Noonan warns 'we can't go mad again'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭Kippure

What the real mad thing about all this is No one has been jailed of fined or anything. In the new year we,ll have the Fitzpatrick trial start. It will be a joke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 201 ✭✭Hello_MrFox

Its a big merry go-round, it will keep on happening and happening again and again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,463 ✭✭✭CruelCoin

Kippure wrote: »
    Whats wrong with borrowing money to buy a house?

You see nothing wrong with paying 250k for a house that costs 150k to build?

You don't buy a house at those prices for ****s and giggles. It was done because it was a sure thing, you couldn't lose, everyone's doing it, we're getting rich lads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭Kippure

CruelCoin wrote: »
    You see nothing wrong with paying 250k for a house that costs 150k to build?

You don't buy a house at those prices for ****s and giggles. It was done because it was a sure thing, you couldn't lose, everyone's doing it, we're getting rich lads.

I know what your saying mate. And yes the profit was huge for builders.
    Irish people were led to slaughter, you were shunned if you didn't have a house worth half a million and a house aboard, and ten cars.

Sheep mentality.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,263 ✭✭✭Gongoozler

I'd like to think there are smart people on boards, but Jesus it seems no one has any idea. The government didn't cause the recession. No one was forced to buy houses flash cars etc. I agree that the government are partly responsible because they should be there to watch out for the people in general, but as I said no one was forced to buy, or to take all these loans.

And you cannot blame this on fianna fail, they're politicians the same as fine gael are, they'd all do the same. They do whatever to get elected. There's no longer term concern over each individual person and their ability to feed their families. They care what the general public will think when it comes to election time.

At the last election everyone said no more fianna fail, now everyone's saying no more fine gael. Unless people take a stand for what they want in the country and inform themselves about the economy, we'll continue to go round in cycles like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭cometogether

LostBoy101 wrote: »
    It is guaranteed to happen again if FF get back into power. I hope that won't be the case but sadly their rural countryside mates will vote them back in again.

Yeah, because nobody from Dublin ever supported or represented them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,113 ✭✭✭Xenophile

Whats wrong with borrowing money to buy a house?

Nothing wrong at all, the problem only occurred when a house was bought in order to borrow money!

The Forum on Spirituality has been closed for years. Please bring it back, there are lots of Spiritual people in Ireland and elsewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭Archeron

Looks at thread title...
    Looks at delivery of the new collectors edition set of the 12 Faberge eggs of Christmas...
    Looks at thread title...

Aaah bollix..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,221 ✭✭✭NuckingFacker

"We" better not create a tax climate that encourges speculation and dopey, tax-break based investment so. Hadn't "we".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    You all partied. Bunch of feckin partiers, that's all you are.

Partied your absolute pants off the lot of ye! Makes me sick. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

http://www.rte.ie/news/2013/1213/492576-bailout/

Who is this "we" that he is referring to? I definitely don't recall going mad and borrowing millions that any sane person would realise never had a hope of being paid back! :mad: I do know that I am suffering for this incompetence!
    I came here to start the exact same thread! Its the goverment/media trying to keep us believeing the current/recent financial crisis is the ordinary peoples fault, its partly why the 'occupy movements' didnt get as big as they should have, tho Im not a fan of crusties and socialist gob****es, there is a middle ground where we can unite

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,670 ✭✭✭renegademaster

It is guaranteed to happen again if FF get back into power. I hope that won't be the case but sadly their rural countryside mates will vote them back in again.

that doesn't mean those opposed to them being in power have to accept it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

Gongoozler wrote: »
    I'd like to think there are smart people on boards, but Jesus it seems no one has any idea. The government didn't cause the recession. No one was forced to buy houses flash cars etc. I agree that the government are partly responsible because they should be there to watch out for the people in general, but as I said no one was forced to buy, or to take all these loans.

And you cannot blame this on fianna fail, they're politicians the same as fine gael are, they'd all do the same. They do whatever to get elected. There's no longer term concern over each individual person and their ability to feed their families. They care what the general public will think when it comes to election time.

At the last election everyone said no more fianna fail, now everyone's saying no more fine gael. Unless people take a stand for what they want in the country and inform themselves about the economy, we'll continue to go round in cycles like this.

the media had a big part to play. all the articles about buying property as an investment, where to go on winter holidays, trade in your 3 yr old car etc

people are generally sheep, its why advertising exists as an industry. we make our own decisions but sometimes they are strongly influenced by a reckless authority.

FF/FG its all the same, just 2 different lucrative employment agencies fighting for better careers, the players change but the game stays the same

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,670 ✭✭✭renegademaster

Im not a fan of crusties and socialist gob****es, there is a middle ground where we can unite

would be a nice thought wouldn't it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,369 ✭✭✭LostBoy101

Gongoozler wrote: »

Absolute nonsense. They de-regulated the banking system so their mates in the financial sector can run a muck and feed themselves big bonuses out of the sky. Fianna Fail had us in a lot of recessions but this time they actually bankrupted us and we never had the IMF/Trokia knocking on our door.

I agree that it works like a cycle and people in this country are silly enough to be voting the same people in who caused the mess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,250 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Well michael, with your salary and expenses of close in the range of €200,000, i'd say you've a much better chance of going mad than the rest of us...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,203 ✭✭✭✭Ace2007

Absolute nonsense. They de-regulated the banking system so their mates in the financial sector can run a muck and feed themselves big bonuses out of the sky. Fianna Fail had us in a lot of recessions but this time they actually bankrupted us and we never had the IMF/Trokia knocking on our door.

I agree that it works like a cycle and people in this country are silly enough to be voting the same people in who caused the mess.

Did they force the thousands of people to get 100%+ mortgages?
    if people didn't get themselves in debt buying on credit, then the hurt of the recession wouldn't have been as bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,024 ✭✭✭previous user

We're already going mad with the increase in rental prices out there in Dublin you Greedy Fcuks!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 20 walt_white

it suited FF to have never ending property price appreciation , bertie believed in buying everyone off so he needed the " oul " stamp duty to keep coming in thick and fast

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

What he meant to say OP is that he's just a school teacher who was an embarrassing failure as head of FG in 2002 and then resigned but waltzed back in when he felt like it and had a top position on the front bench handed to him on a plate for no reason :rolleyes: there's no cronyism in FG sure :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭2 stroke

Can we keep the troika and send the politicians packing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,463 ✭✭✭CruelCoin

I know what your saying mate. And yes the profit was huge for builders.
    Irish people were led to slaughter, you were shunned if you didn't have a house worth half a million and a house aboard, and ten cars.

Sheep mentality.

Ok, but what does the bank/politicians hav to do with social mores?

If society brow-beat you into making stupid purchases, blame society.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,267 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

Back in 2002 Mr Noonan told us that the economy wasn't growing fast enough, sure there was no Celtic Tiger, it was a "Celtic Snail" !!

Good to see a visionary like this, (never mind even the McCole case) can be in charge of our economy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 536 ✭✭✭April O Neill II

We're already going mad with the increase in rental prices out there in Dublin you Greedy Fcuks!

That's supply and demand, the bulk of economic activity is happening in Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 236 ✭✭SmurfX

I continuously wonder how the government trying to scare people into not spending could be good for economic growth or employment. We already live in a highly conservative society with a touch of hysteria around the recession amplifying how bad it really was. Are more words of caution not to spend really constructive?
    Feel like what this country needs now more than ever are words that put confidence into Ireland and future stability, not "ah we'll be ok so long as ye lot don't feck it up again. so keep grilling those pigeons."

That's supply and demand, the bulk of economic activity is happening in Dublin.

Its a Fcuking Lie! like last Time!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Daqster

He's right.

Both Beyonce and The Eagles have both now added a 4th night!

Will ye's slow down for feck sake!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 536 ✭✭✭April O Neill II

Its a Fcuking Lie! like last Time!

Not really, there always was locations where property prices were high, and there always will be. It's when the prices start rocketing everywhere, even in improbable locations, that we should worry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,008 ✭✭✭✭kippy

http://www.rte.ie/news/2013/1213/492576-bailout/

Who is this "we" that he is referring to? I definitely don't recall going mad and borrowing millions that any sane person would realise never had a hope of being paid back! :mad: I do know that I am suffering for this incompetence!

He's just trying to force the blame back on all of us, instead of the select few that it really should be on.
    Whether you got a 110% mortgage, got increases in wages or got reductions in taxation or indeed "benefited" in any way from the "boom", pales in comparison to those who allowed the rampant lending and unregulated/monitored banking to continue to lead us to an abyss......

It's also rather ironic that a member of a government who have broken their own self imposed salary caps for special advisors (brought in to save money no doubt) tries to tell US that there'll be no more "going mad".

Not really, there always was locations where property prices were high, and there always will be. It's when the prices start rocketing everywhere, even in improbable locations, that we should worry.

I guess, as long as there's no get on the Property Ladder crap before its too late, lies like last time.