST OF THE FF MINISTERS FROM THE 3 PREVIOUS GOVERNMENTS WOULD BE IN JAIL FOR CRIMINAL NEGLIGENCE/INCOMPETENCE IF THE COUNTRY WAS BEING RUN PROPERLY.

You question Kenny relationship with Teddy(James Rielly) when Cowen put Sweary Mary in charge of our industry and she immeadiately proceeded to shutdown Irish sugar as her main achievement in office:rolleyes:.

poor mary hadnt a clue what was going on.... what biffo saw in her i dont think we'll ever know or understand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,375 ✭✭✭Suckler

poor mary hadnt a clue what was going on.... what biffo saw in her i dont think we'll ever know or understand

A bizarre appointment if ever there was one. From Minister of Social and family affairs to Agriculture and then given Enterprise,Trade and Employment!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,408 ✭✭✭bbam

To be honest I'm not politically minded but.

I honestly beleive that if FG , LAB, SF or any of them had been in power through the boom years then nothing different would have been done. It's part of our political system that somehow we turn decent people into greedy selfish pigs of politicians. I've no doubt that if Enda and co had been at the trough , they would have gorged themselves at everyone's expense.

We don't have a person in a party capable of leading this country fairly. Our political system is a shambles.
    Enda Kenny is no better than Berty, Brian Cowan or Micheal Martin. He just didn't get into power soon enough to line his pockets.