Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farming Chit Chat III

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

jersey101 wrote: »
    Fathers friend was down tonight and he had his jeep in the DOE today and passed it. But there is a new levy of 25e gone onto the DOE price. Something to do with the irish road authority. Anyone else see this?

They are continuing to do there best to close the country down with charges on buisness's

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

Fathers friend was down tonight and he had his jeep in the DOE today and passed it. But there is a new levy of 25e gone onto the DOE price. Something to do with the irish road authority. Anyone else see this?

It only applies to dairy farmers, it's a rolling-in-money levy:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,082 ✭✭✭td5man

Bizzum wrote: »
    It only applies to dairy farmers, it's a rolling-in-money levy:D

F**ers failed my jeep because i only replaced the brake pads on one side, shur the other side had a couple of mm of linings left and and being the nearly cavan man i am i wanted to get the last out of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

td5man wrote: »
    F**ers failed my jeep because i only replaced the brake pads on one side, shur the other side had a couple of mm of linings left and and being the nearly cavan man i am i wanted to get the last out of them.

Now that's ducks arse tight

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

I had the work jeep into a main Toyota dealer for a pre DOE service and was told the brakes had 95% wear on them. It needed front disks, pads, liners a caliper or two seized, €1000 or so. It went through the DOE all the same without any work done on it. I'll get it done though the brakes are making a racket this last few days.

Now that's ducks arse tight

Truth is i forgot that i hadnt changed the other side.
    If you think thats tight had a call from an internationally renowned performer looking to see if i had any old brake pads off my car that would fit his.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 859 ✭✭✭jomoloney

Thank God for doe and nct tests, I hate to think what sh1t I'd be meeting on the road daily without them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

jomoloney wrote: »
    Thank God for doe and nct tests, I hate to think what sh1t I'd be meeting on the road daily without them

That's the main positive for me. Once it passes you have a fairly reliable car for the next 2 years.

I'm in the nct centre this morning again with a neighbour's car. They know me by name here now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Most think an nct lasts two years. But it's only a certificate to say the vehicle is roadworthy at that point in time! All back on the owner/driver again. And you sign a disclaimer to say they are allowed rag your vehicle and their not responsible for the consequences. ..... and they charge you for the privilege!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,972 ✭✭✭dzer2

We had an old run around car here years ago. Went on the smell of petrol. A elderly mans real old yoke gave up the ghost and he asked if he could buy our car. I said he could have it and that I would get it nct'ed for him. It passed on the Friday, he went to mass Saturday night and on the way home the lefthand drive fell out putting him over the ditch. So I wouldn't be putting too much faith in the test and always try to keep the car and van in good nick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

Did a deal with my contractor for straw and collected from field, filled our shed. We agreed he would store 200 bales for me.

Rang him yesterday to be told that straw was "so good" that it's taking more to bed the cattle. If he told the truth that he sold it I wouldn't mind but to try bull****ting me, I don't like it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,147 ✭✭✭nhg

hugo29 wrote: »
    fooooookkk

broke the key to a room in the house in the lock, santy inside

any brainwaves as to how to open (apart from the obvious)

I assume the same locks are on the other doors in the house, try to push the broken key out and try some of the other keys then to open the door.

If no luck, u will know the brand/make of the lock from the key & go to a good locksmith & they will give u a bunch of keys to match that brand (you pay a returnable deposit) & hey presto you should be sorted & can then buy a new key if u plan on locking the door again. All 2 lever locks (internal door locks) only have a small number of combinations, thus why it is important to have 5 Lever Locks on external doors.

Good idea for everyone to spray a silicone spray (wd40 will do the same) on all locks & hinges on both the windows & doors in the house at least once a year, it extends the lifespan of the hardware.

nhg wrote: »
    I assume the same locks are on the other doors in the house, try to push the broken key out and try some of the other keys then to open the door.

If no luck, u will know the brand/make of the lock from the key & go to a good locksmith & they will give u a bunch of keys to match that brand (you pay a returnable deposit) & hey presto you should be sorted & can then buy a new key if u plan on locking the door again. All 2 lever locks (internal door locks) only have a small number of combinations, thus why it is important to have 5 Lever Locks on external doors.

Good idea for everyone to spray a silicone spray (wd40 will do the same) on all locks & hinges on both the windows & doors in the house at least once a year, it extends the lifespan of the hardware.

Sprayable grease is better, I do not think that WD 40 is silicone based or if it is it has other components.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,911 ✭✭✭Bleating Lamb

Work night out last night,the lightweights on staff were all f***ed by around 1am,was outside pub for a smoke and a random lad spilled my drink by accident....insisted on getting back into pub ASAP and replacing....while gone I said to a few workmates ' I betcha that lads from a farm',...they said 'why?' ...I said cos he's decent and didnt just f**k off...yer man returned with a new drink
    I was right!.....we ended up talking about sucklers for 20 mins....god bless the farmers;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭jersey101

Finished feeding just before the rain sets in :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

What a night, surrounded by floods here this morning. Looks like the kayak might be needed for herding!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭Marooned75

Finished feeding just before the rain sets in :D

Shopping with herself have that to look forward to when I get home it's pissing and windy grrr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Disaster of a morning, fresh calver doing the splits on the cubicles, eventually got her up and walked her to a straw bed house, however there wasn't enough of a layer of straw down, and shes down again. This winter calving is a pure waste of time and effort. I wouldn't mind but that cow calved in the spring, came bulling in March when i wasn't around and my dad called the AI for her.

Had a great laugh here yesterday. were the whole time getting letters off the banks about repayments for the the topper and the likes. A few of them have finished up over the last few months or so we thought. Father went back through the books and discovered we owed €2.30 on the wrapper. And the bank goin mad sending letters everyday

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

The man looking at the VMP calves did all our calves for us:D
    The VMP bull was 7months old, weighed 350kg w/daily gain of 1.44.
    VMP hf was also 7months, weighed 252kg w/daily gain of 0.99.

A WTB bull was also 7 months, weighed 375kg w/daily gain of 1.45.
    And my KilmoneyBruce BA hf, also 7months weighed 262kg w/daily gain of 1.05.

All are still here as they were so young but pleasntly surprised by the weights.

Had a great laugh here yesterday. were the whole time getting letters off the banks about repayments for the the topper and the likes. A few of them have finished up over the last few months or so we thought. Father went back through the books and discovered we owed €2.30 on the wrapper. And the bank goin mad sending letters everyday

We owed a few hudred € on a hp agreement so rang to see how much the final payment .
    We were told that we still had to pay for the second machine.
    One green machine was more than enough.

Have a batch of autumn born heifers. They started coughing last week. Vet us giving me a powder to put on meal. If i gave them an ibr vaccination would it cure this aswell. One is on antibiotics because she is falling behind and not looking great

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Well f Munster anyway the f'n cows won't be milked til all hours tonight.:D:D:D:D:D:D

G'wan Munster

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,684 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Well f Munster anyway the f'n cows won't be milked til all hours tonight.:D:D:D:D:D:D

G'wan Munster
    I've now cows to milk!!,got outa jail there now gwannnn Connaght oh and Northampton!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭Conor556

dzer2 wrote: »
    We had an old run around car here years ago. Went on the smell of petrol. A elderly mans real old yoke gave up the ghost and he asked if he could buy our car. I said he could have it and that I would get it nct'ed for him. It passed on the Friday, he went to mass Saturday night and on the way home the lefthand drive fell out putting him over the ditch. So I wouldn't be putting too much faith in the test and always try to keep the car and van in good nick.

Happened us last night in a civic, on the way to meet a lad that was buying it,, the whole lot gone in **** and we were just after picking it up from a lad that was after putting the drives back into it,,, spent good 40 minutes trying to push it up onto the trailer praying the guards would'nt arrive,, good job we were only going handy!

We had a good laugh after it dough!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 859 ✭✭✭jomoloney

internet on the blink for the last few days,
    now rte1 as well

going reading a book now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

jomoloney wrote: »
    internet on the blink for the last few days,
    now rte1 as well

going reading a book now

Electricity will go next :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,315 ✭✭✭awaywithyou

G'wan Munster

Munster can thank a kerry man for that victory!!!

Limerick farmers hate Kerrymen they make land dear.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

Kerry men claim a lot more than they have by all accounts